Monet, Pissarro, Golden: The London Call

Home"Anciens2"Monet, Pissarro, Golden: The London Call
13 Partages
Monet, Pissarro, Doré: l'appel de Londres
Nocturne in blue and silver: Cremorne's lights (1872) James Abbott McNeill Whistler. - Photo Credits: Joe Humphrys / Tate

In 1870, the Franco-Prussian War and the Commune pushed artists to join England. But they were already a few to exercise across the Channel. The exhibition of the Petit Palais reminds us.

Do not be fooled by this exhibition in 140 works mounted in Small palace, in partnership with Tate Britain. Certainly "Impressionists in London, French artists in exile" includes Monet, Pissarro and Sisley (a British although born in Paris) chased by the Franco-Prussian War of 1870 and the Commune. But, on the one hand, they were called impressionists only from 1874. Especially it is not only this "reliquat" of the regulars of the coffee Guerbois active in the Channel at this time. The course mentions about thirty names and shows the diversity of motivations and situations in the English capital, from 1870 to the tawny canvases of Derain from 1906.

After a prologue on the ravages of the conflict and the 20,000 victims of the "bloody week" - with a scenography reminiscent of the ruins of the Tuileries Palace and the Pompeian red in the fashion of the time - we understand quickly that the plastic refugees refugees or policies are not legion. A pillar of the diaspora, Alphonse Legros - a realist with an Ingresque line who only rubbed shoulders with the impressionist group - worked in London in 1863. Officer of a battalion of federates, having fled Paris in the spring of 1871, he joined the banks of the Thames for eight successful years. Another example is the sculptor Jules Dalou (present in particular by his large terracotta French peasant breastfeeding 1873, Victoria and Albert Museum, London) is not an avant-garde. It's an academic realist. He found success on the island.

The course also includes a large and beautiful square James Tissot, the opposite of the cursed migrant. Very integrated with the Victorian elite he has been attending since 1863, he even anglicized his first name as Jacques-Joseph in 1859. The most exclusive clubs and the editorial staff of Vanity Fair are open to him. Its exquisite genre scenes, concerts, balls, picnics, boat trips on the Thames, are very explicitly aimed at the high-end clientele. The exhibition also recalls that with Ernest Meissonier, Tissot was the best chronicler of the rigors of the war of 1870 (the watercolor The wounded soldier date of this year) and the Parisian insurrection. Nothing on Degas nor on Manet, volunteer gunners then softly put green during the Commune; in Normandy for the first, in the Pyrenees for the second. Nothing on Bazille, killed too early on the forehead, but whose friends keep the memory. On the other hand Gustave Doréhe was enrolled voluntarily in the National Guard and then a refugee at Versailles, where he was the source of the most dazzling views of London from the first industrial revolution. If this artist sets the scene, it should not be included among the refugees nor seek to recognize him among his characters in the Dickens. His engraved reports date back a few years before 1870, when his work already assures him international recognition and access to worldly circles.

»READ ALSO - Bazille, the Impressionist thunderstruck

It can be seen that the exhibition is not only interested in painters. With the young Dalou, active as Courbet in the management of artistic institutions under the Commune, pardoned in May 1879 and who returned to Paris with a project of monument to the Republic (finally installed in the center of the Place de la Nation in 1899) other sculptors are mentioned. A little Rodin common friendships, but who took the tangent in Brussels and landed in Dover in 1881 to conquer the local market. More Carpeaux whose main patron was Napoleon III. He followed him into exile in Chislehurst. And also in its decline.

Foreign friends

This French diaspora is also described in the company of his foreign friends. Do not talk about the case of Sisley, British nationality. Neither of Giuseppe de Nittis, Italian by birth. The American Whistler stands out on the walls by three of its Thames, nocturnal diaphanous, blue and silver. We also go to British works. Those of the Pre-Raphaelites Alma-Tadema, Burne-Jones or Watts, personalities who participate in the solidarity network. As evidenced, installed in several rooms, vintage telephone terminals. They allow to listen to the conversations of an English journalist with his young cousin and to get an idea of ​​the artistic debates of the time.

Finally, therefore, our future Impressionists represent very little in 1871, both in number and quality. Their canvases are at the same time chilly, of modest format, produced to seduce the gentry, and new since executed in the open air of the modern life. The merchant Durand-Ruel is the bridgehead. His gallery struggles to flow through these tranquil landscapes of Covent Garden, Hyde Park, and Kew Green, high places of the triumphant bourgeoisie. His best selling foal is Daubigny, a pioneer on the island since the 1860s.

Landed in mid-September 1870 Monet is a thirties with wife and child. The household barely survives. He will return only a year later. We find Monet in glory, from 1899 to 1901 in front of the Palace of Westminster. Five oils from his 19-picture series painted from a window of the Savoy Hotel form a magnificent section. The fog mixed with the fumes of coal causes fantastic light effects. Long live the pollution! With Charing Cross and Waterloo, it is more than a hundred canvases that the master executed then.

This maturity is compared to the ardor of young Derain. An exciting rapprochement. Only six years apart, the beast defies the patriarch on his land. But did he see, too discreetly hanging on the Petit Palais, Leicester Square at night (Granet Museum of Aix-en-Provence) of the elder? An electric canvas, incandescent, almost abstract ...

"The Impressionists in London, French Artists in Exile, 1870-1904" until October 14 at the Petit Palais, Winston-Churchill Avenue - 75008 Paris. Catalog Paris Museums 272 p., 35 €. Phone: +33 (0) 1 53 43 40 00


The editorial advises you:


Monet, Pissarro, Doré: l'appel de Londres

Eric Biétry-Rivierre 82 followers
To follow

Great Reporter Arts

Source: Monet, Pissarro, Golden: The London Call

13 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Monet, Pissarro, Doré: l'appel de Londres

Home»Anciens2»Monet, Pissarro, Doré: l’appel de Londres
Monet, Pissarro, Doré: l'appel de Londres
Nocturne en bleu et argent: les lumières de Cremorne (1872) James Abbott McNeill Whistler. – Crédits photo : Joe Humphrys/Tate

En 1870, la guerre franco-prussienne et la Commune poussent des artistes à rejoindre l’Angleterre. Mais ils étaient déjà quelques-uns à exercer outre-Manche. L’exposition du Petit Palais nous le rappelle.

Ne vous fiez pas au titre de cette exposition en 140 œuvres montée au Petit Palais, en partenariat avec la Tate Britain. Certes «Les impressionnistes à Londres, artistes français en exil» inclut Monet, Pissarro et Sisley (un Britannique quoique né à Paris) chassés par la guerre franco-allemande de 1870 et la Commune. Mais, d’une part, ils n’ont été appelés impressionnistes qu’à partir de 1874. Surtout il n’y a pas que ce «reliquat» des habitués du café Guerbois actif outre-Manche à cette époque. Le parcours mentionne une trentaine de noms et montre la diversité des motivations et des situations dans la capitale anglaise, de 1870 aux toiles fauves du Derain de 1906.

Passé un prologue sur les ravages du conflit et les 20.000 victimes de la «semaine sanglante» – avec une scénographie rappelant les ruines du palais des Tuileries et le rouge pompéien à la mode du temps – on comprend d’ailleurs vite que les plasticiens réfugiés économiques ou politiques ne sont pas légion. Pilier de la diaspora, Alphonse Legros – un réaliste au trait ingresque qui n’a fait que côtoyer le groupe impressionniste – travaillait à Londres dès 1863. Officier d’un bataillon de fédérés, ayant fui Paris au printemps 1871, il a rejoint les berges de la Tamise pour huit années fructueuses. Autre exemple, le sculpteur Jules Dalou (présent notamment par sa grande terre cuite Paysanne française allaitant de 1873, Victoria and Albert Museum de Londres) n’a rien d’un avant-gardiste. C’est un réaliste académique. Il a trouvé le succès sur l’île.

Le parcours ménage pareillement en son sein une large et belle place à James Tissot, l’inverse du migrant maudit. Très intégré au gotha victorien qu’il fréquente depuis 1863, il a même anglicisé son prénom de Jacques-Joseph dès 1859. Les clubs les plus huppés et la rédaction du Vanity Fair lui sont ouverts. Ses exquises scènes de genre, concerts, bals, pique-niques, promenades en bateau sur la Tamise, visent très explicitement la clientèle haut de gamme. L’exposition rappelle aussi qu’avec Ernest Meissonier, Tissot a été le meilleur chroniqueur des rigueurs de la guerre de 1870 (l’aquarelle Le Soldat blessé date de cette année) et de l’insurrection parisienne. Rien sur Degas ni sur Manet, canonniers volontaires puis douillettement mis au vert durant la Commune; en Normandie pour le premier, dans les Pyrénées pour le second. Rien sur Bazille, tué trop tôt sur le front, mais dont les amis entretiennent le souvenir. En revanche Gustave Doré, enrôlé volontaire dans la Garde nationale puis réfugié à Versailles, est là: c’est à lui qu’on doit les plus dantesques vues du Londres de la première révolution industrielle. Si cet artiste plante le décor, il ne faudrait toutefois l’inclure ni parmi les réfugiés ni chercher à le reconnaître parmi ses personnages à la Dickens. Ses reportages gravés remontent quelques années avant 1870, quand son œuvre lui assure déjà une reconnaissance internationale et l’accès aux cercles mondains.

» LIRE AUSSI – Bazille, l’impressionniste foudroyé

On le constate, l’exposition ne s’intéresse pas qu’aux peintres. Avec le jeune Dalou, actif comme Courbet à la gestion des institutions artistiques sous la Commune, gracié en mai 1879 et qui est revenu à Paris avec un projet de monument à la République (finalement installé au centre de la place de la Nation en 1899), d’autres sculpteurs sont évoqués. Un peu Rodin aux amitiés communardes, mais qui a pris la tangente à Bruxelles et ne débarquera à Douvres qu’en 1881 pour conquérir le marché local. Plus Carpeaux dont le principal mécène était Napoléon III. Il l’a suivi dans son exil à Chislehurst. Et aussi dans son déclin.

Amis étrangers

Cette diaspora française est en outre décrite en compagnie de ses amis étrangers. Ne parlons pas du cas de Sisley, de nationalité britannique. Ni de Giuseppe de Nittis, Italien de naissance. L’Américain Whistler se distingue aux cimaises par trois de ses Tamise, nocturnes diaphanes, bleu et argent. On passe également devant des œuvres… britanniques. Celles des préraphaélites Alma-Tadema, Burne-Jones ou Watts, personnalités qui participent du réseau de solidarité. En témoignent, installées dans plusieurs salles, des bornes de téléphone vintage. Elles permettent d’écouter les conversations d’un journaliste anglais avec sa jeune cousine et de se faire une idée des débats artistiques de l’époque.

Finalement donc, nos futurs impressionnistes représentent bien peu en 1871, tant en nombre qu’en qualité. Leurs toiles sont à la fois frileuses, de format modeste, produites pour séduire la gentry, et nouvelles puisque exécutées dans le plein air de la vie moderne. Le marchand Durand-Ruel est la tête de pont. Sa galerie peine à écouler ces paysages tranquilles de Covent Garden, Hyde Park, Kew Green, hauts lieux de la bourgeoisie triomphante. Son poulain qui vend le mieux est Daubigny, pionnier dans l’île dès les années 1860.

Débarqué à la mi-septembre 1870 Monet est un trentenaire avec femme et enfant. Le ménage survit à peine. Il rentrera seulement un an plus tard. On retrouve Monet en gloire, de 1899 à 1901 devant le palais de Westminster. Cinq huiles de sa série de 19 vues peintes depuis une fenêtre du Savoy Hotel forment une section magnifique. Le fog mêlé aux fumées de charbon occasionne de fantastiques jeux de lumières. Vive la pollution! Avec Charing Cross et Waterloo, c’est plus d’une centaine de toiles que le maître a exécutées alors.

Cette maturité est comparée à la fougue du jeune Derain. Un rapprochement passionnant. À seulement six ans d’écart, le fauve défie le patriarche sur son terrain. Mais a-t-il vu, trop discrètement accrochée au Petit Palais, Leicester Square la nuit (Musée Granet d’Aix-en-Provence) de l’aîné? Une toile électrique, incandescente, quasiment abstraite…

«Les impressionnistes à Londres, artistes français en exil, 1870- 1904», jusqu’au 14 octobre au Petit Palais, av Winston-Churchill – 75008 Paris. Catalogue Paris Musées 272 p., 35 €. Tél.: 01 53 43 40 00.


La rédaction vous conseille :


Monet, Pissarro, Doré: l'appel de Londres

Eric Biétry-Rivierre 82 abonnés
Suivre

Grand Reporter Arts

Source : Monet, Pissarro, Doré: l’appel de Londres

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais