Trump to receive Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia on March 20 | United States

Home"TO THE ONE"Trump to receive Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia on March 20 | United States
7 Partages
Named Crown Prince by his father in June 2017, Mohammed bin Salman (right) was also visiting the UK last week. Photo Dan Kitwood, Agence France-Presse

US President Donald Trump will receive Saudi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman on March 20 in Washington, the White House announced Monday.

"The president is eager to discuss ways to strengthen the ties between the United States and Saudi Arabia," said US executive spokeswoman Sarah Sanders during her daily press briefing at the United States House. white.

This announcement comes hours after the New York Times revealed that Saudi figures, targets of an anti-corruption campaign initiated by the Saudi Crown Prince in November, were victims of coercion and physical abuse, according to the American daily.

Asked about the possibility of referring to these allegations with the Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia, the White House spokeswoman kicked in touch: "I will not anticipate what will happen on March 20th, answered Sarah Sanders.

Named Crown Prince by his father, King Salman, in June 2017, Mohammed ben Salman was also visiting the United Kingdom last week, invited to lunch by Queen Elizabeth II at Buckingham Palace. A three-day visit to the United Kingdom, marked by demonstrations.

Several human rights organizations, including Amnesty International, denounced the increase in executions since he was appointed crown prince.

Saudi Arabia, which is opening more and more under the leadership of the young Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, has hosted in recent months a series of concerts by artists such as the Lebanese Hiba Tawaji and the Greek composer Yanni.

Driving rights starting in June, attending football matches and accessing jobs hitherto reserved for men, Saudi women have obtained in a few months more rights than in several decades.

These rights are considered elementary elsewhere in the world, but they are significant in this ultraconservative country governed by a rigorous version of Islam.

Source: ©  Trump to receive Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia on March 20 | United States

7 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Trump recevra le prince héritier d'Arabie saoudite le 20 mars | États-Unis

Home»A LA UNE»Trump recevra le prince héritier d’Arabie saoudite le 20 mars | États-Unis
Trump recevra le prince héritier d'Arabie saoudite le 20 mars | États-Unis
Nommé prince héritier par son père, en juin 2017, Mohammed ben Salmane (à droite) était aussi en visite au Royaume-Uni la semaine dernière. Photo Dan Kitwood, Agence France-Presse

Le président américain Donald Trump va recevoir le prince héritier saoudien Mohammed ben Salmane le 20 mars à Washington, a annoncé la Maison-Blanche lundi.

«Le président a hâte de discuter des moyens de renforcer les liens entre les États-Unis et l’Arabie saoudite», a précisé la porte-parole de l’exécutif américain Sarah Sanders, au cours de son point presse quotidien à la Maison-Blanche.

Cette annonce intervient quelques heures après que le New York Times a révélé que des personnalités saoudiennes, cibles d’une campagne anticorruption initiée par le prince héritier saoudien en novembre, ont été victimes de coercitions et d’abus physiques, selon le quotidien américain.

Interrogée sur la possibilité d’évoquer ces allégations avec le prince héritier d’Arabie saoudite, la porte-parole de la Maison-Blanche a botté en touche: «Je ne vais pas anticiper ce qu’il se passera le 20» mars, a répondu Sarah Sanders.

Nommé prince héritier par son père, le roi Salmane, en juin 2017, Mohammed ben Salmane était aussi en visite au Royaume-Uni la semaine dernière, invité à déjeuner par la reine Elizabeth II au palais de Buckingham. Une visite de trois jours au Royaume-Uni, marquée par des manifestations.

Plusieurs organisations de défense des droits de l’homme, dont Amnesty International, ont, à cette occasion, dénoncé l’augmentation du nombre d’exécutions depuis sa nomination comme prince héritier.

L’Arabie saoudite, qui s’ouvre de plus en plus sous l’impulsion du jeune prince héritier Mohammed ben Salmane, a accueilli ces derniers mois une série de concerts d’artistes tels que la Libanaise Hiba Tawaji et le compositeur grec Yanni.

Droits de conduire à partir de juin, d’assister à des matches de football et d’accéder à des emplois jusqu’ici réservés aux hommes, les Saoudiennes ont obtenu en quelques mois plus de droits qu’en plusieurs décennies.

Ces droits sont considérés comme élémentaires ailleurs dans le monde, mais ils sont significatifs dans ce pays ultraconservateur régi par une version rigoriste de l’islam.

Source:©  Trump recevra le prince héritier d’Arabie saoudite le 20 mars | États-Unis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais