Europe maintains ambiguity over Turkish accession

Home"TO THE ONE"Europe maintains ambiguity over Turkish accession
3 Partages
L'Europe maintient l'ambiguïté sur une adhésion turque
President Recep Tayyip Erdogan (here on 21 November in Ankara), who seeks to regain the favor of European countries, said that Turkey must henceforth "reduce the number of its enemies and increase that of his friends". - Photo credits: Burhan Ozbilici / AP

A crucial ally in NATO, Turkey remains an irreplaceable strategic partner, with whom the breakup would only have disadvantages.

Correspondent in Brussels

Recep Tayyip Erdogan has shown a lot in Russia, Africa and the Gulf in recent months, but his figure had become much rarer in Europe since the relentless crackdown launched the day after 2016 summer putsch. The absence is about to be repaired: after Athens and Warsaw, two capitals that do not always carry Turkey in their hearts, it is today in Paris to welcome the strong man of Ankara.

For this man who wears the morgue on edge, the supreme distinction remains out of reach. Angela Merkelthe Chancellor, who wanted to permanently block Turkey's entry into the EU, remains almost indifferent to the charm offensive coming from Ankara. There is little doubt, however, that President Erdogan believes in Germany when he says that his country must now "reduce the number of his enemies and increase that of his friends."

"The membership procedure is de facto frozen"

When was the pendulum coming back? On the Turkish side, the need for Europe is undeniably felt after the diplomatic disappointments of the president in the region, and beyond. Last episode in date, the recognition of Jerusalem as the capital of the Jewish state He points both against Donald Trump and Israel. Since then, he has warmly welcomed to find Paris and Berlin "on the same line" as Ankara.

After 18 months of glaciation due to the authoritarian drift of the regime and the decline of human rights, Europeans have taken the same turn towards realpolitik. A crucial ally in NATO, Turkey remains the irreplaceable strategic partner, the one with which the rupture would have only disadvantages: from the migration crisis to the return of the European fighters of Daesh, from the convulsions of the Middle East to the triangle of forces with Russia ... Who would really like to cut the bridges?

In the EU, the truth test came in the late autumn after Angela Merkel and her Social Democrat rival Martin Schulz had, in the middle of the campaign, stirred up the idea of ​​burying once and for all Turkey's EU candidacy. The German election passed, a European summit enumerated the voices and the partisans of a consumed break counted on the fingers of the hand. "The procedure of membership is de facto frozen and one would not gain anything out of the ambiguity", one says on the French side. The disappointed, they denounce a hypocrisy that comes to feed the extreme right European.

Those who are still worried about Turkish entry "are playing with fear," notes a European official; those who believe the possible revival "cradle illusions"

In Brussels, three sensitivities persist in expressing themselves. The "liberals" who, like the United Kingdom, the Nordics and the Baltics, welcomed Turkey's entry into the common market and did not want to compromise anything in the hope of a better day. Those who, in the East especially, show understanding because they have themselves benefited from economic openness and fear, for some, a too political Europe (Poland and Hungary). Those, finally, who said no at one time or another, like Germany, Austria, the Netherlands and of course France.

Turkey has been a candidate since 1999. Negotiations cut into 35 chapters (or "packages" of legislation) are dragging on since the beginning in 2005, because of a freeze obtained by Jacques Chirac and reinforced by Nicolas Sarkozy. In a decade, 16 chapters have been opened, only one has been completed. Everything was stalled in the fall of 2016, in the face of President Erdogan's growing authoritarianism. Those who are still worried about Turkish entry "are playing with fear," notes one official; those who believe the possible revival "are lulled into illusions". Turkey is no more anxious to respect its commitments than Europe is eager to see.

The immediate political lever is money. Turkey considers that the twenty-eight do not pay fast enough the 6 billion euros pledged in 2015 and 2016 to retain and house some 3.5 million refugees and migrants. The EU has just signaled the opposite by deciding to cut as early as this year up to 175 of the 700 million euros allocated to Turkey as a "pre-accession" fund, an envelope that is clearly no longer necessary. ...

Source: © Europe maintains ambiguity over Turkish accession

3 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

L'Europe maintient l'ambiguïté sur une adhésion turque

Home»A LA UNE»L’Europe maintient l’ambiguïté sur une adhésion turque
L'Europe maintient l'ambiguïté sur une adhésion turque
Le président Recep Tayyip Erdogan (ici le 21 novembre à Ankara), qui cherche à retrouver les faveurs des pays européens, a affirmé que la Turquie devait désormais «réduire le nombre de ses ennemis et accroître celui de ses amis». – Crédits photo : Burhan Ozbilici/AP

Alliée cruciale dans l’Otan, la Turquie reste un partenaire stratégique irremplaçable, avec lequel la rupture n’aurait que des inconvénients.

Correspondant à Bruxelles

Recep Tayyip Erdogan s’est beaucoup montré en Russie, en Afrique et dans le Golfe ces derniers mois, mais sa silhouette était devenue bien plus rare en Europe depuis la répression sans relâche lancée au lendemain du putsch de l’été 2016. L’absence est en passe d’être réparée: après Athènes et Varsovie, deux capitales qui ne portent pas toujours la Turquie dans leur cœur, c’est aujourd’hui à Paris d’accueillir l’homme fort d’Ankara.

Pour cet homme qui porte la morgue à fleur de peau, la distinction suprême reste hors de portée. Angela Merkel, la chancelière qui voulait définitivement barrer l’entrée de la Turquie à l’UE, reste à peu près indifférente à l’offensive de charme venue d’Ankara. Il fait pourtant peu de doute que c’est bien à l’Allemagne que pense le président Erdogan lorsqu’il affirme que son pays doit désormais «réduire le nombre de ses ennemis et accroître celui de ses amis».

«La procédure d’adhésion est de facto gelée»

À quand remonte le retour du balancier? Côté turc, le besoin d’Europe se fait incontestablement sentir après les déconvenues diplomatiques du président dans la région, et au-delà. Dernier épisode en date, la reconnaissance de Jérusalem comme capitale de l’État hébreu le braque à la fois contre Donald Trump et Israël. Depuis, il s’est chaleureusement félicité de retrouver Paris et Berlin «sur la même ligne» qu’Ankara.

Après 18 mois de glaciation dus à la dérive autoritaire du régime et au recul des droits de l’homme, les Européens ont pris le même tournant vers la realpolitik. Alliée cruciale dans l’Otan, la Turquie reste le partenaire stratégique irremplaçable, celui avec lequel la rupture n’aurait que des inconvénients: de la crise migratoire au retour des combattants européens de Daech, des convulsions du Moyen-Orient au triangle des forces avec la Russie… Qui voudrait vraiment couper les ponts?

Dans l’UE, l’épreuve de vérité est venue à la fin de l’automne après qu’Angela Merkel et son concurrent social-démocrate Martin Schulz eurent, en pleine campagne, agité l’idée d’enterrer une bonne fois pour toutes la candidature de la Turquie à l’UE. L’élection allemande passée, un sommet européen a dénombré les voix et les partisans d’une rupture consommée se sont comptés sur les doigts de la main. «La procédure d’adhésion est de facto gelée et on ne gagnerait rien à sortir de l’ambiguïté», dit-on du côté français. Les déçus, eux, dénoncent une hypocrisie qui vient nourrir l’extrême droite européenne.

Ceux qui s’inquiètent encore de l’entrisme turc « jouent à se faire peur », note un responsable européen  ; ceux qui croient la relance possible « se bercent d’illusions »

À Bruxelles, trois sensibilités persistent à s’exprimer. Les «libéraux» qui, tels le Royaume-Uni, les Nordiques et les Baltes, voyaient d’un bon œil l’entrée de la Turquie dans le marché commun et ne veulent rien compromettre en espérant des jours meilleurs. Ceux qui, à l’Est surtout, font preuve de compréhension parce qu’ils ont eux-mêmes bénéficié de l’ouverture économique et redoutent, pour certains, une Europe trop politique (Pologne et Hongrie). Ceux, enfin, qui ont dit non à un moment ou à un autre, comme l’Allemagne, l’Autriche, les Pays-Bas et bien sûr la France.

La Turquie est candidate depuis 1999. Les négociations découpées en 35 chapitres (ou «paquets» de législation) se traînent depuis le début en 2005, en raison d’un gel obtenu par Jacques Chirac et renforcé par Nicolas Sarkozy. En une décennie, 16 chapitres ont été ouverts, un seul a été bouclé. Tout s’est retrouvé bloqué à l’automne 2016, face à l’autoritarisme croissant du président Erdogan. Ceux qui s’inquiètent encore de l’entrisme turc «jouent à se faire peur», note un responsable ; ceux qui croient la relance possible «se bercent d’illusions». La Turquie n’est pas plus soucieuse de respecter ses engagements que l’Europe n’est pressée de les voir tenus.

Le levier politique immédiat reste l’argent. La Turquie juge que les Vingt-Huit ne déboursent pas assez vite les 6 milliards d’euros promis en 2015 et 2016 pour retenir et héberger chez elle quelque 3,5 millions de réfugiés et migrants. L’UE vient d’adresser un signal contraire en décidant de couper dès cette année jusqu’à 175 des 700 millions d’euros alloués à la Turquie comme fonds de «préadhésion», une enveloppe qui n’a visiblement plus lieu d’être…

Source:© L’Europe maintient l’ambiguïté sur une adhésion turque

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais