Natacha Polony: "Gravediggers of the European dream"

Home"TO THE ONE"Natacha Polony: "Gravediggers of the European dream"
11 Partages

 

FIGAROVOX / CHRONICLE - The villages are empty, the city centers are dying, the little bosses feel stunned ... One can recognize, in what makes the Italian anger, an image of what lives in France.

"The European commissioners, that dares everything, it is even at that we recognize them", would probably have ironized Michel Audiard. It is even quite fascinating to see how, each time the European Union is on the brink, one of its highest dignitaries strives to make her hate a little more. On May 29, during a television show, Günther Oettinger delivered his vision of the Italian situation. Summed up by a tweet of the television channel, it gave: "The markets will teach the Italians to vote well." Scandal in Italy. On the side of the 5-star movement, we rebel: "These people treat Italy as a holiday colony where to spend the summer." And it is the whole of the European Commission who tried to save the furniture .

The channel's journalists pleaded guilty, saying they had truncated the remarks. Which were: "I am worried and I expect that in the coming weeks the developments for Italy's economy could be so drastic that it could be a possible signal to voters not to choose populist left and right. "Indeed, things are more elegantly said. But the meaning is the same: the markets will attack Italy to scare the Italian voters to encourage them to return to the right path. But all this in the absolute respect of the democracy and the Italian voters ... That is about what explained the president of the Commission, Jean-Claude Juncker. The one who had warned the Greeks: "There is no democracy outside the European treaties." A phrase that was no less explicit than that of the German commissioner.

This is the problem of German dignitaries: they rarely have any scruples in explaining their vision of Europe.

This is the problem of German dignitaries: they rarely have any scruples in explaining their vision of Europe. To the chagrin of the defenders, especially French, of the EU who, themselves, take the trouble to embody the reality of admirable words, which speak "social Europe", "democratic deepening", "European sovereignty". So much effort that a German commissioner sure of the good right of his virtuous people against the sloth of the South, does not dispel the sweet dreams and say clearly what is: all the financial and political mechanics will take place to make the fools who have believed to be able to change things by universal suffrage.

And besides, what were their expectations to these Italian voters? There has been so much talk in France of a league far more to the right than the FN. So much has been said about the major migration crisis experienced by an abandoned Italy by its neighbors. Yet, in its edition dated May 29, The world, little suspicious of complacency with the heterogeneous Italian coalition, went to meet the "little bosses seduced by the League". We are in the region of Milan, where rice farming has organized social life. But the rice fields are disappearing, leaving wastelands where Amazon installs its giant warehouses. The villages are empty, the city centers are dying. The little bosses feel stunned by fussy rules imposed from Rome. As if the state, to forget its helplessness, produced the norm and imposed it on those who can not afford to escape it. The cause of this disaster? Asian rice imported at low cost and produced without any social or environmental standards. To answer them, the League campaigned on Made in Italy. Against these free trade treaties negotiated in the secret of the Brussels corridors.

Democracy under surveillance in Rome is also our democracy.

Who would not recognize in this portrait of Italian anger an image of what France is going through? Who understands that these two economies have been hit hard by the ideology of free trade carried by the very structures of the EU? Still Italy has preserved a part of its industry, the second of Europe, when we are good last.

The cry of the heart of the German commissioner has the merit of frankness: the markets make fun of rice growing in the plain of Po, even if the layout of the rice fields was designed by Leonardo da Vinci. As they make fun of the middle cities of Creuse or Lozère. The financial markets only see this Italian debt dug by an overvalued currency, and guaranteed by the German banking system. And if Sergio Mattarella finally agreed the list of ministers proposed by Giuseppe Conteit is on the condition that the Eurosceptic Paolo Savona do not hold the Ministry of Economy: we do not question the dogma.

Italy and France are two countries linked by history and culture, the love of beauty and the pleasures of life. Our Constitutions differ, which explains divergent political moments. But we would be wrong to stick to these appearances, because the democracy under surveillance in Rome is also our democracy. And we are these Italian citizens humiliated and ruined.



 

Natacha Polony, Journalist

 

Natacha Polony

 

Source: Natacha Polony: "Gravediggers of the European dream"

11 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Natacha Polony : «Les fossoyeurs du rêve européen»

Home»A LA UNE»Natacha Polony : «Les fossoyeurs du rêve européen»
Natacha Polony : «Les fossoyeurs du rêve européen»

 

FIGAROVOX/CHRONIQUE – Les villages se vident, les centres-villes meurent, les petits patrons se sentent assommés… On peut reconnaître, dans ce qui fait la colère italienne, une image de ce que vit la France.

«Les com… missaires européens, ça ose tout, c’est même à ça qu’on les reconnaît», aurait sans doute ironisé Michel Audiard. Il est même assez fascinant de voir comment, à chaque fois que l’Union européenne est au bord du gouffre, un de ses plus hauts dignitaires s’ingénie à la faire détester un peu plus. Le 29 mai, lors d’une émission télévisée, Günther Oettinger a livré sa vision de la situation italienne. Résumé par un tweet de la chaîne de télévision, cela donnait: «Les marchés vont apprendre aux Italiens à bien voter.» Scandale en Italie. Du côté du Mouvement 5 étoiles, on s’insurge: «Ces gens traitent l’Italie comme une colonie de vacances où venir passer l’été.» Et c’est l’ensemble de la Commission européenne qui a tenté de sauver les meubles.

Les journalistes de la chaîne ont plaidé coupable, expliquant qu’ils avaient tronqué les propos. Qui étaient les suivants: «Je suis inquiet et je m’attends à ce que dans les semaines à venir les développements pour l’économie de l’Italie pourraient être si drastiques que cela pourrait être un signal possible aux électeurs de ne pas choisir des populistes de gauche et de droite.» Effectivement, les choses sont plus élégamment dites. Mais le sens est le même: les marchés vont attaquer l’Italie jusqu’à faire peur aux électeurs italiens pour les inciter à revenir dans le droit chemin. Mais tout cela dans le respect absolu de la démocratie et des électeurs italiens… C’est à peu près ce qu’a expliqué le président de la Commission, Jean-Claude Juncker. Celui qui avait prévenu les Grecs: «Il n’y a pas de démocratie en dehors des traités européens.» Une phrase qui n’était pas moins explicite que celle du commissaire allemand.

C’est tout le problème des dignitaires allemands : ils n’ont que rarement de scrupules à expliciter leur vision de l’Europe.

C’est tout le problème des dignitaires allemands: ils n’ont que rarement de scrupules à expliciter leur vision de l’Europe. Au grand dam des défenseurs, notamment français, de l’UE qui, eux, se donnent le mal d’enrober la réalité de mots admirables, qui parlent «Europe sociale», «approfondissement démocratique», «souveraineté européenne». Tant d’efforts pour qu’un commissaire allemand sûr du bon droit de son peuple vertueux face aux paresseux du Sud, ne vienne dissiper les doux rêves et dire clairement ce qui est: l’ensemble de la mécanique financière et politique se mettra en place pour faire rendre gorge aux fous qui ont cru pouvoir changer les choses par le suffrage universel.

Et d’ailleurs, quelles étaient leurs attentes, à ces électeurs italiens? On a tant décrit, en France, une Ligue largement plus à droite que le FN. On a tant évoqué la crise migratoire majeure que vit une Italie abandonnée par ses voisins. Pourtant, dans son édition datée du 29 mai, Le Monde, peu soupçonnable de complaisance avec la coalition hétéroclite italienne, partait à la rencontre des «petits patrons séduits par la Ligue». On est dans la région de Milan, là où la riziculture a organisé la vie sociale. Mais les rizières disparaissent, laissant des friches où Amazon installe ses entrepôts géants. Les villages se vident, les centres-villes meurent. Les petits patrons se sentent assommés par des règles tatillonnes imposées depuis Rome. Comme si l’État, pour faire oublier son impuissance, produisait de la norme et l’imposait à ceux qui n’ont pas les moyens de lui échapper. La cause de ce désastre? Le riz asiatique importé à bas coût et produit sans aucune norme sociale ou environnementale. Pour leur répondre, la Ligue a fait campagne sur le Made in Italy. Contre ces traités de libre-échange négociés dans le secret des couloirs bruxellois.

La démocratie sous surveillance à Rome est aussi notre démocratie.

Qui ne reconnaîtrait dans ce portrait de la colère italienne une image de ce que vit la France? Qui ne comprend que ces deux économies ont subi de plein fouet l’idéologie du libre-échange portée par les structures même de l’UE? Encore l’Italie a-t-elle préservé une part de son industrie, la deuxième d’Europe, quand nous sommes bons derniers.

Le cri du cœur du commissaire allemand a le mérite de la franchise: les marchés se moquent de la riziculture dans la plaine du Po, même si l’agencement des rizières fut dessiné par Léonard de Vinci. Comme ils se moquent des villes moyennes de Creuse ou de Lozère. Les marchés financiers ne voient que cette dette italienne creusée par une monnaie surévaluée, et garantie par le système bancaire allemand. Et si Sergio Mattarella a finalement accepté la liste de ministres proposée par Giuseppe Conte, c’est à la condition que l’eurosceptique Paolo Savona ne tienne pas le ministère de l’Économie: on ne remet pas en cause le dogme.

L’Italie et la France sont deux pays liés par l’histoire et la culture, l’amour du beau et des plaisirs de la vie. Nos Constitutions diffèrent, ce qui explique des moments politiques divergents. Mais nous aurions tort de nous en tenir à ces apparences, car la démocratie sous surveillance à Rome est aussi notre démocratie. Et nous sommes ces citoyens italiens humiliés et ruinés.



 

Natacha Polony : «Les fossoyeurs du rêve européen»
Natacha Polony, Journaliste

 

Natacha Polony

 

Source : Natacha Polony : «Les fossoyeurs du rêve européen»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais