The executive wants to learn from the partial warning shot

Home"TO THE ONE"The executive wants to learn from the partial warning shot
8 Partages

VIDEO - Sunday's defeats are taken very seriously at the top of the state. Walkers criticize some government choices.

THIS IS A FIRST warning, and necessarily a bad signal for the executive. On the occasion of two partial legislative elections, Sunday, Republicans (LR) won two seats. One in the Territoire de Belfort, which confirms the result of June with a clear progression of the party of Laurent Wauquiez, and the other in the Val-d'Oise, yet won seven months ago by the candidate of The Republic in operation (LREM).

In the ranks of the presidential movement, we obviously seek to minimize double defeat. "It is never pleasant to lose an election", comments, in a truism, the entourage of the head of state. By Sunday evening, the majority party had split a minimalist statement, congratulating the two deputies LR victors but emphasizing "the exceptional level of abstention."

In Belfort, barely a third of voters moved Sunday and less than 20% in Val-d'Oise ... "The result is not satisfactory," said Richard Ferrand, president of the LREM group in the Assembly. "The level of record abstention reflects the difficulties to mobilize on a partial. This reminds us of our necessary commitment to mobilize. The gaps are small and with such a level of participation, difficult to see another winner than indifference, "analyzes the elected Breton.

Passive discontent or disavowal

In this context, the elements of language were all found ... The cadres of the majority repeat it: with such a small number of voters, impossible to learn any lesson at the national level. "If we lose the eight partial, then it will be representative," says a secretary of state. These elections are "neither negligible nor significant," says Matignon. "Partials following the presidential election are traditionally difficult for the ruling power. We do not escape the rule, "said the entourage of Prime Minister Philippe Édouard. Who recognizes, however: "Some reforms may be unpopular, and it produces a bad mood."

"LREM does not exist yet in the territories and has difficulties to have real activists"

Frédéric Barbier, LREM deputy of Doubs

Passive discontent or disavowal? A member of the government admits that the policy was able to "create disappointments". "We said so much that the purchasing power would increase ... What a mistake!", He says. In the Val-d'Oise, the candidate LR had insisted, during his campaign, on the increase of the CSG for retireess. "Older people were expecting more in terms of purchasing power. Some have the feeling of being forgotten, "warns Frédéric Barbier, LREM deputy Doubs, citing the increase in the price of gasoline or tobacco as" friction points ".

"We are not going to reorient the government's policy after a partial piece of legislation. I would say, however, that we are not in gloriole: we must be attentive to the electorate of the left, "said his side Pierre Person, Macronist deputy from Paris and connoisseur of the electoral map. If the voters of the National Front seem to have reported to LR, LREM has indeed suffered from his side of a lack of voice reserves, including left.

Another element worries the majority: the weakness of the establishment of the presidential party. "The message that the Élysée is passing after these elections is: increased attention to the territories," says an adviser to the head of state. "There is an internal reflection to solidify the basics. The movement must establish its implantation ", insists Pierre Person. Frédéric Barbier, elected in 2015 under the PS label in a partial legislative, knows something. "In a partial, the one who knows how to mobilize wins. So you need a rooted party. However, LREM does not exist yet in the territories and knows difficulties to have true militants ", points the elected one, underlining the contrast between his party and that of Laurent Wauquiez, which "has room for maneuver that should not be neglected".

Multiplication of contestation fronts

The weakness of the territorial anchoring of the presidential movement was raised during the executive bureau meeting of the movement on Monday night. Usually very prolix, the leader of the Walkers, Christophe Castaner, was rather discreet all day Monday and made no comment after the partial results. He told his troops "do not overinterpret" the elections. "He has a very political reading of the situation," said Laetitia Avia, MP and executive of the movement. Some LREM MPs do not hesitate, for their part, to incriminate the lack of involvement of the candidate of Val-d'Oise ... "She did not make the campaign of the century ..." squeaks an elected LREM. In the interstage, the ephemeral member had received the support, in the field, Christophe Castaner and Premier Édouard Philippe.

"I would say that we are not in gloriole: we must be attentive to the electorate left"

Pierre Person, LREM deputy from Paris

While the executive sees the number of contestation fronts increasing and the opinion polls decline, the other six by-elections will be closely watched. In the 8th district of Haute-Garonne, elected representatives are called to the polls on March 11 and 18, after the invalidation of the election of MP PS Joel Aviragnet. "All the constituencies around are owned by LREM. We hope to make a conquest, "says a majority MP. In the Loiret, the presidential party had lost eight votes in the second round against the candidate LR, Jean-Pierre Door, whose election was invalidated. The inhabitants will revote on March 18 and 25. The fate of LREM MPs from Guyana and Mayotte, whose election has also been invalidated, will be a good indicator, even if the local logics make it more difficult to read the results.

A new election must be held in Wallis and Futuna, where the election of the UDI deputy was canceled. In the 5th district of the French from abroad (Spain, Portugal, Monaco ...), the cancellation of the election of Samantha Cazebonne, member of the Macronist party, triggers a partial national scope. In June, the candidate had won in a duel against insubordinate France. The date of the new ballot is not yet known but LREM is already considering investing a new candidate. "To give yourself maximum chances," says a Walker. The presidential party needs it


Source: © The executive wants to learn from the partial warning shot

8 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

L'exécutif veut tirer les leçons du coup de semonce des partielles

Home»A LA UNE»L’exécutif veut tirer les leçons du coup de semonce des partielles

L'exécutif veut tirer les leçons du coup de semonce des partielles

VIDÉO – Les défaites de dimanche sont prises très au sérieux au sommet de l’État. Des Marcheurs critiquent certains choix du gouvernement.

C’EST UN PREMIER avertissement, et forcément un mauvais signal pour l’exécutif. À l’occasion de deux législatives partielles, dimanche, Les Républicains (LR) ont remporté deux sièges. L’un dans le Territoire de Belfort, qui confirme le résultat de juin avec une nette progression du parti de Laurent Wauquiez, et l’autre dans le Val-d’Oise, pourtant remportée il y a sept mois par la candidate de La République en marche (LREM).

Dans les rangs du mouvement présidentiel, on cherche bien évidemment à minimiser la double défaite. «Ce n’est jamais agréable de perdre une élection», commente, dans une lapalissade, l’entourage du chef de l’État. Dès dimanche soir, le parti majoritaire s’était fendu d’un communiqué minimaliste, félicitant les deux députés LR vainqueurs mais soulignant «le niveau exceptionnel d’abstention».

À Belfort, à peine un tiers des électeurs se sont déplacés dimanche et moins de 20 % dans le Val-d’Oise… «Le résultat n’est pas satisfaisant», reconnaît Richard Ferrand, président du groupe LREM à l’Assemblée. «Le niveau d’abstention record témoigne des difficultés à mobiliser sur une partielle. Cela nous rappelle à notre nécessaire engagement à mobiliser. Les écarts sont faibles et avec un tel niveau de participation, difficile de voir un autre vainqueur que l’indifférence», analyse l’élu breton.

Mécontentement passager ou désaveu

Dans ce contexte, les éléments de langage étaient tout trouvés… Les cadres de la majorité le répètent: avec un nombre si faible de votants, impossible de tirer une quelconque leçon au niveau national. «Si on perd les huit partielles, là ce sera représentatif», nuance une secrétaire d’État. Ces élections ne sont «ni négligeables ni significatives», fait-on savoir à Matignon. «Les partielles qui suivent la présidentielle sont traditionnellement difficiles pour le pouvoir en place. Nous n’échappons pas à la règle», commente l’entourage du premier ministre Édouard Philippe. Qui reconnaît toutefois: «Certaines réformes peuvent s’avérer impopulaires, et cela produit de la mauvaise humeur.»

«LREM n’existe pas encore dans les territoires et connaît des difficultés à avoir de vrais militants»

Frédéric Barbier, député LREM du Doubs

Mécontentement passager ou désaveu plus profond? Un membre du gouvernement admet que la politique menée a pu «créer des déceptions». «On a tellement dit que le pouvoir d’achat allait augmenter… Quelle erreur!», lâche-t-il. Dans le Val-d’Oise, le candidat LR avait justement insisté, pendant sa campagne, sur la hausse de la CSG pour les retraités. «Les personnes âgées attendaient plus en termes de pouvoir d’achat. Certains ont le sentiment d’être oubliés», met en garde Frédéric Barbier, député LREM du Doubs, citant l’augmentation du prix de l’essence ou du tabac comme des «points de friction».

«On ne va pas réorienter la politique du gouvernement après une législative partielle. Je dirais toutefois que nous ne sommes pas dans la gloriole: il faut être attentif à l’électorat de gauche», souligne de son côté Pierre Person, député macroniste de Paris et fin connaisseur de la carte électorale. Si les électeurs du Front national semblent s’être reportés vers LR, LREM a en effet pâti de son côté d’un manque de réserves de voix, notamment à gauche.

Un autre élément inquiète la majorité: la faiblesse de l’implantation du parti présidentiel. «Le message que fait passer l’Élysée après ces élections c’est: attention accrue sur les territoires», indique un conseiller du chef de l’État. «Il y a une réflexion en interne pour solidifier les bases. Le mouvement doit asseoir son implantation», insiste Pierre Person. Frédéric Barbier, élu en 2015 sous l’étiquette PS dans une législative partielle, en sait quelque chose. «Dans une partielle, celui qui sait mobiliser gagne. Il faut donc un parti enraciné. Or, LREM n’existe pas encore dans les territoires et connaît des difficultés à avoir de vrais militants», pointe l’élu, soulignant le contraste entre son parti et celui de Laurent Wauquiez, qui «a des marges de manœuvre qu’il ne faut pas négliger».

Multiplication des fronts de contestation

La faiblesse de l’ancrage territorial du mouvement présidentiel a été soulevée au cours de la réunion du bureau exécutif du mouvement, lundi soir. D’habitude très prolixe, le chef de file des Marcheurs, Christophe Castaner, s’est montré plutôt discret toute la journée de lundi et n’a fait aucun commentaire après le résultat des partielles. Il a intimé à ses troupes «de ne pas surinterpréter» ces élections. «Il a une lecture très politique de la situation», fait savoir Laëtitia Avia, députée et cadre du mouvement. Certains députés LREM n’hésitent pas, de leur côté, à incriminer le manque d’implication de la candidate du Val-d’Oise… «Elle n’a pas fait la campagne du siècle…», grince un élu LREM. Dans l’entre-deux-tours, l’éphémère députée avait pourtant reçu le soutien, sur le terrain, de Christophe Castaner et du premier ministre Édouard Philippe.

«Je dirais que nous ne sommes pas dans la gloriole : il faut être attentif à l’électorat de gauche»

Pierre Person, député LREM de Paris

Alors que l’exécutif voit se multiplier les fronts de contestation et connaît un repli dans les enquêtes d’opinion, les six autres élections législatives partielles seront regardées de près. Dans la 8e circonscription de Haute-Garonne, les élus sont appelés aux urnes les 11 et 18 mars, après l’invalidation de l’élection du député PS Joël Aviragnet. «Toutes les circonscriptions autour sont détenues par LREM. On compte bien en faire une conquête», ambitionne un député de la majorité. Dans le Loiret, le parti présidentiel avait perdu de huit voix au second tour face au candidat LR, Jean-Pierre Door, dont l’élection a été invalidée. Les habitants vont revoter les 18 et 25 mars. Le sort des députés LREM de Guyane et de Mayotte, dont l’élection a aussi été invalidée, sera un bon indicateur, même si les logiques locales rendent plus complexe la lecture des résultats.

Une nouvelle élection doit être organisée à Wallis-et-Futuna, où l’élection du député UDI a été annulée. Dans la 5e circonscription des Français de l’étranger (Espagne, Portugal, Monaco…), l’annulation de l’élection de Samantha Cazebonne, membre du parti macroniste, déclenche une partielle à portée nationale. En juin, la candidate l’avait emporté dans un duel face à La France insoumise. La date du nouveau scrutin n’est pas encore connue mais LREM songe déjà à investir un nouveau candidat. «Pour se donner le maximum de chances», confie un Marcheur. Le parti présidentiel en a bien besoin


Source: © L’exécutif veut tirer les leçons du coup de semonce des partielles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais