Natacha Polony: "Christmas, and peace in the Republic"

Home"columnists"Natacha Polony: "Christmas, and peace in the Republic"
6 Partages

CHRONICLE - The "Christmas spirit" of today's world has nothing to do with the symbol of hope that it was originally. Secularism, conceived today from a liberal angle, is lost in festive consumerism and "respect due to individuals".

On the other side of the planet, in this China that marries without complex communism and capitalism, the new upper urban classes start to celebrate Christmas, with strong garlands and gift packages. A planetary communion in the new "Christmas spirit", at a time when the West is gradually adopting, with careful caution, the term "end-of-year celebrations", so as not to offend anyone. Humanity gathers together, not in the forgotten symbol of a God incarnating in the fragility of a child, but in the effervescence of the festive consumerism. This is the new transcendence, the only one, it is believed, to be able to abolish divisions and hatreds: that of the divine market.

The Prime Minister was responding this week to the weekly Life. He confessed to having been baptized at his request at the age of tenhe explained that he was no longer a believer but "respect those who believe" and cultivate "a true reverence for the sacred" whose humanity "can not be completely divested". So many half-hearted reflections, without the smallest sketch of analysis of these issues that nevertheless arise in schools or town halls, around a statue or in a street transformed into a prayer room, and that make public debate a minefield. But the most striking thing is this insistence, which he shares with the Head of State, to approach secularism only from the angle of freedom, regulated by a rule of law, the law of separation of the churches and of State. A law that "allows individual freedom to flourish".

Liberal anthropology ends up leaving the public power totally helpless in the face of these believers who claim the freedom to manifest their faith even in its most sectarian dimension

Such a creed ignores one of the most obvious consequences of liberalism as developed by contemporary societies. Liberal anthropology, which conceives society only as a sum of individuals whose diverging interests are regulated by law and the market, without any definition of shared values ​​or even shared memory, leads to the public power totally helpless against these believers who claim the freedom to manifest their faith even in its most sectarian dimension, in the name of respect for their individual rights.

The best example is in manifestations of these beliefs within the school, where students refuse certain teachings. The Minister of National Education, of course, has provided "secular units", supposed to remind the teachers in escheat their role of representative of the institution. But voices were immediately raised to warn against the risks of "stigmatization" and "Islamophobia". This should encourage our benevolent Prime Minister to think a little more acutely about the complex relationship between respect for individuals and the role of the Republican school.

The sociologist Gérald Bronner recalled it in an excellent text published in Point, it is American campuses that use the "trigger warning", a warning to the students to signify that the contents of some courses could shock them. American-style liberal democracy, by setting "respect for individuals" as a supreme value, makes impossible any peaceful transmission of universal knowledge. The school can only be a development of the skills of students, emptied of any content able to get out of their possible obscurantism. It is this evolution that the French school has been experiencing for a few decades, from which universal knowledge and reason have gradually been evaded, to cultivate only the capacities to express themselves and personal fulfillment.

American-style liberal democracy, by setting "respect for individuals" as a supreme value, makes it impossible for any peaceful transmission of universal knowledge

The Prime Minister is in favor of religious education at school. It's called a history class. A course that can explain to students that the nature of Christianity changed when it became official religion of the Roman Empire, that the Koran is not uncreated but that it took two centuries of exegesis to establish the text precise, which is therefore an interpretation. A course which makes understand what could be a West in which religion impregnated each life, and weighed on the destinies. A course that tells how man has gradually learned to think outside the categories of the divine, and how humanism and the Enlightenment have gradually drawn the possibility of a faith in man and in reason as an instrument of individual and collective emancipation.

Secularism is now spoiled in festive consumerism and "respect due to individuals". No one remembers this incredible moment of truce that was Christmas, as a symbol of hope. But no one understands either that the French Republic has placed its hope in man, drawn from obscurantism by knowledge and curiosity to the world.


 

Source: ©  Natacha Polony: "Christmas, and peace in the Republic"

6 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Natacha Polony : «Noël, et paix dans la République»

Home»EDITORIALISTES»Natacha Polony : «Noël, et paix dans la République»

Natacha Polony : «Noël, et paix dans la République»CHRONIQUE – L’«esprit de Noël» du monde actuel n’a plus rien à voir avec le symbole d’espérance qu’il était à l’origine. La laïcité, conçue aujourd’hui sous l’angle libéral, s’abîme dans le consumérisme festif et le «respect dû aux individus».

De l’autre côté de la planète, dans cette Chine qui marie sans complexe communisme et capitalisme, les nouvelles classes supérieures urbaines se mettent à fêter Noël, avec force guirlandes et paquets cadeau. Une communion planétaire dans le nouvel «esprit de Noël», au moment où l’Occident adopte progressivement, avec une prudence compassée, le vocable «fêtes de fin d’année», pour ne vexer personne. L’humanité se rassemble, non dans le symbole oublié d’un Dieu s’incarnant dans la fragilité d’un enfant, mais dans l’effervescence du consumérisme festif. Tel est la nouvelle transcendance, la seule, croit-on, à pouvoir abolir les clivages et les haines: celle du divin marché.

Le premier ministre répondait cette semaine à l’hebdomadaire La Vie. Il confiait avoir été baptisé à sa demande à l’âge de dix ans, il expliquait n’être plus croyant mais «respecter ceux qui croient» et cultiver «une vraie révérence pour le sacré» dont l’humanité «ne peut se départir complètement». Autant de réflexions en demi-teinte, sans la plus petite ébauche d’analyse de ces enjeux qui pourtant surgissent dans les écoles ou les mairies, autour d’une statue ou dans une rue transformée en salle de prière, et qui font du débat public un champ de mines. Mais le plus frappant est dans cette insistance, qu’il partage avec le chef de l’État, à n’aborder la laïcité que sous l’angle de la liberté, régulée par une règle de droit, la loi de séparation des Églises et de l’État. Une loi qui «permet à la liberté individuelle de s’épanouir».

L’anthropologie libérale aboutit à laisser la puissance publique totalement démunie face à ces croyants qui revendiquent la liberté de manifester leur foi même dans sa dimension la plus sectaire

Un tel credo méconnaît une des conséquences les plus évidentes du libéralisme tel que le développent les sociétés contemporaines. L’anthropologie libérale, qui ne conçoit la société que comme une somme d’individus dont les éventuels intérêts divergents sont régulés par le droit et le marché, en dehors de toute définition de valeurs communes ou même d’une mémoire partagée, aboutit à laisser la puissance publique totalement démunie face à ces croyants qui revendiquent la liberté de manifester leur foi même dans sa dimension la plus sectaire, au nom du respect de leurs droits individuels.

Le meilleur exemple est dans les manifestations de ces croyances au sein de l’école, où des élèves refusent certains enseignements. Le ministre de l’Éducation nationale, bien sûr, a prévu des «unités laïcité», censée rappeler aux professeurs en déshérence leur rôle de représentant de l’institution. Mais des voix se sont aussitôt élevées pour mettre en garde contre les risques de «stigmatisation» et d’«islamophobie». Ce qui devrait inciter notre bienveillant premier ministre à réfléchir avec un peu plus d’acuité sur les rapports complexes entre respect des individus et rôle de l’école républicaine.

Le sociologue Gérald Bronner le rappelait dans un excellent texte publié dans Le Point, il est des campus américains qui usent du «trigger warning», un avertissement aux étudiants pour leur signifier que les contenus de certains cours pourraient les choquer. La démocratie libérale à l’américaine, en érigeant le «respect des individus» en valeur suprême, rend impossible toute transmission apaisée de savoirs universels. L’école ne peut donc y être qu’un développement des compétences des élèves, vidé de tout contenu apte à les sortir de leur possible obscurantisme. C’est cette évolution que connaît depuis quelques décennies l’école française, dont on a peu à peu évacué les savoirs universels et la raison, pour n’y cultiver que les capacités à s’exprimer et l’épanouissement personnel.

La démocratie libérale à l’américaine, en érigeant le «respect des individus» en valeur suprême, rend impossible toute transmission apaisée de savoirs universels

Le premier ministre se dit favorable à un enseignement du fait religieux à l’école. Cela s’appelle un cours d’histoire. Un cours qui puisse expliquer aux élèves que la nature du christianisme a changé quand il est devenu religion officielle de l’empire romain, que le Coran n’est pas incréé mais qu’il a fallu deux siècles d’exégèse pour en établir le texte précis, qui relève donc d’une interprétation. Un cours qui fasse comprendre ce qu’a pu être un Occident dans lequel la religion imprégnait chaque vie, et pesait sur les destins. Un cours qui raconte comment l’homme a peu à peu appris à se penser en dehors des catégories du divin, et comment l’humanisme et les Lumières ont peu à peu dessiné la possibilité d’une foi en l’homme et en la raison, comme instrument de l’émancipation individuelle et collective.

La laïcité s’abîme désormais dans le consumérisme festif et le «respect dû aux individus». Nul ne se souvient plus de cet incroyable moment de trêve que constituait Noël, comme symbole de l’espérance. Mais nul ne comprend plus non plus que la République française a placé son espérance en l’homme, tiré de l’obscurantisme par le savoir et la curiosité au monde.


 

Source:©  Natacha Polony : «Noël, et paix dans la République»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais