Europe rises after Trump taxes on steel and aluminum

Home"TO THE ONE"Europe rises after Trump taxes on steel and aluminum
9 Partages

US President Donald Trump announced Thursday that he will hit high taxes on imports of steel and aluminum in the United States, at the risk of provoking a trade war with its main trading partners including China.

In the name of national security, and at the risk of triggering retaliatory measures, Donald Trump imposes tariff barriers on US steel imports of up to 25%. The US President also decides 10% tariffs to protect US producers from aluminum imports. In doing so, Donald Trump only keeps a campaign promise: to protect American industries that he considers unfair competition from foreign producers, especially Chinese.

The official and detailed announcement of the barriers should take place only next week. But Donald Trump was keen to unveil the principle of his decision when he received at the White House several business leaders such as John Ferriola, boss of steelmaker Nucor, John Brett of ArcelorMittal USA, and Mike Bless of Century Aluminum . Meanwhile, He He, the Chinese President's economic advisor, Xi Jinping, is also in Washington today for consultations with top officials of the Trump administration. "Our steel and aluminum industries (and many others) have been decimated by decades of unfair trade and bad policies with countries around the world. We must not let our country, our companies and our workers be mistreated. We want a free, fair and intelligent trade! "Proclaimed Donald Trump in a tweet. These statements helped accelerate the fall of Wall Street whose index DJIA lost more than 2% around 20:00 GMT, weighted by the sharp decline of export companies like Boeing, Caterpillar and United Technologies losing more than 3%.

"If Europe does not act, our iron and steel industry will pay the bill for American protectionism"

Hans Jürgen Kerkhoff, President of Stahl

The European Union "will react firmly and proportionally to defend (its) interests," said Thursday evening Jean-Claude Juncker, the President of the European Commission. "We regret very much" this US decision, said the head of the European executive, quoted in a press release, adding that the Commission would present "in the coming days a proposal for countermeasures against the United States, compatible with the rules of the WTO, to rebalance the situation ". "These measures violate the rules of the World Trade Organization (WTO). The European Union must now intervene with the instruments provided for by the WTO in such a case, "Hans Jürgen Kerkhoff, the president of Stahl, an organization responsible for defending the political and economic interests of the German steel industry, said in a statement. "If Europe does not act, our iron and steel industry will pay the bill for US protectionism," warned Stahl's president. Any potential US customs tax on Canadian steel and aluminum exports would be "unacceptable," warned Canada's Minister of International Trade, François-Philippe Champagne.

A risk of sanctions from China in retaliation

It has been nearly a year since the Commerce Department has been studying the impact of steel and aluminum imports on national security under section 232 of the US Trade Act dating back to 1962. These provisions, purporting to protect security of supply in the United States, are rarely used because they can prompt rapid retaliation. Exports of agricultural commodities by the United States could, for example, be sanctioned by China in response to these unilateral US measures.

Chinese steelmakers account for only 2% of US steel imports. But the massive expansion of Chinese steel production in recent years has resulted in a surplus of metal supply in world markets that is driving down prices. The trade barriers erected by Donald Trump are not just scary to areas likely to be hit by retaliatory measures. They are also of concern to steel and aluminum consuming industries, such as automobiles, farm equipment, appliances, and oil drilling equipment. The latter will now have to absorb cost increases. The net effects of White House protections on US employment and industrial production are therefore questionable.


 

Source: © Europe rises after Trump taxes on steel and aluminum

9 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

L'Europe s'insurge après les taxes de Trump sur l'acier et l'aluminium

Home»A LA UNE»L’Europe s’insurge après les taxes de Trump sur l’acier et l’aluminium

L'Europe s'insurge après les taxes de Trump sur l'acier et l'aluminium

Le président américain Donald Trump a annoncé jeudi qu’il allait frapper de fortes taxes les importations d’acier et d’aluminium aux États-Unis, au risque de provoquer une guerre commerciale avec ses principaux partenaires commerciaux dont la Chine.

Au nom de la sécurité nationale, et au risque de déclencher des mesures de rétorsion, Donald Trump impose des barrières douanières aux importations américaines d’acier à hauteur de 25%. Le Président américain décide aussi de droits de douane de 10% pour protéger les producteurs américains des importations d’aluminium. En procédant ainsi, Donald Trump ne fait que tenir une promesse de campagne: protéger des industries américaines qu’il juge victimes de concurrence déloyale de la part de producteurs étrangers, en particulier chinois.

L’annonce officielle et détaillée des barrières ne doit intervenir que la semaine prochaine. Mais Donald Trump a tenu à dévoiler le principe de sa décision alors qu’il recevait à la Maison blanche plusieurs chefs d’entreprises comme John Ferriola, patron de l’aciériste Nucor, John Brett d’ArcelorMittal USA, et Mike Bless de Century Aluminum. Par ailleurs Lui He, conseiller économique du Président chinois, Xi Jinping, se trouve aussi à Washington aujourd’hui pour des consultations avec de hauts responsables de l’administration Trump. «Nos industries de l’acier et de l’aluminium (et beaucoup d’autres) ont été décimées par des décennies de commerce déloyal et de mauvaises politiques avec des pays du monde entier. Nous ne devons plus laisser notre pays, nos entreprises et nos travailleurs se faire maltraiter. Nous voulons un commerce libre, équitable et intelligent!» a proclamé Donald Trump dans un tweet. Ces déclarations ont contribué à accélérer la chute de Wall Street dont l’indice vedette DJIA perdait plus de 2% vers 20h00 GMT, lesté par la forte baisse de sociétés exportatrices comme Boeing, Caterpillar et United Technologies qui perdaient plus de 3%.

«Si l’Europe n’agit pas, notre sidérurgie va payer l’addition pour le protectionnisme américain»

Hans Jürgen Kerkhoff, président de Stahl

L’Union européenne «va réagir fermement et proportionnellement pour défendre (ses) intérêts», a affirmé jeudi soir Jean-Claude Juncker, le président de la Commission européenne. «Nous regrettons fortement» cette décision américaine, a dit le chef de l’exécutif européen, cité dans un communiqué de presse, ajoutant que la Commission présenterait «dans les prochains jours une proposition de contre-mesures contre les États-Unis, compatibles avec les règles de l’OMC, pour rééquilibrer la situation». «Ces mesures violent les règles de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC). L’Union européenne doit maintenant intervenir avec les instruments prévus par l’OMC dans pareil cas», a également déclaré dans un communiqué Hans Jürgen Kerkhoff, le président de Stahl, une organisation chargée de défendre les intérêts politiques et économiques de la sidérurgie allemande. «Si l’Europe n’agit pas, notre sidérurgie va payer l’addition pour le protectionnisme américain», a prévenu le président de Stahl. Toute éventuelle taxe douanière imposée par les États-Unis sur les exportations d’acier et d’aluminium du Canada serait «inacceptable», a de son côté averti le ministre canadien du Commerce international, François-Philippe Champagne.

Un risque de sanctions de la part de la Chine en représailles

Voilà près d’un an que le Département du commerce étudie l’impact des importations d’acier et d’aluminium sur la sécurité nationale au titre de l’article 232 de la loi commerciale américaine qui remonte à 1962. Ces dispositions, censées protéger la sécurité d’approvisionnement des États-Unis, sont rarement employées car elles peuvent susciter des mesures rapides de rétorsion. Les exportations de denrées agricoles par les États-Unis pourraient par exemple faire l’objet de sanctions de la part de la Chine, en riposte à ces mesures unilatérales américaines.

Les aciéristes chinois ne représentent certes que 2% des importations d’acier américaines. Mais l’expansion massive de la production sidérurgique chinoise ces dernières années s’est traduite par un surplus d’offre de métal sur les marchés mondiaux qui font chuter les prix. Les barrières douanières érigées par Donald Trump ne font pas simplement peur aux secteurs susceptibles d’être frappés par des mesures de rétorsion. Elles inquiètent aussi les industries consommatrices d’acier et d’aluminium, comme l’automobile, l’équipement agricole, l’électroménager, et les équipements de forage pétrolier. Ces dernières vont maintenant devoir absorber des hausses de coûts. Les effets nets des protections décidées par la Maison-Blanche sur l’emploi américain et la production industrielle, sont donc douteux.


 

Source:© L’Europe s’insurge après les taxes de Trump sur l’acier et l’aluminium

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais