Macron remains firm against Corsican nationalists

Home"TO THE ONE"Macron remains firm against Corsican nationalists
9 Partages
Emmanuel Macron, during his meeting with the president of the Corsican executive council, Gilles Simeoni (in the middle), and the president of the Assembly of Corsica, Jean-Guy Talamoni, Tuesday, in Ajaccio. - Photo credits: LUDOVIC MARIN / AFP

 

While he is in favor of mentioning Corsica in the Constitution, the President has objected to the other demands of the political leaders of the Isle of Beauty.

Ten flags. Five French, five European, no Corsican. Before even advancing on the stage of the cultural center Alb'Oru ​​in Bastia, Emmanuel Macron sets the scene for a discourse conceived as the "climax" of his trip to the island. A two-day visit to reaffirm the authority of the state while claims autonomists resume vigor since their victory in local elections in December.

As the day before, Emmanuel Macron begins by rejecting one by one the claims of "natios"

Welcomed by a leaden silence, without any applause, not even isolated, Emmanuel Macron assures from the outset to the elected officials to listen to him that "Corsica is in the heart of the Republic". The comment echoes his speech the day before, delivered in Ajaccio, in tribute to the prefect Érignac assassinated twenty years earlier. And as the day before, Emmanuel Macron begins by rejecting one by one the claims of "natios". Resident status? "A legal deadlock and a bad answer." The redesign of the tax system? "A freedom could be given to Corsica to introduce new taxes but there will be in return less government endowments." The co-officiality of the Corsican language with French? "In the French Republic, and even before the Republic, there is an official language and it is French." As for the rapprochement of prisoners requested by the autonomists, the head of state does not even mention the subject. One by one, he closes all the doors. Except for one, which he keeps slightly ajar: the possibility of including Corsica in the Constitution. But it is in reverse that he accedes to this lighthouse demand of the nationalists. "This wish, I hear it, I respect it and I take it as a mark of trust," he says. Like the will of a strong anchoring in the Republic. "This gesture, the president assures," I'm ready ". But not unconditionally, and rather his. This will be in the context of the constitutional review and Article 72. And therefore not in the context of Article 74 as required by the "natios". "This now assumes to get a three-fifths majority in Congress and therefore to convince the right to vote reform," was also worried a Corsican elected after speeches.

"Making Corsica succeed in the Republic is first and foremost solving everyday problems"

Emmanuel Macron

Autonomous and independentist elected representatives whom Emmanuel Macron has worked to bypass throughout his speech by speaking directly to the Corsican people rather than to his representatives and insisting on what the State could do for them. concrete on the ground. "What matters to me is that we can together meet the legitimate expectations of the inhabitants," assured the Head of State before detailing its proposals sector by sector. For security, he promises zero tolerance for delinquency and drug trafficking. For health, he announced the construction of a new hospital in Ajaccio and renovation of that of Bastia. On the digital, it promises to accelerate 4G coverage on the island. On housing, he proposes the help of the State to finalize "the coverage of the territory in urban planning documents". Gradually, Emmanuel Macron goes down in the detail of the daily life of the Corsicans, until being worried about the impact of the drought on the supply of fodder for the herds. "To make Corsica succeed in the Republic is above all to solve the problems of everyday life," he summarizes.

If it is necessary to go through a reform of the Constitution to calm the ardor of independence, or. In any case, "there are very few Corsicans whose life will change depending on whether we are slicing one way or the other," he removes, referring the "natios" to the expanded responsibilities and competencies they now in the context of the new community of Corsica. "The Corsican community gives the island a very decentralized special status. This entails important responsibilities, "he explains as if to ask the nationalists to start using the institutional tools they have before making autonomy claims. A lesson. And whose tone probably explains the dark mine of Jean-Guy Talamoni, president of the Assembly of Corsica, and Gilles Simeoni, the president of his executive council, at the end of the speech. Not to mention all the applause that resonated at the end of Emmanuel Macron's speech. After their meeting the day before in Ajaccio with the Head of State, the two men had canceled their planned lunch with him Wednesday noon in Bastia. They already understood.


 

Source: ©  Macron remains firm against Corsican nationalists

9 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Macron reste ferme face aux nationalistes corses

Home»A LA UNE»Macron reste ferme face aux nationalistes corses
Macron reste ferme face aux nationalistes corses
Emmanuel Macron, lors de sa rencontre avec le président du conseil exécutif corse, Gilles Simeoni (au milieu), et le président de l’Assemblée de Corse, Jean-Guy Talamoni, mardi, à Ajaccio. – Crédits photo : LUDOVIC MARIN/AFP

 

S’il est favorable à ce que la Corse soit mentionnée dans la Constitution, le président a opposé une fin de non-recevoir sur les autres exigences des dirigeants politiques de l’île de Beauté.

Dix drapeaux. Cinq français, cinq européens, aucun corse. Avant même de s’avancer sur la scène du centre culturel Alb’Oru à Bastia, Emmanuel Macron plante le décor d’un discours conçu comme le «climax» de son déplacement dans l’île. Une visite de deux jours pour y réaffirmer l’autorité de l’État alors que les revendications autonomistes reprennent de la vigueur depuis leur victoire aux élections locales de décembre.

Comme la veille, Emmanuel Macron commence par rejeter une à une les revendications des «natios»

Accueilli par un silence de plomb, sans aucun applaudissement, pas même isolé, Emmanuel Macron assure d’emblée aux élus venus l’écouter que «la Corse est au cœur de la République». Le propos fait écho à son discours de la veille, prononcé à Ajaccio, en hommage au préfet Érignac assassiné vingt ans plus tôt. Et comme la veille, Emmanuel Macron commence par rejeter une à une les revendications des «natios». Le statut de résident? «Une impasse juridique et une mauvaise réponse.» La refonte du régime fiscal? «Une liberté pourrait être donnée à la Corse de mettre en place de nouvelles taxes mais il y aura en contrepartie moins de dotations de l’État.» La co-officialité de la langue corse avec le français? «Dans la République française, et d’avant même la République, il y a une langue officielle et c’est le français.» Quant au rapprochement des prisonniers demandé par les autonomistes, le chef de l’État n’évoque même pas le sujet. Une à une, il referme toutes les portes. Sauf une, qu’il garde légèrement entrouverte: la possibilité d’inscrire la Corse dans la Constitution. Mais c’est à revers qu’il accède à cette demande phare des nationalistes. «Ce souhait, je l’entends, je le respecte et je le prends comme une marque de confiance, dit-il. Comme la volonté d’un ancrage fort dans la République.» Ce geste, le président l’assure, «j’y suis prêt». Mais pas sans condition, et plutôt aux siennes. Ce sera dans le cadre de la révision constitutionnelle et de l’article 72. Et donc pas dans le cadre de l’article 74 comme le demandaient les «natios». «Cela suppose maintenant d’obtenir la majorité des trois cinquièmes au Congrès et donc de convaincre la droite de voter la réforme», s’inquiétait d’ailleurs un élu corse à l’issue de discours.

«Faire réussir la Corse dans la République, c’est avant tout régler les problèmes du quotidien»

Emmanuel Macron

Des élus autonomistes et indépendantistes qu’Emmanuel Macron s’est d’ailleurs employé à contourner tout au long de son discours en s’adressant directement au peuple corse plutôt qu’à ses représentants et en insistant sur ce que l’État pouvait leur apporter de concret sur le terrain. «Ce qui m’importe, c’est que nous puissions ensemble répondre aux attentes légitimes des habitants», assurait ainsi le chef de l’État avant de détailler ses propositions secteur par secteur. Pour la sécurité, il promet la tolérance zéro pour la délinquance et le trafic de drogue. Pour la santé, il annonce la construction d’un nouvel hôpital à Ajaccio et la rénovation de celui de Bastia. Sur le numérique, il promet d’accélérer la couverture 4G sur l’île. Sur le logement, il propose l’aide de l’État pour finaliser «la couverture du territoire en documents d’urbanisme». Petit à petit, Emmanuel Macron descend dans le détail de la vie quotidienne des Corses, jusqu’à s’inquiéter de l’impact de la sécheresse sur l’approvisionnement en fourrage pour les troupeaux. «Faire réussir la Corse dans la République, c’est avant tout régler les problèmes du quotidien», résume-t-il.

S’il faut en passer par une réforme de la Constitution pour calmer les ardeurs des indépendantistes, soit. De toute façon, «il y a très peu de Corses dont la vie changera selon que l’on tranche dans un sens ou dans l’autre», évacue-t-il en renvoyant les «natios» aux responsabilités et compétences élargies dont ils disposent désormais dans le cadre de la nouvelle collectivité de Corse. «La collectivité de Corse donne à l’île un statut particulier très décentralisé. Cela implique des responsabilités importantes», explique-t-il comme pour demander aux nationalistes de commencer à utiliser les outils institutionnels dont ils disposent avant de formuler des revendications d’autonomie. Une leçon. Et dont le ton explique sans doute la mine sombre de Jean-Guy Talamoni, président de l’Assemblée de Corse, et de Gilles Simeoni, le président de son conseil exécutif, à l’issue du discours. Sans compter tous les applaudissements qui ont résonné à la fin du discours d’Emmanuel Macron. Après leur entretien de la veille à Ajaccio avec le chef de l’État, les deux hommes avaient annulé leur déjeuner prévu avec lui mercredi midi à Bastia. Ils avaient déjà compris.


 

Source:©  Macron reste ferme face aux nationalistes corses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais