Under pressure from the state, Mathieu Gallet refuses to resign

Home"TO THE ONE"Under pressure from the state, Mathieu Gallet refuses to resign
4 Partages
The CEO of Radio France, Mathieu Gallet, appealed the judgment rendered by the Criminal Court of Créteil. - Photo credits: Christophe Morin / IP3

The Minister of Culture, Françoise Nyssen, demands the resignation of the boss of Radio France, after his condemnation for favoritism at the INA. The CSA is called to decide.

Crisis situation at the top of Radio France. Immediately after the judgment rendered by the Créteil Criminal Court convicting Mathieu Gallet one year suspended prison sentence, the latter has excluded to resign and appealed the judgment.

"A public company executive condemned for favoritism, it's not an acceptable situation ..."

Françoise Nyssen

But in the process, Françoise Nyssen, the Minister of Culture, took the floor to remind that "the leaders of public companies have a duty of exemplary. A public company executive condemned for favoritism, this is not an acceptable situation. It belongs to the interested to draw the consequences, as well as to the Superior council of audio-visual, legally competent ".

Clearly, she publicly called him to leave his post of his own accord. A strong political word that places the issue of probity and exemplarity in the face of the legal question of respect for the presumption of innocence.

jurisprudence

Since the arrival of Emmanuel Macron, François Bayrou, Richard Ferrand and Sylvie Goulard had to leave the government because of indictment or suspicion of fictitious employment. A case law that the state wants to apply to the boss of a public broadcasting group. An unprecedented standoff is engaged between Mathieu Gallet, who speaks of right, and Françoise Nyssen, who speaks of politics.

To cut this knot, the two parties turn to the CSA which, in the current state of the law, is the only one able to dismiss a leader whom it named in 2014. Olivier Schrameck So will gather his college in plenary session, Wednesday all day, to discuss this case. Independent regulator, the CSA can estimate that Mathieu Gallet must stay as long as his call is not judged. It can also initiate a dismissal procedure. This contradictory procedure could be quite fast. A matter of days or weeks.

"It is up to the interested party to draw the consequences, as well as the Superior council of audio-visual, legally competent"

Françoise Nyssen

But the difficulty is that if the CSA removes Mathieu Gallet, he will have a lot of trouble to appoint his or her replacement. Because Emmanuel Macron wants to withdraw this power of nomination to him to give to the boards of directors of the public audio-visual groups. Any appointment by the CSA would therefore be deprived of legitimacy.

To mitigate this, Françoise Nyssen is campaigning to have a law ratifying the change of appointment power very quickly. But this option has not yet been arbitrated by Matignon and the Elysee. Especially if such a law is passed, the question of the maintenance of other public service directors appointed by the CSA (Delphine Ernotte to France Télévisions, Laurent Vallet to INA and Marie-Christine Zaragoza to France Media World) will arise. A crucial issue while the Élysée has triggered the big bang of the French public audiovisual.

Complete Imbroglio

In the meantime, we are left with a president of Radio France who does not want to resign, a minister who can not dismiss him and a CSA who can do it but can not name his successor. The imbroglio is complete.

"All this happens at the worst of times. The company is more fragile than ever when we are promised a big bang "

Jean-Paul Quennesson, elected at SUD

On Tuesday, Mathieu Gallet spent the day meeting all the groups of the group. At 3 pm, he informed his board of directors, where the representatives of the state were absent. At 4:30 pm, he chained up on a meeting with the antenna directors. Finally, at 5:30 pm, he held an information meeting with the unions.

The latter, who met upstream, failed to determine a common position. Should we support Mathieu Gallet? FO laments that "bosses can make serious professional mistakes and perform" and says "understand the position of the minister".

"The employees are surprised that the minister does not respect the presumption of innocence," says Jean-Paul Quennesson, elected at SUD. But the general tone is worrying, while the much feared audiovisual law is approaching. "All this happens at the worst of times. The company is more fragile than ever when we are promised a big bang, "says the elected union. There is nothing to suggest the profile of the CEO's replacement if he were to leave. And even if Mathieu Gallet remains, "we can not say that his situation is the best to lead tight discussions with the tutelage."

"A president who does not have the confidence of the state shareholder, is the assurance of being skimped during budget arbitrations"

A very good connoisseur of the file

It seems complicated for Mathieu Gallet to stay in place, except to want to play the balance of power with his tutelage, the state. But the latter has many cartridges. After Françoise Nyssen, the Minister of the Economy or Emmanuel Macron himself could speak. We remember his sentence "The public visual audiovisual is the shame of the Republic". Another murderous sentence could change the situation.

Finally, the state still has the financial weapon. "A president who does not have the confidence of the State shareholder, it is the insurance to be skimmed during budgetary arbitrations" assures a very good connoisseur of the file ...


 

 

 

Source: ©  Under pressure from the state, Mathieu Gallet refuses to resign

4 Partages

2 Responses to "Sous la pression de l’État, Mathieu Gallet refuse de démissionner"

  1. Michèle Pons
    Michèle Pons   18 January 2018 at 0 h 06 min

    Would he be protected?

  2. Disraeli   19 January 2018 at 0 h 01 min

    "The CSA, independent regulator ..": thank you for your humor ..

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Sous la pression de l'État, Mathieu Gallet refuse de démissionner

Home»A LA UNE»Sous la pression de l’État, Mathieu Gallet refuse de démissionner
Sous la pression de l'État, Mathieu Gallet refuse de démissionner
Le PDG de Radio France, Mathieu Gallet, a fait appel du jugement rendu par le tribunal correctionnel de Créteil. – Crédits photo : Christophe Morin / IP3

La ministre de la Culture, Françoise Nyssen, exige la démission du patron de Radio France, après sa condamnation pour favoritisme à l’INA. Le CSA est appelé à trancher.

Situation de crise au sommet de Radio France. Immédiatement après le jugement rendu par le tribunal correctionnel de Créteil condamnant Mathieu Gallet à un an de prison avec sursis, ce dernier a exclu de démissionner et a fait appel du jugement.

«Un dirigeant d’entreprise publique condamné pour favoritisme, ce n’est pas une situation acceptable…»

Françoise Nyssen

Mais dans la foulée, Françoise Nyssen, la ministre de la Culture, a pris la parole pour rappeler que «les dirigeants d’entreprises publiques ont un devoir d’exemplarité. Un dirigeant d’entreprise publique condamné pour favoritisme, ce n’est pas une situation acceptable. Il appartient à l’intéressé d’en tirer les conséquences, ainsi qu’au Conseil supérieur de l’audiovisuel, légalement compétent».

En clair, elle l’a publiquement appelé à quitter son poste de lui-même. Une parole politique forte qui place la question de la probité et de l’exemplarité face à la question juridique du respect de la présomption d’innocence.

Jurisprudence

Depuis l’arrivée au pouvoir d’Emmanuel Macron, François Bayrou, Richard Ferrand et Sylvie Goulard ont dû quitter le gouvernement en raison de mise en examen ou de soupçon d’emploi fictif. Une jurisprudence que l’État veut voir appliquer au patron d’un groupe d’audiovisuel public. Un bras de fer inédit est engagé entre Mathieu Gallet, qui parle de droit, et Françoise Nyssen, qui parle de politique.

Pour trancher ce nœud, les deux parties se tournent vers le CSA qui, en l’état actuel de la loi, est le seul habilité à révoquer un dirigeant qu’il a nommé en 2014. Olivier Schrameck va donc réunir son collège en séance plénière, mercredi toute la journée, pour plancher sur ce cas. Régulateur indépendant, le CSA peut estimer que Mathieu Gallet doit rester tant que son appel n’est pas jugé. Il peut aussi enclencher une procédure de destitution. Cette procédure contradictoire pourrait être assez rapide. Une question de jours ou de semaines.

«Il appartient à l’intéressé d’en tirer les conséquences, ainsi qu’au Conseil supérieur de l’audiovisuel, légalement compétent»

Françoise Nyssen

Mais la difficulté est que si le CSA destitue Mathieu Gallet, il aura beaucoup de mal à nommer son ou sa remplaçant(e). Car Emmanuel Macron veut lui retirer ce pouvoir de nomination pour le donner aux conseils d’administration des groupes audiovisuels publics. Toute nomination par le CSA serait donc privée de légitimité.

Pour pallier cela, Françoise Nyssen milite pour faire voter très rapidement une loi entérinant le changement de pouvoir de nomination. Mais cette option n’a pas encore été arbitrée par Matignon et l’Élysée. D’autant que si une telle loi est votée, la question du maintien des autres patrons de l’audiovisuel public nommés par le CSA (Delphine Ernotte à France Télévisions, Laurent Vallet à l’INA et Marie-Christine Saragosse à France Médias Monde) se posera. Un enjeu crucial alors que l’Élysée a enclenché le big bang de l’audiovisuel public français.

Imbroglio complet

En attendant, on se retrouve donc avec un président de Radio France qui ne veut pas démissionner, une ministre qui ne peut pas le révoquer et un CSA qui peut le faire mais ne peut pas nommer son successeur. L’imbroglio est complet.

«Tout cela arrive au pire des moments. L’entreprise est plus fragilisée que jamais alors qu’on nous promet un big bang»

Jean-Paul Quennesson, élu chez SUD

Mardi, Mathieu Gallet a passé la journée à rencontrer toutes les instances du groupe. À 15 heures, il a informé son conseil d’administration, où étaient absents les représentants de l’État. À 16h30, il a enchaîné sur une réunion avec les directeurs d’antenne. Enfin, à 17h30, il a tenu une réunion d’information auprès des syndicats.

Ces derniers, qui se sont rencontrés en amont, n’ont pas réussi à déterminer une position commune. Faut-il ou non soutenir Mathieu Gallet? FO déplore que «des patrons puissent faire des erreurs professionnelles graves et s’acquitter» et dit «comprendre la position de la ministre».

«Les salariés s’étonnent que la ministre ne respecte pas la présomption d’innocence», dit Jean-Paul Quennesson, élu chez SUD. Mais la tonalité générale est à l’inquiétude, alors que la très redoutée loi sur l’audiovisuel est en approche. «Tout cela arrive au pire des moments. L’entreprise est plus fragilisée que jamais alors qu’on nous promet un big bang», poursuit l’élu syndical. Rien ne présage du profil du remplaçant du PDG si ce dernier devait partir. Et même si Mathieu Gallet reste, «on ne peut pas dire que sa situation soit la meilleure pour mener des discussions serrées avec la tutelle».

«Un président qui n’a pas la confiance de l’État actionnaire, c’est l’assurance d’être étrillé lors des arbitrages budgétaires»

Un très bon connaisseur du dossier

Il semble compliqué pour Mathieu Gallet de rester en place, sauf à vouloir jouer le rapport de force avec sa tutelle, l’État. Or ce dernier dispose de nombreuses cartouches. Après Françoise Nyssen, le ministre de l’Économie ou Emmanuel Macron lui-même pourraient prendre la parole. On se souvient de sa phrase «l’audiovisuel visuel public est la honte de la République». Une autre phrase assassine pourrait changer la donne.

Enfin, l’État dispose toujours de l’arme financière. «Un président qui n’a pas la confiance de l’État actionnaire, c’est l’assurance d’être étrillé lors des arbitrages budgétaires» assure un très bon connaisseur du dossier…


 

 

 

Source:©  Sous la pression de l’État, Mathieu Gallet refuse de démissionner

2 Responses to "Sous la pression de l’État, Mathieu Gallet refuse de démissionner"

  1. Michèle Pons
    Michèle Pons   18 janvier 2018 at 0 h 06 min

    Serait il protégé ?

    Répondre
  2. Disraeli   19 janvier 2018 at 0 h 01 min

    “Le CSA, régulateur indépendant ..” : merci pour votre humour..

    Répondre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais