Czech presidential election: outgoing Zeman joins billionaire Babis

Home"TO THE ONE"Czech presidential election: outgoing Zeman joins billionaire Babis
7 Partages
Outgoing pro-Russian president Milos Zeman is opposed to his pro-European rival Jiri Drahos. - Photo credits: Petr David Josek / AP

 

Candidate this Friday in the Czech presidential election, the outgoing Milos Zeman wants to appoint for the second time the post of prime minister Andrej Babis, a Eurosceptic like him, who did not get the confidence of the Assembly just a week ago .

On the eve of the second round of the Czech presidential election, scheduled for 26 and 27 January, the outgoing president and candidate for his succession Milos Zeman wants to rename Andrej Babis to the post of prime minister. Speaking Monday night on the Barrandov TV channel, Zeman said he was ready to give Babis the time needed to win a parliamentary majority. It was because he could not get the support of the Assembly that Babis had been forced to resign last Wednesday.

»READ ALSO - In the Czech Republic, journey into the depths of rebellion against the political class

If he were to lose, the Czech president, whose term ends on March 7, has made no secret that he wants his latest political maneuver to maintain Babis, with whom he shares the same political line, at the head of government. The other presidential candidate, Jiri Drahos, who wants to guarantee a political renewal, has ruled out appointing Babis prime minister in the event of his victory. While some predicted his election in the first round, Milos Zeman only collected 38.77%, against Jiri Drahos, who got 26.50%. The second round promises to be tight.

Founder of Agrofert, the country's second fortune, and former finance minister, Andrej Babis pledged to fight corruption. His party, Ano - formerly Action des citoyens discontent - is also opposed to the reception of refugees and the entry of the country into the euro area, following a sovereignist and populist line dear to President Zeman. Ano led the legislative elections in October 2017, winning 29.6% of the vote.

Despite his victory, Babis quickly found himself isolated. An investigation was opened last October on the payment, about ten years ago, of a European grant of 2 million euros which his company would have illegitimately benefited. Pursued for fraud, the 63-year-old billionaire had agreed to the lifting of his parliamentary immunity. But he failed to gather the other political forces around his party and did not get the vote of confidence from parliament at the meeting last Tuesday.

The issue of migrants

The high and often provocative verb, Milos Zeman was the strongman of the Social Democratic Party, and won the first election by direct universal suffrage in 2013. He later adopted a populist political line, nationalist and xenophobic hints. In the Visegrad group (alongside Hungary, Poland, Austria and Slovakia), the Czech Republic has a clear mistrust of the European Union. Zeman looked away to the East, showing sympathy for the Russian and Chinese regimes.

»READ ALSO - Eastern countries want to have a say on the future of the European project

Although he excludes leaving the European Union, Zeman has many grievances, including on refugee quotas, after the migration crisis in Europe since 2015. Denouncing an "organized invasion", the Czech Republic hosted only 12 refugees. The European Union had also launched sanctions last June because of the non-respect of quotas for the reception of asylum seekers.

In the second round of the presidential election, Milos Zeman (73) is opposed to Jiri Drahos (68), a chemist by training, former director of the Academy of Sciences, who wishes to affirm the "pro-European anchoring" of his country. This liberal intends to strengthen the links between the Czech Republic and Brussels. He has received support from several pro-European candidates eliminated in the first round. Rising against "the fear, hysteria and intolerance fomented by populists and extremists," Drahos said, however, that the refugee quotas demanded by the European Union were a "bad idea".


Source: Czech presidential election: outgoing Zeman joins billionaire Babis

7 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Présidentielle tchèque: le sortant Zeman s'allie au milliardaire Babis

Home»A LA UNE»Présidentielle tchèque: le sortant Zeman s’allie au milliardaire Babis
Présidentielle tchèque: le sortant Zeman s'allie au milliardaire Babis
Le président pro-russe sortant Milos Zeman est opposé à son rival pro-européen Jiri Drahos. – Crédits photo : Petr David Josek/AP

 

Candidat ce vendredi à la présidentielle tchèque, le sortant Milos Zeman souhaite nommer pour la seconde fois au poste de premier ministre Andrej Babis, un eurosceptique comme lui, qui n’a pas obtenu la confiance de l’Assemblée il y a tout juste une semaine.

À la veille du second tour de l’élection présidentielle tchèque, prévu les 26 et 27 janvier, le président sortant et candidat à sa succession Milos Zeman souhaite renommer Andrej Babis au poste de premier ministre. S’exprimant lundi soir sur la chaîne de télévision Barrandov, Zeman a annoncé qu’il était prêt à accorder le temps nécessaire à Babis pour obtenir une majorité parlementaire. C’est parce qu’il n’avait pu obtenir le soutien de l’Assemblée que Babis avait été contraint à la démission mercredi dernier.

» LIRE AUSSI – En République tchèque, voyage dans les tréfonds de la rébellion contre la classe politique

S’il devait perdre, le président tchèque, dont le mandat se termine le 7 mars, n’a pas fait mystère qu’il souhaite par sa dernière manœuvre politique maintenir Babis, avec qui il partage la même ligne politique, à la tête du gouvernement. L’autre candidat à la présidentielle, Jiri Drahos, qui se veut garant d’un renouveau politique, a exclu de nommer Babis premier ministre dans l’éventualité de sa victoire. Alors que certains prédisaient son élection dès le premier tour, Milos Zeman n’a recueilli que 38,77 % , face à Jiri Drahos, qui a obtenu 26,50%. Le second tour s’annonce donc serré.

Fondateur de l’entreprise Agrofert, deuxième fortune du pays, et ancien ministre des Finances, Andrej Babis s’était engagé à lutter contre la corruption. Son parti, Ano – anciennement Action des citoyens mécontents -, s’oppose également à l’accueil des réfugiés et à l’entrée du pays dans la zone euro, suivant une ligne souverainiste et populiste chère au président Zeman. Ano était arrivé en tête des législatives d’octobre 2017, remportant 29,6% des voix.

Malgré sa victoire, Babis s’est rapidement trouvé isolé. Une enquête a en effet été ouverte en octobre dernier sur le versement, il y a une dizaine d’années, d’une subvention européenne de 2 millions d’euros dont son entreprise aurait illégitimement bénéficié. Poursuivi pour fraude, le milliardaire de 63 ans avait accepté la levée de son immunité parlementaire. Mais il a échoué à rassembler les autres forces politiques autour de son parti et n’a pas obtenu le vote de confiance du parlement lors de la séance de mardi dernier.

La question des migrants

Le verbe haut et souvent provocateur, Milos Zeman était l’homme fort du Parti social-démocrate, et avait remporté la première élection au suffrage universel direct en 2013. Il a par la suite adopté une ligne politique populiste, nationaliste et aux relents xénophobes. Dans le groupe de Visegrad (aux côtés de la Hongrie, Pologne, Autriche et Slovaquie), la République tchèque affiche une défiance nette à l’égard de l’Union européenne. Zeman a détourné le regard vers l’Est, affichant sa sympathie pour les régimes russe et chinois.

» LIRE AUSSI – Les pays de l’Est veulent avoir voix au chapitre sur l’avenir du projet européen

Bien qu’il exclut de quitter l’Union européenne, Zeman porte de nombreux griefs, notamment sur les quotas d’accueil de réfugiés, après la crise migratoire que connaît l’Europe depuis 2015. Dénonçant une «invasion organisée», la République tchèque n’a accueilli que douze réfugiés. L’Union européenne avait d’ailleurs engagé des sanctions en juin dernier du fait du non-respect des quotas d’accueil des demandeurs d’asile.

Au second tour de la présidentielle, Milos Zeman (73 ans) est opposé à Jiri Drahos (68 ans), un chimiste de formation, ancien directeur de l’Académie des sciences, qui souhaite affirmer l’ «ancrage pro-européen» de son pays. Ce libéral entend raffermir les liens entre la République tchèque et Bruxelles. Il a reçu le soutien de plusieurs candidats pro-européens éliminés au premier tour. S’élevant contre «la peur, l’hystérie et l’intolérance fomentées par les populistes et les extrémistes», Drahos a cependant déclaré que les quotas de réfugiés demandés par l’Union européenne étaient une «mauvaise idée».


Source: Présidentielle tchèque: le sortant Zeman s’allie au milliardaire Babis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais