Saudi billionaire Al-Walid Ben Talal has been released

Home"Anciens1"Saudi billionaire Al-Walid Ben Talal has been released
7 Partages

 

Saudi Prince Al-Walid bin Talal attends the 24th Janadriya Heritage and Culture Festival on the outskirts of Riyadh March 10, 2009. REUTERS / Fahad Shadeed (SAUDI ARABIA ROYALS) - GM1E53B0I6801

The billionaire prince holds many interests in several multinationals like Twitter and Apple. He was released Saturday after three months of detention as part of an unprecedented purge in the kingdom.

He is considered a supporter of a modernization of Saudi Arabia, and is one of the largest fortunes in the world. The Saudi billionaire, Prince Al-Walid bin Talal, was released on Saturday, said one of his associates. As a reminder, he had been arrested last November, as part of a massive purge operation in the country, and held in the luxurious Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Ryad. Princes, ministers and personalities were detained after the establishment of an anti-corruption commission presided by the crown prince, Mohammed Ben Salmane, new strongman of the country.

»READ ALSO - Spectacular wave of arrests in Saudi Arabia

But how did Prince Al-Walid manage to secure his release? According to a government source, a financial "arrangement" was concluded with the Attorney General, without giving any specific details, AFP said. The amount of the transaction remains unknown. This decision comes as several people are detained are gradually being released. Prince Metab Ben Abdallah, son of the late King Abdullah, was released after paying more than $ 1 billion in a "settlement deal" with authorities according to Bloomberg News. The Saudi state hopes to recover 100 billion dollars - or 15% of GDP - through these agreements with the rest of the detainees, said Mohammed Ben Salman in an interview at New York Times published last November. Earlier this week, the attorney general said that 90 individuals have been released, while 95 people are still detained.

»READ ALSO - In Arabia, the freedom of the princes against 100 billion dollars

A revalued fortune?

Thanks to this agreement, Prince Al-Walid was able to return home during the morning. His entourage told Reuters he visits his family, without giving more details. This 62-year-old businessman is the grandson of two historical figures of the Arab world: King Abdelaziz al-Saoud, founder of Saudi Arabia, and Riad al-Solh, the first head of government in the history of Lebanon. He is also a key figure in the Saudi economy. As a reminder, the sexagenarian holds the Kingdom Holding Company at 95%. The announcement of his arrest had caused serious turmoil on the stock market, since the price of the company has lost up to 15% of its value. Asked by Reuters on Saturday, an official source said it will remain "assuredly" at the head of this investment company. On Sunday, the share price of the Kingdom Holding jumped by 10% - the maximum allowed on the Ryad Stock Exchange. He thus regains his level before the arrest.

Kingdom Holding Company owns more than 200 hotels around the world, like the famous Parisian establishment George-V - bought in 1996. Al-Walid Ben Talal, still through this holding company, has interests in many American multinationals, like Citigroup, Apple and the Euro Disney amusement park. It is also one of Twitter's investors, but the volume of its shares remains opaque, due to the confidentiality policy of Kingdom Holding Company. Al-Walid is also a philanthropist. The "Alwaleed Philanthropies" foundation is committed to activating its networks to finance renewable energy projects in Africa. In 2015, he pledged to donate his entire fortune to this foundation.

The magazine Forbes estimated in 2017 that the prince weighed 18.7 billion dollars, which put him in 45th place in his last ranking of world fortunes. But since the publication of this annual ranking, things seem to have changed somewhat. If we rely on the real-time ranking established by the American magazine, his fortune is estimated at $ 17.4 billion. He goes down to 79th place.


Source: ©  Saudi billionaire Al-Walid Ben Talal has been released

7 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Le milliardaire saoudien Al-Walid Ben Talal a été libéré

Home»Anciens1»Le milliardaire saoudien Al-Walid Ben Talal a été libéré

 

Le milliardaire saoudien Al-Walid Ben Talal a été libéré
Saudi Prince Al-Walid bin Talal attends the 24th Janadriya Heritage and Culture Festival on the outskirts of Riyadh March 10, 2009. REUTERS/Fahad Shadeed (SAUDI ARABIA ROYALS) – GM1E53B0I6801

Le prince milliardaire détient de nombreux intérêts dans plusieurs multinationales comme Twitter et Apple. Il a été libéré samedi après trois mois de détention dans le cadre d’une purge sans précédent dans le royaume.

Il est considéré comme un partisan d’une modernisation de l’Arabie saoudite, et est l’une des plus importantes fortunes du monde. Le milliardaire saoudien, le prince Al-Walid ben Talal, a été libéré ce samedi, a indiqué l’un de ses associés. Pour rappel, il avait été arrêté en novembre dernier, dans le cadre d’une vaste opération de purge dans le pays, et retenu dans le luxueux hôtel Ritz-Carlton de Ryad. Des princes, ministres et personnalités ont ainsi été placés en détention, après la mise en place d’une commission anticorruption présidée par le prince héritier, Mohammed Ben Salmane, nouvel homme fort du pays.

» LIRE AUSSI – Spectaculaire vague d’arrestations en Arabie saoudite

Mais comment le prince Al-Walid est-il parvenu à obtenir sa libération? Selon une source gouvernementale, un «arrangement» financier a été conclu avec le procureur général, sans pour autant donner de détails précis, indique l’AFP. Le montant de la transaction reste inconnu. Cette décision intervient alors que plusieurs personnes retenues sont peu à peu remises en liberté. Le prince Metab Ben Abdallah, fils du défunt roi Abdallah, a, lui, été libéré après avoir payé plus d’un milliard de dollars dans le cadre d’un «accord transactionnel» avec les autorités selon l’agence Bloomberg News. L’État saoudien espère ainsi récupérer 100 milliards de dollars – soit 15% du PIB – grâce à ces accords avec le reste des détenus, indiquait Mohammed Ben Salman dans une interview au New York Times publiée en novembre dernier. En début de semaine, le procureur général a indiqué que 90 individus ont été relâchés, tandis que 95 personnes sont toujours détenues.

» LIRE AUSSI – En Arabie, la liberté des princes contre 100 milliards de dollars

Une fortune réévaluée?

Grâce à cet accord, le prince Al-Walid a donc pu rentrer chez lui au cours de la matinée. Son entourage a précisé à Reuters qu’il rend visite à sa famille, sans donner plus de détails. Cet homme d’affaires de 62 ans est le petit-fils de deux figures historiques du monde arabe: le roi Abdelaziz al-Saoud, fondateur de l’Arabie saoudite, et Riad al-Solh, premier chef de gouvernement de l’histoire du Liban. Il constitue également une personnalité incontournable de l’économie saoudienne. Pour rappel, le sexagénaire détient la Kingdom Holding Company à 95%. L’annonce de son arrestation avait entraîné de sérieux remous en Bourse, puisque le cours de l’entreprise a perdu jusqu’à 15% de sa valeur. Interrogée par Reuters samedi, une source officielle indique qu’il restera «assurément» à la tête de cette société d’investissement. Dimanche, le cours des actions de la Kingdom Holding ont bondi de 10% – soit le maximum autorisé à la Bourse de Ryad. Il regagne ainsi son niveau d’avant l’arrestation.

Kingdom Holding Company possède plus de 200 hôtels dans le monde, comme le célèbre établissement parisien George-V – racheté en 1996. Al-Walid Ben Talal, toujours par l’intermédiaire de cette holding, dispose d’intérêts dans de nombreuses multinationales américaines, comme Citigroup, Apple et le parc d’attractions Euro Disney. Il constitue aussi l’un des investisseurs de Twitter, mais le volume de ses parts reste opaque, en raison de la politique de confidentialité de Kingdom Holding Company. Al-Walid est également philanthrope. La fondation «Alwaleed Philanthropies» s’engage notamment à activer ses réseaux pour financer notamment des projets d’énergies renouvelables en Afrique. En 2015, il s’est engagé à reverser l’intégralité de sa fortune à cette fondation.

Le magazine Forbes estimait en 2017 que le prince pesait 18,7 milliards de dollars, ce qui le mettait à la 45e place de son dernier classement des fortunes mondiales. Mais depuis la publication de ce classement annuel, les choses semblent avoir quelque peu évolué. Si l’on se fie au classement en temps réel établi par le magazine américain, sa fortune est estimée à 17,4 milliards de dollars. Il descend ainsi à la 79e place.


Source:©  Le milliardaire saoudien Al-Walid Ben Talal a été libéré

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais