For London, the bill of Brexit flies to 100 billion euros - France 24

Home"TO THE ONE"For London, the bill of Brexit flies to 100 billion euros - France 24
6 Partages
© Justin Tallis, AFP | The Brexit negotiations between the UK government and the EU are set to be tense.

EU chief negotiator for Brexit, Michel Barnier, warned on Wednesday that talks with London would not be "painless", knowing that Brussels could claim 100 billion euros in the UK before leaving .

One hundred billion euros ... about. This is the sum that the European Union (EU) is preparing to require London to pay the bill Brexit, according to the calculations of the British daily Financial Times, published Wednesday, May 3. The financial newspaper estimates that Brussels can ask between 91 billion and 113 billion euros in the multiannual financial framework adopted in 2013, which runs for the period 2014-2020.

David Davis, the British secretary at Brexit, hastened to ensure that his country "was not going to pay 100 billion euros" adding that he had never seen circulating, in the official spheres, an addition as salty. Michel Barnier, the chief negotiator of the European Union for Brexit, for his part, said he was unable to give a precise figure. However, he admitted that the negotiations would be "neither quick nor painless" because Brussels intends to recover his due. Indeed, sums have been "committed" and "problems" would be inevitable if the "programs were to be amputated or suspended" before the official exit of the EU from the United Kingdom, on March 29, 2019.

From 60 billion to 100 billion euros

If the British authorities have strangled themselves by reading the calculations of the Financial Times has, in part, because this estimate is much higher than the previous one. London had prepared to receive a bill of about 60 billion euros, based on reports in the press of "private" discussions between the President of the European Commission Jean-Claude Juncker and other European leaders.

This new estimate also reflects the increasingly tense climate between the UK and its European partners. Some of them - such as Germany and France - have thus decided to raise their financial requirements vis-à-vis the United Kingdom.

Obsession of the addition

According to the Financial Times, Paris wants London to be more involved in supporting European agriculture before slamming the door. The common agricultural policy has always been a bone of contention between the two countries, France considering that its neighbor across the Channel did not participate enough in the agricultural solidarity effort.

Germany, for its part, is against the fact that London retains stakes in several properties, including real estate, which belong to the European Union. A shortfall for the United Kingdom that could amount to ten billion euros, according to the Financial Times.

This obsession with the addition also annoys British negotiators who would like to take the problem in reverse. Behind the numbers, there is a battle on the negotiating roadmap. British Prime Minister Theresa May wants to discuss the future shape of trade and diplomatic relations with Europe. Conversely, Brussels insists on the need to evacuate the financial side first. Good accounts would make the right negotiations.

First publication: 03/05/2017

6 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Pour Londres, la facture du Brexit s'envole à 100 milliards d'euros - France 24

Home»A LA UNE»Pour Londres, la facture du Brexit s’envole à 100 milliards d’euros – France 24
Pour Londres, la facture du Brexit s'envole à 100 milliards d'euros - France 24
© Justin Tallis, AFP | Les négociations sur le Brexit entre le gouvernement britannique et l’UE s’annoncent tendues.

Le négociateur en chef de l’UE pour le Brexit, Michel Barnier, a averti, mercredi, que les discussions avec Londres ne seraient pas “sans douleur”, sachant que Bruxelles pourrait réclamer 100 milliards d’euros au Royaume-Uni avant son départ.

Cent milliards d’euros… environ. C’est la somme que l’Union européenne (UE) s’apprêterait à exiger de Londres pour régler la facture du Brexit, d’après les calculs du quotidien britannique Financial Times, publiés mercredi 3 mai. Le journal financier estime que Bruxelles peut demander entre 91 milliards et 113 milliards d’euros dans le cadre financier pluriannuel adopté en 2013, et qui court pour la période 2014-2020.

David Davis, le secrétaire britannique au Brexit, s’est empressé d’assurer que son pays “n’allait pas payer 100 milliards d’euros” ajoutant qu’il n’avait jamais vu circuler, dans les sphères officielles, une addition aussi salée. Michel Barnier, le négociateur en chef de l’Union européenne pour le Brexit, a, de son côté, affirmé n’être pas en mesure de donner de chiffre précis. Il a néanmoins reconnu que les négociations ne seraient “ni rapides ni sans douleurs” car Bruxelles compte bien récupérer son dû. En effet, des sommes ont été “engagées” et des “problèmes” seraient inévitables si les “programmes devaient être amputés ou suspendus” avant la sortie officielle de l’UE du Royaume-Uni, soit le 29 mars 2019 .

De 60 milliards à 100 milliards d’euros

Si les autorités britanniques se sont étranglées en prenant connaissance des calculs du Financial Times s’est, en partie, car cette estimation est bien supérieure à la précédente. Londres s’était préparé à recevoir une facture d’environ 60 milliards d’euros, sur la foi de comptes-rendus dans la presse faisant état de discussions “privées” entre le président de la Commission européenne Jean-Claude Juncker et d’autres dirigeants européens.

Cette nouvelle estimation reflète aussi le climat de plus en plus tendu entre le Royaume-Uni et ses partenaires européens. Certains d’entre eux – comme l’Allemagne et la France – auraient ainsi décidé de revoir à la hausse leurs exigences financières vis-à-vis du Royaume-Uni.

Obsession de l’addition

Selon le Financial Times, Paris souhaite que Londres participe davantage pour soutenir l’agriculture européenne avant de claquer la porte. La politique agricole commune a toujours été une pomme de discorde entre les deux pays, la France jugeant que son voisin outre-Manche ne participait pas suffisamment à l’effort de solidarité agricole.

L’Allemagne, quant à elle, est contre le fait que Londres conserve des participations dans plusieurs biens, notamment immobiliers, qui appartiennent à l’Union européenne. Un manque à gagner pour le Royaume-Uni qui pourrait s’élever à dix milliards d’euros, d’après le Financial Times.

Cette obsession de l’addition agace aussi les négociateurs britanniques qui aimeraient prendre le problème à l’envers. Derrière le chiffre, il y a une bataille sur la feuille de route des négociations. La Première ministre britannique, Theresa May, voudrait avant tout discuter des futurs contours des relations commerciales et diplomatiques avec l’Europe. À l’inverse, Bruxelles insiste sur la nécessité d’évacuer le volet financier en premier. Les bons comptes feraient les bonnes négociations.

Première publication : 03/05/2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais