Why the procrastination of the European Central Bank is worrying

Home"Anciens1"Why the procrastination of the European Central Bank is worrying
12 Partages

FIGAROVOX / ANALYSIS - Hubert Rodaire analyzes the deflationary risk weighing on the euro zone and denounces the stagnation of the monetary policy of the European Central Bank.

Hubert Rodarie is Deputy Chief Executive Officer of the SMA Group.

Three major central banks have just held their monthly meeting.

The US Federal Reserve has continued to raise its key interest rates and therefore its approach to normalize its policy. It is based on a favorable context in terms of activity, employment and inflation, all reinforced by high oil prices because the United States has once again become an oil country. The Bank of Japan and the European Central Bank (ECB), on the other hand, have left their arrangements unchanged.

Is it a coincidence? Alas no. Beyond their differences, the constraints weighing on these two monetary zones have common characteristics: a mercantilist policy that favors a high trade balance and, to protect this balance, the structural need to have lower inflation than their competitors world. For the last 10 years, the globally deflationary world context has weighed heavily on domestic demand and conditions in Japan and the euro zone. It feeds the dissatisfaction of the once well-to-do European populations who find themselves increasingly trapped by the dual competition of the poor, immigrant and non-migrant, and of robotization, making it seem irreversible that they will be forced out of industrial production already suffered during the relocation process. of the last thirty years.

For the past 10 years, the deflationary environment has been hitting the Eurozone's domestic economy very hard.

The ECB has announced the phasing out of its purchase program (QE). But the only maintenance of the stock will require annual purchases always colossal (182 billion over the next 12 months). It has pushed back any increase in its key rate beyond the summer of 2019. Are its decisions wise and relevant?

From our point of view no. Admittedly, the ECB has satisfied the mercantilist side because, since this announcement, the euro has fallen sharply against the dollar. But is it wise? Not sure. Because this decision does not take into account the dynamic that has begun since the arrival of DJ Trump and which is revealed little by little. It is the refusal of the status quo on the world economic organization confirmed for more than 10 years by the monetary policies of all countries.

This refusal gradually takes hold, one would dare to say carefully, beyond the excesses of communication. The extension, month after month, of US taxes to 25% on imported products actually installs the revaluation of the Chinese Yuan, which should have occurred for several years both to temper the Chinese activity and to enrich its consumers to curb the excessive movement of relocation suffered by Western countries.

Of course, these new balances are not obvious to target! But we must anticipate and give back to the euro area the means to face it. To do this, it would first be necessary to rely on the initiative capacities of European entrepreneurs by giving them back a financial system with a free rate market. That is to say, whose operation would no longer be biased by a monetary policy administering de facto rates; that is to say also with monitored actors, and no longer administered, through standard procedures.

This free market is the only proven system for selecting the right investment projects. It is all the more essential in an environment where liquidity will become scarce.

Unfortunately, the decisions of the ECB still delay this necessary resettlement. Procrastination or loss of confidence in principles of freedom yet still displayed? In both cases, one can worry.

Hubert Rodarie

Source: © Why the procrastination of the European Central Bank is worrying

12 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Pourquoi la procrastination de la Banque centrale européenne est inquiétante

Home»Anciens1»Pourquoi la procrastination de la Banque centrale européenne est inquiétante
Pourquoi la procrastination de la Banque centrale européenne est inquiétante

FIGAROVOX/ANALYSE – Hubert Rodaire analyse le risque déflationniste qui pèse sur la zone euro et dénonce l’immobilisme de la politique monétaire de la Banque centrale européenne.

Hubert Rodarie est Directeur général délégué du Groupe SMA.

Trois banques centrales majeures viennent de tenir leur réunion mensuelle.

La Réserve Fédérale américaine a poursuivi la hausse de ses taux directeurs et donc sa démarche de normalisation de sa politique. Elle s’appuie sur un contexte favorable en termes d’activité, d’emploi et d’inflation, le tout renforcé par des prix élevés du pétrole car les États-Unis sont redevenus un pays pétrolier. La Banque du Japon et la Banque Centrale Européenne (BCE), elles, ont laissé en revanche leurs dispositifs inchangés.

Est-ce un hasard? Hélas non. Par-delà leurs différences, les contraintes qui pèsent sur ces deux zones monétaires ont des caractéristiques communes: une politique mercantiliste qui fait privilégier un solde commercial élevé et, pour protéger ce solde, le besoin structurel d’avoir une inflation plus faible que leurs concurrents mondiaux. Depuis 10 ans le contexte mondial globalement déflationniste pèse donc très fortement sur la demande et la conjoncture intérieure du Japon et de la zone euro. Elle alimente l’insatisfaction des populations européennes autrefois aisées qui se voient de plus en plus coincées par la double concurrence des populations pauvres, immigrées ou non, et de la robotisation, rendant apparemment irréversible leur éviction de la production industrielle déjà subie lors de la délocalisation de ces trente dernières années.

Depuis 10 ans, le contexte déflationniste pèse très fortement sur la conjoncture intérieure de la zone euro.

La BCE a certes annoncé l’arrêt progressif de son programme d’achat (QE). Mais le seul maintien du stock nécessitera des achats annuels toujours colossaux (182 Mds sur les 12 prochains mois). Elle a repoussé toute hausse de son taux directeur au-delà de l’été 2019. Ses décisions sont-elles sages et pertinentes?

De notre point de vue non. Certes, la BCE a satisfait le côté mercantiliste car, dès cette annonce, l’euro a baissé nettement contre dollar. Mais est-ce sage? Pas sûr. Car cette décision ne prend pas en compte la dynamique qui s’est enclenchée depuis l’arrivée de D.J. Trump et qui se révèle petit à petit. C’est le refus du statu quo sur l’organisation économique mondiale confortée pendant plus de 10 ans par les politiques monétaires de tous les pays.

Ce refus s’installe progressivement, on oserait dire prudemment, au-delà des excès de communication. L’extension, mois après mois, des taxes américaines à 25% sur des produits importés installe dans les faits la réévaluation du Yuan chinois, laquelle aurait dû survenir depuis plusieurs années tant pour tempérer l’activité chinoise et pour enrichir ses consommateurs que pour freiner l’excessif mouvement de délocalisation subi par les pays occidentaux.

Certes, ces nouveaux équilibres ne sont pas évidents à cibler! Mais il faut anticiper et redonner à la zone euro les moyens d’y faire face. Pour ce faire, il faudrait d’abord s’appuyer sur les capacités d’initiatives des entrepreneurs européens en leur redonnant un système financier doté d’un marché libre de taux. C’est-à-dire dont le fonctionnement ne serait plus biaisé par une politique monétaire administrant de facto les taux ; c’est-à-dire aussi avec des acteurs surveillés, et non plus administrés, au moyen de procédures normalisées.

Ce marché libre est le seul système éprouvé pour sélectionner les bons projets d’investissement. Il est d’autant plus indispensable dans un environnement où la liquidité se raréfiera.

Malheureusement les décisions de la BCE repoussent encore cette nécessaire réinstallation. Procrastination ou perte de confiance dans des principes de liberté pourtant toujours affichés? Dans les deux cas, on peut s’inquiéter.

Pourquoi la procrastination de la Banque centrale européenne est inquiétante

Hubert Rodarie

Source :© Pourquoi la procrastination de la Banque centrale européenne est inquiétante

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais