Philippe in favor of the publication of the anti-Semitic writings of Céline

Home"TO THE ONE"Philippe in favor of the publication of the anti-Semitic writings of Céline
2 Partages
Edouard Philippe, January 3, 2018. (Credit: AFP / POOL / BENOIT TESSIER)

Gallimard plans to publish in May under the title "Writings polemics", a volume gathering the antisemitic and racist texts of Céline

Prime Minister Edouard Philippe voted Sunday for the publication of anti-Semitic pamphlets by Louis-Ferdinand Céline, which is debated in France, but provided it is carefully "accompanied".

"I am not afraid of the publication of these pamphlets, but it will be necessary to accompany it carefully", declared the head of the government in an interview at the Sunday newspaper.

"There are excellent reasons to hate man, but you can not ignore the writer or his central place in French literature," said this lover of literature.

The prefect Frédéric Potier, interministerial delegate to the fight against racism, anti-Semitism and anti-LGBT hate (Dilcrah), warned in December the Gallimard editions on the risks of a reissue of these pamphlets, claiming "guarantees" in matters critical accompaniment of the work.

Gallimard plans to publish in May, under the title Polemical writings, a volume gathering Celine's antisemitic and racist texts: Bagatelles for a massacre, The corpses school and Beautiful sheets. The editor asserts that his "intention is to frame and place in their context writings of great violence, marked in particular by the anti-Semitic hatred of the author". The critical apparatus and the warning will be established by Régis Tettamanzi, a specialist of the Celine's work, the writer and member of the academy Goncourt Pierre Assouline signing the preface.

Serge Klarsfeld, defender of the cause of the Jewish deportees in France, for his part that this reissue of Celine's pamphlets is prohibited and was indignant at the words of the head of government.

"It is likely that the Prime Minister has not read a single page of these abject anti-Jewish pamphlets," responded Klarsfeld in a statement. "Otherwise he would not have used the argument of the + central + Celine position in French literature to accept the publication of these pamphlets + carefully accompanied +".

"It is not conceivable that the French political society will accept the dissemination of such harmful and talented texts of incitement to racial hatred and the extermination of the Jews," added this tireless militant of the memory of the Shoah. "We will not let republish such texts that led our parents to death. "

"In the universities, there are no banned books," responded for his part the Minister of Higher Education, Frederique Vidal, Sunday on France 3. "What is important, obviously, is that explain the context, why it was written, what can we think of it ".

The three antisemitic texts, published between 1937 and 1941, have not been reissued since the end of the Second World War. However, we can find them quite easily on the internet without a critical device.

Serge Klarsfeld (YouTube screenshot)

Source: ©  Philippe in favor of the publication of the anti-Semitic writings of Céline

2 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Philippe en faveur de la publication des écrits antisémites de Céline

Home»A LA UNE»Philippe en faveur de la publication des écrits antisémites de Céline
Philippe en faveur de la publication des écrits antisémites de Céline
Edouard Philippe, le 3 janvier 2018. (Crédit : AFP / POOL / BENOIT TESSIER)

Gallimard envisage de publier en mai sous le titre “Écrits polémiques”, un volume rassemblant les textes antisémites et racistes de Céline

Le Premier ministre Edouard Philippe s’est prononcé dimanche en faveur de la publication des pamphlets antisémites de Louis-Ferdinand Céline, qui fait débat en France, mais à condition qu’elle soit soigneusement « accompagnée ».

« Je n’ai pas peur de la publication de ces pamphlets, mais il faudra soigneusement l’accompagner », a déclaré le chef du gouvernement dans un entretien au Journal du Dimanche.

« Il y a d’excellentes raisons de détester l’homme, mais vous ne pouvez pas ignorer l’écrivain ni sa place centrale dans la littérature française », a estimé ce féru de littérature.

Le préfet Frédéric Potier, délégué interministériel à la lutte contre le racisme, l’antisémitisme et la haine anti-LGBT (Dilcrah), avait mis en garde en décembre les éditions Gallimard sur les risques d’une réédition de ces pamphlets, réclamant des « garanties » en matière d’accompagnement critique de l’ouvrage.

Gallimard envisage de publier en mai, sous le titre Écrits polémiques, un volume rassemblant les textes antisémites et racistes de Céline : Bagatelles pour un massacre, L’école des cadavres et Les Beaux draps. L’éditeur assure que son « intention est d’encadrer et de replacer dans leur contexte des écrits d’une grande violence, marqués notamment par la haine antisémite de l’auteur ». L’appareil critique et l’avertissement seront établis par Régis Tettamanzi, un spécialiste de l’oeuvre célinienne, l’écrivain et membre de l’académie Goncourt Pierre Assouline signant la préface.

Serge Klarsfeld, défenseur de la cause des déportés juifs de France, demande pour sa part que cette réédition des pamphlets de Céline soit interdite et s’est indigné des propos du chef du gouvernement.

« Il est probable que le Premier ministre n’a pas lu une seule page de ces abjects pamphlets anti-juifs », a réagi M. Klarsfeld dans un communiqué. « Sinon il n’aurait pas utilisé l’argument de la +place centrale+ de Céline dans la littérature française pour accepter la publication de ces pamphlets +soigneusement accompagnés+ ».

« Il n’est pas envisageable que la société politique française accepte la diffusion de tels textes nocifs et talentueux d’incitation à la haine raciale et à l’extermination des Juifs », a ajouté cet inlassable militant de la mémoire de la Shoah. « Nous ne laisserons pas republier de tels textes qui ont mené nos parents à la mort. »

« Dans les universités, il n’y a pas de livres interdits », a réagi pour sa part la ministre de l’Enseignement supérieur, Frédérique Vidal, dimanche sur France 3. « Ce qui est important évidemment, c’est qu’on explique le contexte, pourquoi ça a été écrit, qu’est-ce qu’on peut en penser ».

Les trois textes antisémites, publiés entre 1937 et 1941, n’ont pas été réédités depuis la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. On peut cependant les trouver assez facilement sur internet, sans appareil critique.

Philippe en faveur de la publication des écrits antisémites de Céline
Serge Klarsfeld (Capture d’écran YouTube)

Source:©  Philippe en faveur de la publication des écrits antisémites de Céline

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais