Secrets of History: When John F. Kennedy was fascinated by Nazi Germany

Home"TO THE ONE"Secrets of History: When John F. Kennedy was fascinated by Nazi Germany
57 Partages
JFK in 1963 / Cecil Stoughton, White House via Wikimedia Commons

 

When he pronounced the sentence became mythical "Ich bin ein Berliner" 50 years ago in West Berlin (see video below), in the middle of the Cold War, it was not the first time that John F. Kennedy had been on German soil. The former president had already several times in Germany in his youth, at the time of the Third ReichAccording to Der Spiegel, according to his travel diaries and the letters sent to his relatives, he was fascinated by what he saw there.

For the first time, these unrecognized writings appear translated into German, gathered in the book John F. Kennedy - Unter Deutschen. Reisetagebücher und Briefe 1937-1945 (Among the Germans, Travel Notebooks and Letters 1937-1945) by Oliver Lubrich, professor of literature at the University of Bern. John F. Kennedy came to Germany three times during his youth.

First in the summer of 1937, accompanied by one of his university classmates. During their "big tour" which saw them roam Europe for three months, the two young men of 20 years visit Nazi Germany. At the beginning of August, he writes in his travel diary:

"Come to the conclusion that fascism is what Germany and Italy need."

On August 21, he wrote:

"The Germans are really good-that's why we fight against each other to protect ourselves."

A day later, he marvels about German highways:

"These are the best roads in the world."

Kennedy returned to Germany two years later, a few months before the start of the Second World War, to do research as part of his university thesis, and shortly after the capitulation, in the summer of 1945, this time as a reporter for English-language media. But again, he still seems fascinated by the Third Reich and Hitler. After having visited the Obersalzberg in Bavaria, the mountain on which Hitler had his "eagle's nest", he writes 1st August 1945:

"Whoever has visited these two places [the Obersalzberg and the Kehlsteinhaus, Ed] can easily imagine how Hitler will manage to escape the hatred of which he is today the object to be considered as the one of the most important personalities to have existed. "

In an interview with Deutschland Radio Kultur, Oliver Lubrich, author of JF Kennedy's travel book in Germany, nevertheless relativize the scope of these writings:

"He was not a [Hitler's] admirer, but I think what Susan Sontag later described as the morbid, erotic, and partly aesthetic fascination fascism also exerts on people who were not themselves -not even Nazis politically, fits Kennedy very well. "

Der Spiegel also recalls that Kennedy is not the only American traveler to succumb to this strange fascination with the way fascism was staged, citing for example the director Julien Bryan, who documented the daily life of the chiefs Nazis under the Third Reich, and Martha Dodd, the daughter of the American ambassador stationed in Berlin between 1933 and 1937, that his father nicknamed "the young Nazi", and who recounts his admiration for the Nazis in an autobiography titled Nice to meet you, Mr. Hitler!.

Annabelle Georgen (338 articles)
Journalist

Source: When John F. Kennedy was fascinated by Nazi Germany | Slate.fr

57 Partages

3 Responses to "Secrets d’Histoire : Quand John F. Kennedy était fasciné par l’Allemagne nazie"

  1. bvtcblog   19 August 2017 at 8 h 46 min

    JFK's father was a member of the English Nazi Party, an ambassador in London, and opposed the entry into the war against US Germany. He was an ultra-liberal vaguely crook.

  2. l'auteur   20 August 2017 at 13 h 48 min

    We should know the words we write. "Utra-liberalism" was the ideology to which Nazism, communism and fascism opposed in priority. make think a little before ecire bvtchblog

    • bvtcblog   20 August 2017 at 17 h 21 min

      1 / I only notice that JFK's father had decided opinions; that they are contradictory for a European of today does not change anything.
      2 / Nazism, very quickly, made peace with the "big-capital" which financed it largely; SAs served as breakers of strikes; Note that many American companies participated in the Nazi war effort and were less bombed than Renault in 44/45.
      3 / keep your remarks derogatory to you, they do not serve the debate, and they turn against you.

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Secrets d'Histoire : Quand John F. Kennedy était fasciné par l'Allemagne nazie

Home»A LA UNE»Secrets d’Histoire : Quand John F. Kennedy était fasciné par l’Allemagne nazie
Secrets d'Histoire : Quand John F. Kennedy était fasciné par l'Allemagne nazie
JFK en 1963 / Cecil Stoughton, White House via Wikimedia Commons

 

Quand il prononça la phrase devenue mythique «Ich bin ein Berliner» il y a 50 ans à Berlin-Ouest (voir la vidéo ci-dessous), en pleine Guerre froide, ce n’était pas la première fois que John F. Kennedy foulait le sol allemand. L’ancien président s’était déjà rendu à plusieurs reprises en Allemagne dans sa jeunesse, à l’époque du troisième Reich, et à en croire ses carnets de voyage et les lettres envoyées à ses proches, il avait alors été fasciné par ce qu’il y avait vu, explique Der Spiegel.

Pour la première fois, ces écrits méconnus paraissent traduits en allemand, réunis dans le livre John F. Kennedy – Unter Deutschen. Reisetagebücher und Briefe 1937-1945 (Parmi les Allemands. Carnets de voyages et lettres 1937-1945) par Oliver Lubrich, professeur de littérature à l’Université de Berne. John F. Kennedy est venu trois fois en Allemagne durant sa jeunesse.

D’abord à l’été 1937, en compagnie d’un de ses camarades d’université. Durant leur «grand tour» qui les voit arpenter l’Europe pendant trois mois, les deux jeunes hommes de 20 ans visitent l’Allemagne nazie. Début août, il écrit dans son carnet de voyage:

«Arrive à la conclusion que le fascisme est ce qu’il faut à l’Allemagne et à l’Italie.»

Le 21 août, il écrit:

«Les Allemands sont vraiment trop bons –c’est pourquoi on s’attroupe contre eux pour se protéger.»

Un jour plus tard, il s’émerveille au sujet des autoroutes allemandes:

«Ce sont les meilleures routes du monde.»

Kennedy est revenu deux ans plus tard en Allemagne, quelques mois avant le début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, pour y faire des recherches dans le cadre de sa thèse universitaire, puis peu après la capitulation, à l’été 1945, cette fois-ci en tant que reporter pour des médias anglophones. Mais là encore, il semble encore fasciné par le troisième Reich et Hitler. Après avoir visité l’Obersalzberg, en Bavière, la montagne sur laquelle Hitler avait son «nid d’aigle», il écrit le 1er août 1945:

«Celui qui a visité ces deux lieux [l’Obersalzberg et le Kehlsteinhaus, NDLR] peut s’imaginer aisément la façon dont Hitler parviendra à s’extraire de la haine dont il est aujourd’hui l’objet pour être considéré comme l’une des personnalités les plus importantes à avoir existé.»

Dans une interview à Deutschland Radio Kultur, Oliver Lubrich, l’auteur du livre consacré aux voyages de J.F. Kennedy en Allemagne, relativise tout de même la portée de ces écrits:

«Ce n’était pas un admirateur [d’Hitler] mais je pense que ce que Susan Sontag a décrit plus tard comme la fascination morbide, érotique, et aussi en partie esthétique que le fascisme exerce aussi sur des gens qui n’étaient eux-mêmes pas des nazis sur le plan politique, correspond très bien à Kennedy.»

Der Spiegel rappelle d’ailleurs que Kennedy n’est pas le seul voyageur américain à avoir succombé à cette fascination étrange pour la façon dont le fascisme était mis en scène, citant par exemple le réalisateur Julien Bryan, qui a documenté la vie quotidienne des chef nazis sous le troisième Reich, et Martha Dodd, la fille de l’ambassadeur américain en poste à Berlin entre 1933 et 1937, que son père surnommait «le jeune nazi», et qui raconte son admiration pour les nazis dans une autobiographie intitulée Nice to meet you, Mr. Hitler!.

Annabelle Georgen (338 articles)
Journaliste

Source : Quand John F. Kennedy était fasciné par l’Allemagne nazie | Slate.fr

3 Responses to "Secrets d’Histoire : Quand John F. Kennedy était fasciné par l’Allemagne nazie"

  1. bvtcblog   19 août 2017 at 8 h 46 min

    Le père de JFK était membre du parti nazi anglais, ambassadeur à Londres il s’opposa à l’entrée en guerre contre l’Allemagne des USA. C’était un ultra-libéral vaguement escroc.

    Répondre
  2. l'auteur   20 août 2017 at 13 h 48 min

    faudrait savoir les mots qu’on écrit.” l’utra-liberalisme” fut l’ideologie à laquelle le nazisme, le communisme et le fascisme s’opposait en priorité. fait reflechir un peu avant d’ecire bvtchblog

    Répondre
    • bvtcblog   20 août 2017 at 17 h 21 min

      1/ je ne fait que remarquer que le père de JFK avait des opinions tranchées ; qu’elles soient contradictoire pour un européen d’aujourd’hui n’y change rien.
      2/ le nazisme, très rapidement, à fait la paix avec le “grand-capital” qui le finança largement ; les SA ont servi de briseurs de grèves ; à noter que nombres d’entreprises américaines ont participé à l’effort de guerre nazi et furent moins bombardées que Renault en 44/45.
      3/ gardez vos remarques désobligeantes pour vous, elles ne servent pas le débat, et se retournent contre vous.

      Répondre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais