"Sarah Halimi: a contemporary tragedy"

Home"TO THE ONE""Sarah Halimi: a contemporary tragedy"
0 Partages
«Sarah Halimi : une tragédie contemporaine»

ANALYSIS - This French Jewess killed in April was the prey of a new evil: Arab-Muslim anti-Semitism, exacerbated in recent years by the rise of radical Islam in some neighborhoods.

And Macron finally mentioned Sarah Halimi. Duringe tribute to the victims of the Vél 'd'Hiv rounduplast Sunday, the President of the Republic broke the wall of indifference surrounding the murder of this French Jewess, tortured at home to cries of "Allah akbar" and defenestrated. "Despite the denials of the murderer, justice must now make all the clarity on the death of Sarah Halimi," hammered Emmanuel Macron, triggering a round of applause. Just before him, Israeli Prime Minister Benyamin Netanyahu had referred to the case and the President of the Representative Council of Jewish Institutions (Crif), Francis Kalifat, called to recognize the anti-Semitic nature of the murder of Sarah Halimi.

This former divorced manger director, described as "discreet, kind, helpful," was 65 years old and was the mother of three children. She lived in a public housing project in the Belleville neighborhood for thirty years.

"Every time I hear a groan, it does not even have the force to scream"

On the night of April 4, his neighbor, Kobili Traoré, 27 years old, entered her house around four in the morning, assaulted her and began her abuse. "The police report confirms that my sister was tortured, he slaughtered her. The damage is such that my decency does not allow me to give you details, "explains William Attal, Sarah Halimi's brother. The torture of his sister lasted about forty minutes. In the investigation that the journalistJewish news, Noémie Halioua, devoted to this case, the testimony of a neighbor ice blood.

"The first thing that woke me up was the moans of a living being in pain," he says, shocked by the bestiality of the aggression. At first, I think it's an animal or a baby. But then, opening the curtain and opening the window, I understand that it is a woman who moans under the blows she receives. Every time I hear a groan, it does not even have the force to cry out. "Yet Kobili Traoré knocks and knocks again. So strong that his right fist is swollen. While he persecutes his victim, the assassin calls her sheitan ("demon" in Arabic), declaims suras of the Koran, and shouts "Allah akbar" more than ten times. Finally, after leaving KO, Kobili Traoré drags her victim by the wrists and throws it through the third floor window. Then, perfectly calm, he makes a prayer. Sarah Halimi lies dead in the little inner courtyard of the building.

The ostrich policy

To the unprecedented brutality of this murder first answered a deafening media and political silence. At the material time, only the community press and social networks are interested in what is then considered a commonplace news item. Le Figarois the first national daily to sound the tocsin through the call of 17 intellectuals, including Alain Finkielkraut, Michel Onfray, Pascal Bruckner, Jacques Julliard, Elisabeth Badinter and Paul Thibaud. "Everything suggests in this crime that the denial of reality has struck again," they write. We ask that the whole truth be established about the murder of Sarah Halimi. May the whole truth be told about the depth of French fractures. The politics of the ostrich must stop and our leaders become aware of what is happening in the country. For Sarah and her family, but also for France. "

Why have left the only president of the Crif to denounce the reality of the "new" anti-Semitism? Why not name the specific danger of radical Islam?

By solemnly evoking the death of Sarah Halimi, the President of the Republic answered this call. At a time when the antisemitic character of the murder has still not been upheld by the courts, the gesture is strong. Emmanuel Macron finally pulls Sarah Halimi's assassination out of the "news item" section and reveals its political dimension. If we must salute this position, we can regret that the President of the Republic remained in the middle of the ford. Why have left the only president of the Crif to denounce the reality of the "new" anti-Semitism? Why not name the specific danger of radical Islam?

Also problematic is the fact of mentioning the case of Sarah Halimi after a long development on the anti-Semitism of France of the Third Republic and the Vichy regime. A follower of "complex thinking," Macron undoubtedly wanted to make an analogy between the 1930s and contemporary perils. But does this rapprochement between two profoundly different historical moments not, on the contrary, fuel confusion? Historical analogy "pretends to enlighten us: it blinds us," says Alain Finkielkraut. Instead of reading the present in the light of the past, it obscures the disturbing novelty, "wrote the philosopher in Le Figaro. The ghosts of the Second World War are far away.

No more than an "unbalanced", Sarah Halimi was the victim of the return of "the foul beast". It has been the prey of a new evil: Arab-Muslim anti-Semitism, exacerbated in recent years by the rise of radical Islam in some neighborhoods. As early as 2002, the historian Georges Bensoussan denounced this anti-Semitism in his book, The Lost Territories of the Republic , which brought together the testimonies of suburban teachers. It is this anti-Semitism that, just ten years ago, killed 23-year-old Ilan Halimi, tortured and then left for dead by Youssouf Fofana, the leader of the barbarian gang; but also Jonathan Sandler and his two sons Aryeh and Gabriel, assassinated by Mohammed Merah in 2012, as well as the victims of the attack of the Hyper Cacher in January 2015 by Amedy Coulibaly.

This anti-Semitism of import pushes on the ground of a cultural antijudaisme (described bluntly by the writer Boualem Sansal) relayed by the satellite dishes and Internet. It is also the result of the disintegration of part of the French youth resulting from immigration. The latter seeks in radical Islam an identity of substitution and makes "Jew" or "White", scapegoat for all its ills. Justice has not concluded but Kobili Traoré, the murderer of Sarah Halimi, who has spent several periods in prison, especially for drug cases, has the typical profile of this disintegrated youth. All shows that the Sarah Halimi affair is not a resurgence of the past, but a very contemporary story: that of the French malaise. From this malaise, it should have been question during the presidential campaign. At the time, however, media and politics, including Macron, ignored the killing of Sarah Halimi.

 

Source: ©  The Figaro Premium - "Sarah Halimi: a contemporary tragedy"

0 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

«Sarah Halimi : une tragédie contemporaine»

Home»A LA UNE»«Sarah Halimi : une tragédie contemporaine»
«Sarah Halimi : une tragédie contemporaine»

ANALYSE – Cette Française de confession juive tuée en avril dernier a été la proie d’un mal nouveau : l’antisémitisme arabo-musulman, exacerbé ces dernières années par la montée en puissance de l’islam radical dans certains quartiers.

Et Macron évoqua enfin Sarah Halimi. Lors de l’hommage aux victimes de la rafle du Vél’ d’Hiv‘ dimanche dernier, le président de la République a brisé le mur d’indifférence qui entourait le meurtre de cette Française de confession juive, torturée à son domicile aux cris d’«Allah akbar» puis défenestrée. «Malgré les dénégations du meurtrier, la justice doit faire désormais toute la clarté sur la mort de Sarah Halimi», a martelé Emmanuel Macron, déclenchant une salve d’applaudissements. Juste avant lui, le premier ministre israélien, Benyamin Nétanyahou, avait évoqué l’affaire et le président du Conseil représentatif des institutions juives (Crif), Francis Kalifat, appelé à reconnaître le caractère antisémite du meurtre de Sarah Halimi.

Cette ex-directrice de crèche divorcée, décrite comme «discrète, gentille, serviable», avait 65 ans et était mère de trois enfants. Elle vivait dans une HLM du quartier de Belleville depuis une trentaine d’années.

«À chaque coup, j’entends un gémissement, elle n’a même plus de force pour pousser un cri»

Dans la nuit du 4 avril dernier, son voisin, Kobili Traoré, 27 ans,a pénétré chez elle vers quatre heures du matin, l’a agressée et a commencé ses sévices. «Le rapport de police confirme que ma sœur a subi des actes de torture, il l’a massacrée. Les dégâts sont tels que ma décence ne me permet pas de vous donner des détails», expliquera William Attal, le frère de Sarah Halimi. Le supplice de sa sœur a duré une quarantaine de minutes. Dans l’enquête que la journaliste d’Actualité juive, Noémie Halioua, a consacré à cette affaire, le témoignage d’un voisin glace le sang.

«La première chose qui m’a réveillée, c’est des gémissements d’un être vivant en souffrance, rapporte-t-il, choqué par la bestialité de l’agression. Au début, je pense que c’est un animal ou un bébé. Mais après, en ouvrant le rideau et en ouvrant la fenêtre, je comprends que c’est une femme qui gémit sous les coups qu’elle reçoit. À chaque coup, j’entends un gémissement, elle n’a même plus de force pour pousser un cri.» Pourtant, Kobili Traoré cogne et cogne encore. Tellement fort que son poing droit en est tuméfié. Tandis qu’il s’acharne sur sa victime, l’assassin la qualifie de sheitan («démon» en arabe), déclame des sourates du Coran, et crie «Allah akbar» plus d’une dizaine de fois. En définitive, après l’avoir laissée K.O, Kobili Traoré traîne sa victime par les poignets et la jette par la fenêtre du troisième étage. Puis, parfaitement calme, il fait une prière. Sarah Halimi elle, gît, morte, dans la petite cour intérieure de l’immeuble.

La politique de l’autruche

À la brutalité inouïe de ce meurtre a d’abord répondu un silence médiatique et politique assourdissant. À l’époque des faits, seule la presse communautaire et les réseaux sociaux s’intéressent à ce qui est alors considéré comme un banal fait divers. Le Figaroest le premier quotidien national à sonner le tocsin à travers l’appel de 17 intellectuels, dont Alain Finkielkraut, Michel Onfray, Pascal Bruckner, Jacques Julliard, Élisabeth Badinter ou encore Paul Thibaud. «Tout laisse penser, dans ce crime, que le déni du réel a encore frappé, écrivent-ils. Nous demandons que toute la vérité soit établie sur le meurtre de Sarah Halimi. Que toute la vérité soit dite sur la profondeur des fractures françaises. Il faut que la politique de l’autruche cesse et que nos dirigeants prennent conscience de ce qui se passe dans le pays. Pour Sarah et sa famille, mais aussi pour la France.»

Pourquoi avoir laissé au seul président du Crif le soin de dénoncer la réalité du «nouvel» antisémitisme ? Pourquoi ne pas nommer le danger spécifique que représente l’islam radical ?

En évoquant solennellement la mort de Sarah Halimi, le président de la République a répondu à cet appel. À l’heure où le caractère antisémite du meurtre n’a toujours pas été retenu par la justice, le geste est fort. Emmanuel Macron arrache définitivement l’assassinat de Sarah Halimi de la rubrique «fait divers» et fait apparaître sa dimension politique. S’il faut saluer cette prise de position, on peut cependant regretter que le président de la République soit resté en quelque sorte au milieu du gué. Pourquoi avoir laissé au seul président du Crif le soin de dénoncer la réalité du «nouvel» antisémitisme? Pourquoi ne pas nommer le danger spécifique que représente l’islam radical?

Problématique également est le fait d’évoquer le cas de Sarah Halimi après un long développement sur l’antisémitisme de la France de la IIIe République et du régime de Vichy. Adepte de «la pensée complexe», Macron a sans doute voulu faire une analogie entre les années 1930 et les périls contemporains. Mais ce rapprochement entre deux moments historiques profondément différents n’alimente-t-il pas au contraire la confusion? L’analogie historique «prétend nous éclairer: elle nous aveugle, aime à répéter Alain Finkielkraut. Au lieu de lire le présent à la lumière du passé, elle en occulte la nouveauté inquiétante», écrivait en 2014 le philosophe dans Le Figaro. Les fantômes de la Seconde Guerre mondiale sont loin.

Pas plus que d’un «déséquilibré», Sarah Halimi n’a été victime du retour de «la bête immonde». Elle a été la proie d’un mal nouveau: l’antisémitisme arabo-musulman, exacerbé ces dernières années par la montée en puissance de l’islam radical dans certains quartiers. Dès 2002, l’historien Georges Bensoussan avait dénoncé cet antisémitisme dans son livre, Les Territoires perdus de la République , qui réunissait les témoignages de professeurs de banlieue. C’est cet antisémitisme qui, il y a tout juste dix ans, a tué Ilan Halimi, 23 ans, torturé puis laissé pour mort par Youssouf Fofana, le chef du gang des barbares ; mais aussi Jonathan Sandler et ses deux fils Aryeh et Gabriel, assassiné par Mohammed Merah en 2012, ainsi que les victimes de l’attentat de l’Hyper Cacher en janvier 2015 par Amedy Coulibaly.

Cet antisémitisme d’importation pousse sur le terreau d’un antijudaisme culturel (décrit crûment par l’écrivain Boualem Sansal) relayé par les antennes paraboliques et Internet. Il est également le fruit de la désintégration d’une partie de la jeunesse française issue de l’immigration. Celle-ci se cherche dans l’islam radical une identité de substitution et fait du «juif» ou du «Blanc», le bouc émissaire de tous ses maux. La justice n’a pas conclu mais Kobili Traoré, le meurtrier de Sarah Halimi, qui a fait plusieurs séjours en prison, notamment pour des affaires de drogue, a le profil type de cette jeunesse désintégrée. Tout montre que l’affaire Sarah Halimi n’est pas une résurgence du passé, mais une histoire très contemporaine: celle du malaise français. De ce malaise, il aurait dû être question durant la campagne présidentielle. À l’époque pourtant, médias et politiques, y compris Macron, ont passé sous silence le meurtre de Sarah Halimi.

 

Source :©  Le Figaro Premium – «Sarah Halimi : une tragédie contemporaine»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais