Fautrier's hostages: anonymous faces of the war

Home"Anciens2"Fautrier's hostages: anonymous faces of the war
7 Partages
"Head of Hostage No. 20", 1944, by Jean Fautrier (detail). - Photo Credits: Adagp, Paris, 2017

The Museum of Modern Art of the City of Paris offers a major retrospective devoted to Jean Fautrier, author of Otages, a series of anonymous faces of the war, which the artist began at the beginning of 1943.

CRITICAL - The big retrospective devoted to Jean Fautrier proposes in particular to (re) discover hostages, a series of anonymous faces of the war, which the artist began at the beginning of 1943.

hostages . The very name of this series of portraits, the best known and probably the most Jean Fautrier, draws the mind like a black sun. Their exhibition in November 1945 at the Galerie Drouin testified to the war and its violence in a troubling way. At the edge of abstraction, it is a pale fresco sweetness where the red, sometimes only the mauve, crosses a form and the material applied to the knife that becomes, with a stroke of the brush, a human face (Hostage head n ° 20, 1944). It fascinated the Parisian public, especially since the catalog of the exhibition was prefaced by André Malraux, whose pen emphasized its ambiguous strength. As if this cruel war was already a distant material, like the wars of antiquity of which they remain only beautiful vestiges.

Art critic Michel Ragon says that many visitors were uncomfortable with the serialization of portraits: "Each painting was painted in the same way. On a green background of water, a puddle of thick white spread out. A brushstroke indicated the shape of the face. And that was all. "The hostage series was started at the beginning of 1943." Arrested by the Gestapo the same year, Fautrier found an asylum in Châtenay-Malabry, in the psychiatric clinic of Dr. Le Savoureux. It is reported that he drew his inspiration from the gruesome spectacle of prisoner executions perpetrated by the Germans in the grounds of the residence. That "the subject had imposed on him," Bernard Bourrit said in Fautrier. Painting (for) Hostages. "These exploded faces exactly match what Ernst Junger writes in War Diary, where he says that the German soldiers fought to shoot hostages when they were beautiful, "recalls Fabrice Hergott, director of the MAM and French commissioner of this exhibition from Winterthur.

"German soldiers used to shoot hostages when they were beautiful"

For his subjects, says Dieter Schwarz, Swiss commissioner of this enlarged Parisian version of 50 works, Fautrier found formulations renouncing all individuality; it is never a specific branch, an individual nude figure, a hostage in particular - Fautrier rather created schematic lines, drawn on a mass of plaster, worked with a painter's knife, gently rounded, and that allude to the subject. "Here are six of the most moving, always small formats, among the 24 copies listed during the lifetime of the artist, which drag the blood like a fine rain on a bluish profile (Hostage head n ° 10, 1943), which drowns half of the face in a dark red shadow (Hostage, around 1943).

The hostages of Fautrier marked the reconstruction of French cultural life at the Liberation, says the Center Pompidou about its Hostage head, 1945. They caused a sensation. As a sign of a redemptive rupture for a society that was recovering, they divided opinion. Fautrier's research, writes Jacques Gabriel in The country, November 19, 1945, "are not enough, we believe, to erect a monument worthy of them to those men and women who have carved themselves in tortures and died for us without speaking."

Jean Fautrier, Matter and Light, from January 26 to May 20, 2018 at the Museum of Modern Art of the City of Paris

Source: ©  Fautrier's hostages: anonymous faces of the war

7 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Les Otages de Fautrier : visages anonymes de la guerre

Home»Anciens2»Les Otages de Fautrier : visages anonymes de la guerre
Les Otages de Fautrier : visages anonymes de la guerre
Les Otages de Fautrier : visages anonymes de la guerre
«Tête d’otage n°20», 1944, de Jean Fautrier (détail). – Crédits photo : Adagp, Paris, 2017

Le Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris propose une grande rétrospective consacrée à Jean Fautrier, auteur notamment d’Otages, une série de visages anonymes de la guerre, que l’artiste a commençée au début de l’année 1943.

CRITIQUE – La grande rétrospective consacrée à Jean Fautrier propose notamment de (re)découvrir Otages, une série de visages anonymes de la guerre, que l’artiste a commençée au début de l’année 1943.

Otages . Le nom même de cette série de portraits, la plus connue et sans doute la plus cotée de Jean Fautrier, attire l’esprit comme un soleil noir. Leur exposition, en novembre 1945 à la Galerie Drouin, témoigna de la guerre et de sa violence d’une façon troublante. À la lisière de l’abstraction, elle est d’une douceur pâle de fresque où le rouge, parfois seulement le mauve, traverse une forme et la matière appliquée au couteau qui deviennent, d’un coup de pinceau, un visage humain (Tête d’otage n° 20, 1944). Elle fascina le public parisien, d’autant que le catalogue de l’exposition était préfacé par André Malraux dont la plume en souligna la force ambiguë. Comme si cette guerre cruelle était déjà un matériau lointain, comme les guerres de l’Antiquité dont ils ne restent que de beaux vestiges.

Le critique d’art Michel Ragon raconte que plusieurs visiteurs s’étaient sentis mal à l’aise face à la sérialisation des portraits: «Chaque tableau était peint de la même manière. Sur un fond vert d’eau, une flaque de blanc épais s’étalait. Un coup de pinceau indiquait la forme du visage. Et c’était tout.» La série des Otages fut commencée au début de l’année 1943. «Arrêté par la Gestapo la même année, Fautrier trouva asile à Châtenay-Malabry, dans la clinique psychiatrique du Dr Le Savoureux. On rapporte alors qu’il puisa son inspiration dans le macabre spectacle des exécutions de prisonniers que les Allemands perpétraient dans le parc de la résidence. Que “le sujet s’en était imposé à lui”, souligne Bernard Bourrit dans Fautrier. Peindre (pour) les Otages. «Ces visages explosés correspondent exactement à ce qu’écrit Ernst Junger dans Journal de guerre, où il dit que les soldats allemands s’acharnaient à tirer sur le visage des otages lorsqu’ils étaient beaux», rappelle Fabrice Hergott, directeur du MAM et commissaire français de cette exposition venue de Winterthur.

«Les soldats allemands s’acharnaient à tirer sur le visage des otages lorsqu’ils étaient beaux »

«Pour ses sujets, souligne Dieter Schwarz, commissaire suisse de cette version parisienne agrandie de 50 œuvres, Fautrier trouva des formulations renonçant à toute individualité ; il ne s’agit jamais d’un branchage spécifique, d’une figure nue individuelle, d’un otage en particulier – Fautrier créa plutôt des lignes schématiques, dessinées sur une masse d’enduit, travaillées au couteau de peintre, doucement arrondies, et qui font allusion au sujet.» En voici six des plus émouvants, petits formats toujours, parmi les 24 exemplaires repertoriés du vivant de l’artiste, qui font glisser le sang comme une pluie fine sur un profil bleuté (Tête d’otage n° 10, 1943), qui noie la moitié du visage dans une ombre rouge sombre (Otage, vers 1943).

Les Otages de Fautrier ont marqué la reconstruction de la vie culturelle française à la Libération, souligne le Centre Pompidou à propos de sa Tête d’otage, 1945. Ils firent sensation. En signe de rupture rédemptrice pour une société qui se relevait, ils divisèrent l’opinion. Les recherches de Fautrier, écrit Jacques Gabriel dans Le Pays, le 19 novembre 1945, «ne suffisent pas, croyons-nous, à dresser un monument digne d’eux à ces hommes et ces femmes qui se sont sculptés dans les supplices et qui sont morts pour nous sans parler.»

Jean Fautrier, Matière et Lumière, du 26 janvier au 20 mai 2018 au Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris

Source:©  Les Otages de Fautrier : visages anonymes de la guerre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais