Orange leads the way for the quality of its mobile network

Home"Anciens1"Orange leads the way for the quality of its mobile network
7 Partages

INFO LE FIGARO - SFR's investments enable it to get back to Bouygues Telecom.

Choosing the right operator to get the best service based on your needs is a puzzle. Orange ranks first for the quality of its mobile network, but this domination hides strong regional disparities, according to a study by QoSi. The telecom network measurement specialist carried out more than 4 million measurements throughout the metropolitan area, from January 1 to December 31, 2017. It relies on both its own surveys and data provided by the users of its network. 4Gmark application to establish a French telecom landscape mapping.

A reassuring point for consumers: the overall quality of the services provided by the four operators is increasing over the months. They are almost equal for voice calls and sending SMS. Both types of communication are based onuse of networks 2G / 3G, already deployed. The game is very different for uses related to mobile Internet, an area in which Orange is in first position.

 

In detail, the historical operator displays the best performance in almost all registers: web page consultation, data download, as well as voice communications. In 82% of cases, web pages are displayed in less than 10 seconds at Orange, which increases to 79% for Bouygues Telecom and 77% for SFR. All services combined, SFR climbs on the second step of the podium. He even won a first place with 95% success for sending SMS, against 94% for Orange. The investments made on the operator's network are beginning to bear fruit.

He is hot on the heels of Bouygues Telecom. The proximity of the performances of the number two and three of the market is in particular due to the fact that SFR and Bouygues Telecom share their network on nearly two thirds of the territory (57% of the population).

Free recessed

Free close the ban. Xavier Niel's operator is directly affected by the roaming contract with Orange. When Free's network is not available on 3G, its subscribers benefit from the Orange network, but with a bandwidth of 1 megabit per second (Mbps). In addition, its 4G network, dedicated to very high speed mobile Internet, remains less important than that of its competitors. This drove down the average of the average rate posted by Free at 14.2 Mbps, against 24.7 Mbps at Orange.

However, the good performance of the incumbent does not mean that it is the best on the whole territory. Territorial disparities persist. "There is a real diagonal gap in France," summarizes Julie Moncorger, data manager at QoSi, pointing to a broad band that crosses the country from north-east to south-east. Orange covers only 85% of the population in Center-Val de Loire, against 88% for SFR. In Corsica, Bouygues Telecom distances its competitors both in terms of coverage of the population (94%) and for connection speed, with speeds of 27.5 Mbps, against 22.3 Mbps for Orange.

Similarly, the quality of the mobile connection on the rail links varies greatly from one operator to another. In this area, Orange regains its leadership, particularly marked on high-speed lines, when Free is completely behind in this field, having not deployed equipment along the tracks. The best-off travelers are those who travel on the Paris-Calais line by being Orange subscribers. "We also wanted to compare our results with those of our European neighbors. It's not so bad! "Adds Fabien Renaudineau, the boss of QoSi. Operators' performances are inversely proportional to the size of the capital: Luxembourg, Amsterdam and Vienna are the top three, followed by Lyon and Marseille, while Paris ranks seventh!


 

Source: © Orange leads the way for the quality of its mobile network

7 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Orange arrive en tête pour la qualité de son réseau mobile

Home»Anciens1»Orange arrive en tête pour la qualité de son réseau mobile

Orange arrive en tête pour la qualité de son réseau mobile

INFO LE FIGARO – Les investissements de SFR lui permettent de repasser devant Bouygues Telecom.

Choisir le bon opérateur pour bénéficier du meilleur service en fonction de ses besoins relève du casse-tête. Orange se classe en première position pour la qualité de son réseau mobile, mais cette domination cache de fortes disparités régionales, selon une étude réalisée par QoSi. Le spécialiste de la mesure des réseaux télécoms a effectué plus de 4 millions de mesures sur tout le territoire métropolitain, du 1er janvier au 31 décembre 2017. Il se fonde à la fois sur ses propres relevés et sur des données fournies par les utilisateurs de son application 4Gmark pour établir une cartographie du paysage télécoms français.

Point rassurant pour les consommateurs: la qualité globale des services fournis par les quatre opérateurs progresse au fil des mois. Ils font quasiment jeu égal pour les appels vocaux et l’envoi de SMS. Ces deux types de communication reposent sur l’utilisation des réseaux 2G/3G, déjà déployé. Le jeu est très différent pour les usages liés à Internet en mobilité, un domaine dans lequel Orange se place en première position.

Orange arrive en tête pour la qualité de son réseau mobile

 

Dans le détail, l’opérateur historique affiche les meilleures performances dans quasiment tous les registres: consultation de pages Web, téléchargement de données, ainsi que les communications vocales. Ainsi, dans 82 % des cas, les pages Web s’affichent en moins de 10 secondes chez Orange, proportion qui passe à 79 % pour Bouygues Telecom, 77 % pour SFR. Tous services confondus, SFR grimpe sur la deuxième marche du podium. Il décroche même une première place avec 95 % de réussite pour l’envoi de SMS, contre 94 % pour Orange. Les investissements réalisés sur le réseau de l’opérateur commencent à porter leurs fruits.

Il est talonné par Bouygues Telecom. La proximité des performances des numéros deux et trois du marché est notamment due au fait que SFR et Bouygues Telecom partagent leur réseau sur près des deux tiers du territoire (soit 57 % de la population).

Free en retrait

Free ferme le ban. L’opérateur de Xavier Niel pâtit directement du contrat d’itinérance avec Orange. Lorsque le réseau de Free n’est pas disponible en 3G, ses abonnés bénéficient du réseau Orange, mais avec un débit bridé à 1 mégabit par seconde (Mbps). En outre, son réseau 4G, dédié à l’Internet mobile à très haut débit, reste moins important que celui de ses concurrents. Ce qui fait chuter la moyenne du débit moyen affiché par Free à 14,2 Mbps, contre 24,7 Mbps chez Orange.

Toutefois, les bonnes performances de l’opérateur historique ne signifient pas qu’il est le meilleur sur tout le territoire. Des disparités territoriales subsistent. «Il y a une véritable diagonale du vide en France», résume Julie Moncorger, responsable de données chez QoSi, en désignant une large bande qui traverse le pays du Nord-Est au Sud-Est. Orange ne couvre que 85 % de la population en Centre-Val de Loire, contre 88 % pour SFR. En Corse, Bouygues Telecom distance ses concurrents à la fois en termes de couverture de la population (94 %) et pour la vitesse de connexion, avec des débits de 27,5 Mbps, contre 22,3 Mbps pour Orange.

De même, la qualité de la connexion mobile sur les liaisons ferroviaires varie fortement d’un opérateur à l’autre. Dans ce domaine, Orange retrouve son leadership, particulièrement marqué sur les lignes à grande vitesse, quand Free est complètement distancé sur ce terrain, faute d’avoir déployé des équipements le long des voies. Les voyageurs les mieux lotis sont ceux qui effectuent un trajet sur la ligne Paris-Calais en étant abonnés Orange. «Nous avons aussi voulu comparer nos résultats avec ceux de nos voisins européens. Ce n’est pas si mal!» ajoute Fabien Renaudineau, le patron de QoSi. Les performances des opérateurs sont inversement proportionnelles à la taille de la capitale: Luxembourg, Amsterdam et Vienne constituent le trio de tête, suivies par Lyon et Marseille, tandis que Paris se classe en septième position!


 

Source:© Orange arrive en tête pour la qualité de son réseau mobile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais