Osteoporosis fractures: Bonus BioGroup (Israel) graft autologous bones grown in the laboratory

Home"Anciens1"Osteoporosis fractures: Bonus BioGroup (Israel) graft autologous bones grown in the laboratory
17 Partages

No it's not science fiction. Israeli society BioGroup Bonus announced at the end of December 2017 to have succeeded for the first time a transplant in the leg of a patient who was suffering from severe bone loss, graft manufactured in two weeks by BioGroup Bonus and grown in the laboratory from the patient's own adipose tissue-derived cells.

BioGroup Bonus is a biotechnology, tissue engineering and personalized cell therapy company that develops proprietary human bone graft culture technology for patients.

Previously, the patient, resident of a Kibbutz, had been operated twice on the tibia following a car accident. A metal fixation system of the bones had been placed,However, significant bone loss remained which prevented complete healing of the fracture, limiting activity and causing constant crushing of the remaining bone. The operation was carried out by Professor Nimrod Rozen, head of the Orthopedics department of the hospital Emek Afula, wholly affiliated with the Faculty of Medicine of Technion.

According to Dr. Nimrod Rozen, this new surgery can even help people who have osteoporosis, cancer patients or have had amputations. It could even be used to save precious centimeters for people with dwarfism.

Exams to participate in clinical trials

Patients selected for the clinical trial undergo biopsy of the adipose tissue. The manufacture of bone cells takes place in the laboratory of BioGroup Bonus in a sterile chamber in Haifa on a three-dimensional biodegradable scaffold that is a micro-environment conducive to growth in vivo of the human bone.

In the laboratory, fat cells are separated from cells capable of generating tissue and blood vessels. These are grown in a bioreactor that simulates the environment inside the human body and provides optimal conditions for bone generation.

BioGroup Bonus manufactures an injectable transplant made up of tiny live bone particles ready to be implanted in the missing part of the bone of the patient. After transplantation, the separated bone particles consolidate into autologous bone tissue (donor and recipient are the same individual, as opposed to heterologous) who repairs the injured bone in six weeks.

In August 2017, Bonus BioGroup first achieved an autologous bone graft in the forearm of a patient with severe bone loss, using the same technology. In a previous clinical trial, Bonus BioGroup achieved a revolutionary breakthrough with a single injection of human bone graft in participants with maxillofacial deficiencies, all genders, ages or medical contexts combined, with a success rate of 95%.

These results had never been achieved to date by any other medical treatment. Such a high rate of success on a small sample means that this success is not a coincidence, but that it will be replicable over a larger population.

In parallel, Bonus BioGroup has developed a second generation injectable bone graft that reduces manufacturing time, cost and mass production.

Global ambitions

Bonus BioGroup aims to be the first company in the world to manufacture and introduce on the global market of bone rehabilitation (estimated at $ 7.5 billion per year in 2017) a safe and fast solution to compensate for bone loss through a single autologous bone graft injection after laboratory culture from cells taken from the patient.

Currently, Bonus BioGroup is conducting two clinical trials for the second generation of its injectable bone graft defined in Phase I and II, with the objectives of evaluating the safety and effectiveness of its injectable bone graft.
1. In September 2016, a second clinical trial began to fill the bone void of the jaws, managed by Dr. Ephraim Tzur. Up to 20 patients, men and women aged 18 to 70, are expected to participate in the second clinical trial of jaw filling.
2. In August 2017, a clinical trial began to address critical bone defects in limbs, arms or legs; managed by Professor Nimrod Rozen, Head of Orthopedics at the Emek Center according to an agreement between Bonus BioGroup and the Clalit Health Fund.

The clinical trial must be performed for two indications: Severe bone loss from a failed long limb, due to failure of the natural body re-education process without medical intervention, or in case of failure the orthopedic procedure to repair the limb; comminuted fracture (presence of many fragments or splinters) extra-articular (outside the joint) of the bone of a long limb. TheClinical trial should include 30 to 40 participants, men and women, aged 18 to 75 years. In the first part of the trial, 10 participants will be recruited for both clinical indications; in the second part, 10 additional participants must be recruited for each of the two clinical indications and up to 30 additional participants for the two clinical indications together.

At the beginning of the first part of the clinical trial aimed at filling orthopedic bone defects, the safety of the use of the second generation of injectable bone graft is examined in three participants who are suitable for the first indication. This preliminary examination can be concluded in a few months.

Emek is one of the largest and most modern centers in Israel associated with the Clalit which provides medical services to more than 4.2 million people. Israel. The medical observation of each participant in the clinical trial must last six months from the date of implantation.

Bonus BioGroup has exclusive rights of use in six patent families, which include two patents and ten patent applications. Bonus BioGroup acts to register additional patents and patent applications, to achieve revolutionary breakthrough for additional indications.

Source: ©  Osteoporosis fractures: Bonus BioGroup (Israel) graft autologous bones grown in laboratory - Israel Science Info

17 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Ostéoporose, fractures : Bonus BioGroup (Israël) greffe des os autologues cultivés en laboratoire

Home»Anciens1»Ostéoporose, fractures : Bonus BioGroup (Israël) greffe des os autologues cultivés en laboratoire

Ostéoporose, fractures : Bonus BioGroup (Israël) greffe des os autologues cultivés en laboratoire

Non ce n’est pas de la science fiction. La société israélienne Bonus BioGroup a annoncé fin décembre 2017 avoir réussi pour la première fois une greffe dans la jambe d’un patient qui souffrait d’une perte osseuse sévère, greffon fabriqué en deux semaines par Bonus BioGroup et cultivé en laboratoire à partir des propres cellules dérivées de tissu adipeux du patient.

Bonus BioGroup est une société de biotechnologie, d’ingénierie tissulaire et de thérapie cellulaire personnalisée qui développe une technologie propriétaire de culture de greffons osseux humains destinés à des patients.

Auparavant, le patient, résident d’un Kibboutz, avait été opéré deux fois du tibia suite à un accident de voiture. Un système de fixation métallique des os avait été posé, mais une importante perte osseuse subsistait qui empêchait la cicatrisation complète de la fracture, limitant l’activité et provoquant un écrasement constant de l’os restant. L’opération a été réalisée par le Pr Nimrod Rozen, chef du service Orthopédie de l’hôpital Emek à Afula, entièrement affilié à la faculté de médecine du Technion.

Selon le Dr Nimrod Rozen, cette nouvelle chirurgie peut même aider les personnes qui souffrent d’ostéoporose, les patients atteints de cancer ou qui ont subi des amputations. Cela pourrait même être utilisé pour faire gagner quelques précieux centimètres à des personnes atteintes de nanisme.

Des examens pour participer aux essais cliniques

Les patients retenus pour l’essai clinique subissent une biopsie du tissu adipeux. La fabrication des cellules osseuses s’effectue dans le laboratoire de Bonus BioGroup en chambre stérile à Haïfa sur un échafaudage tridimensionnel biodégradable qui constitue un micro-environnement favorable à la croissance in vivo de l’os humain.

En laboratoire, les cellules graisseuses sont séparées des cellules capables de générer des tissus et des vaisseaux sanguins. Ces dernières sont cultivées dans un bioréacteur qui simule l’environnement à l’intérieur du corps humain et fournit des conditions optimales pour la génération osseuse.

Bonus BioGroup fabrique une greffe injectable composée de minuscules particules osseuses vivantes prêtes à être implantées dans la partie manquante de l’os du patient. Après la greffe, les particules d’os séparées se consolident en un tissu osseux autologue (donneur et receveur sont le même individu, par opposition à hétérologue) qui répare l’os blessé en six semaines.

En août 2017, Bonus BioGroup avait réussi pour la première fois une greffe d’os autologue dans l’avant-bras d’un patient souffrant d’une perte osseuse sévère, avec la même technologie. Lors d’un précédent essai clinique, Bonus BioGroup avait réalisé une percée révolutionnaire grâce à une injection unique de greffe osseuse humaine chez des participants souffrant de déficiences maxillo-faciales, tous  sexes, âges ou contextes médical confondus, avec un taux de réussite de 95%.

Ces résultats n’avaient jamais été atteints à ce jour par aucun autre traitement médical. Un taux aussi élevé de réussite sur un petit échantillonnage, signifie que ce succès n’est pas une coïncidence, mais qu’il sera reproductible sur une plus grande population.

En parallèle, Bonus BioGroup a développé une seconde génération de greffe osseuse injectable qui permet de réduire le temps de fabrication, à moindre coût et sur une production de masse.

Des ambitions mondiales

Bonus BioGroup ambitionne d’être la première entreprise au monde à fabriquer et introduire sur le marché mondial de la rééducation osseuse (estimé à 7,5 milliards $ par an en 2017) une solution sûre et rapide pour combler les pertes osseuses grâce à une seule injection de greffe osseuse autologue après culture en laboratoire à partir de cellules prélevées chez le patient.

Actuellement, Bonus BioGroup mène deux essais cliniques pour la deuxième génération de sa greffe osseuse injectable définis en Phase I et II, avec pour objectifs d’évaluer la sécurité et l’efficacité de sa greffe osseuse injectable.
1. En septembre 2016, un deuxième essai clinique a débuté visant à combler le vide osseux des mâchoires, géré par le Dr Ephraim Tzur. Jusqu’à 20 patients, hommes et femmes de 18 à 70 ans, devraient participer au deuxième essai clinique de comblement de mâchoire.
2. En août 2017, un essai clinique a commencé visant à combler les défauts osseux critiques dans les membres, bras ou jambes ; géré par le Pr Nimrod Rozen, chef du service Orthopédie au Centre Emek selon un accord entre Bonus BioGroup et la caisse de santé Clalit.

L’essai clinique doit être réalisé pour deux indications : perte osseuse sévère de l’os d’un membre long défaillant, en raison de l’échec du processus naturel de rééducation du corps sans intervention médicale, ou en cas de défaillance de la procédure orthopédique pour réparer le membre ; fracture comminutive (présence de nombreux fragments ou esquille) extra-articulaire (à l’extérieur de l’articulation) de l’os d’un membre long. L’essai clinique doit inclure 30 à 40 participants, hommes et femmes, âgés de 18 à 75 ans. Dans la première partie de l’essai, 10 participants seront recrutés pour les deux indications cliniques ; en deuxième partie, 10 participants de plus doivent être recrutés pour chacune des deux indications cliniques et jusqu’à 30 participants supplémentaires pour les deux indications cliniques ensemble.

Au début de la première partie de l’essai clinique visant à combler les défauts osseux orthopédiques, l’innocuité de l’utilisation de la deuxième génération de greffe osseuse injectable est examinée chez trois participants convenant à la première indication. Cet examen préliminaire peut être conclu dans quelques mois.

Emek est l’un des plus grands et plus modernes centres d’Israël associé à la Clalit qui fournit des services médicaux à plus de 4,2 millions de personnes en Israël. L’observation médicale de chaque participant de l’essai clinique doit durer six mois à compter de la date d’implantation.

Bonus BioGroup détient des droits exclusifs d’utilisation dans six familles de brevets, qui comprennent deux brevets et dix demandes de brevet. Bonus BioGroup agit pour enregistrer des brevets supplémentaires et des demandes de brevet, pour réaliser la percée révolutionnaire pour des indications supplémentaires.

Source:©  Ostéoporose, fractures : Bonus BioGroup (Israël) greffe des os autologues cultivés en laboratoire – Israël Science Info

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais