The Dark Hours, discover our exclusive audio series in the steps of Churchill

Home"Anciens1"The Dark Hours, discover our exclusive audio series in the steps of Churchill
2 Partages

AUDIO - On the occasion of the release of Joe Wright's film, Wednesday, January 3, on the life of the British Prime Minister from May 40, at the time of the entry into the war of the United Kingdom, Le Figaro offers an original fiction in eight episodes based on the memories of the "Old Lion".

"A conciliator is someone who feeds a crocodile, hoping it will be the last to be eaten." Winston Churchill had, as we know, the taste of the formula. The humor of an English dandy drowned in a French bulldog body.

On screen, the "Old Lion" is often depicted in his warrior clothes. Richard Burton was the first to portray him on the screen promising blood, sweat and tears (in a 1974 American TV movie). Before Albert Finney and Timothy Spall, Mike Leigh's favorite actor, in The speech of a king. Or, even closer to us, Brian Cox, who in the film of Jonathan Teplitzky was the statesman during the two days before the D-Day.

READ ALSO - Sir Churchill, statesman and Nobel Prize winner for literature

In The dark hours, by Joe Wright, whose Figaro.fr is a partner, the excellent and too rare Gary Oldman embodies in the prime of life. He is 65 when he is appointed prime minister in place of Neville Chamberlain who, according to Chrurchill's formula for posterity, "wanted to avoid war at the price of dishonor". But he will have dishonor and war.

It is precisely this period of tipping, when the United Kingdom decides to challenge Hitler that we decided to revive you in an unprecedented audio series produced by the company Collective Creation. Dark and decisive hours for a whole country but also for Winston Churchill.

It is difficult to show the nuances of a character so intimidating by his physique, his posture, his voice, his phrasing. Of a man who had several lives in one: military, journalist, writer, historian, painter and politician. To get around these pitfalls, director Joe Wright (to whom we owe, especially Pride and Prejudice and Come back to me ) has chosen to bring him back to life with one of the most talented actors of his generation, Gary Oldman. For the historical part, he decided to treat only the first few weeks of the statesman as Prime Minister while skepticism reigns, even in his own camp.

In the prologue of our audio series of which you will find all episodes every two days until the release of the film, we are on January 30, 1965. Three days before, Sir Winston Churchill died and a whole people weeps. From all over the world, heads of state came to bid farewell to the British prime minister. The narrator is General Sir Hamstings Ismay, Churchill's cabinet director. And his big friend too.

"ALSO READ - January 30, 1965: the farewell of England to Sir Winston Churchill (article in Le Figaro February 1, 1965).

He will return to these intense weeks between May and June 1940, when he had the chance, if not the honor, to rub shoulders with the man "the most important of his life". A story that begins on May 8 during the famous debate in the House of Commons. First speech of a statesman who will win, in 1953, thee Nobel Prize for Literature. This is where Winston ceases to be a mere grumpy politician and focused on bourbon. This is where he becomes Churchill!

»READ ALSO - Churchill, Lord of War: episode 1 of our audio series on The dark hours

AUDIO SERIES CREDITS

1940, Winston becomes Churchill, an audio fiction in partnership with Le Figaro. A Collective Creation and Binge Audio production for Universal Pictures. With the voice of Paul Bandey and Adelaide Bon. Author: Alexandre Lenot. Director, original music and mixing: Théo Boulenger. Art Director: Julien Cernobori


Source: ©  The Dark Hours, discover our exclusive audio series in the steps of Churchill

2 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Les Heures sombres, découvrez notre série audio exclusive dans les pas de Churchill

Home»Anciens1»Les Heures sombres, découvrez notre série audio exclusive dans les pas de Churchill

Les Heures sombres, découvrez notre série audio exclusive dans les pas de Churchill

AUDIO – À l’occasion de la sortie du film de Joe Wright, le mercredi 3 janvier, sur la vie du premier ministre britannique à partir de mai 40, lors de l’entrée en guerre du Royaume-Uni, Le Figaro vous propose une fiction inédite en huit épisodes basée sur les mémoires du «Vieux Lion».

«Un conciliateur, c’est quelqu’un qui nourrit un crocodile en espérant qu’il sera le dernier à être mangé». Winston Churchill avait, on le sait, le goût de la formule. L’humour d’un dandy anglais noyé dans un corps de bulldog français.

À l’écran, le «Vieux Lion» est souvent représenté dans ses habits de chef de guerre. Richard Burton a été le premier à l’incarner à l’écran à promettre du sang, de la sueur et des larmes (dans un téléfilm américain de 1974). Avant Albert Finney et Timothy Spall, acteur fétiche de Mike Leigh, dans Le discours d’un roi. Ou, plus proche de nous encore, Brian Cox qui, dans le film de Jonathan Teplitzky campait l’homme d’État durant les deux jours qui précédèrent le Débarquement.

» LIRE AUSSI – Sir Churchill, homme d’État et Prix Nobel de littérature

Dans Les Heures sombres, de Joe Wright, dont le Figaro.fr est partenaire, l’excellent et trop rare Gary Oldman l’incarne dans la fleur de l’âge. Il a 65 ans lorsqu’il est nommé Premier ministre en lieu et place de Neville Chamberlain qui, selon la formule de Chrurchill passée à la postérité, a «voulu éviter la guerre au prix du déshonneur». Mais il aura le déshonneur et la guerre.

C’est justement cette période de basculement, lorsque le Royaume-Uni décide de défier Hitler que nous avons décidé de vous faire revivre dans une série audio inédite produite par la société Création Collective. Des heures sombres et décisives pour un pays tout entier mais aussi pour Winston Churchill.

Il est difficile de montrer les nuances d’un personnage aussi intimidant par son physique, sa posture, sa voix, son phrasé. D’un homme qui a eu plusieurs vies en une: militaire, journaliste, écrivain, historien, peintre et homme politique. Pour contourner ces écueils, le réalisateur Joe Wright (à qui l’on doit, notamment Orgueil et préjugés et Reviens-moi ) a choisi de lui redonner vie grâce à l’un des acteurs les plus talentueux de sa génération, Gary Oldman. Pour la partie historique, il a décidé de ne traiter que les quelques premières semaines de l’homme d’État en tant que Premier Ministre alors que le scepticisme règne, même dans son propre camp.

Dans le prologue de notre série audio dont vous retrouverez tous les épisodes tous les deux jours jusqu’à la sortie du film, nous sommes le 30 janvier 1965. Trois jours auparavant, Sir Winston Churchill est mort et tout un peuple le pleure. Du monde entier, des chefs d’États sont venus faire leurs adieux au premier ministre britannique. Le narrateur est le Général Sir Hamstings Ismay, directeur de cabinet de Churchill. Et son grand ami aussi.

» LIRE AUSSI – 30 janvier 1965: l’adieu de l’Angleterre à Sir Winston Churchill (article paru dans Le Figaro du 1er février 1965).

Il va revenir sur ces semaines intenses entre mai et juin 1940, lorsqu’il eut la chance, sinon l’insigne honneur, de côtoyer l’homme «le plus important de sa vie». Une histoire qui commence le 8 mai lors du célèbre débat à la chambre des communes. Premier discours d’homme d’État de celui qui décrochera, en 1953, le Prix Nobel de Littérature. C’est là que Winston cesse d’être un simple politicien bougon et porté sur le bourbon. C’est là qu’il devient Churchill!

» LIRE AUSSI – Churchill, seigneur de la guerre: épisode 1 de notre série audio sur Les Heures sombres

CRÉDITS SÉRIE AUDIO

1940, Winston devient Churchill, une fiction audio en partenariat avec Le Figaro. Une production Création Collective et Binge Audio pour Universal Pictures. Avec la voix de Paul Bandey et Adélaïde Bon. Auteur: Alexandre Lenot. Réalisation, musique originale et mixage: Théo Boulenger. Directeur artistique: Julien Cernobori


Source:©  Les Heures sombres, découvrez notre série audio exclusive dans les pas de Churchill

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais