Verdict of the Mérah trial: "An ambiguous signal given to terrorists"!

Home"TO THE ONE"Verdict of the Mérah trial: "An ambiguous signal given to terrorists"!
0 Partages

Verdict du procès Mérah: « Un signal ambigüe donné aux terroristes » !

logoCommunique2015M.fw


10 Place Vendôme   75001 Paris   Telephone: 01.53.45.54.89   Fax: 01.53.45.54.55     E-mail : [email protected]


 


PRESS RELEASE


 

SUBJECT :     VERDICT PROCESS MÉRAH

Paris on November 3rd 2017

It is with great disappointment that the Confederation of Jews of France and Friends of Israel has taken cognizance of the verdict pronounced this Thursday, November 2nd by the judges of the Court of Assizes Special condemns Abdelkader Mérah to 20 years of imprisonment, s thus departing from the submissions of the Advocate General who rightly claimed life imprisonment.

The Court held the accused responsible for criminal conspiracy in connection with a terrorist enterprise while surprise, and given his own motives, she did not retain the complicity of murder.

In our judicial system, criminal conviction is the "public saying" to reaffirm the strongest values ​​of society and to regenerate the social pact by assigning everyone the rightful place: victims, defendants and representatives of the "French people"!

This "public saying" is pronounced in the name of the "French people"! But who can believe that this decision of professional magistrates reflects "the intimate conviction" of the immense majority of the French people?

Complaint and pain of the victim, responsibility of the guilty party and both symbolic and dissuasive power of the law must be simultaneously recognized by the sentencing. These are the fundamentals of our judicial system!

Do we find these elements in this judgment? We do not think so !

And given the reactions in the courtroom and the applause of the followers of Merah when pronouncing the Verdict, one can only doubt the deterrent aspect of it.

Moreover, this trial was intended to be that of terrorism, the first of its kind since the emergence of "Islamist terrorism", and as a result, it was intended to dissuade those who succumbed to the siren song of Jihad; However, we are not convinced that this verdict has reached its goal because not only this decision leaves the victims with a bitter feeling of frustration, but above all it leaves the sad impression "that we did not dare to go last "so as not to displease anyone.

The mildness of this verdict, ambiguous or interpreted as such by the followers of terrorism, could be of a nature to give a very bad signal to the terrorist apprentices, envoûtés by a radical Islam conquering and which appears, in their eyes, invincible. 

As a result, the Confederation of Jews in France and Friends of Israel can only rejoice at the decision of the Public Prosecutor's Office to appeal this decision.

The public prosecutor has, indeed, rightly considered that the special Assize Court of Paris had not "Not drawn all the legal consequences of the facts submitted to him" and one could add by misapplying the Court's own motives.

Let's hope that the next trial will provide the necessary clarifications and will be up to the challenge.

 

Richard C. ABITBOL
President

 

0 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Home"TO THE ONE"Verdict of the Mérah trial: "An ambiguous signal given to terrorists"!
logoCommunique2015M.fw


10 Place Vendôme   75001 Paris   Telephone: 01.53.45.54.89   Fax: 01.53.45.54.55     E-mail : [email protected]


 


PRESS RELEASE


 

SUBJECT :     VERDICT PROCESS MÉRAH

Paris on November 3rd 2017

It is with great disappointment that the Confederation of Jews of France and Friends of Israel has taken cognizance of the verdict pronounced this Thursday, November 2nd by the judges of the Court of Assizes Special condemns Abdelkader Mérah to 20 years of imprisonment, s thus departing from the submissions of the Advocate General who rightly claimed life imprisonment.

The Court held the accused responsible for criminal conspiracy in connection with a terrorist enterprise while surprise, and given his own motives, she did not retain the complicity of murder.

In our judicial system, criminal conviction is the "public saying" to reaffirm the strongest values ​​of society and to regenerate the social pact by assigning everyone the rightful place: victims, defendants and representatives of the "French people"!

This "public saying" is pronounced in the name of the "French people"! But who can believe that this decision of professional magistrates reflects "the intimate conviction" of the immense majority of the French people?

Complaint and pain of the victim, responsibility of the guilty party and both symbolic and dissuasive power of the law must be simultaneously recognized by the sentencing. These are the fundamentals of our judicial system!

Do we find these elements in this judgment? We do not think so !

And given the reactions in the courtroom and the applause of the followers of Merah when pronouncing the Verdict, one can only doubt the deterrent aspect of it.

Moreover, this trial was intended to be that of terrorism, the first of its kind since the emergence of "Islamist terrorism", and as a result, it was intended to dissuade those who succumbed to the siren song of Jihad; However, we are not convinced that this verdict has reached its goal because not only this decision leaves the victims with a bitter feeling of frustration, but above all it leaves the sad impression "that we did not dare to go last "so as not to displease anyone.

The mildness of this verdict, ambiguous or interpreted as such by the followers of terrorism, could be of a nature to give a very bad signal to the terrorist apprentices, envoûtés by a radical Islam conquering and which appears, in their eyes, invincible. 

As a result, the Confederation of Jews in France and Friends of Israel can only rejoice at the decision of the Public Prosecutor's Office to appeal this decision.

The public prosecutor has, indeed, rightly considered that the special Assize Court of Paris had not "Not drawn all the legal consequences of the facts submitted to him" and one could add by misapplying the Court's own motives.

Let's hope that the next trial will provide the necessary clarifications and will be up to the challenge.

 

Richard C. ABITBOL
President

 

One Response to "Verdict du procès Mérah: « Un signal ambigüe donné aux terroristes » !"

  1. Ilan de Turkheim   6 November 2017 at 16 h 40 min

    Disappointment ? It is a long time since the justice in France chose not to displease the Arab countries: it is the simple application of the doctrine of the Quai d'Orsay. If we do not agree with this status quo, there is a solution. ...

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Verdict du procès Mérah: « Un signal ambigüe donné aux terroristes » !

Home»A LA UNE»Verdict du procès Mérah: « Un signal ambigüe donné aux terroristes » !

Verdict du procès Mérah: « Un signal ambigüe donné aux terroristes » !

logoCommunique2015M.fw


10, Place Vendôme   75001 Paris   Téléphone : 01.53.45.54.89   Télécopie : 01.53.45.54.55     Email : [email protected]


 


COMMUNIQUE  DE  PRESSE


 

SUJET :     VERDICT PROCÈS MÉRAH

Paris le 3 Novembre 2017

C’est avec une grande déception que la Confédération des Juifs de France et Amis d’Israël a pris connaissance du verdict  prononcé ce jeudi 2 Novembre par les juges de la Cour d’Assises Spéciale qui condamne Abdelkader Mérah  à 20 ans de réclusion, s’écartant ainsi des réquisitions de l’avocat général qui réclamait, à juste titre, la réclusion à perpétuité.

La Cour a retenu la responsabilité du prévenu pour association de malfaiteurs en lien avec une entreprise terroriste alors qu’étonnement, et au vu de ses propres motivations,  elle n’a pas retenu la complicité d’assassinat.

Dans notre système judiciaire, la condamnation pénale est le «dire public» chargé de réaffirmer les valeurs les plus fortes de la société et de régénérer le pacte social en assignant à chacun sa juste place: victimes, prévenus et représentants du «Peuple Français» !

Ce «dire public» est prononcé au nom du «Peuple Français»! Or,  qui peut croire que cette décision de magistrats professionnels reflète «l’intime conviction» de l’immense majorité du peuple français ?

Plainte et douleur de la victime, responsabilité du coupable et puissance tant symbolique que dissuasive de la loi doivent être simultanément reconnues par le prononcé de la peine. Tels sont les fondamentaux de notre système judiciaire !

Est-ce que nous retrouvons ces éléments dans cet arrêt ? Nous ne le pensons pas !

Et au vu des réactions dans la salle d’audience et  des applaudissements des adeptes de Mérah lors du prononcé du Verdict, on ne peut que douter de l’aspect dissuasif de celui-ci.

De surcroît, ce procès se voulait celui du terrorisme, le premier du genre depuis l’émergence du «terrorisme islamiste», et par conséquence, il avait vocation à dissuader celles et ceux qui succomberaient au chant des sirènes du Djihad; or, nous ne sommes pas convaincus que ce verdict ait atteint son but car non seulement cette décision laisse les victimes avec un sentiment amer de frustration, mais surtout  elle laisse planer la triste impression «qu’on n’a pas osé aller jusqu’au bout» afin de ne mécontenter personne.

La mansuétude de ce verdict, ambigüe ou interprété comme tel par les adeptes du terrorisme, pourrait être de nature à donner un très mauvais signal aux apprentis terroristes, envoutés par un islam radical conquérant et qui  parait, à leurs yeux, invincible. 

En conséquence, la  Confédération des Juifs de France et Amis d’Israël ne peut que se réjouir de la décision du Parquet Général de faire appel de cette décision.

Le ministère public a, en effet, estimé, à juste titre, que la cour d’assises spéciale de Paris n’avait « pas tiré toutes les conséquences juridiques des faits qui lui étaient soumis » et on pourrait ajouter en faisant une mauvaise application des propres motivations de la Cour.

Espérons que le prochain procès apportera les éclaircissements nécessaires et sera à hauteur de l’enjeu.

 

Richard C. ABITBOL
Président

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Home»A LA UNE»Verdict du procès Mérah: « Un signal ambigüe donné aux terroristes » !
logoCommunique2015M.fw


10, Place Vendôme   75001 Paris   Téléphone : 01.53.45.54.89   Télécopie : 01.53.45.54.55     Email : [email protected]


 


COMMUNIQUE  DE  PRESSE


 

SUJET :     VERDICT PROCÈS MÉRAH

Paris le 3 Novembre 2017

C’est avec une grande déception que la Confédération des Juifs de France et Amis d’Israël a pris connaissance du verdict  prononcé ce jeudi 2 Novembre par les juges de la Cour d’Assises Spéciale qui condamne Abdelkader Mérah  à 20 ans de réclusion, s’écartant ainsi des réquisitions de l’avocat général qui réclamait, à juste titre, la réclusion à perpétuité.

La Cour a retenu la responsabilité du prévenu pour association de malfaiteurs en lien avec une entreprise terroriste alors qu’étonnement, et au vu de ses propres motivations,  elle n’a pas retenu la complicité d’assassinat.

Dans notre système judiciaire, la condamnation pénale est le «dire public» chargé de réaffirmer les valeurs les plus fortes de la société et de régénérer le pacte social en assignant à chacun sa juste place: victimes, prévenus et représentants du «Peuple Français» !

Ce «dire public» est prononcé au nom du «Peuple Français»! Or,  qui peut croire que cette décision de magistrats professionnels reflète «l’intime conviction» de l’immense majorité du peuple français ?

Plainte et douleur de la victime, responsabilité du coupable et puissance tant symbolique que dissuasive de la loi doivent être simultanément reconnues par le prononcé de la peine. Tels sont les fondamentaux de notre système judiciaire !

Est-ce que nous retrouvons ces éléments dans cet arrêt ? Nous ne le pensons pas !

Et au vu des réactions dans la salle d’audience et  des applaudissements des adeptes de Mérah lors du prononcé du Verdict, on ne peut que douter de l’aspect dissuasif de celui-ci.

De surcroît, ce procès se voulait celui du terrorisme, le premier du genre depuis l’émergence du «terrorisme islamiste», et par conséquence, il avait vocation à dissuader celles et ceux qui succomberaient au chant des sirènes du Djihad; or, nous ne sommes pas convaincus que ce verdict ait atteint son but car non seulement cette décision laisse les victimes avec un sentiment amer de frustration, mais surtout  elle laisse planer la triste impression «qu’on n’a pas osé aller jusqu’au bout» afin de ne mécontenter personne.

La mansuétude de ce verdict, ambigüe ou interprété comme tel par les adeptes du terrorisme, pourrait être de nature à donner un très mauvais signal aux apprentis terroristes, envoutés par un islam radical conquérant et qui  parait, à leurs yeux, invincible. 

En conséquence, la  Confédération des Juifs de France et Amis d’Israël ne peut que se réjouir de la décision du Parquet Général de faire appel de cette décision.

Le ministère public a, en effet, estimé, à juste titre, que la cour d’assises spéciale de Paris n’avait « pas tiré toutes les conséquences juridiques des faits qui lui étaient soumis » et on pourrait ajouter en faisant une mauvaise application des propres motivations de la Cour.

Espérons que le prochain procès apportera les éclaircissements nécessaires et sera à hauteur de l’enjeu.

 

Richard C. ABITBOL
Président

 

One Response to "Verdict du procès Mérah: « Un signal ambigüe donné aux terroristes » !"

  1. Ilan de Turkheim   6 novembre 2017 at 16 h 40 min

    Déception ? Il y a longtemps que la justice en France a choisi de ne pas déplaire aux pays arabes : c”est la simple application de la doctrine du Quai d’Orsay. Si on n’est pas d”accord avec ce statut quo, il y a une solution. …

    Répondre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais