The Encyclopedia in the eye of censors

Home"Anciens2"The Encyclopedia in the eye of censors
12 Partages

CATASTROPHE ANNOUNCED, SUCCESS INSURED (3/6) - In 1759, the Encyclopedia is blacklisted while the King's Council orders its destruction. But Denis Diderot has more than one trick in his bag.

We do not imagine Diderot in despair. In his portrait by Van Loo, he displays a playful mood. In his bust by Houdon, his eyes are sure. From Langres, his hometown, on Boulevard Saint-Germain, his statues stained with pigeon droppings seem like ironic vanities. And then there are his fictions, often playful in appearance, such The indiscreet jewels, The dream of D'Alembert, Rameau's Nephew or Jacques the fatalist and his master.

And yet, desperate, Denis Diderot (1713-1784) has been repeatedly. And especially during his most formidable company, this Encyclopedia in the end he will not only have written more than 5,000 articles but also directed the design on a daily basis for more than twenty years. Seventeen volumes of texts and eleven illustrations. He had signed for ten in 1750.

Nine years later nothing was played. This Enlightenment movement, which arrogated to itself the right to say the world and its laws to the detriment of the monarchical and clerical word, still shone only with a fragile glow. The first passes of weapons had certainly been won, the number of subscribers increased. On the editors side, despite the withdrawal of one of d'Alembert from co-direction to the mere responsibility of mathematics articles, and a scrambled Rousseau, the team had expanded. And could claim prestigious support, from Voltaire to the Pompadour through Buffon or late Montesquieu. But the success was largely due to the scandal.

»READ ALSO - Diderot, philosopher without borders

"To abandon the work is to turn your back on the breach and do what the rascals who persecute us want."

In 1759, when Volume 7 went to press and the case finally seemed profitable, the Jesuits did not let go. Abraham Chaumeix releases a rebuttal in eight volumes and Elie Fréron, founder of The Literary Year (nicknamed newspaper The literary donkey by Voltaire), reactivates accusations of plagiarism, recurrent since the beginning of this immense work of compilation.

De Ferney, Voltaire encourages his "brother Plato" - aka Diderot - to shoot his arrows from another position, less exposed. He invites her to take off and asks for the return of her papers written for volume 8. Diderot hesitates, delays, then slices. "To give up the work is to turn your back on the breach and do what the rascals who persecute us desire." He intends to apply "what suits people of courage: to despise our enemies, to pursue them, and to profit, as we did, the foolishness of our censors. " In short, facing the grape shot, he stands straight in his boots.

In Versailles, since the stabbing given by the unbalanced Robert-François Damiens to Louis XV - the first attack against a king of France since that committed by Ravaillac in 1610 - tensions are daily. Jesuits against philosophers: the convalescent Bourbon first sent everyone back to back. Then anxious to reconcile the favors of the hereafter, he denounced "the unbridled license of the writings that spread in the kingdom." Their leaders incur death or the galleys in perpetuity. These sentences are not theoretical.

Among the pitfalls that failed to sink theEncyclopediathe most dangerous appeared suddenly. Overnight began to circulate in Paris Spirit, an anonymous, antireligious and anti-monarchical blast passed between the sidelines of idiotic or corrupt censors. Immediately, it was attributed to Diderot. It is actually due to Claude-Adrien Schweitzer, said Helvetius, Queen's butler. Director of the Bookstore and as chief censor, Chrétien-Guillaume de Lamoignon de Malesherbes realized the blunder of his agents. But it is too late: the Vatican has strangled itself. The pope asked the king more severity. Spirit was lacerated and then burned at the foot of the grand staircase of the Palace. More than ever, by capillarity, theEncyclopedia So smell sulfur.

"If the government interferes with such a work, it will not be done (...) An encyclopedia is not ordered"

It is first the Parliament of Paris that withdraws from the group of booksellers, producers and broadcasters, their exclusive permission to print. Then he suspends the sale and waiting for the royal decision to ban. It is done on March 8, 1759. The devout party thinks it has won. We are at the word "Gythinne", there are still at least eight volumes of writings to produce, the 4000 subscribers must be reimbursed. Will one of the most important works of universal literature end up stillborn? It's counting without Diderot who has more than one trick in his bag.

At the age of 45, this strong character does not intend to see a company that gives work to hundreds of people and, more generally, helps improve the living conditions of the majority. In addition, personally, he does not intend to see his career crumble. From the beginning, he works in a network. In the manner of articles of theEncyclopedia Connected together by the game of referrals, Diderot relies on a diffuse but exponential solidarity. This horizontality of writing as social relations does not make it obedient. As today at the time of the triumph of the Internet, this freedom is preferred even at the price of its abuse. The relations between beings and things are radically changed. "If the government interferes with such a work, it will not be done (...) An encyclopedia does not order," warned the son of the cutler Langres in his manifesto article entitled Encyclopedia.

»READ ALSO - Diderot, free-thinker of the 21st century

Ten years ago, when he was incarcerated in Vincennes because of his Letter on the Blind for the use of those who seeA materialist and atheist thesis, he had called on the very influential Madame du Deffand, had asked the old Chancellor of Aguesseau for favor that he counted as a friend, had begged the Keeper of the Seals, had repented to the lieutenant General of Police of his "intemperances of spirit". This time it's another thing. At least he can always count on Malesherbes, the son of d'Aguesseau's successor. As in 1752, he secretly invites him to put his person and his papers in a safe place. To make the change, he recommends leaving the police with copies of engravings when they search.

Diderot et les encyclopédistes. Gravure colorisée d'après Meissonier.
Diderot and encyclopaedists. Engraving colorized after Meissonier. - Photo Credits: Albert Harlingue / © Albert Harlingue / Roger-Viollet

The fate of the last seven volumes of texts under construction is entrusted to nine experts. Finally, tacit permission is left to continue to work in France because we fear relocation to Switzerland or Holland. On March 30, a meeting was held at the principal investor, the bookseller Le Breton. Against d'Alembert and most of the pegs, Diderot stops the strategy. "We sat down at four in the evening. We were gay, we drank, we laughed, we ate; and on the evening, the big business began. I explained the project to complete the manuscript (...). We examined him from all sides; arrangements were made; we encouraged each other; they swore to see the end of the enterprise; it was agreed to work the following volumes with the freedom of the first to chance to print in Holland; and we parted. "Turgot, Morellet or Marmontel threw in the towel. But the last square is decided.

On September 3, a brief pontifical of Clement XIII, read in all the churches, condemns eight materialist works in the first rank of which is theEncyclopedia. It's too late. To satisfy the worried subscribers, the circulation of the volumes of boards, less sensitive, was authorized. It will take place from January 1762. Meanwhile Diderot father died. "This is the last blow I had to receive," the son writes to a friend. I will not have seen my father or mother die. I will not hide from you that I look upon this curse as that of heaven. "This time he does not rouse.

After this dark year, the sequel will be enamelled other blows. But since March 8, 1759 the adventure is perpetuated. The booksellers will gain the equivalent of what a family of Parisian workers would earn for nearly four thousand years. And progress, a fulgurating acceleration.

Chronology

1749 - Diderot is serving three months in prison. Her Letter on the blind which relativizes everything, is worth the wrath of censorship. TheEncyclopedia is still in the works.

1752 - Article Certainty argues that all miracles can be explained rationally. The Council of the King prohibits the first two volumes already published.

1759 The King decrees the destruction by fire of the seven printed volumes. The pope puts the work on the index. Subscribers must be reimbursed.

1965 - "What happens and is done today has its deep roots in the thought and action of men of theEncyclopedia"Wrote the historian Jacques Proust.


Eric Biétry-Rivierre - Grand Reporter Arts

Source: © The Encyclopedia in the eye of censors

12 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

L'Encyclopédie dans l'œil des censeurs

Home»Anciens2»L’Encyclopédie dans l’œil des censeurs
L'Encyclopédie dans l'œil des censeurs

CATASTROPHE ANNONCÉE, SUCCÈS ASSURÉ (3/6) – En 1759, l’Encyclopédie est mise à l’index tandis que le Conseil du roi ordonne sa destruction. Mais Denis Diderot a plus d’un tour dans son sac.

On n’imagine pas Diderot en désespéré. Dans son portrait par Van Loo, il affiche une humeur badine. Dans son buste par Houdon, son regard est sûr. De Langres, sa ville natale, au boulevard Saint-Germain, ses statues maculées de fiente de pigeon semblent autant de vanités ironiques. Et puis il y a ses fictions, souvent enjouées d’apparence, telles Les Bijoux indiscrets, Le Rêve de D’Alembert, Le Neveu de Rameau ou Jacques le fataliste et son maître.

Et pourtant, désespéré, Denis Diderot (1713-1784) l’a été à plusieurs reprises. Et particulièrement durant sa plus formidable entreprise, cette Encyclopédie dont il aura au final non seulement rédigé plus de 5000 articles mais encore dirigé la conception au quotidien durant plus de vingt ans. Dix-sept volumes de textes et onze d’illustrations. Il avait signé pour dix en 1750.

Neuf ans après rien n’était joué. Ce mouvement des Lumières qui s’arrogeait le droit de dire le monde et ses lois au détriment de la parole monarchique et cléricale ne brillait encore que d’une lueur fragile. Les premières passes d’armes avaient certes été gagnées, le nombre des souscripteurs croissait. Du côté des rédacteurs, en dépit du retrait d’un d’Alembert passé de la codirection à la simple responsabilité des articles de mathématiques, et d’un Rousseau brouillé, l’équipe s’était étoffée. Et pouvait se prévaloir de soutiens prestigieux, de Voltaire à la Pompadour en passant par Buffon ou feu Montesquieu. Mais le succès était largement dû au scandale.

» LIRE AUSSI – Diderot, philosophe sans frontières

«Abandonner l’ouvrage, c’est tourner le dos sur la brèche et faire ce que désirent les coquins qui nous persécutent.»

En 1759, au moment où le tome 7 est mis sous presse et où l’affaire paraît enfin devenue rentable, les Jésuites ne lâchent rien. Abraham Chaumeix sort une réfutation en huit tomes et Élie Fréron, fondateur de L’Année littéraire (journal surnommé L’Âne littéraire par Voltaire), réactive les accusations de plagiat, récurrentes depuis le début de cet immense travail de compilation.

L'Encyclopédie dans l'œil des censeurs

De Ferney, Voltaire encourage son «frère Platon» – alias Diderot – à décocher ses flèches depuis un autre poste, moins exposé. Il l’invite à prendre le large et demande le retour de ses papiers écrits pour le tome 8. Diderot hésite, temporise, puis tranche. «Abandonner l’ouvrage, c’est tourner le dos sur la brèche et faire ce que désirent les coquins qui nous persécutent.» Il entend appliquer «ce qui convient à des gens de courage: mépriser nos ennemis, les poursuivre, et profiter, comme nous l’avons fait, de l’imbécillité de nos censeurs». Bref, face à la mitraille, il se tient droit dans ses bottes.

À Versailles, depuis le coup de couteau donné par le déséquilibré Robert-François Damiens à Louis  XV – premier attentat contre un roi de France depuis celui commis par Ravaillac en 1610 – les tensions sont quotidiennes. Jésuites contre philosophes: le Bourbon convalescent a d’abord renvoyé tout le monde dos à dos. Puis soucieux de se concilier à nouveau les faveurs de l’au-delà, il a dénoncé «la licence effrénée des écrits qui se répandent dans le royaume». Leurs responsables encourent la mort ou les galères à perpétuité. Ces peines n’ont rien de théorique.

Parmi les écueils ayant failli faire couler l’Encyclopédie, le plus dangereux est apparu brusquement. Du jour au lendemain s’est mis à circuler à Paris De l’esprit, un brûlot anonyme, antireligieux et antimonarchique passé entre les mailles des censeurs idiots ou corrompus. Aussitôt, il a été attribué à Diderot. Il est en fait dû à Claude-Adrien Schweitzer, dit Helvétius, maître d’hôtel de la reine. Directeur de la Librairie et à ce titre censeur en chef, Chrétien-Guillaume de Lamoignon de Malesherbes s’est rendu compte de la bévue de ses agents. Mais il est trop tard: le Vatican s’est étranglé. Le pape a demandé au roi plus de sévérité. De l’esprit a été lacéré puis brûlé au pied du grand escalier du Palais. Plus que jamais, par capillarité, l’Encyclopédie sent donc le soufre.

«Si le gouvernement se mêle d’un pareil ouvrage, il ne se fera point (…) Une encyclopédie ne s’ordonne pas»

C’est d’abord le Parlement de Paris qui retire au groupe de libraires, producteurs et diffuseurs, leur autorisation exclusive d’imprimer. Puis il suspend la vente et attendant la décision royale d’interdiction. C’est chose faite le 8 mars 1759. Le parti dévot croit avoir gagné. On en est au mot «Gythinne», il reste encore au moins huit tomes d’écrits à produire, les 4000 souscripteurs doivent être remboursés. L’un des ouvrages les plus importants de la littérature universelle va-t-il finir mort-né? C’est compter sans Diderot qui a plus d’un tour dans son sac.

À 45 ans, ce caractère fort n’a pas l’intention de voir capoter une entreprise qui donne du travail à des centaines de personnes et, plus généralement, participe à l’amélioration des conditions de vie du plus grand nombre. En outre, personnellement, il n’entend pas voir sa carrière s’écrouler. Depuis le début, il travaille en réseau. À la manière des articles de l’Encyclopédie connectés ensemble par le jeu des renvois, Diderot s’appuie sur une solidarité diffuse mais exponentielle. Cette horizontalité de l’écriture comme des rapports sociaux ne le rend pas obéissant. Comme aujourd’hui à l’heure du triomphe de l’Internet, cette liberté est préférée fût-ce au prix de ses abus. Les relations entre les êtres et les choses s’en trouvent radicalement changées. «Si le gouvernement se mêle d’un pareil ouvrage, il ne se fera point (…) Une encyclopédie ne s’ordonne pas», avait prévenu le fils du coutelier de Langres dans son article manifeste intitulé Encyclopédie.

» LIRE AUSSI – Diderot, libre-penseur du XXIe siècle

Il y a dix ans, lors de son incarcération à Vincennes à cause de sa Lettre sur les aveugles à l’usage de ceux qui voient, thèse matérialiste et athée, il s’était réclamé de la très influente Mme du Deffand, avait demandé grâce auprès du vieux chancelier d’Aguesseau qu’il comptait pour ami, avait supplié le garde des Sceaux, s’était repenti auprès du lieutenant général de police de ses «intempérances d’esprit». Cette fois c’est une autre chose. Du moins peut-il toujours compter sur Malesherbes, le fils du successeur de d’Aguesseau. Comme en 1752, celui-ci l’invite secrètement à mettre sa personne et ses papiers en lieu sûr. Pour donner le change, il recommande de laisser à la police les exemplaires de gravures lorsqu’elle perquisitionnera.

Diderot et les encyclopédistes. Gravure colorisée d'après Meissonier.
Diderot et les encyclopédistes. Gravure colorisée d’après Meissonier. – Crédits photo : Albert Harlingue/© Albert Harlingue / Roger-Viollet

Le sort des derniers sept volumes de textes en chantier est confié à neuf experts. Finalement permission tacite est laissée de continuer à œuvrer en France car on craint une délocalisation en Suisse ou en Hollande. Le 30 mars, une réunion a eu lieu chez le principal investisseur, le libraire Le Breton. Contre d’Alembert et la plupart des chevilles ouvrières, Diderot y arrête la stratégie. «Nous nous mîmes à table à quatre heures du soir. On fut gai, on but, on rit, on mangea ; et sur le soir, la grande affaire s’entama. J’expliquai le projet de compléter le manuscrit (…). Nous l’examinâmes par tous ses côtés ; on prit des arrangements ; on s’encouragea ; on jura de voir la fin de l’entreprise ; on convint de travailler les volumes suivants avec la liberté des premiers au hasard d’imprimer en Hollande ; et l’on se sépara.» Turgot, Morellet ou encore Marmontel ont jeté l’éponge. Mais le dernier carré est décidé.

Le 3 septembre un bref pontifical de Clément XIII, lu dans toutes les églises, condamne huit ouvrages matérialistes au premier rang desquels figure l’Encyclopédie. C’est trop tard. Pour contenter les souscripteurs inquiets, la diffusion des volumes de planches, moins sensible, a été autorisée. Elle s’effectuera à partir de janvier 1762. Entre-temps Diderot père est décédé. «Voilà le dernier coup qui me restait à recevoir, écrit alors le fils à un ami. Je n’aurai vu mourir ni mon père ni ma mère. Je ne vous cacherai point que je regarde cette malédiction comme celle du ciel.» Cette fois, il n’ironise pas.

Passé cette année noire, la suite sera émaillée d’autres coups durs. Mais depuis ce 8 mars 1759 l’aventure est pérennisée. Les libraires y gagneront l’équivalent de ce que gagnerait une famille d’ouvriers parisiens durant près de quatre mille ans. Et les progrès, une accélération fulgurante.

Chronologie

1749 – Diderot purge trois mois de prison. Sa Lettre sur les aveugles qui relativise tout lui vaut les foudres de la censure. L’Encyclopédie n’est encore qu’en chantier.

1752 – L’article Certitude soutient que tous les miracles peuvent être expliqués rationnellement. Le Conseil du roi interdit les deux premiers tomes déjà parus.

1759 – Le roi décrète la destruction par le feu des sept volumes imprimés. Le pape met l’œuvre à l’index. Il faut rembourser les souscripteurs.

1965 – «Ce qui se passe et se fait aujourd’hui a son origine profonde dans la pensée et dans l’action des hommes de l’Encyclopédie», écrit l’historien Jacques Proust.


L'Encyclopédie dans l'œil des censeurs

Eric Biétry-Rivierre – Grand Reporter Arts

Source :© L’Encyclopédie dans l’œil des censeurs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais