Tom Wolfe: "Politically correct has become the instrument of the ruling classes"

Home"TO THE ONE"Tom Wolfe: "Politically correct has become the instrument of the ruling classes"
3 Partages
"His white suit, which he never leaves, is an instrument of diversion. A way of diverting attention so as not to have to say too much about his art or about himself. "- Photo credits: Photo: Stephane LAVOUE for Le Figaro Magazine

INTERVIEW - For Le Figaro MagazineNew York Balzac scans America with Trump and Harvey Weinstein. At 86, the inventor of the "new journalism" has lost nothing of its verve and continues to send to the "bonfire of vanities" the conformism of his time.

He is one of the most important living writers. Perhaps the greatest contemporary "French writer", as his work is imbued with those of Zola and Balzac. The author ofLost illusions had the project to identify the "social species" of the time, just like Buffon had identified the zoological species. He wanted to "write the history forgotten by so many historians, that of morals" and "compete with the civil status."

As Balzac is "the secretary of society", Tom Wolfe, the inventor of "new journalism", is the secretary of his time, the ethnologist of the postmodern tribes: psychedelics under acid (Acid Test, 1968), the leftists of Park Avenue (Radical Chic, 1970), astronauts (The Cloth of Heroes, 1979), the golden boys of Wall Street (The Pyre of Vanities, 1987), the decadent students of the major universities (I, Charlotte Simons, 2004), immigrant Latinos in Florida (Bloody Miami, 2013) ...

His white suit, which he never leaves, is an instrument of diversion. A way of diverting attention so as not to have to say too much about his art or about himself. Wolfe has always preferred facts and long descriptions to psychology and text explanations. But at age 86, the dandy reaction has nothing to lose and does not elude any subject.

On the telephone, with a willingly distanced and mischievous tone, he enjoys the morals of progressive America and unmasks his hypocrisy. The phenomenon #Balance ton pork - and its consequences - could be, according to him, "the greatest farce of the twenty-first century". In his last essay, Tom Wolfe seems to be stepping aside. He debunks the evolutionary theses of Darwin. However, The Kingdom of Language (Robert Laffont) is in no way a scientific treatise. Through the figure of Darwin, an installed dignitary who has been able to erect his theory into dogma, Wolfe continues to observe the "human comedy".

LE FIGARO .- In your last book, The Kingdom of Language, you explain that it is the language that makes the specificity of the human being. In what?

Tom WOLFE .- There exists between the human being and the animal an essential difference, a line of demarcation as steep and irremovable as a geological fault: the word! Language has given the "human beast" much more than an ingenious communication tool. It is actually an innovation of the content of the atomic bomb! Speech was the very first invention, the first artifact, the first time an earthly creature, man, took elements of nature, in this case sounds, to turn them into something entirely new. and shaped by him, sequences of sounds that formed codes, which were called "words".

Not only is language a tool but it is the first of all, the one that made all the others possible, from the most basic of the picks to the first of the clubs to the wheel and the space rocket. Without him, no dance, no music, not even the humming of a ritornello, the beat of the drums, no rhythm of any kind or cadence to clap the hands.

"Only language allows man to question his existence, to pursue it or to give it up"

In short, it is language, and it alone, that has given the "human beast" the strength to conquer every inch of land on this planet and to eat half of the edible resources of the ocean. And yet, this set cut of the globe is only a minor result of the power of words: its main feat is to have created the ego, self-awareness. Only language allows man to question his existence, to pursue it or to give it up.

No animal thinks of committing suicide or massacring their kind on a vast scale. Only the word allows us to self-examine and render the planet uninhabitable just like that, in the space of thirty or forty minutes nucled. It alone allows man to fantasize religions, and gods to give them body. Until today - and even more so today - the words that came out of Muhammad's mouth in the seventh century continue to galvanize and control the lives of thirty-five per cent of the world's population. Throughout a millennium and a half, those of Jesus exercised the same influence on a comparable portion of humanity before lose some of their resonance in Europeduring the second half of the twentieth century.

Your book debunks Darwin ...

In The Kingdom of LanguageI oppose the figure of Charles Darwin and that of Alfred Wallace. The first is a perfect gentleman installed in the British high society of the nineteenth century. The second, on the contrary, is a man on the ground, from a modest background. The type of autodidact that the aristocracy of the time dubbed "fly catchers". Wallace was the first, before Darwin, to defend the theory of natural selection. But if not born well, the paternity of this discovery was never attributed to him, the author of Origin of species attributing all the merit.

If Wallace was the first to define a theory of evolution, he was also the first to question this thesis. To wonder how man could have conceived figures, arithmetic, geometric shapes, but also to think a moral code, an ethical requirement, to experience the pleasure provided by music or visual art. At the end of his life, he concludes that none of these sublime and consubstantial attributes to humanity have any relation to natural selection.

How does your vision of the world differ from that of creationists?

Creationists refuse any idea of ​​geological or biological evolution because they see God as the only creator of life. It's not my case. I am only showing the limits of the theory of evolution and confirming the inability of researchers to determine the origin of language. My only conclusion is that it is the language that separates the human being from the beast.

For the rest, I have no answer and I do not propose any narrative or ideology of substitution. No one can pretend to tell the true story of creation. Origin of species Darwin's is a scientistic version of Genesis. Darwin fell into the trap of cosmogony, this compelling need to elaborate the unattainable "Theory of Everything", a concept or narrative that would miraculously organize every element of the universe into a clear and precise system.

Since one of your first books, Radical Chic (The Leftism of Park Avenue in French), you castigate the politically correct, the cultural leftism, the tyranny of the minorities. Is the election of Donald Trump the result of this politically correct?

In this report, first published in June 1970 in theNew York MagazineI was describing an evening organized on January 14 by composer Leonard Bernstein in his 13-room New York duplex with terrace. The party was intended to raise funds for the Black Panthers ... The hosts had taken care to hire white servants not to offend the susceptibility of the Panthers.

"People must now pay attention to what they say. It's getting worse, especially in universities. "

The politically correct, that I call PC, for "police citizen", was born from the Marxist idea that everything that separates socially human beings must be banned to avoid the domination of one social group over another. Subsequently, ironically, the politically correct has become the instrument of the "ruling classes", the idea of ​​an appropriate conduct to better mask their "social domination" and to give themselves a good conscience.

Gradually, the political correctness has even become a marker of this "domination" and an instrument of social control, a way to distinguish oneself from the "hicks" and to censure them, to delegitimize their vision of the world in the name of morality. People must now pay attention to what they say. It's getting worse, especially in universities. Trump's strength is probably to have broken with this lead screed. For example, very rich people are generally low profile while he boasts. I guess some of the voters prefer that to the hypocrisy of conformist politics.

In your work, social status is the main key to understanding the world. Is the Trump vote the vote of those who have no or no social status or whose social status has been despised?

Through Radical Chic, I described the emergence of what would be called today "left caviar" or "limousine progressivism", that is to say a left that largely freed itself from empathy for the working class US. A leftist who loves contemporary art, identifies with the exotic causes and suffering of minorities, but despises the "rednecks" of Ohio.

Americans have felt that the Democratic Party was so scrambling to seduce the different minorities that it was neglecting a still considerable part of the population. Namely, this working-class part of the population which, historically, has always been the spinal cord of the Democratic Party. During this election, the democratic aristocracy chose to favor a coalition of minorities and to exclude from its preoccupations the white working class. And Donald Trump only had to thinkexpensive to pick up all those voters and rally them to his candidacy.

What do you think of the Weinstein affair and the controversy #Balance your pork?

Nobody takes the trouble to correctly define the term of sexual assault. It's a catchall category that goes from rape to simple attraction. It is from this confusion that all excesses are born. I am divided between fright, as a citizen, and fun, as a novelist, for this wonderful human comedy. If this continues, it can become the biggest joke of XXIe century. In the local press, again this morning in the New York Post and the New York Times, these cases are in capital letters to the front page. Today, any man who lends anything what kind of attention to any woman, for example in his workplace, becomes a "predator".

"Men are now worried about finding some attractive women. Here we are to oppose the natural laws of attraction that should now be ignored "

Since this case, I hear everywhere around me men tell young women that they attend "I should not be seen with you here or there", "we work in the same company and I am in a hierarchical position higher and all that will be too bad. " Men are now worried about finding some attractive women. Here we are found to oppose the natural laws of attraction that should now be ignored.

Nobody talks about these women, and they are many, who take a real pleasure to meet in their workplace a male colleague they find attractive. A man they would not have had the chance to meet otherwise. I think that the world has not changed so much that we start to proclaim that today women do not suddenly want to attract the attention of men.

In truth, nothing has really changed, except that women have a powerful bullying tool they did not have before. They can now put in their place those men whose attention is too extreme or that they deem too vulgar, dismiss a rival professionally or take revenge on a lover "too goujat". To charge someone with sexual assault, it seems now that the only word of the woman is sufficient and some are already demanding a reversal of the law that would require the suspected man to prove his innocence.

You are the inventor of "new journalism". A journalism that is closer to literature in form, but which is also based on the thoroughness of the investigations and the accuracy of the reported facts. In the digital age and immediacy, is this journalism dead?

At the time, the offices of the Herald were in Times Square. It was enough to go down the street to ask people questions. I used what I call the Mars man technique. I arrived and said, "It looks interesting, what you do! Me, I'm coming from Mars, I do not know anything, what is it? "Today, some journalists never leave their office. They do their articles surfing the internet. Yet there is no alternative: you have to go out! When young writers or journalists ask me for advice, which is rare, I always tell them, "Get out!"

Le Règne du langage, de Tom Wolfe. Robert Laffont, collection, «Pavillons», 216 p., 19 €.
The Reign of Language, by Tom Wolfe. Robert Laffont, collection, "Pavillons", 216 p., 19 €. - Photo credits:,

In the end, what was new journalism? I always thought it was simply a writing technique on a non-fictional subject with all the methods normally used for fiction. For me, one of the principles of the new journalism is to write scene by scene, as for a scenario. The future of this genre depends on young people getting started. But they read everything online now. And, when you read online, just for the simple reason that you read on a very bright background, you have a hard time reading long formats.

Once the eight hundred words are over, you start to tire. And all this invites journalists to shorten their writing. Reading is getting faster and it forces the author to give up a lot of techniques that can yet give an article a power unparalleled. It's getting harder to talk about details now, the decor, the way people dress, all of that takes up a lot of space. There will not be many writers or journalists that could be called feathers.

Style requires hard work. Today, we focus on everything that is effective. This is what journalists are trained for. Already in my day, we were asked to be short, because newspapers feared the competition of television. This did not stop the new journalism from being a success. I think it could work, even on digital formats. You know that all of Zola's books are still available in English all over the United States? They are reprinted all the time.

 


 

 

Source: ©  Tom Wolfe: "Politically correct has become the instrument of the ruling classes"

3 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Tom Wolfe : «Le politiquement correct est devenu l'instrument des classes dominantes»

Home»A LA UNE»Tom Wolfe : «Le politiquement correct est devenu l’instrument des classes dominantes»
Tom Wolfe : «Le politiquement correct est devenu l’instrument des classes dominantes»
Tom Wolfe : «Le politiquement correct est devenu l'instrument des classes dominantes»
«Son costume blanc, qu’il ne quitte jamais, est un instrument de diversion. Une manière de détourner l’attention pour ne pas avoir à en dire trop sur son art ou sur lui-même.» – Crédits photo : Photo : Stephane LAVOUE pour le Figaro Magazine

ENTRETIEN – Pour Le Figaro Magazine, le Balzac new-yorkais scrute l’Amérique de Trump et de Harvey Weinstein. À 86 ans, l’inventeur du «nouveau journalisme» n’a rien perdu de sa verve et continue d’envoyer au «bûcher des vanités» les conformismes de son époque.

Il est l’un des plus importants écrivains vivants. Peut-être le plus grand «écrivain français» contemporain, tant son œuvre est imprégnée de celles de Zola et de Balzac. L’auteur d’Illusions perdues avait pour projet d’identifier les «espèces sociales» de l’époque, tout comme Buffon avait identifié les espèces zoologiques. Il voulait «écrire l’histoire oubliée par tant d’historiens, celle des mœurs» et «faire concurrence à l’état civil».

Comme Balzac est «le secrétaire de la société», Tom Wolfe, l’inventeur du «nouveau journalisme», est le secrétaire de son époque, l’ethnologue des tribus postmodernes: les psychédéliques sous acide (Acid Test, 1968), les gauchistes de Park Avenue (Radical Chic, 1970), les astronautes (L’Étoffe des héros, 1979), les golden boys de Wall Street (Le Bûcher des vanités, 1987), les étudiants décadents des grandes universités (Moi, Charlotte Simons, 2004), les Latinos immigrés en Floride (Bloody Miami, 2013)…

Son costume blanc, qu’il ne quitte jamais, est un instrument de diversion. Une manière de détourner l’attention pour ne pas avoir à en dire trop sur son art ou sur lui-même. Wolfe a toujours préféré les faits et les longues descriptions à la psychologie et aux explications de texte. Mais, à 86 ans, le dandy réac n’a plus rien à perdre et n’élude aucun sujet.

Au téléphone, d’un ton volontiers distancié et malicieux, il s’amuse des mœurs de l’Amérique progressiste et démasque son hypocrisie. Le phénomène #Balance ton porc – et ses conséquences – pourrait être, selon lui, «la plus grande farce du XXIe siècle». Dans son dernier essai, Tom Wolfe semble faire un pas de côté. Il y déboulonne les thèses évolutionnistes de Darwin. Pour autant, Le Règne du langage (Robert Laffont) n’est en rien un traité scientifique. À travers la figure de Darwin, dignitaire installé qui aura su ériger sa théorie en dogme, Wolfe continue d’observer la «comédie humaine».

LE FIGARO .- Dans votre dernier livre, Le Règne du langage, vous expliquez que c’est la langue qui fait la spécificité de l’être humain. En quoi?

Tom WOLFE .- Il existe entre l’être humain et l’animal une différence essentielle, une ligne de démarcation aussi escarpée et inamovible qu’une faille géologique: la parole! Le langage a donné à la «bête humaine» bien plus qu’un ingénieux outil de communication. C’est en réalité une innovation de la teneur de la bombe atomique! La parole a été la toute première invention, le premier artéfact, la première fois où une créature terrestre, l’homme, a prélevé des éléments de la nature, en l’occurrence des sons, pour les transformer en quelque chose d’entièrement nouveau et façonné par lui, des enchaînements de sonorités qui formaient des codes, lesquels ont reçu le nom de «mots».

Non seulement le langage est un outil mais c’est le premier d’entre tous, celui qui a rendu tous les autres possibles, de la plus sommaire des pioches à la première des massues jusqu’à la roue et à la fusée spatiale. Sans lui, pas de danse, pas de musique, pas même le fredonnement d’une ritournelle, le battement des tambours, pas de rythme d’aucune sorte ni de cadence pour taper dans les mains.

«Seul le langage permet à l’homme de questionner son existence, de la poursuivre ou d’y renoncer»

Bref, c’est le langage, et lui seul, qui a conféré à la «bête humaine» la force de conquérir chaque pouce de terre ferme sur cette planète et de se goinfrer de la moitié des ressources comestibles de l’océan. Et pourtant, cette mise en coupe réglée du globe terrestre n’est qu’un résultat mineur de la puissance des paroles: son principal exploit, c’est d’avoir créé l’ego, la conscience de soi. Seul le langage permet à l’homme de questionner son existence, de la poursuivre ou d’y renoncer.

Aucun animal ne pense à se suicider, ni à massacrer ses semblables à une vaste échelle. Seule la parole nous autorise à nous autoexaminer et à rendre la planète inhabitable juste comme ça, en l’espace de trente ou quarante minutes nucléarisées. Elle seule permet à l’homme de fantasmer des religions, et des dieux pour leur donner du corps. Jusqu’à notre époque – et plus encore aujourd’hui – les mots sortis de la bouche de Mahomet au VIIe siècle continuent à galvaniser et contrôler la vie de trente-cinq pour cent de la population mondiale. Tout au long d’un millénaire et demi, ceux de Jésus ont exercé la même influence sur une portion d’humanité comparable avant de perdre une part de leur résonance en Europeau cours de la deuxième moitié du XXe siècle.

Votre livre déboulonne Darwin…

Dans Le Règne du langage, j’oppose la figure de Charles Darwin et celle d’Alfred Wallace. Le premier est un parfait gentleman installé dans la haute société britannique du XIXe siècle. Le second, tout au contraire, est un homme de terrain, issu d’un milieu modeste. Le type d’autodidactes que l’aristocratie de l’époque surnommait «les attrapeurs de mouches». Wallace fut pourtant le premier, avant Darwin, à défendre la théorie de la sélection naturelle. Mais faute d’être bien né, la paternité de cette découverte ne lui fut jamais attribuée, l’auteur de L’Origine des espèces s’attribuant tout le mérite.

Si Wallace a été le premier à définir une théorie de l’évolution, il a été aussi le premier à questionner cette thèse. À se demander comment l’homme avait pu concevoir les chiffres, l’arithmétique, les formes géométriques, mais aussi penser un code moral, une exigence éthique, éprouver le plaisir dispensé par la musique ou l’art visuel. À la fin de sa vie, il conclut qu’aucun de ces attributs sublimes et consubstantiels à l’humanité n’a de relation avec la sélection naturelle.

En quoi votre vision du monde diffère-t-elle de celle des créationnistes?

Les créationnistes refusent toute idée d’évolution géologique ou biologique car ils voient en Dieu le seul créateur de la vie. Ce n’est pas mon cas. Je ne fais que montrer les limites de la théorie de l’évolution et entériner l’incapacité des chercheurs à déterminer l’origine du langage. Ma seule conclusion est que c’est le langage qui sépare l’être humain de la bête.

Pour le reste, je n’ai pas de réponse et je ne propose pas de récit ou d’idéologie de substitution. Personne ne peut prétendre raconter l’histoire vraie de la création. L’Origine des espèces de Darwin n’est qu’une version scientiste de la Genèse. Darwin est tombé dans le piège de la cosmogonie, ce besoin compulsif d’élaborer l’inatteignable «théorie du Tout», un concept ou une narration qui organiserait miraculeusement chaque élément de l’univers en un système clair et précis.

Depuis l’un de vos premiers livres, Radical Chic (Le Gauchisme de Park Avenue en français), vous fustigez le politiquement correct, le gauchisme culturel, la tyrannie des minorités. L’élection de Donald Trump est-elle la conséquence de ce politiquement correct?

Dans ce reportage, d’abord paru en juin 1970 dans leNew York Magazine, je décrivais une soirée organisée, le 14 janvier précédent, par le compositeur Leonard Bernstein dans son duplex new-yorkais de treize pièces avec terrasse. La fête avait pour objet de lever des fonds en faveur des Black Panthers… Les hôtes avaient pris soin d’engager des domestiques blancs pour ne pas froisser la susceptibilité des Panthers.

«Les gens doivent désormais faire attention à ce qu’ils disent. C’est de pire en pire, en particulier dans les universités.»

Le politiquement correct, que je surnomme PC, pour «police citoyenne», est né de l’idée marxiste que tout ce qui sépare socialement les êtres humains doit être banni pour éviter la domination d’un groupe social sur un autre. Par la suite, ironiquement, le politiquement correct est devenu l’instrument des «classes dominantes», l’idée d’une conduite appropriée pour mieux masquer leur «domination sociale» et se donner bonne conscience.

Peu à peu, le politiquement correct est même devenu un marqueur de cette «domination» et un instrument de contrôle social, une manière de se distinguer des «ploucs» et de les censurer, de délégitimer leur vision du monde au nom de la morale. Les gens doivent désormais faire attention à ce qu’ils disent. C’est de pire en pire, en particulier dans les universités. La force de Trump est sans doute d’avoir rompu avec cette chape de plomb. Par exemple, les gens très riches font généralement profil bas alors que lui s’en vante. Je suppose qu’une partie des électeurs préfère cela à l’hypocrisie des politiques conformistes.

Dans votre œuvre, le statut social est la principale clef de compréhension du monde. Le vote Trump est-il le vote de ceux qui n’ont pas ou plus de statut social ou dont le statut social a été méprisé?

À travers Radical Chic, je décrivais l’émergence de ce qu’on appellerait aujourd’hui la «gauche caviar» ou le «progressisme de limousine», c’est-à-dire une gauche qui s’est largement affranchie de toute empathie pour la classe ouvrière américaine. Une gauche qui adore l’art contemporain, s’identifie aux causes exotiques et à la souffrance des minorités, mais méprise les «rednecks» de l’Ohio.

Des Américains ont eu le sentiment que le Parti démocrate faisait tellement des pieds et des mains pour aller séduire les différentes minorités qu’il en arrivait à négliger une partie encore considérable de la population. A savoir cette partie ouvrière de la population qui, historiquement, a toujours été la moelle épinière du Parti démocrate. Durant cette élection, l’aristocratie démocrate a pris le parti de favoriser une coalition de minorités et d’exclure de ses préoccupations la classe ouvrière blanche. Et Donald Trump n’a plus eu qu’à se pencher pour ramasser tous ces électeurs et les rallier à sa candidature.

Que vous inspirent l’affaire Weinstein et la polémique #Balance ton porc?

Personne ne se donne la peine de définir correctement le terme d’agression sexuelle. C’est une catégorie fourre-tout qui va de la tentative de viol à la simple attirance. C’est de cette confusion que naissent tous les excès. Je suis partagé entre l’effroi, en tant que citoyen, et l’amusement, en tant que romancier, pour cette merveilleuse comédie humaine. Si cela continue, cela peut devenir la plus grande farce du XXIe siècle. Dans la presse locale, encore ce matin dans le New York Post et le New York Times, ces affaires sont en lettres capitales à la une. Aujourd’hui, n’importe quel homme qui prête n’importe quelle sorte d’attention à n’importe quelle femme, par exemple sur son lieu de travail, devient un «prédateur».

«Les hommes s’inquiètent désormais de trouver certaines femmes attirantes. Voilà qu’on se retrouve à s’opposer aux lois naturelles de l’attraction qu’il faudrait désormais ignorer»

Depuis cette affaire, j’entends partout autour de moi des hommes dire à de jeunes femmes qu’ils fréquentent «je ne devrais pas être vu avec toi ici ou là», «nous travaillons dans la même entreprise et je suis à un poste hiérarchique plus élevé et tout cela va faire trop mauvais genre». Les hommes s’inquiètent désormais de trouver certaines femmes attirantes. Voilà qu’on se retrouve à s’opposer aux lois naturelles de l’attraction qu’il faudrait désormais ignorer.

Personne ne parle de ces femmes, et elles sont pourtant nombreuses, qui prennent un plaisir réellement considérable à rencontrer sur leur lieu de travail un collègue masculin qu’elles trouvent attirant. Un homme qu’elles n’auraient pas eu la chance de rencontrer autrement. Je pense que le monde n’a pas tant changé pour que l’on se mette à proclamer qu’aujourd’hui les femmes ne désirent soudain plus attirer l’attention des hommes.

En vérité, rien n’a vraiment changé, hormis le fait que les femmes disposent d’un puissant outil d’intimidation qu’elles n’avaient pas auparavant. Elles peuvent maintenant remettre à leur place ces hommes dont l’attention est trop extrême ou qu’elles jugent trop vulgaires, écarter un rival sur le plan professionnel ou encore se venger d’un amant «trop goujat». Pour inculper quelqu’un d’agression sexuelle, il semble désormais que la seule parole de la femme soit suffisante et certains demandent déjà un renversement du droit qui obligerait l’homme soupçonné à faire la preuve de son innocence.

Vous êtes l’inventeur du «nouveau journalisme». Un journalisme qui se rapproche de la littérature dans la forme, mais qui repose aussi sur la minutie des enquêtes et la précision des faits rapportés. À l’heure du numérique et de l’immédiateté, ce journalisme est-il mort?

À l’époque, les bureaux du Herald étaient à Times Square. Il suffisait de descendre dans la rue poser des questions aux gens. J’utilisais ce que j’appelle la technique de l’homme de Mars. J’arrivais et je disais: «Ça a l’air intéressant, ce que vous faites! Moi, j’arrive de Mars, je ne connais rien, qu’est-ce que c’est?» Aujourd’hui, certains journalistes ne sortent jamais de leur bureau. Ils font leurs articles en surfant sur internet. Pourtant, il n’y a pas d’alternative: il faut sortir! Quand de jeunes écrivains ou journalistes me demandent un conseil, ce qui est rare, je leur dis toujours: «Sors!»

Le Règne du langage, de Tom Wolfe. Robert Laffont, collection, «Pavillons», 216 p., 19 €.
Le Règne du langage, de Tom Wolfe. Robert Laffont, collection, «Pavillons», 216 p., 19 €. – Crédits photo : ,

Au final, le nouveau journalisme c’était quoi? J’ai toujours pensé que c’était simplement une technique d’écriture sur un sujet non fictif avec toutes les méthodes normalement utilisées pour la fiction. Pour moi, l’un des principes du nouveau journalisme est d’écrire scène par scène, comme pour un scénario. Le futur de ce genre dépend des jeunes qui se lancent. Mais ils lisent tout en ligne désormais. Et, quand vous lisez en ligne, juste pour la simple raison que vous lisez sur un fond très lumineux, vous avez beaucoup de mal à lire des longs formats.

Une fois les huit cents mots dépassés, vous commencez à fatiguer. Et tout cela invite les journalistes à raccourcir leur écriture. La lecture est de plus en plus rapide et cela force l’auteur à renoncer à tout un tas de techniques qui peuvent pourtant donner à un article une puissance sans pareil. Il devient plus difficile de parler des détails désormais, le décor, la façon dont les gens s’habillent, tout cela prend énormément de place. Il n’y aura plus beaucoup d’auteurs ou de journalistes que l’on pourrait appeler des plumes.

Le style demande un dur labeur. Aujourd’hui, on met l’accent sur tout ce qui est efficace. C’est ce à quoi sont formés les journalistes. Déjà à mon époque, on nous demandait de faire court, car les journaux craignaient la concurrence de la télévision. Cela n’a pas empêché le nouveau journalisme d’être un succès. Je crois que cela pourrait fonctionner, y compris sur des formats numériques. Vous savez que tous les livres de Zola sont encore disponibles en anglais partout aux États-Unis? On les réimprime tout le temps.

 


 

 

Source:©  Tom Wolfe : «Le politiquement correct est devenu l’instrument des classes dominantes»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais