Notre-Dame-des-Landes: the government steps back to break the deadlock

Home"TO THE ONE"Notre-Dame-des-Landes: the government steps back to break the deadlock
2 Partages

Behind the announcement of the Prime Minister hides the decision of the President. Emmanuel Macron wants to appear as one who takes the most sensitive polemics head on.

There is a pilot on the plane. Emmanuel Macron in this case who, after a chaotic flight of nearly fifty years, just tried to land without too much trouble the record of the airport of Notre-Dame-des-Landes. But rather than announce himself the maneuver, it is his co-pilot Édouard Philippe whom he dispatched. "The conditions are not met to carry out the project of Notre-Dame-des-Landes," said the Prime Minister, who announced in the wake of the abandonment of this "airport division".

Exit the local referendum that led to the victory of the supporters of the project. Also excludes 179 favorable court decisions. Exit again the declaration of public utility validated in 2008 by the Council of State. Exit finally the declarations favorable to the airport pronounced by Macron during the presidential campaign. "Such a project can not be done in a context of exacerbated opposition between two almost equal parts of the population", justified Édouard Philippe after the Council of Ministers.

Make a decision whatever it is

The Prime Minister was speaking from the Elysee, flanked by members of his government who have worked on the issue, such as the Minister of Ecology Nicholas Hulot and the Minister of the Interior Gérard Collomb. But make no mistake: it was the head of state who was in charge. Official version: it is Monday that the final arbitration was taken, in the office of the president, during a tête-à-tête with his prime minister. The executive had been saying it for weeks: in this explosive file, there was no good solution. One thing counted, in fact: to decide. To take the most sensitive polemics head-on is the theme of Emmanuel Macron's week. Farm, Wednesday, in Calais on his asylum bill and immigration; expected, Thursday, on the issue of the closure of the nuclear power plant Fessenheim. A promise of François Hollande, remained a dead letter. The government sends its Secretary of State Sebastien Lecornu on the spot, for a mission of three days to consider the conditions of a dismantling of the reactors and the reclassification of the workers of the site.

A victory for Hulot

A sequence that also illustrates the government's ability to let nothing filter the debates that drive it. As lively as they may be. On Wednesday, five of them took the floor during the discussion part of the Council of Ministers this time devoted to Notre-Dame-des-Landes. But in the end, the Foreign Minister Jean-Yves le Drian, fierce supporter of the airport of Notre-Dame-des-Landes and emblematic president of Britain until 2017 has not made a reason for it. break. In a statement, he said "regret this situation" while affirming the "understand" and "respect".

Conversely, the ecologist Nicolas Hulot did not pay into the triumphalism, merely staring at the glass conservatory of the Élysée winter garden, while the Prime Minister was speaking. "The maintenance of Hulot in the government will have cost a billion euros, between compensation to Vinci and the expansion of the Nantes Atlantique airport, "a ministerial advisor grumbled. For the former TV host, undermined by moods, this is a first political victory.

Nevertheless, the abandonment of the project is not without risks. First of all, because it restores oxygen to a line that was sorely lacking. Then, because it offers the image of a president who "capitulated", in the words of the chairman of the LR group in the Senate Bruno Retailleau, facing the resistance of a few hundred zadistes. Militants who celebrated the event by making the caterpillar at the top of the watchtower built to watch for the arrival of the police. Zadists who have already announced, at a press conference, that they rejected the principle of expulsions announced by the government.


 

 

Source: Notre-Dame-des-Landes: the government steps back to break the deadlock

2 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Notre-Dame-des-Landes : le gouvernement recule pour sortir de l'impasse

Home»A LA UNE»Notre-Dame-des-Landes : le gouvernement recule pour sortir de l’impasse

Notre-Dame-des-Landes : le gouvernement recule pour sortir de l'impasse

Derrière l’annonce du Premier ministre se cache la décision du président. Emmanuel Macron veut apparaître comme celui qui prend à bras-le-corps les polémiques les plus sensibles.

Il y a bien un pilote dans l’avion. Emmanuel Macron en l’occurrence qui, au terme d’un vol chaotique de près de cinquante ans, vient d’essayer de faire atterrir sans trop de casse le dossier de l’aéroport de Notre-Dame-des-Landes. Mais plutôt que d’annoncer lui-même la manœuvre, c’est son copilote Édouard Philippe qu’il a dépêché. «Les conditions ne sont pas réunies pour mener à bien le projet de Notre-Dame-des-Landes», a relevé le premier ministre, qui a annoncé dans la foulée l’abandon de cet «aéroport de la division».

Exit le référendum local ayant débouché sur la victoire des partisans du projet. Exit aussi les 179  décisions de justice favorables. Exit encore la déclaration d’utilité publique validée en 2008 par le Conseil d’État. Exit enfin les déclarations favorables à l’aéroport prononcées par Macron durant la campagne présidentielle. «Un tel projet ne peut se faire dans un contexte d’opposition exacerbée entre deux parties presque égales de la population», a justifié Édouard Philippe à l’issue du Conseil des ministres.

Prendre une décision quelle qu’elle soit

Le premier ministre s’exprimait depuis l’Élysée, flanqué par les membres de son gouvernement qui ont planché sur le dossier, comme le ministre de l’Écologie Nicolas Hulot et le ministre de l’Intérieur Gérard Collomb. Mais qu’on ne s’y trompe pas: c’est bien le chef de l’État qui était aux commandes. Version officielle: c’est lundi que l’arbitrage final a été pris, dans le bureau du président, lors d’un tête-à-tête avec son premier ministre. L’exécutif le répétait depuis des semaines: dans ce dossier explosif, il n’y avait pas de bonne solution. Une seule chose comptait, en fait: trancher. Prendre à bras-le-corps les polémiques les plus sensibles, c’est d’ailleurs le thème de la semaine d’Emmanuel Macron. Ferme, mercredi, à Calais sur son projet de loi asile et immigration ; attendu, jeudi, sur la question de la fermeture de la centrale nucléaire de Fessenheim. Une promesse de François Hollande, restée lettre morte. Le gouvernement dépêche son secrétaire d’État Sébastien Lecornu sur place, pour une mission de trois jours afin d’envisager les conditions d’un démantèlement des réacteurs et le reclassement des ouvriers du site.

Une victoire pour Hulot

Une séquence qui illustre aussi la capacité du gouvernement à ne rien laisser filtrer des débats qui l’animent. Aussi vifs puissent-ils être. Mercredi, cinq d’entre eux ont pris la parole lors de la partie discussion du Conseil des ministres consacrée cette fois à Notre-Dame-des-Landes. Mais au bout du compte, le ministre des Affaires étrangères Jean-Yves le Drian, farouche partisan de l’aéroport de Notre-Dame-des-Landes et emblématique président de la Bretagne jusqu’en 2017 n’en a pas fait un motif de rupture. Dans un communiqué, il a dit «regretter cette situation» tout en affirmant la «comprendre» et la «respecter».

À l’inverse, l’écologiste Nicolas Hulot n’a pas versé dans le triomphalisme, se contentant de fixer du regard la verrière du jardin d’hiver de l’Élysée, pendant que le premier ministre s’exprimait. «Le maintien d’Hulot au gouvernement aura coûté un milliard d’euros, entre les dédommagements à Vinci et l’agrandissement de l’aéroport de Nantes Atlantique», grinçait un conseiller ministériel. Pour l’ancien animateur de télévision, miné par les états d’âme, il s’agit d’une première victoire politique.

Néanmoins, l’abandon du projet n’est pas dénué de risques. D’abord parce qu’elle redonne de l’oxygène à une droite qui en manquait cruellement. Ensuite, parce qu’elle offre l’image d’un président qui a «capitulé», selon les termes du président du groupe LR au Sénat Bruno Retailleau, face à la résistance de quelques centaines de zadistes. Des militants qui ont fêté l’événement en faisant la chenille en haut du mirador construit pour guetter l’arrivée des forces de l’ordre. Des zadistes qui ont d’ores et déjà annoncé, lors d’une conférence de presse, qu’ils rejetaient le principe des expulsions annoncé par le gouvernement.


 

 

Source: Notre-Dame-des-Landes : le gouvernement recule pour sortir de l’impasse

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais