Macron wants to "dispassionate" debates about Islam

Home"TO THE ONE"Macron wants to "dispassionate" debates about Islam
2 Partages
Emmanuel Macron during a conference on Protestantism, September 22 at the City Hall of Paris. - Photo credits: Corinne SIMON / CIRIC

On Thursday, the head of state said he wanted to work on the "structuring" of this religion in France.

Emmanuel Macron finally benefited from the wish ceremony to religions, this Thursday, to deliver his great speech on secularism. Speaking on specific issues such as Islam, immigration management - "You have to be able to say sometimes that you can not take the part you want to take, because you can not - bioethics, but also a framework program detailing the fundamental vision of President of the Republic on the religious fact. Never since the beginning of the five-year period, Emmanuel Macron had also systematically explained himself on this sensitive topic, often controversial and considered as a marker in French political culture.

The great presidential novelty appears in the way of dealing with the question of Islam. Emmanuel Macron intends not to be shut up in the law of 1905 establishing the separation between religions and the state.

"We would like, speaking of secularism, to speak about the only subject of the religion that is Islam. It is a fatal error for Islam and for all other religions "

He does not say that he intends to reform it, but he clearly states that it is not necessarily adapted to solve the new questions posed to France by Islam. "This 1905 law is part of a treasure that is ours," he insists, but "she did not think the religious fact with and by Islam, because it was not present in our society, as it is today "at the time of its adoption. He adds: "We would like, speaking of secularism, to speak about the only subject of the religion that is Islam. It is a fatal mistake for Islam and for all other religions. "

Hence, he admits, "the gropings" of the authorities, as religions, on the question of Islam because French software in this area has been shaped by centuries of collaboration, then conflict, between two powers also organized and centralized, the Catholic Church and the State: "France has become accustomed in its dialogue to a religion which is structured in a much more vertical way, because it is the history of France with the Catholic Church. We must say things as they are: because religions are structured differently, we grope. "

This explains his proposal to move forward with Islam: "We must have a job on the structuring of Islam in Francewhich is the very condition that you do not fall into the divisions of your own religion and the crisis it is experiencing internationally. " dispassionate ". As for Islamist terrorism, the president said: "The role of the state, in this context, is not to fight the beliefs, but to fight the words and practices that are placed outside the republican public order. "

The rules of the Republic

The vision that guides this first major presidential project in terms of secularism is inspired by its conception of the contribution - past and present - of religions to French society. Emmanuel Macron does not see any break between the believer and the citizen. This is the second great novelty of this discourse program: "The religious faith which is intimate does not disqualify to be a citizen, it would be crazy to think that in the same person, the two do not dialogue constantly." D where this consequence: "The Republic does not ask anyone to forget his faith, but to make nation, it is also necessary knowing how to overcome differences by putting them at the service of the community of citizens. "And again:" I will never ask some French citizens to be moderately in their religion or to believe moderately or as they should in their God. It does not make much sense. But I will ask everyone, constantly, to absolutely respect all the rules of the Republic. "

Without "renouncing our lay pact", President Macron therefore wants to integrate more "religious and philosophical contributions" in a "sincere, dispassionate dialogue" for the conduct of the affairs of the nation. For he rejects as much the idea of ​​a "state religion" that would be "substituted for religions" as "strategies of entrism" or other "militant coups de force" of religious inspiration.

What dictates this flagship proposal, the third novelty of his intervention, concerning the next revision of the laws of bioethics, to "give time for a real philosophical debate in society before legislating": "During this year, I will bring together in a regular way, not mediatised because I want it to be working sessions "at the same time," the national advisory committee of ethics "but also the" representatives "of the religions that will be" fully associated ", to" decanate a vision common "on the laws of bioethics.

 

Source: ©  Macron wants to "dispassionate" debates about Islam

2 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Macron veut «dépassionner» les débats autour de l'islam

Home»A LA UNE»Macron veut «dépassionner» les débats autour de l’islam
Macron veut «dépassionner» les débats autour de l'islam
Emmanuel Macron lors d’un colloque sur le protestantisme, le 22 septembre à l’Hôtel de ville de Paris. – Crédits photo : Corinne SIMON/CIRIC

Jeudi, le chef de l’État a dit vouloir travailler sur la «structuration» de cette religion en France.

Emmanuel Macron aura finalement profité de la cérémonie des vœux aux religions, ce jeudi, pour délivrer son grand discours sur la laïcité. Une prise de parole touchant des dossiers précis comme l’islam, la gestion de l’immigration – «il faut savoir dire parfois qu’on ne peut pas prendre toute la part qu’on voudrait prendre, parce qu’on ne le peut pas» – la bioéthique, mais aussi un programme-cadre détaillant la vision fondamentale du président de la République sur le fait religieux. Jamais encore depuis le début du quinquennat, Emmanuel Macron ne s’était aussi systématiquement expliqué sur ce sujet sensible, souvent polémique et considéré comme un marqueur dans la culture politique française.

La grande nouveauté présidentielle apparaît dans la façon de traiter la question de l’islam. Emmanuel Macron entend ne pas se laisser enfermer dans la loi de 1905 établissant la séparation entre les religions et l’État.

«On voudrait, en parlant de laïcité, parler du seul sujet de la religion qu’est l’islam. C’est une erreur funeste pour l’islam et pour toutes les autres ­religions»

Il ne dit pas qu’il entend la réformer mais il affirme clairement qu’elle n’est pas forcément adaptée pour résoudre les questions nouvelles, posées à la France, par l’islam. «Cette loi 1905 fait partie d’un trésor qui est le nôtre», insiste-t-il, mais «elle n’a pas pensé le fait religieux avec et par l’islam, parce qu’il n’était pas présent dans notre société, comme il l’est aujourd’hui» au moment de son adoption. Il ajoute: «On voudrait, en parlant de laïcité, parler du seul sujet de la religion qu’est l’islam. C’est une erreur funeste pour l’islam et pour toutes les autres religions.»

D’où, reconnaît-il, «le tâtonnement» des autorités, comme des religions, sur la question de l’islam parce que le logiciel français en la matière a été façonné par des siècles de collaboration, puis de conflits, entre deux pouvoirs également organisés et centralisés, l’Église catholique et l’État: «La France s’est habituée dans son dialogue à une religion qui est structurée de manière beaucoup plus verticale, parce que c’est l’histoire de la France avec l’Église catholique. Il faut dire les choses aussi telles qu’elles sont: parce que les religions sont structurées différemment, nous tâtonnons.»

Ce qui explique sa proposition pour avancer avec l’islam: «Nous devons avoir un travail sur la structuration de l’islam en France, qui est la condition même pour que vous ne tombiez pas dans les rets des divisions de votre propre religion et de la crise qu’elle est en train de vivre sur le plan international.» Le tout en «tâtonnons ensemble, de manière ouverte et dépassionnée». Quant au terrorisme islamiste, le président précise: «Le rôle de l’État, dans ce contexte, n’est pas de combattre les croyances, mais de combattre les propos et les pratiques qui se placent en dehors de l’ordre public républicain.»

Les règles de la République

La vision qui guide ce premier grand chantier présidentiel en matière de laïcité est inspirée par sa conception même de l’apport – passé et actuel – des religions à la société française. Emmanuel Macron ne voit en effet aucune cassure entre le croyant et le citoyen. C’est la seconde grande nouveauté de ce discours programme: «La foi religieuse qui relève de l’intime ne disqualifie pas pour être citoyen, il serait fou de penser qu’en une même personne, les deux ne dialoguent pas constamment.» D’où cette conséquence: «La République ne demande à personne d’oublier sa foi, mais pour faire nation, il faut également savoir dépasser ses différences en les mettant au service de la communauté de citoyens.» Et encore : «Je ne demanderai jamais à quelques citoyens français que ce soit d’être modérément dans sa religion ou de croire modérément ou comme il le faudrait en son Dieu. Ça n’a que peu de sens. Mais je demanderai à chacun, constamment, d’absolument respecter toutes les règles de la République.»

Sans «renoncer à notre pacte laïc», le président Macron veut donc davantage intégrer «les apports religieux et philosophiques» dans un «dialogue sincère, dépassionné» pour la conduite des affaires de la nation. Car il récuse tout autant l’idée d’une «religion d’État» qui serait «substituée aux religions» que «les stratégies d’entrisme» ou autres «coups de force militants» d’inspiration religieuse.

Ce qui dicte cette proposition phare, troisième nouveauté de son intervention, touchant la prochaine révision des lois de bioéthique, pour se «donner le temps d’un vrai débat philosophique dans la société avant de légiférer» : «Durant cette année, je réunirai de manière régulière, non médiatisée parce que je veux que ce soit des séances de travail» à la fois, «le comité consultatif national d’éthique» mais aussi les «représentants» des religions qui seront «pleinement associés», pour «décanter une vision commune» sur les lois de bioéthique.

 

Source:©  Macron veut «dépassionner» les débats autour de l’islam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais