Renaud Girard: "The double challenge facing the West"

Home"TO THE ONE"Renaud Girard: "The double challenge facing the West"
0 Partages
Renaud Girard.
Renaud Girard. - Photo credits: Jean-Christophe MARMARA / Le Figaro

FIGAROVOX / CHRONICLE - The major Western countries suffer from both a lack of internal cohesion and an accumulation of inconsistencies in foreign policy.

From a Western point of view, Islamist attacks in Europe (Spain and Finland) and the resurgence of the racial issue in the United States will have marked black this August 2017. The bloody events of Barcelona, ​​Turku and Charlottesville remind us brutally that the West has faced, for a generation, a double challenge.

For the major Western countries suffer from both a lack of internal cohesion and an accumulation of inconsistencies in foreign policy.

"The existence of an initial cultural gap to be crossed by the immigrant is not a satisfactory explanation"

Internally, the model of European states' integration of their immigrants has worked well throughout the twentieth century with populations of very different origins. But there is one major exception: this model seems to be powerless to fully integrate populations of Muslim faith. How to explain it? By the absence of separation of politics and religion in Islam? By the rejection, since the twelfth century in the Sunnism, of any effort of critical interpretation of its sacred texts, whose consequence is the application to the letter of precepts having regulated the life of the Bedouins of the Arabian peninsula in the seventh century? For other reasons? The existence of an initial cultural gap to be crossed by the immigrant is not a satisfactory explanation. The Jews of the Russian Empire who immigrated to France or the United States in the late nineteenth century had grown up in a totally different civilization: they nevertheless integrated perfectly into the French and American societies.

As it is rightly considered that it is up to the immigrant to adapt to the societies in which he enters and not to the societies to adapt to him, we often forget to consider the situation of the host countries. It must be recognized that our contemporary European societies find it difficult to seduce many young Muslims. Europeans of a certain age and heritage bear witness to a flourishing Christian civilization. But it is today deserted by the younger generations, immersed in a disheveled consumerism. If you're a young Muslim and you do not feel comfortable in the world of superstores, Disney World, reality TV and fast food, and you're looking for an ideal, what options do you have? ? The communism? He went bankrupt. Christianity? The majority of Europeans have abandoned it. Remains, for minds certainly little cultivated, the fantasized Islam of the first caliphs. The young Muslim immigrant comes to think, as proclaimed by the Muslim Brotherhood, that "Islam is the solution". The solution to all his own problems, as to all those in the society around him. Sharia law becomes the only way possible for the good government of men. We must at all costs return to the morals of our pious ancestors (the "salafs"). The infernal machine is launched: a jihadist is a Salafist who has decided to complete his commitment. How else to explain the hatred shown in Barcelona young terrorists Moroccans whom Catalonia had so generously welcomed?

"The whites are in open rebellion against the cult of minorities and the globalized economy that they are trying to impose on them by the academic and media elites"

American society also lacks cohesion. She has never been so divided. The whites are in open rebellion against the cult of minorities and the globalized economy that they are trying to impose on them by the academic and media elites. They can no longer stand being scorned for what they are and feel guilty for what their grandparents were. They form such a strong electoral base behind Trump that no one can swear that the president will not be re-elected in 2020.

The authoritarian regimes of the planet have gone from indifference to contempt for the Western democratic political system. If there is a common thought to Presidents Xi Jinping, Putin and Erdogan, it is that the West is weak, that it does not believe in anything anymore and that it can at any moment collapse like a castle of cards. In Beijing, Moscow and Ankara, leaders believe that European cohesion will not withstand the surge of migration for a long time and that the racial question irrevocably weakens American society. Their contempt - certainly unjustified with regard to their own weaknesses - feeds, moreover, inconsistencies in Western foreign policies.

It has been sixteen years since Westerners sent their soldiers to Afghanistan to "rebuild" and "democratize" them. In vain. In his speech of August 21, 2017, President Trump acknowledged the failure of this attempt at "nation building". Rightly, he blasted a Pakistan who takes American aid with one hand and offers the other a sanctuary for the Taliban. But, no doubt out of respect for all the sacrifices already made by the West in his war on the Kingdom of Insolence, he said nothing about the absurdity of seeing the Americans waging endless war against the Afghan Pashtuns.

"Since the beginning of the new millennium, the West has been wrong. He forgot to defend his own people against creeping and hidden external aggressions "

Westerners have embarked on costly wars in the deserts of Hindu Kush, Mesopotamia and the Sahel. Wars they will never win, for lack of being ready to resort to the cruelty of colonial expeditions of the nineteenth century. Since the beginning of the new millennium, the West has been wrong. He forgot to defend his own populations against creeping and covert outside aggressions, to embark on distant, thunderous military expeditions to the Jules Ferry, which extolled the "civilizing mission of colonization".

Defend its people: what to say? Two examples. Commercially, Westerners have been unable to counter the Chinese technology plunder. The small European Union countries have just blocked the Merkel-Macron project from increased EU control over Beijing's investments in high-tech companies. Culturally, they have not been able to block the penetration in Europe of an ideology as dangerous as Islamism.

The great fault of the West in this new millennium has been to believe that there would be no violence in welcoming all the cultures of the planet, and that the whole world adopts its principles policies considered by him to be "universal".


Source: © Le Figaro Premium - Renaud Girard: "The double challenge facing the West"

0 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Renaud Girard : «Le double défi que doit relever l'Occident»

Home»A LA UNE»Renaud Girard : «Le double défi que doit relever l’Occident»
Renaud Girard.
Renaud Girard. – Crédits photo : Jean-Christophe MARMARA/Le Figaro

FIGAROVOX/CHRONIQUE – Les grands pays occidentaux souffrent à la fois d’un défaut de cohésion interne et d’une accumulation d’incohérences en politique étrangère.

D’un point de vue occidental, les attentats islamistes en Europe (Espagne et Finlande) et la résurgence de la question raciale aux États-Unis auront marqué de noir ce mois d’août 2017. Les événements sanglants de Barcelone, de Turku et de Charlottesville nous rappellent brutalement que l’Occident a face à lui, depuis une génération, un double défi à relever.

Car les grands pays occidentaux souffrent à la fois d’un défaut de cohésion interne et d’une accumulation d’incohérences en politique étrangère.

«L’existence d’un fossé culturel initial à franchir par l’immigré n’est pas une explication satisfaisante»

Sur le plan interne, le modèle d’intégration par les États européens de leurs immigrés a fonctionné correctement tout au long du XXe siècle avec des populations d’origines très différentes. Mais il y a une exception de taille: ce modèle semble impuissant à bien intégrer les populations de confession musulmane. Comment l’expliquer? Par l’absence de séparation du politique et du religieux en islam? Par le rejet, depuis le XIIe siècle dans le sunnisme, de tout effort d’interprétation critique de ses textes sacrés, dont la conséquence est l’application à la lettre de préceptes ayant régulé la vie des Bédouins de la péninsule arabique au VIIe siècle? Par d’autres raisons? L’existence d’un fossé culturel initial à franchir par l’immigré n’est pas une explication satisfaisante. Les Juifs de l’Empire russe qui ont immigré en France ou aux États-Unis dès la fin du XIXe siècle avaient grandi dans une civilisation totalement différente: ils se sont néanmoins parfaitement intégrés dans les sociétés française et américaine.

Comme on estime, à juste titre, que c’est à l’immigré de s’adapter aux sociétés dans lesquelles il pénètre et non aux sociétés de s’adapter à lui, on oublie souvent de considérer la situation des pays d’accueil. Il faut reconnaître que nos sociétés européennes contemporaines ont de la peine à séduire nombre de jeunes musulmans. Les Européens d’un certain âge et le patrimoine témoignent d’une civilisation chrétienne qui a été florissante. Mais elle est aujourd’hui désertée par les jeunes générations, plongées dans un consumérisme échevelé. Si vous êtes un jeune musulman et que vous ne vous sentiez pas à l’aise dans le monde des grandes surfaces, de Disney World, de la téléréalité et du fast-food, et que vous vous cherchiez un idéal, quelles options avez-vous? Le communisme? Il a fait faillite. Le christianisme? La majorité des Européens l’ont abandonné. Reste, pour des esprits certes peu cultivés, l’islam fantasmé des premiers califes. Le jeune immigré musulman vient à penser, comme le proclament les Frères musulmans, que «l’islam est la solution». La solution à tous ses propres problèmes, comme à tous ceux de la société qui l’entoure. La charia devient la seule voie possible au bon gouvernement des hommes. Il faut à tout prix revenir aux mœurs de nos pieux ancêtres (les «salafs»). La machine infernale est lancée: un djihadiste est un salafiste qui a décidé d’aller jusqu’au bout de son engagement. Comment expliquer autrement la haine qu’ont montrée à Barcelone les jeunes terroristes marocains que la Catalogne avait si généreusement accueillis?

«Les petits Blancs sont en rébellion ouverte contre le culte des minorités et l’économie mondialisée que tentent de leur imposer les élites universitaires et médiatiques»

La société américaine manque également de cohésion. Elle n’a jamais été aussi divisée. Les petits Blancs sont en rébellion ouverte contre le culte des minorités et l’économie mondialisée que tentent de leur imposer les élites universitaires et médiatiques. Ils ne supportent plus d’être méprisés pour ce qu’ils sont et culpabilisés pour ce que furent leurs grands-parents. Ils forment un socle électoral tellement solide derrière Trump que personne ne peut jurer que le président ne sera pas réélu en 2020.

Les régimes autoritaires de la planète sont passés de l’indifférence au mépris à l’égard du système politique démocratique occidental. S’il y a une pensée commune aux présidents Xi Jinping, Poutine et Erdogan, c’est que l’Occident est faible, qu’il ne croit plus à rien et qu’il peut à tout moment s’effondrer comme un château de cartes. À Pékin, Moscou et Ankara, les dirigeants pensent que la cohésion européenne ne résistera pas longtemps à la poussée migratoire et que la question raciale affaiblit irrévocablement la société américaine. Leur mépris – certainement injustifié eu égard à leurs propres faiblesses – se nourrit, de surcroît, des incohérences des politiques extérieures occidentales.

Cela fait bientôt seize ans que les Occidentaux ont envoyé leurs soldats en Afghanistan, afin de le «reconstruire» et le «démocratiser». En vain. Dans son discours du 21 août 2017, le président Trump a reconnu l’échec de cette tentative de «nation building». À raison, il a fustigé un Pakistan qui prend d’une main l’aide américaine et qui offre de l’autre un sanctuaire aux talibans. Mais, sans doute par respect pour tous les sacrifices déjà consentis par l’Occident dans sa guerre au Royaume de l’Insolence, il n’a rien dit sur l’absurdité de voir les Américains guerroyer sans fin contre les Pachtounes afghans.

«Depuis le début du nouveau millénaire, l’Occident s’est trompé de combat. Il a oublié de défendre ses propres populations contre des agressions extérieures rampantes et dissimulées»

Les Occidentaux se sont lancés dans des guerres coûteuses dans les déserts de l’Hindu Kush, de la Mésopotamie et du Sahel. Des guerres qu’ils ne gagneront jamais, faute d’être prêts à recourir à la cruauté des expéditions coloniales du XIXe siècle. Depuis le début du nouveau millénaire, l’Occident s’est trompé de combat. Il a oublié de défendre ses propres populations contre des agressions extérieures rampantes et dissimulées, pour se lancer dans des expéditions militaires lointaines tonitruantes à la Jules Ferry, qui vantait la «mission civilisatrice de la colonisation».

Défendre ses populations: qu’est-ce à dire? Deux exemples. Commercialement, les Occidentaux se sont montrés incapables de contrer le pillage technologique chinois. Les petits pays de l’Union européenne viennent de bloquer le projet Merkel-Macron d’un contrôle accru de l’UE sur les investissements de Pékin dans les entreprises à haute technologie. Culturellement, ils n’ont pas été capables de bloquer la pénétration en Europe d’une idéologie aussi dangereuse que l’islamisme.

La grande faute de l’Occident en ce nouveau millénaire a été de croire qu’il n’y aurait pas de violence à ce qu’il accueille chez lui toutes les cultures de la planète, et à ce que toute la planète adopte ses principes politiques, par lui jugés «universels».


Source :© Le Figaro Premium – Renaud Girard : «Le double défi que doit relever l’Occident»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais