Terrorism: "Mental illness is influenced by the times"

Home"TO THE ONE"Terrorism: "Mental illness is influenced by the times"
9 Partages

Daniel Zagury;

INTERVIEW - Daniel Zagury, head of a psychiatric service in a public institution in Seine-Saint-Denis, is one of the experts in the most respected courts. Based on his experience, he analyzes the jihadist phenomenon.

LE FIGARO. - What are the criteria that can lead a psychiatrist to diagnose the abolition of the discernment of a criminal, which makes it de facto inaccessible to the penal sanction?

Daniel ZAGURY. - They are very strict. To summarize, we must establish that mental illness, and nothing else, explains the passage to the act. In order to reach such a diagnosis, it is advisable to practice a clinical examination but also to study the medical file of the subject, to look for possible antecedents: it is a conjunction of factors which enlightens us. Criminal irresponsibility is extremely rare in the field of terrorism. I add, for having investigated many cases, that no terrorist attempts to pose as crazy. The terrorist believes himself a repository of a mission, he carries a message, while the one who passes for a madman destroys the message he is carrying.

"We are not in a crazy or terrorist dilemma. A mental patient can very well become a terrorist. It does not detract from the terrifying gravity of terrorist acts. "

According to the Minister of the Interior, one-third of jihadists suffer from mental disorders: what do you think?

We are at the heart of the problem. Do not confuse proven mental illness (schizophrenia, paranoid delusion, etc.) with distortions, personality disorders. What is certain is that people who are well-balanced, well-skinned, happy about their existence, have no reason to become terrorists. But do not confuse someone who has seen a psychiatrist once in his life and a mental patient. Currently, about 2 million French people are followed in psychiatry, they are not potential terrorists!

Do you understand the government's call to psychiatrists?

The state, which has neglected for decades the situation of prisons and psychiatry, wakes up with a hangover. The risk is that it gets bogged down and gets bogged down in an erroneous analysis of the role of mental illness in terrorism. Psychiatry, because of the health policies of recent decades, is bloodless. The catastrophe would be that the state, to give good conscience and reassure the population, imposes new psychiatric rigid protocols, a "user manual" universal, while only the tailor-made is effective. An example: if one of my patients, whom I have always seen dressed in the West, arrives one morning in my service with slippers on my feet, I will not necessarily report it to the prosecutor.

Would you say that the extreme media coverage of Islamist attacks pushes some people to sign speeches, attitudes?

Obviously. Mental illness is influenced by the times. Nowadays, no one thinks of himself as Napoleon. The news often remains, for the psychotic, the last link with the outside world, once the contact lost with the reality of the situations. In addition, terrorism is a polymorphous phenomenon, a moving phenomenon that must be adapted to understand it. An anthropologist, Ralph Linton, spoke of "patterns of misconduct" that depend on the time. Daesh calls to commit horrible acts: this exhortation, formulated by social networks, can be taken at the word by lots of people who, for various reasons, succumb to a globalized fashion, a harangue available to all hate and all the intimate despair. Reducing this phenomenon to its psychiatric dimension would be as absurd as excluding the understanding of the individual equation. We are not in a "crazy or terrorist" dilemma. A mental patient can very well become a terrorist. This does not detract from the terrifying gravity of terrorist acts.

"I have met a lot of people caught up in Daesh propaganda: they have no religious culture, they are only parrots of Surahs. For them, the prospect of death is central. "

Sometimes you talk about the "terrorist eureka": what is it?

It is something other than the more or less spontaneous use of jihad by a "lost" individual to make up his faults. This subject believes transforming an intimate drama into a heroic act, a melancholic suicide into an apotheistic act: he becomes a "surmusulman", in the words of the psychoanalyst Fethi Benslama. It is important not to minimize the potential danger of these "nickel-plated feet", because to slaughter his fellows in the name of Daesh requires neither intelligence nor special preparations. Others will build a terrorist fate. The "eureka" is the moment when the humiliation, the resentment of the delinquent, the drug addict, telescopes with the proselytizing message of protesting Islam. The subject then becomes a clone, he thinks like all the others by mourning himself. Generally, his entourage then finds him soothed, less aggressive towards him, he stops drugging or stealing: his destiny is traced, he will redeem his first life, failed. Remember the assassin of the Austrian Empress Sissi, Luigi Lucheni, who said: "I wanted to avenge my life. "

How can the study of Islam push as many people on the path of mass murder?

"Religion is no longer a metaphor, but a reality. They believe hard that angels will accompany them to the top of paradise where young virgins wait for them. "

I have met a lot of subjects caught up in Daesh propaganda: they have no real religious culture, they are only parrots of Surahs. For them, the prospect of death is central; religion is no longer a metaphor, but a reality. They believe hard that angels will accompany them to the top of paradise where young virgins await them. This psychological benefit escapes us completely, but we must not lose sight of the fact that it exists and pushes beings deprived of solid landmarks to commit the most deadly attacks possible.



 

 


Source: ©  Le Figaro Premium - Terrorism: "Mental illness is influenced by the times"

9 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Terrorisme : «La maladie mentale est influencée par l'air du temps»

Home»A LA UNE»Terrorisme : «La maladie mentale est influencée par l’air du temps»

Daniel Zagury;

INTERVIEW – Daniel Zagury, chef d’un service de psychiatrie dans un établissement public de Seine-Saint-Denis, est l’un des experts auprès des tribunaux les plus respectés. Sur la base de son expérience, il analyse le phénomène djihadiste.

LE FIGARO. – Quels sont les critères qui peuvent conduire un psychiatre à diagnostiquer l’abolition du discernement d’un criminel, ce qui le rend de facto inaccessible à la sanction pénale?

Daniel ZAGURY. – Ils sont très stricts. Pour résumer, il faut établir que la maladie mentale, et rien d’autre, explique le passage à l’acte. Afin d’aboutir à un tel diagnostic, il convient de pratiquer un examen clinique mais aussi d’étudier le dossier médical du sujet, de rechercher d’éventuels antécédents: c’est une conjonction de facteurs qui nous éclaire. L’irresponsabilité pénale est rarissime en matière de terrorisme. J’ajoute, pour avoir expertisé de nombreux cas, qu’aucun terroriste ne tente de se faire passer pour fou. Le terroriste se croit dépositaire d’une mission, il porte un message, alors que celui qui passe pour un fou détruit le message qu’il porte.

«On n’est pas dans un dilemme fou ou terroriste. Un malade mental peut très bien devenir terroriste. Cela n’enlève rien à la gravité terrifiante des actes terroristes.»

Selon le ministre de l’Intérieur, un tiers des djihadistes est atteint de troubles mentaux: qu’en pensez-vous?

On est au cœur du problème. Il ne faut pas confondre la maladie mentale avérée (schizophrénie, délire paranoïaque, etc.) et les distorsions, les troubles de la personnalité. Ce qui est certain, c’est que les individus équilibrés, bien dans leur peau, heureux de leur existence, n’ont aucune raison de devenir des terroristes. Mais il ne faut pas confondre quelqu’un qui a vu un psychiatre une fois dans sa vie et un malade mental. Actuellement, environ 2 millions de Français sont suivis en psychiatrie, ce ne sont pas des terroristes potentiels!

Comprenez-vous l’appel du gouvernement aux psychiatres?

L’État, qui a négligé pendant des décennies la situation des prisons et de la psychiatrie, se réveille avec la gueule de bois. Le risque est qu’il s’affole et s’embourbe dans une analyse erronée du rôle de la maladie mentale dans le terrorisme. La psychiatrie, du fait des politiques de santé de ces dernières décennies, est exsangue. La catastrophe serait que l’État, pour se donner bonne conscience et rassurer la population, impose aux psychiatres de nouveaux protocoles rigides, un «mode d’emploi » universel, alors que seul le sur-mesure est efficace. Un exemple: si un de mes patients, que j’ai toujours vu vêtu à l’occidentale, arrive un beau matin dans mon service avec des babouches aux pieds, je ne vais pas forcément le signaler au procureur.

Diriez-vous que l’extrême médiatisation des attentats islamistes pousse certaines personnes à singer un discours, des attitudes?

Évidemment. La maladie mentale est influencée par l’air du temps. De nos jours, plus personne ne se prend pour Napoléon. L’actualité reste souvent, pour les psychotiques, le dernier lien avec le monde extérieur, une fois le contact perdu avec la réalité des situations. De surcroît, le terrorisme est un phénomène polymorphe, mouvant, auquel il faut s’adapter pour le comprendre. Un anthropologue, Ralph Linton, a parlé de «modèles d’inconduite» qui sont fonction de l’époque. Daech appelle à commettre des actes horribles: cette exhortation, formulée à la cantonade via les réseaux sociaux, peut être prise au mot par des tas de gens qui, pour des raisons diverses, succombent à une mode mondialisée, une harangue à disposition de toutes les haines et de tous les désespoirs intimes. Réduire ce phénomène à sa dimension psychiatrique serait aussi absurde que d’exclure la compréhension de l’équation individuelle. On n’est pas dans un dilemme «fou ou terroriste». Un malade mental peut très bien devenir terroriste. Cela n’enlève rien à la gravité terrifiante des actes terroristes.

«J’ai rencontré nombre de sujets happés par la propagande de Daech : ils n’ont aucune culture religieuse, ce ne sont que des perroquets de sourates. Pour eux, la perspective de la mort est centrale.»

Vous parlez parfois de l’«eurêka terroriste»: de quoi s’agit-il?

C’est autre chose que l’utilisation plus ou moins spontanée du djihad par un individu «paumé » pour maquiller ses failles. Ce sujet-là croit transformer un drame intime en acte héroïque, un suicide mélancolique en acte apothéotique: il devient un «surmusulman», selon l’expression du psychanalyste Fethi Benslama. Il ne faut surtout pas minimiser le danger potentiel de ces «pieds nickelés», car massacrer ses semblables au nom de Daech ne demande ni intelligence ni préparations particulières. D’autres vont se construire un destin terroriste. L’«eurêka» est ce moment de bascule où l’humiliation, le ressentiment du délinquant, du toxicomane, se télescope avec le message prosélyte de l’islam revendicatif. Le sujet devient alors un clone, il pense comme tous les autres en faisant le deuil de lui-même. Généralement, son entourage le trouve alors apaisé, moins agressif à son égard, il arrête de se droguer ou de voler: son destin est tracé, il va racheter sa première vie, ratée. Souvenez-vous de l’assassin de l’impératrice d’Autriche Sissi, Luigi Lucheni, qui a déclaré: «Je voulais venger ma vie. »

En quoi l’étude de l’islam peut-elle pousser autant d’individus sur la voie du meurtre de masse?

«La religion n’est plus une métaphore, mais une réalité. Ils croient dur comme fer que des anges vont les accompagner jusqu’au sommet du paradis où les attendent de jeunes vierges.»

J’ai rencontré nombre de sujets happés par la propagande de Daech: ils n’ont aucune culture religieuse véritable, ce ne sont que des perroquets de sourates. Pour eux, la perspective de la mort est centrale ; la religion n’est plus une métaphore, mais une réalité. Ils croient dur comme fer que des anges vont les accompagner jusqu’au sommet du paradis où les attendent de jeunes vierges. Ce bénéfice psychologique nous échappe complètement, mais il ne faut pas perdre de vue qu’il existe et pousse des êtres privés de repères solides à commettre des attentats les plus meurtriers possibles.



 

 


Source :©  Le Figaro Premium – Terrorisme : «La maladie mentale est influencée par l’air du temps»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais