Cinema under the Occupation

Home"Anciens2"Cinema under the Occupation
3 Partages

Le cinéma sous l'Occupation

 

CHOOSED PIECE - A book illuminates the complex and troubled history of the Continental, a production company created in Paris by the Nazis in 1940.

Cinema under the Occupation

"From the beginning of the Occupation, Paris will have a very special role for the German authorities, writes the historian Christine Leteux in his remarkable essay Continental Films, French cinema under German control (Editions of the Green Tower). It will be the city of pleasure. "Made for the rest of the warrior. "Cinema is one of those entertainment industries that have to leave quickly."

With hindsight of history, it also appears as an iconic microcosm of the French society of the time, who did not want to see the war coming and discovered under the German boot that "humiliation escorted defeat". The notation is Paul Meurisse, returned to the capital in the autumn of 1940, as many people of the show that the debacle had led to the South.

On 1 October 1940, the Nazi producer Alfred Greven, from the famous Berlin production company UFA, creates the Continental Films, which will paradoxically write one of the most brilliant pages of French cinema.

Indeed, Greven takes the hand on "the cream of the directors, the biggest stars and the best technicians available". It is not without discomfort, note Christine Leteux, that the first contacted personalities engage under this banner. Their refusal or their membership depends on the restart of the French film industry, and we do not know how long the Occupation can last. The landscape is grim: a whole professional environment is unemployed, and the only bodies that want to rebuild it are the Nazi winner and the Organizing Committee of the Cinematographic Industry (COIC) of Vichy, which forbids access to them. Jews.

Unpublished archives

In this dilemma between personal scruples and the stakes for national production, the first directors solicited (Marcel Carné, Christian-Jaque, Georges Lacombe, Maurice Tourneur, Henry Decoin) try to negotiate. Guy de Carmoy, Parisian leader of the COIC, pushes them to go under these caudine forks, otherwise it is the death of the French cinema, but undertakes to support them in case of conflict.

In such an implacable situation, the answers can only be empirical, and the work of Christine Leteux, supported by numerous unpublished archives (drawn especially from the files of process of the purification), shows the whole complexity of the positions and the behaviours.

As early as 1941, a Carné, a Christian-Jaque, managed to oppose Greven insolently and leave the Continental by breach of contract. On the plateaux there is a poisonous atmosphere of armed clashes, espionage and denunciation. Henri Decoin makes work under the mantle the Jewish screenwriter Max Colpet, who will be paid by Greven without his knowledge: Decoin shares with him his salary, which will allow him to flee and to win Switzerland. In contrast, Leo Joannon, nicknamed by Henri Jeanson "the fly of the Boche" treacherously sign comedy Whims, stolen from two very talented Jewish writers who no longer have a voice, Jacques Companeez and Raymond Bernard.

Preface by Bertrand Tavernier, who highlights its high qualities (firsthand documentation and impartiality that defies clichés), Continental Filmsis an exciting fresco, incarnate, unexpected, disturbing and illuminating.


 

 

 

Source: Cinema under the Occupation

3 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Le cinéma sous l'Occupation

Home»Anciens2»Le cinéma sous l’Occupation

Le cinéma sous l'Occupation

 

MORCEAU CHOISI – Un livre éclaire l’histoire complexe et trouble de la Continental, société de production créée à Paris par les nazis en 1940.

Le cinéma sous l’Occupation

«Dès le début de l’Occupation, Paris va avoir un rôle bien particulier pour les autorités allemandes, écrit l’historienne Christine Leteux dans son remarquable essai Continental Films, cinéma français sous contrôle allemand (Éditions de la Tour Verte). Ce sera la ville des plaisirs.» Faite pour le repos du guerrier. «Le cinéma fait partie de ces industries de divertissement qui doivent repartir rapidement.»

Avec le recul de l’histoire, il apparaît aussi comme un microcosme emblématique de la société française de l’époque, qui n’avait pas voulu voir venir la guerre et découvrait sous la botte allemande que «l’humiliation escortait la défaite». La notation est de Paul Meurisse, revenu dans la capitale à l’automne 1940, comme beaucoup de gens du spectacle que la débâcle avait entraînés vers le Midi.

Le 1er octobre 1940, le producteur nazi Alfred Greven, issu de la célèbre société de production berlinoise UFA, crée la Continental Films, qui va écrire paradoxalement une des pages les plus brillantes du cinéma français.

En effet, Greven prend la main sur «la crème des réalisateurs, les plus grandes stars et les meilleurs techniciens disponibles». Ce n’est pas sans malaise, note Christine Leteux, que les premières personnalités contactées s’engagent sous cette bannière. De leur refus ou de leur adhésion dépend le redémarrage de l’industrie cinématographique française, et on ignore alors combien de temps peut durer l’Occupation. Le paysage est sinistre: tout un milieu professionnel se trouve au chômage, et les seules instances à vouloir le reconstruire sont le vainqueur nazi et le Comité d’organisation de l’industrie cinématographique (COIC) de Vichy, qui en interdit l’accès aux Juifs.

Archives inédites

Dans ce dilemme entre les scrupules personnels et les enjeux pour la production nationale, les premiers réalisateurs sollicités (Marcel Carné, Christian-Jaque, Georges Lacombe, Maurice Tourneur, Henri Decoin) essaient de négocier. Guy de Carmoy, responsable parisien du COIC, les pousse à passer sous ces fourches caudines, sans quoi c’est la mort du cinéma français, mais s’engage à les soutenir en cas de conflit.

Dans une situation aussi implacable, les réponses ne peuvent être qu’empiriques, et l’ouvrage de Christine Leteux, étayé par de nombreuses archives inédites (tirées notamment des dossiers de procès de l’épuration), montre toute la complexité des positions et des comportements.

Dès 1941, un Carné, un Christian-Jaque, s’arrangent pour s’opposer insolemment à Greven et sortir de la Continental par rupture de contrat. Sur les plateaux règne une atmosphère empoisonnée d’affrontements larvés, d’espionnage et de délation. Henri Decoin fait travailler sous le manteau le scénariste juif Max Colpet, qui sera payé par Greven à son insu: Decoin partage avec lui son salaire, ce qui lui permettra de s’enfuir et de gagner la Suisse. À l’opposé, Léo Joannon, surnommé par Henri Jeanson «la mouche du Boche», signe traîtreusement la comédie Caprices, volée à deux auteurs juifs de très grand talent qui n’ont plus voix au chapitre, Jacques Companeez et Raymond Bernard.

Préfacé par Bertrand Tavernier, qui en souligne les hautes qualités (documentation de première main et impartialité qui défie les clichés), Continental Filmsest une fresque passionnante, incarnée, inattendue, trouble et éclairante.


 

 

 

Source: Le cinéma sous l’Occupation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais