Guatemala announces transfer of its embassy to Israel to Jerusalem

Home"TO THE ONE"Guatemala announces transfer of its embassy to Israel to Jerusalem
11 Partages
Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu (right) and Guatemala President Jimmy Morales at the Prime Minister's office in Jerusalem on November 29, 2011. (Haim Zack / GPO)

"Despite the fact that we have only been nine in the world, we have total certainty and belief that this was the right way," said Jimmy Morales on the UN vote

Guatemala's president, Jimmy Morales, announced on Sunday the transfer of his country's embassy to Israel to Jerusalem, in support of the US decision and despite the vote of condemnation by the UN General Assembly.

"I gave instructions to the Minister (of Foreign Affairs, Sandra Jovel) to initiate the steps" to implement this decision, wrote the president on his Twitter account, a message broadcast by his press service.

The first head of state to follow suit in Washington, President Morales reported on the social networks of a telephone interview he had earlier with Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu.

"One of the most important themes (of the talks) with the (Israeli) Prime Minister was the return of the Guatemalan Embassy to Jerusalem," Morales said, noting the "excellent relations" between the two. country "since Guatemala supported the creation of the State of Israel".

On Friday, President Morales defended his country's support for the United States' decision to recognize Jerusalem as Israel's capital, in the aftermath of the massive UN General Assembly vote condemning the initiative of US President Donald Trump. .

"Guatemala is historically pro-Israel" and "in 70 years of relations, Israel has been our ally," he said.

Guatemala had voted against the UN condemnation, with Honduras, Togo, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau and the Marshall Islands, in addition to the United States and Israel.

"Despite the fact that we have only been nine in the world, we have total certainty and belief that this was the right way," he said.

The Israeli Foreign Ministry hailed "the true friendship" that binds Guatemala and Israel after the Central American country announced the transfer of its embassy to Jerusalem.

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu on Monday hailed "the important" decision of Guatemala to transfer his embassy to Jerusalem as the United States, and predicted that other countries would follow suit.

"Other countries will recognize Jerusalem and announce the transfer of their embassy. A second country did it and I say it again: there will be others, it's just a start and it's important, "Netanyahu said in a statement.

"It is a shameful and illegal act that totally runs counter to the sentiments of the leaders of the churches in Jerusalem" and the recent - non-binding - resolution of the UN General Assembly condemning the recognition by the United States of United of Jerusalem as the capital of Israel, said the Palestinian Foreign Ministry in a statement.

Guatemala became the first country to promise to move its diplomatic mission since the speech of US President Donald Trump on December 6, in which he recognizes Jerusalem as the capital of Israel and announced the transfer of the American Embassy from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem . The Czech Republic has also recognized East Jerusalem as the capital of Israel.

"We thank Guatemala for the important decision regarding the transfer of your embassy to Jerusalem! ", Wrote Emmanuel Nahshon, spokesman for the ministry on Twitter. "This is great news, it's a true friendship !! "

"Long live the friendship between Guatemala and Israel," he added in Spanish.

Israeli Deputy Minister of Diplomacy Michael Oren also praised Guatemala's courage.

"Viva Guatemala! It takes courage for a superpower to stand up for justice and to recognize Jerusalem as the eternal capital of Israel. But it takes more, [it takes] boldness for a small nation to do it, "Oren wrote on Twitter. "People of Guatemala, the people of Israel will never forget your support and your bravery. "

"Guatemala has shown that they know very well that Jerusalem is the capital of Israel. I salute their decision to install their embassy, ​​and I thank them for their friendship, "said President Reuven Rivlin. "We are looking forward to welcoming you. "

Knesset Speaker Yuli Edelstein, who met with Morales in Israel in November 2016, also paid tribute to his bravery.

"I would like to congratulate my friend, President of Guatemala Jimmy Morales, for his brave decision to move his country's embassy to the eternal capital of Jerusalem," said Edelstein.

"You are showing, by your decision, that you and your country are true friends of Israel, and that the ties that exist between us will be further strengthened and will benefit both. "

During his stay in Israel, Morales also met with Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu and Rivlin.

The prime minister said that "Latin America has always been friendly with Israel, but I think we are in a position where these relations can be good, much more advanced. "

In July, Guatemalan President Jimmy Morales decorated outgoing Israeli Ambassador Moshe Bachar with the Order of Quetzal of Great Cross, the country's highest honor, in recognition of his contribution to strengthening the political dialogue between the Central American nation and the country. Jewish state.

Source: ©  Guatemala announces transfer of its embassy to Israel to Jerusalem

11 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Le Guatemala annonce le transfert de son ambassade en Israël à Jérusalem

Home»A LA UNE»Le Guatemala annonce le transfert de son ambassade en Israël à Jérusalem
Le Guatemala annonce le transfert de son ambassade en Israël à Jérusalem
Le Premier ministre Benjamin Netanyahu (à droite) et le président du Guatemala, Jimmy Morales, dans les bureaux du Premier ministre à Jérusalem, le 29 novembre 2011. (Crédit : Haim Zack/GPO)

“Malgré le fait que n’ayons été que neuf dans le monde, nous avons la totale certitude et conviction que c’était la bonne voie”, a déclaré Jimmy Morales à propos du vote à l’ONU

Le président du Guatemala, Jimmy Morales, a annoncé dimanche le transfert à Jérusalem de l’ambassade de son pays en Israël, en soutien à la décision des Etats-Unis et malgré le vote de condamnation de l’Assemblée générale de l’ONU.

« J’ai donné des instructions à la ministre (des Affaires étrangères, Sandra Jovel) pour entamer les démarches » pour mettre en oeuvre cette décision, a écrit le président sur son compte Twitter, un message diffusé par son service de presse.

Premier chef d’Etat à emboîter le pas à Washington, le président Morales a rendu compte sur les réseaux sociaux d’un entretien téléphonique qu’il a eu auparavant avec le Premier ministre israélien Benjamin Netanyahu.

« Un des thèmes les plus importants (de l’entretien) avec le Premier ministre (israélien) a été le retour de l’ambassade du Guatemala à Jérusalem », a fait savoir M. Morales, soulignant les « excellentes relations » entre les deux pays « depuis que le Guatemala a soutenu la création de l’Etat d’Israël ».

Vendredi, le président Morales a défendu le soutien de son pays à la décision des États-Unis de reconnaître Jérusalem comme capitale d’Israël, au lendemain du vote massif de l’Assemblée générale de l’ONU condamnant cette initiative de président américain Donald Trump.

« Le Guatemala est historiquement pro-Israël » et « en 70 ans de relations, Israël a été notre allié », avait-il déclaré.

Le Guatemala avait voté contre la condamnation de l’ONU, avec le Honduras, le Togo, la Micronésie, Nauru, Palau et les îles Marshall, en plus des Etats-Unis et d’Israël.

« Malgré le fait que n’ayons été que neuf dans le monde, nous avons la totale certitude et conviction que c’était la bonne voie », a-t-il encore déclaré.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères israélien a salué « la véritable amitié » qui lie le Guatemala et Israël après que le pays d’Amérique centrale a annoncé le transfert de son ambassade à Jérusalem.

Le Premier ministre israélien Benjamin Netanyahu a salué lundi « l’importante » décision du Guatemala de transférer son ambassade à Jérusalem comme les Etats-Unis, et a prédit que d’autres pays leur emboîteraient le pas.

« D’autres pays reconnaîtront Jérusalem et annonceront le transfert de leur ambassade. Un deuxième pays l’a fait et je le répète: il y en aura d’autres, ce n’est qu’un début et c’est important », a déclaré M. Netanyahu dans un communiqué.

« C’est un acte honteux et illégal qui va totalement à l’encontre des sentiments des dirigeants des églises à Jérusalem » et de la récente résolution –non contraignante– de l’Assemblée générale de l’ONU condamnant la reconnaissance par les Etats-Unis de Jérusalem comme capitale d’Israël, a affirmé le ministère palestinien des Affaires étrangères dans un communiqué.

Le Guatemala est devenu le premier pays à promettre de déplacer leur mission diplomatique depuis le discours du président américain Donald Trump le 6 décembre, dans lequel il reconnaît Jérusalem comme capitale d’Israël et annoncé le transfert de l’ambassade américaine de Tel Aviv à Jérusalem. La République tchèque a également reconnu Jérusalem Est comme capitale d’Israël.

« Nous remercions le Guatemala pour l’importante décision concernant le transfert de votre ambassade à Jérusalem ! », a écrit Emmanuel Nahshon, porte-parole du ministère sur Twitter. « Ce sont d’excellentes nouvelles, c’est une véritable amitié !! »

« Longue vie à l’amitié entre le Guatemala et Israël », a-t-il ajouté en espagnol.

Le Guatemala annonce le transfert de son ambassade en Israël à Jérusalem

Le vice-ministre israélien de la diplomatie Michael Oren a également salué le courage du Guatemala.

« Viva Guatemala ! Il faut du courage pour qu’une superpuissance prenne la défense de la justice et reconnaisse Jérusalem comme capitale éternelle d’Israël. Mais il en faut encore plus, [il faut] de l’audace pour qu’une petite nation le fasse », a écrit Oren sur Twitter. « Peuple du Guatemala, le peuple d’Israël n’oubliera jamais votre soutien et votre bravoure. »

Le Guatemala annonce le transfert de son ambassade en Israël à Jérusalem

« Le Guatemala a montré qu’ils savent très bien que Jérusalem est la capitale d’Israël. Je salue leur décision d’y installer leur ambassade, et je les remercie de leur amitié », a déclaré le président Reuven Rivlin. « Nous sommes impatients de vous accueillir. »

Le président de la Knesset, Yuli Edelstein, qui a rencontré Morales en Israël, en novembre 2016, a également rendu hommage à sa bravoure.

« Je voudrais féliciter mon ami, le président du Guatemala Jimmy Morales, pour sa courageuse décision de déplacer l’ambassade de son pays dans la capitale éternelle qu’est Jérusalem », a déclaré Edelstein.

« Vous montrez, par votre décision, que vous et votre pays êtes des vrais amis d’Israël, et que les liens qui existent entre nous se renforceront encore davantage et profiterons à tous les deux. »

Durant son séjour en Israël, Morales avait également rencontré le Premier ministre Benjamin Netanyahu et Rivlin.

Le Premier ministre avait déclaré que « l’Amérique latine s’était toujours montrée amicale avec Israël, mais je pense que nous sommes dans une position où ces relations peuvent être bien, bien plus avancées. »

En juillet, le président guatémaltèque Jimmy Morales a décoré l’ambassadeur israélien sortant Moshe Bachar de l’Ordre de Quetzal du Grand Cross, le plus grand honneur du pays, en reconnaissance de sa contribution pour renforcer le dialogue politique entre la nation centraméricaine et l’État juif.

Source:©  Le Guatemala annonce le transfert de son ambassade en Israël à Jérusalem

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais