Ran Halévi: "Liberal," values ​​", or conservative, the right seeks an identity"

Home"TO THE ONE"Ran Halévi: "Liberal," values ​​", or conservative, the right seeks an identity"
19 Partages

TRIBUNE - For a long time, the right has drawn its identity in the rejection of ideology, notes the historian *. Competed in France by macronian pragmatism and populism, how can it forge a credible alternative without falling into the sterile dialectic between the liberal right and the "right of values"?

The times are not clement for the right, in France as elsewhere, even where it governs. In Germany, its two wings, CDU and CSU, are tearing apart on the issue of migrants. In the United Kingdom, the referendum on Brexit and the chaotic disagreements over its modalities of application continue to undermine the Conservative Party, until it makes possible what seemed unthinkable yesterday: a victory in the upcoming parliamentary elections of Jeremy Corbyn, old Marxist unrepentant whose political mismanagement and inexperience of power have become an electoral asset.

Finally, in the United States, the Republican Party has changed, at the rate of its denials, into servile auxiliary of the White House. A phenomenal success for Donald Trump, whose popularity, immutable, with Republican voters and the power of intimidation allow him to impose on the party its tribal culture: nativism, protectionism, unilateralism. Mr. Trump managed to turn the denunciation of "elites" against the elected Republicans, who are today at the mercy of his support to obtain the votes of the base for re-election. Only those who do not seek a new mandate still dare criticize it openly. "We have become strangers to ourselves," an outgoing senator recently confided. "Our constituents do not care about real questions," lamented another. All they want to know is "are you with or against Trump?"

The old party of Ronald Reagan, who today dominates both Houses, has become the inert instrument of a populist drift fanned together from the base and the summit.

Apparently, the French right escapes these various evils. She agrees on illegal immigration, Islamic communitarianism, terrorist danger. It agrees on the maintenance of France in a European Union less bureaucratic and more respectful of national democracies. And it does not seem threatened by the imminent onset of a French Donald Trump. But she faces other equally formidable events.

We have just witnessed, without realizing it, the dilution of the Bonapartist usages which so long marked the political culture of the Right

Historic. Since its origins, the right has not been recognized either in a unified worldview or in a particular dogma; it drew its identity from the very refusal of ideological systems and, above all, from the test of its relationship with the left: the repudiation of the eradicating spirit of the Revolution; hostility to the socialist idea in the nineteenth century; proscription of communism in the next century. This "mirrored" identity was blurred even after the Second World War, with the help of the communists who sought to spread the discredit of fascism to the whole of the right, by "essentializing" it as a class enemy. But today Communism is dead and the Socialist Party, which has kept the revolutionary superego and the same enemies, hardly exists. From now on, the right can only rely on itself to define itself.

Cultural. We have just witnessed, without really noticing it, the dilution of the Bonapartist usages which have so long marked the political culture of the Right. The unsurprising failure of Nicolas Sarkozy in the primaries of the right is the most tangible sign. These open primaries, criticized in more than one way, have at least verified that the time of plebiscitary consecrations was over.

Since the installation of Emmanuel Macron at the Elysee, it is difficult to form an audible and credible opposition to a president who has won so many votes from the right

Policies finally. Since the installation of Emmanuel Macron at the Elysee, it is difficult to form an audible and credible opposition to a president who has won so many votes from the right; whose project had many features in common with that of M. Fillon; who began a reform package, however modest, which the right had not dared to undertake; who embodies the presidential office with a dignity inaccessible to its immediate predecessors; who recognized the importance of regicide in our national narrative, whence the pedagogues of the republican left had valiantly expelled him; and who siphons skilfully the themes of predilections that the right has become accustomed to reserve.

Some ideological doctors repeat that the right has to choose between a "liberal" and "globalist" (they hate) policy and an identity, regal and conservative path, which they pompously call "the right of values". This alternative is all the more chimerical because it is based on vague notions that lend themselves to the most diverse interpretations.

»READ ALSO - For the French, Wauquiez is no more right than Macron

Liberalism is not reducible to neoliberal economism and "libertarian" individualism. It recognizes the regal functions of the state that they tend to eliminate; advocates the civic spirit they hold for a constraint; and sees no contradiction between a market economy and national sentiment. The idea that liberalism would inevitably give rise to a "societal" radicalism has never been verified elsewhere than in the minds of its authors.

The same confusion affects conservatism, often mistakenly assimilated to reaction. His great oracle, Edmund Burke, was not Joseph de Maistre or Maurras. He supported the American rights to independence, but criticized without indulgence the pathology of the clean slate of French revolutionaries, this ruinous passion to shape human nature by moral injunctions and legal prescriptions.

His conservatism is reluctant to regulate morals by laws. He intends to reconcile the inherited attachments to the lessons of experience, the "nature of things" to the dynamics of progress, the concern for the common good to individual fulfillment.

Fillon has managed, exceptional thing, to rally the right around a conservative program, liberal and national, without conceding anything to the center or the National Front

The accommodation between economic liberalism, political liberalism and social conservatism is not a bookish theory. They formed the bedrock of Ronald Reagan's "coalition," ranging from hardened "libertarians" to ultra-conservatives, and that lasted so long because everyone found enough to keep it going.

They also imbued, with other nuances, the "synthesis" elaborated by François Fillon, which no one today remembers. Fillon managed, exceptional thing, to gather the right around a conservative program, liberal and national, without conceding anything to the center or the National Front. He proposed very difficult economic and fiscal reforms, explained and assumed with rare frankness. He admitted the impossibility of reverting to same-sex marriage, but refused to give him moral approval, any more than abortion, which he did not intend to call into question again. And he did not agree to "drown" the question of Islam in France in a general discussion on secularism. Mr. Fillon owed his massive victory in the primaries to the coherence of a project that did not fundamentally alienate any of the components of the right.

The judicial troubles placed in his way and his own conduct in the case made us forget this fugitive but edifying moment. And the lesson that can be drawn from it is clear. If the right does not undertake to question its heritage and rethink its identity now orphaned Bonapartist habits, if it has to offer electoral schemes, bellicose invectives and empty slogans, it may eventually open the way to a new Donald Trump, this time very French.

*Director of research at the CNRS. Professor at Raymond-Aron Political Research Center.

Source: ©Ran Halévi: "Liberal," values ​​", or conservative, the right seeks an identity"

19 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Ran Halévi : «Libérale, «des valeurs», ou conservatrice, la droite se cherche une identité»

Home»A LA UNE»Ran Halévi : «Libérale, «des valeurs», ou conservatrice, la droite se cherche une identité»
Ran Halévi : «Libérale, «des valeurs», ou conservatrice, la droite se cherche une identité»

TRIBUNE – Pendant longtemps, la droite a puisé son identité dans le refus de l’idéologie, note l’historien*. Concurrencée en France par le pragmatisme macronien et le populisme, comment peut-elle se forger une alternative crédible sans tomber dans la dialectique stérile entre droite libérale et « droite des valeurs » ?

Les temps ne sont guère cléments pour la droite, en France comme ailleurs, même là où elle gouverne. En Allemagne, ses deux ailes, CDU et CSU, se déchirent sur la question des migrants. Au Royaume-Uni, le référendum sur le Brexit et les dissentiments chaotiques sur ses modalités d’application continuent de miner le Parti conservateur, jusqu’à rendre possible ce qui paraissait hier impensable: une victoire aux prochaines élections législatives de Jeremy Corbyn, vieux marxiste impénitent dont l’incurie politique et l’inexpérience du pouvoir sont devenues un atout électoral.

Enfin, aux États-Unis, le Parti républicain s’est mué, au rythme de ses reniements, en auxiliaire servile de la Maison-Blanche. Une réussite phénoménale pour Donald Trump, dont la popularité, immuable, auprès des électeurs républicains et le pouvoir d’intimidation lui permettent d’imposer au parti sa culture tribale: nativisme, protectionnisme, unilatéralisme. M. Trump réussit à tourner la dénonciation des «élites» contre les élus républicains, qui se trouvent aujourd’hui à la merci de son soutien pour obtenir les suffrages de la base à leur réélection. Seuls ceux ne sollicitant pas un nouveau mandat osent encore le critiquer ouvertement. «Nous sommes devenus étrangers à nous-mêmes», confiait récemment un sénateur sortant. «Nos électeurs n’ont cure des vraies questions, déplorait un autre. Tout ce qu’ils veulent savoir c’est “êtes-vous avec ou contre Trump”.»

Le vieux parti de Ronald Reagan, qui domine aujourd’hui les deux Chambres, est devenu l’instrument inerte d’une dérive populiste attisée conjointement de la base et du sommet.

Apparemment, la droite française échappe à ces divers maux. Elle s’entend sur l’immigration illégale, le communautarisme islamique, le péril terroriste. Elle s’accorde sur le maintien de la France dans une Union européenne moins bureaucratique et plus respectueuse des démocraties nationales. Et elle ne semble pas menacée par l’irruption imminente d’un Donald Trump français. Mais elle affronte d’autres épreuves également redoutables.

Nous venons d’assister, sans vraiment nous en apercevoir, à la dilution des usages bonapartistes qui ont si longtemps marqué la culture politique de la droite

Historiques. Depuis ses origines, la droite ne se reconnaissait ni dans une vision du monde unifiée ni dans un dogme particulier ; elle puisait son identité dans le refus justement des systèmes idéologiques et, surtout, à l’épreuve de son rapport à la gauche: répudiation de l’esprit éradicateur de la Révolution ; hostilité à l’idée socialiste au XIXe siècle ; proscription du communisme au siècle suivant. Cette identité «en miroir» allait se brouiller encore après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, avec le concours des communistes qui cherchaient à étendre le discrédit du fascisme à l’ensemble de la droite, en l’«essentialisant» comme ennemi de classe. Mais aujourd’hui le communisme est mort et le Parti socialiste, qui en a conservé le surmoi révolutionnaire et les mêmes ennemis, n’existe guère davantage. Désormais, la droite ne peut compter que sur elle-même pour se définir.

Culturelles. Nous venons d’assister, sans vraiment nous en apercevoir, à la dilution des usages bonapartistes qui ont si longtemps marqué la culture politique de la droite. L’échec sans appel de Nicolas Sarkozy aux primaires de la droite en est le signe le plus tangible. Ces primaires ouvertes, critiquables à plus d’un titre, ont permis au moins de vérifier que le temps des consécrations plébiscitaires était révolu.

Depuis l’installation d’Emmanuel Macron à l’Élysée, il est difficile de former une opposition audible, et crédible, à un président qui a rallié tant de suffrages de la droite

Politiques enfin. Depuis l’installation d’Emmanuel Macron à l’Élysée, il est difficile de former une opposition audible, et crédible, à un président qui a rallié tant de suffrages de la droite ; dont le projet comportait nombre de traits communs avec celui de M. Fillon ; qui a entamé un train de réformes, fût-il modeste, que la droite n’avait osé entreprendre ; qui incarne la fonction présidentielle avec une dignité inaccessible à ses immédiats prédécesseurs ; qui a reconnu la portée du régicide dans notre récit national, d’où les pédagogues de la gauche républicaine l’avaient vaillamment expulsé ; et qui siphonne habilement les thèmes de prédilections que la droite s’est habituée à se réserver.

Certains docteurs idéologiques répètent à l’envi que la droite doit choisir entre une politique «libérale» et «mondialiste» (qu’ils honnissent) et une voie identitaire, régalienne et conservatrice, qu’ils nomment pompeusement «la droite des valeurs». Cette alternative est d’autant plus chimérique qu’elle repose sur des notions floues qui prêtent aux interprétations les plus diverses.

» LIRE AUSSI – Pour les Français, Wauquiez n’est pas plus à droite que Macron

Le libéralisme n’est pas réductible à l’économisme néolibéral et à l’individualisme «libertarien». Il reconnaît les fonction régaliennes de l’État qu’eux tendent à faire disparaître ; prône l’esprit civique qu’ils tiennent pour une contrainte ; et ne voit aucune contradiction entre économie de marché et sentiment national. L’idée que le libéralisme accoucherait forcément d’un radicalisme «sociétal» ne s’est jamais vérifiée ailleurs que dans l’esprit de ses auteurs.

La même confusion touche au conservatisme, souvent assimilé abusivement à la réaction. Son grand oracle, Edmund Burke, n’avait rien d’un Joseph de Maistre ni d’un Maurras. Il a soutenu les droits des Américains à l’Indépendance, mais critiqué sans indulgence la pathologie de la table rase des révolutionnaires français, cette passion ruineuse de modeler la nature humaine par des injonctions morales et des prescriptions légales.

Son conservatisme rechigne à régler les mœurs par les lois. Il entend concilier les attachements hérités aux leçons de l’expérience, la «nature des choses» à la dynamique du progrès, le souci du bien commun à l’épanouissement individuel.

Fillon a réussi, chose exceptionnelle, à rassembler la droite autour d’un programme conservateur, libéral et national, sans rien concéder ni au centre ni au Front national

Les accommodements entre libéralisme économique, libéralisme politique et conservatisme social n’ont rien d’une théorie livresque. Ils formaient le socle de la «coalition» fédérée par Ronald Reagan, allant des «libertariens» endurcis aux ultraconservateurs, et qui a duré si longtemps parce que chacun y trouvait suffisamment son compte pour la maintenir.

Ils imprégnaient aussi, avec d’autres nuances, la «synthèse» élaborée par François Fillon, dont personne aujourd’hui ne se souvient. Fillon a réussi, chose exceptionnelle, à rassembler la droite autour d’un programme conservateur, libéral et national, sans rien concéder ni au centre ni au Front national. Il proposait des réformes économiques et fiscales très dures, expliquées et assumées avec une rare franchise. Il admettait l’impossibilité de revenir sur le mariage homosexuel, mais refusait de lui donner une approbation morale, pas plus qu’à l’avortement, qu’il n’entendait pas davantage remettre en cause. Et il n’acceptait pas de «noyer» la question de l’islam en France dans une discussion générale sur la laïcité. M. Fillon devait sa victoire massive aux primaires à la cohérence d’un projet qui n’aliénait au fond aucune des composantes de la droite.

Les ennuis judiciaires placés sur son chemin et sa propre conduite dans l’affaire nous ont fait oublier ce moment fugitif, mais édifiant. Et la leçon qu’on peut en tirer est claire. Si la droite n’entreprend pas d’ interroger son héritage et de repenser son identité désormais orpheline des habitudes bonapartistes, si elle n’a à offrir que des stratagèmes électoraux, des invectives belliqueuses et des slogans vides, elle risque à terme d’ouvrir la voie à un nouveau Donald Trump, cette fois bien français.

*Directeur de recherche au CNRS. Professeur au Centre de recherches politiques Raymond-Aron.

Source : ©Ran Halévi : «Libérale, «des valeurs», ou conservatrice, la droite se cherche une identité»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais