Will inflation stay forever very low?

Home"TO THE ONE"Will inflation stay forever very low?
2 Partages

L'inflation va-t-elle éternellement rester très basse ?

DECRYPTION / INFOGRAPHY - Growth and full employment are back in many countries, but not inflation. Salaries remain everywhere at half-mast. A headache for the ECB and other central banks. The surest enemy of inflation would they be robots?

The twentieth century, its two world wars and the inflationary outbreaks that followed, will it have been a long parenthesis? Ten years after big financial crisis of 2007-2008, the international economy finds a cruise regime that is more and more similar to the nineteenth century, the century of the first industrial revolution (steam engine), triumphant capitalism, the exuberance of stock markets ... and the absence total inflation. The word itself, in its monetary sense today his, did not appear in France until 1919: the thing did not exist before the 1914 war!

Central banks, the US Fed, the ECB and the Bank of Japan, have certainly managed to curb the risks of deflation, the simultaneous fall in prices and economic activity, which led to the political catastrophes of the 1930s. big money makers can not get consumer prices to take off at a rate of 2%, which they consider optimal. They ran the money billboard like crazy wizard apprentices. The full employment enjoyed by the United States and much of Europe should logically push up wages and prices. Nothing works. Other forces are joining forces to calm the game: globalization and China's competition, population aging, the digital revolution and the job insecurity it promotes. Should we resign ourselves to the very slight price increases, around 1% per year, which are our lot?

● Abnormal price weakness

The press conferences of the President of the European Central Bank do not pretend to be parties of giggles. And yet every time Mario Draghi explains, with his gaze at the Buster Keaton, that "the mandate of the ECB is to maintain the rise in consumer prices below, but close to, 2%", it is believed to plunge into a crazy world where words take on a whole different meaning than in ordinary life .

The characteristic of a central bank, it had been learned, is to defend the value of the currency it issues and thus "price stability". This is the official mission of the ECB in Europe (Article 127 (1)). But for Mario Draghi, and the other governors, stability does not mean that prices would stay on average at the same level, but that they are growing at a rate of around 2%! An almost universal standard, which all the major central banks of the planet have finally adopted.

"It's hard to measure inflation exactly, but experience and theory show that numbers tend to be higher than reality"

Vitor Constancio, Vice President of the ECB

German public opinion is protesting that the ECB does not define stability by zero growth. "It's hard to measure inflation exactly, but experience and theory show that numbers tend to be higher than reality. When statisticians say that inflation is at 0% it is highly likely that we are below, "said Vitor Constancio, vice-president of the ECB recently to a question from the German newspaper. Börsen-Zeitung. We must therefore give ourselves a margin of caution to avoid the deflationary trap. This is all the more necessary in the European Monetary Union, a quasi-federation of states: zero inflation on average would mean that some countries would be in negative, in depression, judging it to the ECB.

But since the end of the financial crisis, we remain everywhere well below the standard of 2%. Prices have increased by only 0.2% annual average since 2009 in Japan, 1% in the euro area, and 1.5% for the US economy. Certainly the collapse of oil prices, which lost three-quarters of its value between 2014 and 2015 before strengthening somewhat, exacerbated general asthenia; the euro zone even recorded zero inflation in 2015!

The whims of the black gold, however, play only a secondary role. "The Fed, which prefers the indicator of core inflation (excluding commodities), has been below its 2% annual norm for 100 months out of 104 since the crisis in the United States!" Calculates Andrew Kenningham , the world's chief economist at Capital Economics. And to wonder: "Will inflation ever restart?"

● EDF, ECB, INSEE, they have trouble understanding

All the certainties forged in the twentieth century, which has been an extraordinary laboratory in vivo of all excesses, seem to collapse. "Inflation is always and everywhere a monetary phenomenon, in that it is and can only be generated by an increase in the quantity of money faster than that of production," said Milton Friedman. The 1976 Nobel Prize for Economics, the Pope of Monetarism (1912-2006), was very impressed by the depression of the 1930s that had left one-quarter of Americans unemployed; he blamed it on overly restrictive monetary policies. To the point of suggesting raining "helicopter" greenbacks on the crowd if we were to face such a situation.

The idea was taken up again, not literally but transposed to the billboard, in the aftermath of the 2008 Lehman Brothers Crash. Afraid that the United States could return to depression, Ben Bernanke, the president of the Fed, flooded the US economy with liquidity, to more than double the balance sheet of the central bank. This easy money has cheered up Wall Street (the Dow Jones index has more than tripled since its winter 2009 meltdown), but consumer prices remain untouched.

Inflationary mechanisms seem to have become as impenetrable as the mysteries of colds

Faced with the great slippages of the years 1965-1982, the Prime Minister Raymond Barre, "The best economist of France" according to President Valéry Giscard d'Estaing, then explained the phenomenon "as an excess of purchasing power of individuals in relation to the goods placed at their disposal." Unfortunately, this definition of common sense no longer works in France in 2017. While "growth begins to stumble on the productive capacity of the French economy," says Emmanuel Jessua, of the Coe-Rexecode Institute, these limitations of supply should normally boost prices. But this is not at all what we observe; French inflation (1.1% over the last twelve months) remains one of the lowest in the entire euro area (1.5% on average and 1.7% in Germany).

Inflationary mechanisms seem to have become as impenetrable as the mysteries of colds. Do not doctors usually say that "an unhealthy cold lasts for seven days, and that it heals within a week when it is treated?" In the end, Ms. Michu has much clearer ideas than INSEE whose definition is at least tautological: "Inflation is the loss of the purchasing power of the currency which results in a general and lasting increase in prices." With this precision which adds to the confusion: "To evaluate the rate of inflation we use the consumer price index (CPI). This measure is not complete, as the inflation phenomenon covers a wider field than that of household consumption, "according to INSEE. Understand who will want. And yet it is not explanations that are missing.

● The decalogue of a new world

To be the great mute of the economic scene, including in emerging countries (just 1.6% over the last twelve months in China), inflation remains the keystone on which weigh all forces of globalization and the digital revolution. "The absence of inflation in 10 explanations": it is a true decalogue that defies Bruno Colmant, chief economist of Bank Degroof Petercam and member of the Royal Academy of Belgium. It has the merit of being exhaustive:

1 - After the excesses of the 1970s, "great moderation": central banks and rigor took power.

2 - The Aging of the population induces a rise in savings.

3 - The digital revolution and artificial intelligence are destroying jobs.

4 - The world has entered a "secular stagnation" of low growth.

5 - The "Great Recession" of 2008-2009 has lastingly precarious jobs.

6 - Social inequalities exacerbate hoarding behavior.

7 - Public debt requires savers to anticipate tax increases.

8 - In the euro area, crisis management has been at the expense of employment.

9 - Multinational companies are no longer in debt and are net lenders (Apple).

10 - Online commerce and Amazon are intensifying price competition.

These structural changes mark a new world where national inflationary pressures are diluting in globalized competition, where the bargaining power of the unions has shattered in the face of technological transformations with the force of law.

The central bankers are the first to worry, because their traditional landmarks are disappearing. The links between unemployment, wage developments and prices have broken down. But they were their reason for being farther fathers.

● The best and the worst of things

"The Phillips curve has flattened," Jackson Yolen's symposium at the end of August said. The expression seems sibylline, but it must be known because the central bankers swear by the economist William Phillips (1914-1975). He was the first to establish a reverse relationship between the unemployment rate (on the abscissa) and the inflation rate (on the y-axis): the lower the first, the higher wages (and prices), and vice versa.

For its part François Villeroy de Galhau expresses an identical concern, even if the Governor of the Bank of France does not refer to Phillips by name: "We are convinced that the usual sequence between growth, wages and inflation is at work, even if it will take more time than before.

Still goes that the Phillips curve is less arcuate, but it becomes completely flat, would be a nightmare for the central banks which then would not take any more on nothing. The situation has become particularly embarrassing for the ECB, which no longer knows where to turn. "It is not impossible that the core inflation of the ECB will never come close to the target of 2% even if full employment is achieved," warns Patrick Artus. Natixis' chief economist is referring to labor market tensions in several eurozone countries, including Germany. Even in France, 42% of entrepreneurs say to INSEE have difficulties in recruiting competent staff.

The absence of inflation is the best and the worst of things. The dream for consumers, and a source of blockage for all others, whether they are central bankers or simple employees.

L'inflation va-t-elle éternellement rester très basse ?

Source: ©  Will inflation stay forever very low?

2 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

L'inflation va-t-elle éternellement rester très basse ?

Home»A LA UNE»L’inflation va-t-elle éternellement rester très basse ?

L'inflation va-t-elle éternellement rester très basse ?

DÉCRYPTAGE / INFOGRAPHIE – La croissance et le plein-emploi sont de retour dans de très nombreux pays, mais pas l’inflation. Les salaires restent partout en berne. Un casse-tête pour la BCE et les autres banques centrales. Le plus sûr ennemi de l’inflation seraient-ils les robots ?

Le XXe siècle, ses deux guerres mondiales et les flambées inflationnistes qui ont suivi, n’aura-t-il été qu’une longue parenthèse? Dix ans après la grande crise financière de 2007-2008, l’économie internationale retrouve un régime de croisière qui s’apparente de plus en plus au XIXe, le siècle de la première Révolution industrielle (machine à vapeur), du capitalisme triomphant, de l’exubérance des Bourses… et de l’absence totale d’inflation. Le mot même, dans son acception monétaire aujourd’hui la sienne, n’est apparu en France qu’en 1919: la chose n’existait pas avant la guerre de 1914!

Les banques centrales, la Fed américaine, la BCE et la Banque du Japon, ont certes réussi à juguler les risques de déflation, cette chute simultanée des prix et de l’activité économique, qui avait engendré les catastrophes politiques des années 1930. Mais les grands argentiers n’arrivent pas à faire décoller les prix à la consommation au rythme de 2 % qu’ils jugent optimal. Ils ont fait tourner la planche à billets comme des apprentis sorciers forcenés. Le plein-emploi dont bénéficient les États-Unis et une grande partie de l’Europe devrait logiquement pousser les salaires et les prix à la hausse. Rien n’y fait. D’autres forces se liguent pour calmer le jeu: la mondialisation et la concurrence de la Chine, le vieillissement démographique, la révolution numérique et la précarité de l’emploi qu’elle favorise. Faut-il se résigner aux très faibles progressions des prix, autour de 1 % l’an, qui sont notre lot?

● Une faiblesse anormale des prix

Les conférences de presse du président de la Banque centrale européenne ne prétendent pas être des parties de fou rire. Et pourtant chaque fois que Mario Draghi explique doctement, avec son regard fixe à la Buster Keaton, que «le mandat de la BCE est de maintenir la hausse des prix à la consommation en dessous de, mais proche de, 2 %», on croit plonger dans un univers loufoque où les mots prennent un tout autre sens que dans la vie ordinaire.

Le propre d’une banque centrale, avait-on appris, est de défendre la valeur de la monnaie qu’elle émet et donc la «stabilité des prix». C’est d’ailleurs la mission officielle de la BCE en Europe (article 127, paragraphe 1). Mais pour Mario Draghi, et les autres gouverneurs, la stabilité ne veut pas dire que les prix resteraient en moyenne au même niveau mais qu’ils progressent à un rythme voisin de 2 %! Une norme quasi universelle, que toutes les grandes banques centrales de la planète ont fini par adopter.

«Il est difficile de mesurer l’inflation exactement, mais l’expérience et la théorie montrent que les chiffres ont tendance à être supérieurs à la réalité»

Vitor Constancio, le vice-président de la BCE

L’opinion publique allemande s’insurge que la BCE ne définisse pas la stabilité par une progression nulle. «Il est difficile de mesurer l’inflation exactement, mais l’expérience et la théorie montrent que les chiffres ont tendance à être supérieurs à la réalité. Quand les statisticiens disent que l’inflation est à 0 % il est hautement probable qu’on est en dessous», a rétorqué récemment Vitor Constancio, le vice-président de la BCE à une question du journal allemand Börsen-Zeitung. Il faut donc se donner une marge de précaution pour éviter le piège déflationniste. C’est d’autant plus nécessaire dans l’Union monétaire européenne, une quasi-fédération d’États: l’inflation zéro en moyenne signifierait que certains pays seraient en négatif, en dépression, juge-t-on à la BCE.

Or depuis la sortie de la crise financière, on reste partout très en dessous de la norme de 2 %. Les prix n’ont augmenté que de 0,2 % en moyenne annuelle depuis 2009 au Japon, de 1 % dans la zone euro, et de 1, 5 % pour l’économie américaine. Certes l’effondrement des cours du pétrole, qui a perdu les trois quarts de sa valeur entre 2014 et 2015 avant de se raffermir quelque peu, a aggravé l’asthénie générale ; la zone euro a même enregistré une inflation zéro en 2015!

Les caprices de l’or noir ne jouent toutefois qu’un rôle secondaire. «La Fed qui préfère l’indicateur de l’inflation sous-jacente (hors matières premières), a été en dessous de sa norme annuelle de 2 % pendant 100 mois sur 104 depuis la crise aux États-Unis!», calcule Andrew Kenningham, le chef économiste monde de Capital Economics. Et de s’interroger: «L’inflation va-t-elle jamais redémarrer?»

● FED, BCE, Insee, ils ont du mal à comprendre

Toutes les certitudes forgées au XXe siècle, qui aura été un extraordinaire laboratoire in vivo de tous les excès, paraissent s’effondrer. «L’inflation est toujours et partout un phénomène monétaire, en ce sens qu’elle est et qu’elle ne peut être générée que par une augmentation de la quantité de monnaie plus rapide que celle de la production», avait décrété Milton Friedman. Le Nobel d’économie 1976, le pape du monétarisme (1912-2006), avait été très impressionné par la dépression des années 1930 qui avait mis le quart des Américains au chômage ; il en attribuait la responsabilité à des politiques monétaires trop restrictives. Au point de suggérer de faire pleuvoir «par hélicoptère» des billets verts sur la foule si l’on devait être confronté à une telle situation.

L’idée a été reprise, non pas à la lettre mais transposée à la planche billets, au lendemain du krach Lehman Brothers de 2008. Effrayé à l’idée que les États-Unis puissent renouer avec la dépression, Ben Bernanke, le président de la Fed, a inondé l’économie américaine de liquidités, jusqu’à faire plus que doubler le bilan de la banque centrale. Cet argent facile a mis Wall Street en joie (l’indice Dow Jones a plus que triplé depuis ses abîmes de l’hiver 2009), mais les prix à la consommation demeurent encalminés.

Les mécanismes inflationnistes semblent être devenus aussi impénétrables que les mystères du rhume

Face aux grands dérapages des années 1965-1982, le premier ministre Raymond Barre, «le meilleur économiste de France» selon le président Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, expliquait alors le phénomène «comme un excès de pouvoir d’achat des individus par rapport aux biens mis à leur disposition». Malheureusement cette définition de bon sens ne fonctionne plus dans la France de 2017. Alors que «la croissance commence à buter sur les capacités productives de l’économie française», signale Emmanuel Jessua, de l’institut Coe-Rexecode, ces limitations de l’offre devraient normalement doper les prix. Or ce n’est pas du tout ce qu’on observe ; l’inflation française (1,1 % sur les douze derniers mois) reste l’une des plus faibles de toute la zone euro (1, 5 % en moyenne, et 1,7 % en Allemagne).

Les mécanismes inflationnistes semblent être devenus aussi impénétrables que les mystères du rhume. Les médecins n’ont-ils pas coutume de dire «qu’un rhume non pris en charge dure sept jours, et qu’il guérit en une semaine quand il est soigné?» En définitive Mme Michu a les idées bien plus claires que l’Insee dont la définition est pour le moins tautologique: «L’inflation est la perte du pouvoir d’achat de la monnaie qui se traduit par une augmentation générale et durable des prix». Avec cette précision qui ajoute à la confusion: «Pour évaluer le taux d’inflation on utilise l’indice des prix à la consommation (IPC). Cette mesure n’est pas complète, le phénomène inflationniste couvrant un champ plus large que celui de la consommation des ménages», selon l’Insee. Comprenne qui voudra. Et pourtant ce ne sont pas les explications qui manquent.

● Le décalogue d’un nouveau monde

Pour être la grande muette de la scène économique, y compris dans les pays émergents (1,6 % à peine sur les douze derniers mois en Chine), l’inflation n’en reste pas moins la clé de voûte sur laquelle pèsent toutes les forces vives de la mondialisation et de la révolution numérique. «L’absence d’inflation en 10 explications»: c’est un véritable décalogue qu’égrène Bruno Colmant, chef économiste de la Banque Degroof Petercam et membre de l’Académie royale de Belgique. Il a le mérite d’être exhaustif:

1 – Après les dérives des années 1970, «la grande modération»: les banques centrales et la rigueur ont pris le pouvoir.

2 – Le vieillissement de la population induit une remontée de l’épargne.

3 – La révolution numérique et l’intelligence artificielle détruisent les emplois.

4 – Le monde est entré dans une «stagnation séculaire» de faible croissance.

5 – La «grande récession» de 2008-2009 a durablement précarisé les emplois.

6 – Les inégalités sociales exacerbent les comportements de thésaurisation.

7 – La dette publique oblige les épargnants à anticiper des hausses d’impôt.

8 – Dans la zone euro, la gestion des crises s’est faite au détriment de l’emploi.

9 – Les sociétés multinationales n’ont plus de dettes et sont prêteuses net (Apple).

10 – Le commerce en ligne et Amazon intensifient la concurrence sur les prix.

Ces changements structurels esquissent un nouveau monde où les pressions inflationnistes nationales se diluent dans la concurrence mondialisée, où le pouvoir de négociation des syndicats a volé en éclat devant les transformations technologiques ayant force de loi.

Les banquiers centraux sont les premiers à s’en inquiéter, car leurs repères traditionnels s’effacent. Les liens entre le chômage, l’évolution des salaires et des prix se sont disloqués. Or ils étaient leur raison d’être de pères fouettards.

● La meilleure et la pire de choses

«La courbe de Phillips s’est aplatie», a reconnu au symposium de Jackson Hole (fin août) Janet Yellen, la présidente de la Fed américaine. L’expression paraît sibylline, mais il faut la connaître car les banquiers centraux ne jurent plus que par l’économiste William Phillips (1914-1975). Il a été le premier à établir une relation inversée entre le taux de chômage (en abscisse) et le taux d’inflation (en ordonnée): plus le premier est faible et plus les salaires (et les prix) progressent, et vice versa.

Pour sa part François Villeroy de Galhau exprime une préoccupation identique, même si le gouverneur de la Banque de France ne fait pas référence nommément à Phillips: «Nous avons la conviction que l’enchaînement habituel entre la croissance, les salaires et l’inflation est à l’œuvre, même s’il prendra plus de temps qu’avant».

Passe encore que la courbe de Phillips soit moins arquée, mais qu’elle devienne complètement plate, constituerait un cauchemar pour les banques centrales qui alors n’auraient plus prise sur rien. La conjoncture est devenue particulièrement embarrassante pour la BCE qui ne sait plus à quel saint se vouer. «Il n’est pas impossible que l’inflation sous-jacente de la BCE ne revienne jamais au voisinage de l’objectif de 2 % même si le plein-emploi est atteint», avertit Patrick Artus. Le chef économiste de Natixis fait allusion aux tensions du marché du travail constatées dans plusieurs pays de la zone euro dont l’Allemagne. Même en France, 42 % des chefs d’entreprise déclarent à l’Insee avoir des difficultés à recruter du personnel compétent.

L’absence d’inflation est la meilleure et la pire des choses. Le rêve pour des consommateurs, et une source de blocage pour tous les autres, qu’ils soient banquiers centraux ou simples salariés.

L'inflation va-t-elle éternellement rester très basse ?

Source:©  L’inflation va-t-elle éternellement rester très basse ?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais