The income gap between generations is increasing in Europe, to the detriment of young people

Home"Anciens1"The income gap between generations is increasing in Europe, to the detriment of young people
7 Partages

 

The income gap between the generations in Europe has deepened to the detriment of young people and without any adequate policies. This is apparent from a study published Tuesday by the International Monetary Fund.

"If we do not act, a generation may never recover." The formula is Christine Lagarde, Executive Director of the IMF in a blog dedicated to inequality and poverty in Europe. In a study released Wednesday, the Washington institution shows that since 2007, the income of young people aged 18 to 24 years have stagnated, while those aged 65 and over have increased by 10%. The former economy minister Nicolas Sarkozy, underlines that today, "nearly one in five young people is still looking for work in Europe." While stating that it is not a question of opposing one group to another.

To reduce the income gap between generations, Christine Lagarde suggests relying on examples of European success. This is particularly the case in Germany, where apprenticeship programs have a long history of successfully integrating young people into the labor market. "Another good example", according to her, is that of Portugal, which exempts the first job of social taxes for three years. "Even if unemployment remains high, this measure is going in the right direction," she concludes.

The Danish example

In a text published in 2016 from the book "What to do against inequalities? 30 experts commit »Camille Peugny, a sociologist and lecturer at Paris 8 University, suggested several alternatives to reduce the income gap between generations. In particular, he cites the Danish example, where every young person in higher education "sees the right open to sixty good monthly training without means test". Each voucher is worth 750 euros and can be combined with housing assistance. It also suggests the establishment of a universal right for young people by bringing together the aid that young people receive. According to him, this device would reduce the cost of access to autonomy of young people on families, and thus avoid reproducing inequalities.


Source: ©  The income gap between generations is increasing in Europe, to the detriment of young people

7 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

L'écart de revenus entre les générations augmente en Europe, au détriment des jeunes

Home»Anciens1»L’écart de revenus entre les générations augmente en Europe, au détriment des jeunes

L'écart de revenus entre les générations augmente en Europe, au détriment des jeunes

 

L’écart de revenus entre les générations en Europe s’est profondément creusé au détriment des jeunes et, sans aucune politique adéquate. C’est ce qui ressort d’une étude publiée mardi par le Fonds Monétaire International.

«Si l’on n’agit pas, une génération pourrait ne jamais s’en remettre». La formule est de Christine Lagarde, la directrice générale du FMI dans un blog consacré à l’inégalité et à la pauvreté en Europe. Dans une étude révélée mercredi, l’institution de Washington montre que depuis 2007, les revenus des jeunes de 18 à 24 ans ont stagné, pendant que ceux des 65 ans et plus ont augmenté de 10%. L’ex-ministre de l’économie de Nicolas Sarkozy, souligne qu’aujourd’hui, «près d’un jeune sur cinq recherche toujours du travail en Europe». Tout en précisant qu’il ne s’agit pas d’opposer un groupe à un autre.

Pour diminuer l’écart de revenus entre les générations, Christine Lagarde suggère de s’appuyer sur des exemples de réussite européens. Notamment sur celui de l’Allemagne, où les programmes d’apprentissage ont fait leurs preuves depuis longtemps pour intégrer de manière durable les jeunes au marché de l’emploi. «Un autre bon exemple», selon elle, est celui du Portugal, qui exempte le premier emploi de taxes sociales pendant trois ans. «Même si le chômage reste élevé, cette mesure va dans le bon sens», conclut-elle.

L’exemple danois

Dans un texte paru en 2016 extrait de l’ouvrage «Que faire contre les inégalités? 30 experts s’engagent», Camille Peugny, sociologue et maître de conférences à l’Université Paris 8, suggérait plusieurs alternatives pour faire diminuer l’écart de revenu entre générations. Il cite notamment l’exemple danois, où chaque jeune en études supérieures, «voit s’ouvrir le droit à soixante bons mensuels de formation, sans condition de ressources». Chaque bon vaut 750 euros et peut être cumulé avec une aide au logement. Il suggère également la mise en place d’un droit universel pour les jeunes en rassemblant les aides dont bénéficient les jeunes. Selon lui, ce dispositif permettrait de diminuer le coût d’accès à l’autonomie des jeunes sur les familles, et donc d’éviter de reproduire des inégalités.


Source:©  L’écart de revenus entre les générations augmente en Europe, au détriment des jeunes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais