Splendor and Misery of "little whites"

Home"Anciens1"Splendor and Misery of "little whites"
2 Partages
Hillbilly Elégie, by JD Vance, Editions Globe, translated from English (United States) by Vincent Raynaud. - Photo Credits: The Times

 

FIGAROVOX / READING - Alexandre Devecchio read Hillbilly Elegie, a real editorial phenomenon in the United States. In this autobiographical tale, JD Vance recounts the rough life of the "little whites" of deep America who voted for Trump and sounded the voice of a disillusioned class, without ever pouring into misery.


Crédits photo: Le Cerf
Photo credits: Le Cerf - Photo Credits: Le Cerf

 

Alexandre Devecchio is a journalist at Figaro, in charge of FigaroVox. He has just published The New Children of the Century, Investigating a Fragmented Generation (Deer, 2016) and co-authored Welcome to the Worst World (Plon, 2016).

 

 


Some still struggle to believe it today. Almost a year ago, Donald Trump became the most unlikely American president in history. Editorial phenomenon in the United States, where he was one of the best-sellers of the year, Hillbilly Elégie, translated into French by Globe Editions, provides a better understanding of this event that has made so many observers lie. Yet JD Vance's book is not a traditional political essay. It was written before Trump officially became the Republican presidential candidate and takes the form of an autobiographical narrative.

JD Vance's book is not a traditional political essay. It was written before Trump was officially the Republican candidate.

The author recounts his atypical career: that of a cultural defector, JD Vance, 33, a graduate of Yale Law School, one of the most prestigious in the world. He lives in a comfortable home on the east coast, is happy as a couple and has two dogs in great shape. But deep down, he remains a "hill hickory", "an Irish-Scottish Hillbilly". Vance comes from a poor family in the industrial region of the Rust Belt. These grandparents, "Papaw" and "Mamaw", from the Appalachians, Kentucky, settled in Ohio to flee misery. Sympathizer of the Democratic Party, "the party that defended the workersPapaw experienced a form of social climbing by becoming a worker in the iron and steel industry. Two generations later, everything has changed. Ohio moved from the Democratic camp to the Republican camp, leading to Trump's victory and a deep recomposition of the American political landscape.

Through his chaotic history (absent father, toxic mother), JD Vance traces the fate of the "little whites" of peripheral America. His description of the collapse of Middletown, one of the oldest cities in Ohio, is strikingly true. The city center, which looked great in the 1980s, is nothing more than a pale reflection of the golden age of industrial America. The shopping centers, the restaurants that had existed since the inter-war period, and the bars where the workers met to have a drink after the factory, gave way to the empty streets, the shops with the barricades and the windows. Chinese fast foods. The basketball court is nothing more than a concrete rectangle invaded by weeds. The Armco factory, which had "teleported the Kentucky Hills' Vance grandparents into the American middle class," went downhill. The value of housing has fallen and homeowners are being placed under house arrest in decaying neighborhoods. Their life expectancy decreases.

In this post-industrial hell, anger rages against a democrat elite disconnected and guilty of having eyes only for minorities.

In this post-industrial hell, anger rages against a democrat elite disconnected and guilty of having eyes only for minorities. "President Obama made his political debut as many people in my community began to believe that in modern America, meritocracy had not been forged for them", Vance analysis. The destiny of those forgotten in deep America echoes that of the "sans-dents" of the France of the Invisibles. But, and this is the strength and originality of the book, the author never pours into misery or complacency. He knows his people: their great qualities as their immense defects. Losers of globalization, they are also responsible for their fate. Hillbillies have a real sense of honor and family. These tough guys are hot-blooded and, if someone insults their mother, they can take out their colt orchain saw". But far too many of them have a penchant for alcohol and drugs. Every night, they scream at each other and throw everything in their hands. Their culture of assistantship and resentment locks them into a form of victimitarian communitarianism. "A strong trend among working-class whites is to blame society or the government for all ills, and it continues to grow," says Vance. His look is both severe and fair. Because, despite his brilliant trajectory, he remained one of them. "Where Americans see Hillbillies, rednecks or white trash, I see my neighbors, my friends, my family, he wrote. I love these people, including those I avoid talking for my sanity. Because there are no bad guys in this story. There is just a funny band of Hillbillies struggling and looking for their way."


Crédits photo: Editions Globe
Photo Credits: Globe Editions - Photo Credits: HARD COVER

 

 

Hillbilly Elégie, by JD Vance, Globe Editions, € 22. Translated from English (United States) by Vincent Raynaud.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Source: ©  Splendor and Misery of "little whites"

2 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Splendeur et Misère des «petits blancs»

Home»Anciens1»Splendeur et Misère des «petits blancs»
Splendeur et Misère des «petits blancs»
Hillbilly Elégie, de J. D. Vance, Editions Globe, traduit de l’anglais (Etats-Unis) par Vincent Raynaud. – Crédits photo : The Times

 

FIGAROVOX/LECTURE – Alexandre Devecchio a lu Hillbilly Élégie, véritable phénomène éditorial aux États-Unis. Dans ce récit autobiographique J. D. Vance retrace la rude vie des « petits Blancs » de l’Amérique profonde qui ont voté pour Trump et fait entendre la voix d’une classe désillusionnée, sans jamais verser dans le misérabilisme.


Crédits photo: Le Cerf
Crédits photo: Le Cerf – Crédits photo : Le Cerf

 

Alexandre Devecchio est journaliste au Figaro, en charge du FigaroVox. Il vient de publier Les Nouveaux enfants du siècle, enquête sur une génération fracturée (éd. du Cerf, 2016) et est coauteur de Bienvenue dans le pire des mondes (éd. Plon, 2016).

 

 


Certains peinent, aujourd’hui encore, à y croire. Il y a un an presque jour pour jour, Donald Trump devenait le président américain le plus improbable de l’histoire. Phénomène éditorial aux Etats-Unis, où il a été l’un des best-sellers de l’année, Hillbilly Elégie, traduit en français par les Editions Globe, permet de mieux saisir cet événement qui a fait mentir tant d’observateurs. Pourtant, le livre de J. D. Vance n’a rien d’un essai politique traditionnel. Il a été écrit avant que Trump ne soit officiellement le candidat des républicains à la présidentielle et prend la forme d’un récit autobiographique.

Le livre de J. D. Vance n’a rien d’un essai politique traditionnel. Il a été écrit avant que Trump ne soit officiellement le candidat des républicains.

L’auteur y raconte son parcours atypique: celle d’un transfuge culturel, J. D. Vance, 33 ans, diplômé de la faculté de droit de Yale, l’une des plus prestigieuses du monde. Il habite une maison confortable sur la côte Est, est heureux en couple et a deux chiens en pleine forme. Mais, au fond de lui, il demeure un «plouc des collines», «un Hillbilly irlando-écossais». Vance vient d’une famille pauvre de la région industrielle de la Rust Belt (ceinture de la rouille). Ces grands-parents, «Papaw» et «Mamaw», issus des Appalaches, dans le Kentucky, se sont installés dans l’Ohio pour fuir la misère. Sympathisant du Parti démocrate, «le parti qui défendait les travailleurs», Papaw a connu une forme d’ascension sociale en devenant ouvrier dans l’industrie sidérurgique. Deux générations plus tard, tout a changé. L’Ohio est passé du camp démocrate au camp républicain, entraînant la victoire de Trump et une recomposition profonde du paysage politique américain.

A travers son histoire chaotique (père absent, mère toxico), J. D. Vance retrace le destin des «petits Blancs» de l’Amérique périphérique. Sa description de l’effondrement de Middletown, l’une des plus anciennes villes de l’Ohio, est saisissante de vérité. Le centre-ville, qui avait fière allure dans les années 1980, n’est plus qu’un pâle reflet de l’âge d’or de l’Amérique industrielle. Les centres commerciaux toujours pleins, les restaurants qui existaient depuis l’entre-deux-guerres et les bars où les ouvriers se retrouvaient pour aller boire un coup après l’usine, ont laissé place aux rues vides, aux boutiques aux vitrines barricadées et aux fast-foods chinois. Le terrain de basket n’est plus qu’un rectangle de béton envahi par les mauvaises herbes. L’usine Armco qui avait «téléporté les grands-parents de Vance des collines du Kentucky dans la classe moyenne américaine», a périclité. La valeur des logements a chuté et leurs propriétaires se retrouvent assignés à résidence dans des quartiers en décrépitude. Leur espérance de vie diminue.

Dans cet enfer postindustriel, la colère gronde contre une élite démocrate déconnectée et coupable de n’avoir d’yeux que pour les minorités.

Dans cet enfer postindustriel, la colère gronde contre une élite démocrate déconnectée et coupable de n’avoir d’yeux que pour les minorités. «Le président Obama a fait ses débuts en politique alors que beaucoup de gens dans ma communauté commençaient à croire que, dans l’Amérique moderne, la méritocratie n’avait pas été forgée pour eux», analyse Vance. Le destin de ces oubliés de l’Amérique profonde fait écho à celui des «sans-dents» de la France des invisibles. Mais, et c’est la force et l’originalité du livre, l’auteur ne verse jamais dans le misérabilisme ou la complaisance. Il connaît les siens: leurs grandes qualités comme leurs immenses défauts. Perdants de la mondialisation, ils sont aussi responsables de leur sort. Les Hillbillies sont dotés d’un vrai sens de l’honneur et de la famille. Ces durs à cuire ont le sang chaud et, si quelqu’un insulte leur mère, ils peuvent sortir leur colt ou leur «tronçonneuse». Mais beaucoup trop d’entre eux ont un penchant pour l’alcool et la drogue. Chaque soir, ils se hurlent dessus et se jettent à la figure tout ce qui leur passe par la main. Leur culture de l’assistanat et du ressentiment les enferme dans une forme de communautarisme victimaire. «Une tendance forte, chez les Blancs de la classe ouvrière, consiste à accuser la société ou le gouvernement de tous les maux, et elle ne cesse de s’étendre», déplore J. D. Vance. Son regard est à la fois sévère et juste. Car, malgré sa trajectoire brillante, il est resté l’un d’entre eux. «Là où les Américains voient des Hillbillies, des rednecks ou des white trash, je vois mes voisins, mes amis, ma famille, écrit-il. J’aime ces gens, y compris ceux auxquels j’évite de parler pour ma santé mentale. Car il n’y a pas de méchants dans cette histoire. Il y a juste une drôle de bande de Hillbillies qui luttent et cherchent leur voie.»


Crédits photo: Editions Globe
Crédits photo: Editions Globe – Crédits photo : HARD COVER

 

 

Hillbilly Elégie, de J. D. Vance, Editions Globe, 22 €. Traduit de l’anglais (Etats-Unis) par Vincent Raynaud.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

Source:©  Splendeur et Misère des «petits blancs»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais