Natacha Polony: "The right of peoples to self-determination"

Home"TO THE ONE"Natacha Polony: "The right of peoples to self-determination"
7 Partages

Natacha Polony : «Du droit des peuples à disposer d'eux-mêmes»Natacha Polony : «Du droit des peuples à disposer d'eux-mêmes»

CHRONICLE - Like its European neighbors, Spain has given up offering its citizens a common democratic horizon, to impose on them a pure management of globalization and its consequences.

Our politicians, in a kind of embarrassed amazement, are witnessing the dislocation of a neighboring European state, and their silence only underscores the total lack of reflection, from one end to the other of the chessboard, on this which structures and perpetuates the political communities. Catalonia and Spain are tearing apart, and nothing. Not a word. At most a forced declaration by Emmanuel Macron assuring Madrid of its support, in the name of solidarity between states and the widespread fear of contagion.

It is, however, perfectly absurd to attempt any parallel between the Spanish configuration and our boisterous independence. First, because Spain is a monarchy composed of many nations whose history could not be erased by the centralizing desire of Francoism. Secondly, because the current catastrophe is largely explained by the way in which Mariano Rajoy's party voluntarily put down the consensus voted in 2006 in the absolute respect of the Constitution by the Catalan and Spanish Parliaments.

But beyond the analysis of responsibilities (that the French media would be well inspired to recall, evoking for example the frightening lie of the government of Jose Maria Aznar and Mariano Rajoy in 2004, accusing Basques of ETA attacks of Atocha station to hope to win the elections, any politician is disqualified for life by such cynicism), the question is to understand why the Catalans can no longer articulate their Catalan identity with their Spanish. Simple question of fiscal egoism? The explanation is so tempting. But then, what about Germany and its obsession with not paying for European neighbors? For such is the stakes: there is only possible democracy as an expression of a "demos", of a people, within the framework of a fundamental law that organizes the terms of this expression. A people, that is to say a political community united by a desire to draw a common destiny and by what Ernest Renan called a "legacy of remembrance".

"It's all the paradox of liberal societies to unfold a boundless individualism, to destroy all cultural transmission in the name of the freedom to build oneself, to be surprised then by the weakening of ties of belonging."

Why does a part of the Catalan people no longer recognize themselves as a component of the Spanish people? Why are the peoples of the European continent not touched by the idea of ​​seeing themselves as a European people, despite the proclamations and injunctions of some of their leaders? The feeling of sharing with one's neighbor more than a fortuitous promiscuity is the product of a history and a social organization. And it is indeed the whole paradox of liberal societies to unfold an endless individualism, considered as the ultimate stage of emancipation, to destroy all cultural transmission in the name of the freedom to build oneself, to be astonished. then the weakening of the links of belonging and their recomposition through essentialized identities. It is not only a weakening of the nation-states that this ideology of reducing individuals to the status of monads reduces to their economic dimension, it is also, in response, an aspiration to community links without which the human being can not be fulfilled fully.

Spain is not only a state of which a part of the leaders did not completely settle the Francoist past, and whose Constitution bears the trace of the compromises which it was necessary to accept for the army to be willing to allow the democratic transition, it is also a nation which, like its European neighbors, has given up offering its citizens a common democratic horizon, to impose on them a pure management of globalization and its economic and human consequences. Is it any wonder that people are finally dreaming of a democratic horizon, the hope of starting from scratch, in a new national pact? This does not prevent illusions, since everyone puts in this pact what suits his vision of the world, the troops of Carles Puigdemont aspiring to enroll in a European economic space that they plebiscite, when the CUP imagines a society decreasing and antiliberal.

But if the French situation has nothing to do with, it is not trivial that Corsica has seen the victory, in recent elections, nationalists, while the FN made a perfectly derisory score. The anger, the feeling of democratic dispossession undermining trust between peoples and their rulers encourage us to imagine new democratic links, closer, more alive. This aspiration is noble, as long as it articulates the strata of identity and does not exclude in the name of an essentialized identity.

In this context, the role of politics is to imagine democratic forms of organization that will give citizens full possession of their destiny rather than confining them to Constitutions and treaties whose sole purpose is to keep them in the future. right path.


Source: ©  The Figaro Premium - Natacha Polony: "The right of peoples to self-determination"

7 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Natacha Polony : «Du droit des peuples à disposer d'eux-mêmes»

Home»A LA UNE»Natacha Polony : «Du droit des peuples à disposer d’eux-mêmes»
Natacha Polony : «Du droit des peuples à disposer d’eux-mêmes»

Natacha Polony : «Du droit des peuples à disposer d'eux-mêmes»Natacha Polony : «Du droit des peuples à disposer d'eux-mêmes»

CHRONIQUE – Comme ses voisines européennes, l’Espagne a renoncé à offrir à ses citoyens un horizon démocratique commun, pour leur imposer une pure gestion de la globalisation et de ses conséquences.

Nos politiques assistent, dans une sorte de stupeur gênée, à la dislocation d’un État européen voisin, et leur silence ne fait que souligner l’absence totale de réflexion, d’un bout à l’autre de l’échiquier, sur ce qui structure et perpétue les communautés politiques. La Catalogne et l’Espagne se déchirent, et rien. Pas un mot. Tout au plus une déclaration contrainte d’Emmanuel Macron assurant Madrid de son soutien, au nom de la solidarité entre États et de la peur diffuse d’une contagion.

Il est pourtant parfaitement aberrant de tenter un quelconque parallèle entre la configuration espagnole et nos indépendantismes tapageurs. D’abord parce que l’Espagne est une monarchie composée de multiples nations dont l’histoire n’a pu être effacée par la volonté centralisatrice du franquisme. Ensuite parce que l’actuelle catastrophe s’explique très largement par la façon dont le parti de Mariano Rajoy a volontairement mis à bas le consensus voté en 2006 dans le respect absolu de la Constitution par les Parlements catalans et espagnols.

Mais au-delà de l’analyse des responsabilités (que les médias français seraient bien inspirés de rappeler, en évoquant par exemple le mensonge effarant du gouvernement de José Maria Aznar et Mariano Rajoy en 2004, faisant accuser les Basques d’ETA des attentats de la gare d’Atocha pour espérer remporter les élections ; n’importe quel homme politique est disqualifié à vie par un tel cynisme), la question est bien de comprendre pourquoi les Catalans ne savent plus articuler leur identité catalane avec leur hispanité. Simple question d’égoïsme fiscal? L’explication est tellement tentante. Mais alors, que dire de l’Allemagne et de son obsession de ne pas payer pour les voisins européens? Car tel est bien l’enjeu: il n’est de démocratie possible que comme expression d’un «demos», d’un peuple, dans le cadre d’une loi fondamentale qui organise les modalités de cette expression. Un peuple, c’est-à-dire une communauté politique rassemblée par une volonté de dessiner un destin commun et par ce qu’Ernest Renan appelait un «legs de souvenir».

«C’est bien tout le paradoxe des sociétés libérales que de déployer un individualisme sans bornes, de détruire toute transmission culturelle au nom de la liberté de se construire soi-même, pour s’étonner ensuite de la fragilisation des liens d’appartenance»

Pourquoi une part du peuple catalan ne se reconnaît-elle plus comme une composante du peuple espagnol? Pourquoi les peuples du continent européen ne sont-ils pas effleurés par l’idée de se considérer comme un peuple européen, malgré les proclamations et les injonctions de certains de leurs dirigeants? Le sentiment de partager avec son voisin davantage qu’une promiscuité fortuite est le produit d’une histoire et d’une organisation sociale. Et c’est bien tout le paradoxe des sociétés libérales que de déployer un individualisme sans bornes, considéré comme le stade ultime de l’émancipation, de détruire toute transmission culturelle au nom de la liberté de se construire soi-même, pour s’étonner ensuite de la fragilisation des liens d’appartenance et de leur recomposition à travers des identités essentialisées. Ce n’est pas seulement un affaiblissement des États-nations que provoque cette idéologie de réduction des individus au statut de monades réduites à leur dimension économique, c’est également, en réaction, une aspiration à des liens communautaires sans lesquels l’être humain ne peut s’accomplir pleinement.

L’Espagne n’est pas seulement un État dont une part des dirigeants n’a pas tout à fait soldé le passé franquiste, et dont la Constitution porte la trace des compromis qu’il a fallu accepter pour que l’armée veuille bien permettre la transition démocratique, elle est aussi une nation qui, comme ses voisines européennes, a renoncé à offrir à ses citoyens un horizon démocratique commun, pour leur imposer une pure gestion de la globalisation et de ses conséquences économiques et humaines. Faut-il s’étonner de voir des gens se rêver enfin un horizon démocratique, l’espoir de recommencer à zéro, dans un nouveau pacte national? Ce qui n’empêche pas les illusions, puisque chacun met dans ce pacte ce qui convient à sa vision du monde, les troupes de Carles Puigdemont aspirant à s’inscrire dans un espace économique européen qu’ils plébiscitent, quand la CUP imagine une société décroissante et antilibérale.

Mais si la situation française n’a rien à voir, il n’est pas anodin que la Corse ait vu la victoire, aux élections récentes, des nationalistes, tandis que le FN faisait un score parfaitement dérisoire. La colère, le sentiment de dépossession démocratique qui minent la confiance entre les peuples et leurs gouvernants incitent à imaginer de nouveaux liens démocratiques, plus proches, plus vivants. Cette aspiration-là est noble, tant qu’elle articule les strates identitaires et n’exclut pas au nom d’une identité essentialisée.

Dans ce contexte, le rôle des politiques est d’imaginer les formes d’organisation démocratiques qui rendront aux citoyens la pleine possession de leur destin plutôt que de les enfermer dans des Constitutions et des traités dont l’unique but est de les maintenir dans le droit chemin.


Source :©  Le Figaro Premium – Natacha Polony : «Du droit des peuples à disposer d’eux-mêmes»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais