The SPD caught up by the crisis of the Merkel government

Home"TO THE ONE"The SPD caught up by the crisis of the Merkel government
14 Partages
German Chancellor Angela Merkel at the Bundestag in Berlin, 3 July 2018. - Photo credits: Markus Schreiber / AP

After finding in the last minute on the night of Monday to Tuesday a compromise within her camp on migration policy, Angela Merkel sent the ball back to her other coalition partner, the SPD.

The mistigri passes from one hand to another. After finding in extremis in the night of Monday to Tuesday a compromise within his camp on migration policyAngela Merkel returned the ball to her other coalition partner, the SPD. To be carried by the government, the agreement had to be validated by the Social Democratic Party, which will have to overcome its reluctance. A coalition meeting was scheduled for Tuesday night to bring together the leaders of the CDU, CSU and SPD. The respiteAngela Merkel in the government crisis was perhaps only short-lived if the Social Democrats decided to oppose the Conservatives.

"Many issues need to be discussed," SPD President Andrea Nahles said Monday evening, commenting on the agreement reached between the CDU and the rebels of the CSU. It provides for the establishment at the German border of "transit centers" and, where appropriate, the return of asylum seekers to the Member States where they are registered.

But this idea, then called "transit zones", has already been categorically rejected by the Social Democrats in 2015! They refused to "open prisons" in Germany. For many SPD managers, it is hardly possible to validate three years later such an option. For the leader of the Young Socialists, Kevin Kühnert, who led a virulent campaign in the spring against the renewal of the grand coalition, the project of the CDU-CSU is incompatible with the ideas of the SPD. This is "a provocation," also said former Secretary of State for Integration Aydan Özoguz. "We do not want closed centers," warned SPD Secretary General Lars Klingbeil more cautiously.

At a parliamentary group meeting on Tuesday morning, the SPD leaders sought to calm people's minds. Conditions have changed compared to 2015, said former SPD President Sigmar Gabriel. At that time, between 3,000 and 5,000 migrants arrived daily in Germany. "We said then that we did not want to fill a people's stadium every day and keep them there. The orders of magnitude are totally different today, "he explained. To save time before rendering their judgment, SPD leaders demanded clarification from CSF Interior Minister Horst Seehofer on Tuesday. A second meeting of the parliamentary group is scheduled for Wednesday morning on the subject.

If the SPD decided to block the Bavarian plan, the political crisis could rebound in Berlin. But the risk seems too great for the Social Democratic Party. At the bottom of the polls, the SPD would have everything to lose in early elections. In the meantime, the Social Democrats were not backing off the offensive of the Bavarian Conservatives and the divisions of the CDU-CSU, which put the government in danger. "They are completely bartenders," said former Chancellor Martin Schulz on Tuesday. At the SPD, we are convinced that other crises are coming.


The editorial advises you:


Nicolas Barotte

Journalist

Correspondent of the Figaro in Berlin


Source: © The SPD caught up by the crisis of the Merkel government

14 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Le SPD rattrapé par la crise du gouvernement Merkel

Home»A LA UNE»Le SPD rattrapé par la crise du gouvernement Merkel
Le SPD rattrapé par la crise du gouvernement Merkel
La chancelière allemande Angela Merkel au Bundestag à Berlin, le 3 juillet 2018. – Crédits photo : Markus Schreiber/AP

Après avoir trouvé in extremis dans la nuit de lundi à mardi un compromis au sein de son camp sur la politique migratoire, Angela Merkel a renvoyé la balle à son autre partenaire de coalition, le SPD.

Le mistigri passe d’une main à l’autre. Après avoir trouvé in extremis dans la nuit de lundi à mardi un compromis au sein de son camp sur la politique migratoire, Angela Merkel a renvoyé la balle à son autre partenaire de coalition, le SPD. Pour être porté par le gouvernement, l’accord devait effectivement être validé par le parti social-démocrate, qui va devoir surmonter ses réticences. Une réunion de coalition était donc prévue mardi soir pour réunir les dirigeants de la CDU, de la CSU et du SPD. Le répit d’Angela Merkel dans la crise gouvernementale ne devait peut-être être que de courte durée, si les sociaux-démocrates décidaient de s’opposer aux conservateurs.

«Beaucoup de questions doivent être discutées», avait lancé la présidente du SPD Andrea Nahles lundi soir, en commentant l’accord conclu entre la CDU et les frondeurs de la CSU. Celui-ci prévoit la mise en place à la frontière allemande de «centres de transit» et, le cas échéant, la reconduite des demandeurs d’asile dans les États membres où ils sont enregistrés.

Mais cette idée, appelée alors «zones de transit», a déjà été catégoriquement rejetée par les sociaux-démocrates en 2015! Ils refusaient «d’installer des prisons» à ciel ouvert en Allemagne. Pour beaucoup de responsables SPD, il est difficilement envisageable de valider trois ans plus tard une telle option. Pour le leader des Jeunes socialistes, Kevin Kühnert, qui avait mené une campagne virulente au printemps contre la reconduction de la grande coalition, le projet de la CDU-CSU est incompatible avec les idées du SPD. C’est «une provocation», a aussi déclaré l’ancienne secrétaire d’État à l’Intégration Aydan Özoguz. «Nous ne voulons pas de centres fermés», a prévenu plus prudemment le secrétaire général du SPD Lars Klingbeil.

Lors d’une réunion du groupe parlementaire, mardi matin, les ténors du SPD ont cherché à calmer les esprits. Les conditions ont changé par rapport à 2015, a souligné l’ancien président du SPD Sigmar Gabriel. À cette époque, entre 3 000 et 5 000 migrants arrivaient par jour en Allemagne. «Nous avions dit alors que nous ne voulions pas chaque jour remplir un stade de personnes et les y retenir. Les ordres de grandeur sont totalement différents aujourd’hui», a-t-il expliqué. Pour gagner du temps avant de rendre leur jugement, les dirigeants du SPD ont réclamé mardi des précisions de la part du ministre de l’Intérieur CSU, Horst Seehofer. Une deuxième réunion du groupe parlementaire est prévue mercredi matin sur le sujet.

Si le SPD décidait de bloquer le plan des Bavarois, la crise politique pourrait rebondir à Berlin. Mais le risque semble trop grand pour le parti social-démocrate. Au plus bas dans les sondages, le SPD aurait tout à perdre dans des élections anticipées. En attendant, les sociaux-démocrates ne décoléraient pas contre l’offensive des conservateurs bavarois et les divisions de la CDU-CSU, qui ont mis en péril le gouvernement. «Ils sont complètement barjots», a fulminé mardi l’ancien candidat à la chancellerie Martin Schulz. Au SPD, on est persuadé que d’autres crises sont à venir.


La rédaction vous conseille :


Le SPD rattrapé par la crise du gouvernement Merkel

Nicolas Barotte

Journaliste

Correspondant du Figaro à Berlin


Source : © Le SPD rattrapé par la crise du gouvernement Merkel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais