Bitcoin is very far from being a real currency 

Home"TO THE ONE"Bitcoin is very far from being a real currency 
2 Partages
(FILES) This June 17, 2014 photo taken in Washington, DC shows bitcoin medals. Bitcoin surged above $ 11,000 for the first time on November 29, 2017 as it extends to a stratospheric rise that has delighted investors sparked fears of a bubble.The goal of the Asian currency trading session, breaching $ 10,000 Bloomberg News figures. / AFP PHOTO / KAREN BLEIER

ANALYSIS - This virtual currency, free from public or state intervention, does not have all the attributes of a real currency.

It was worth 1 cent in 2010, 5000 dollars two months ago, more than 10,000 dollars today. The vertically rising curve of the value of bitcoin, the now famous virtual currency, is beautiful to observe as the satellite image of a tropical storm in formation. Fascinating and disturbing at the same time. Frustrating too: everyone looks at her wondering why he did not buy a little when it was worthless! The temptation of easy tumbling is besides winning the general public. This may explain the recent offensive of the most respected voices in the economic and financial world against bitcoin.

"Those who invest in bitcoin do it at their own risk"

François Villeroy de Galhau, Governor of the Banque de France

It's "a scam," according to the boss of the first US bank Jamie Dimon, "a threat to financial stability," according to Randall Quarles, vice president of the Fed. Two Nobel economists as different as the American Joseph Stieglitz and the French Jean Tirole also sounded the alarm. For the first, the bitcoin is a "bubble", and it "should be prohibited". For the second, it has neither "intrinsic value" nor "economic reality". And Friday, it is the governor of the Bank of France François Villeroy de Galhau who warned: "Those who invest in bitcoin do it at their own risk."

"There must be no ambiguity: the bitcoin is in no way a currency," said the central banker. This position is at the heart of the debate. Can bitcoin claim to be a currency, like the euro, the dollar and other currencies?

Bitcoin has no coins or notes. But this lack of physical support is not enough to exclude it from the circle of currencies. After all, most transactions in dollars or euros are (in volume) dematerialized. And it is now possible to live, especially in Scandinavia, by spending absolutely cash. Bitcoin does not have more value reserves built up. But again, that does not make it necessarily different from the big currencies. Central banks have no longer for a long time their gold stock the counterpart of the currency they issue.

User confidence

The essence of the currency lies in its exchange function: the buyer and the seller recognize the same value and accept it unreservedly to settle their transactions. Since bitcoin has created its ecosystem, in which users actually use it as a currency, it could be considered a currency.

But any monetary system is based on trust: that of the seller, who is certain that a value is attached to the payment he receives; that of the buyer, who is certain that his interlocutor accepts his method of payment. To date, this two-way certainty, both nationally and internationally, has not been found better than to recognize central bankers as guarantors and, behind them, states (or currency unions). State like the euro). Does money inevitably come from public power? Old debate. Pure liberalism does not necessarily recognize the privilege of broadcasting as a sovereign function of the state in the same way as security and justice.

Bitcoin is by nature an opaque system, based on an algorithm whose creator is unknown and whose key was thrown down the well after its design.

Bitcoin, for its part, frees itself from public or state intervention. The system would guarantee the algorithm, and trusted third party not an institution, but the mass of users who, thanks to the technology of the "blockchain", are each depository of its effectiveness. Can it, then, become a currency which, emancipated from the state and the central banks which make their power of emission a steering instrument of the economy, would be an expression of a form of liberal ideal even libertarian? Voire.

For there are fundamental contradictions between the conception of bitcoin and the possibility of making it a currency, at least on a large scale. First, the bitcoin is by nature an opaque system, based on an algorithm whose creator is unknown and whose key was thrown into the well after its design. This creates mystique, but does not encourage confidence ... Then, the system is asymmetric: are only able to create bitcoins that those who have the ability to calculate (and taste for the material!) For the make. Finally, bitcoin is a finite system: the algorithm ends after 21 million units created. This point partly explains the current speculative fever fueled by the anticipation of scarcity.

If Churchill was right about democracy, "the worst regime except all the others," the same may be true of our current monetary organization. The bursting of the bitcoin bubble, if it occurs as many predict, may give some value to the trust that has been created over the centuries and not without incident, public authorities in the use of their national currencies.


 

Source: © Bitcoin is very far from being a real currency 

2 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Le bitcoin est très loin d'être une vraie monnaie 

Home»A LA UNE»Le bitcoin est très loin d’être une vraie monnaie 
Le bitcoin est très loin d'être une vraie monnaie 
(FILES) This June 17, 2014 file photo taken in Washington, DC shows bitcoin medals. Bitcoin surged above $11,000 for the first time on November 29, 2017 as it extends a stratospheric rise that has delighted investors but sparked fears of a bubble.The virtual currency achieved its first landmark of a historic day early in the Asian trading session, breaching $10,000 for the first time, according to Bloomberg News figures. / AFP PHOTO / KAREN BLEIER

ANALYSE – Cette monnaie virtuelle, affranchie de l’intervention publique ou étatique, ne possède pas tous les attributs d’une véritable devise.

Il valait 1 cent en 2010, 5000 dollars il y a deux mois, plus de 10.000 dollars aujourd’hui. La courbe en forme d’ascension verticale de la valeur du bitcoin, la désormais célèbre monnaie virtuelle, est belle à observer comme l’image satellite d’une tempête tropicale en formation. Fascinante et inquiétante à la fois. Frustrante aussi: chacun la regarde en se demandant bien pourquoi il n’en a pas acheté un peu quand cela ne valait rien! La tentation de la culbute facile est d’ailleurs en train de gagner le grand public. Ce qui explique peut-être l’offensive récente des voix les plus respectées du monde économique et financier contre le bitcoin.

«Ceux qui investissent en bitcoin le font à leurs risques et périls»

François Villeroy de Galhau, gouverneur de la Banque de France

C’est «une escroquerie», selon le patron de la première banque américaine Jamie Dimon, «une menace pour la stabilité financière», selon Randall Quarles, vice-président de la Fed. Deux Nobel d’économie aussi différents que l’Américain Joseph Stieglitz et le Français Jean Tirole ont aussi sonné l’alerte. Pour le premier, le bitcoin est une «bulle», et il «faudrait l’interdire». Pour le second, il n’a ni «valeur intrinsèque» ni «réalité économique». Et vendredi, c’est le gouverneur de la Banque de France François Villeroy de Galhau qui a mis en garde: «Ceux qui investissent en bitcoin le font à leurs risques et périls.»

«Il ne doit y avoir aucune ambiguïté: le bitcoin n’est en rien une monnaie», a asséné le banquier central. Cette prise de position est au cœur du débat. Le bitcoin peut-il prétendre être une monnaie, comme l’euro, le dollar et autres devises?

Le bitcoin n’a ni pièces ni billets. Mais cette absence de support physique ne suffit pas à l’exclure du cercle des monnaies. Après tout, l’essentiel des transactions en dollars ou en euros se fait (en volume) de façon dématérialisée. Et il est désormais possible de vivre, notamment en Scandinavie, en se passant totalement de cash. Le bitcoin n’a pas davantage de réserve de valeur constituée. Mais là encore, cela ne le rend pas forcément différent des grandes devises. Les banques centrales ne font plus depuis belle lurette de leur stock d’or la contrepartie de la monnaie qu’elles émettent.

Confiance des utilisateurs

L’essence de la monnaie réside dans sa fonction d’échange: l’acheteur et le vendeur lui reconnaissent la même valeur et l’acceptent sans réserve pour régler leurs transactions. Dès lors que le bitcoin a créé son écosystème, dans lequel des utilisateurs l’utilisent effectivement comme une devise, on pourrait le considérer comme une monnaie.

Mais un système monétaire, quel qu’il soit, repose sur la confiance: celle du vendeur, qui a la certitude qu’une valeur est attachée au paiement qu’il encaisse ; celle de l’acheteur, qui a la certitude que son interlocuteur accepte son moyen de paiement. À ce jour, on n’avait pas trouvé mieux pour installer cette certitude à double sens, à l’échelle nationale et internationale, que d’en reconnaître pour garants les banques centrales et, derrière elles, les États (ou les unions monétaires d’État comme l’euro). La monnaie procède-t-elle inévitablement de la puissance publique? Vieux débat. Le libéralisme pur ne reconnaît pas forcément le privilège d’émission comme une fonction régalienne de l’État au même titre que la sécurité et la justice.

Le bitcoin est par nature un système opaque, assis sur un algorithme dont le créateur est inconnu et dont la clef a été jetée au fond du puits après sa conception

Le bitcoin, lui, s’affranchit de l’intervention publique ou étatique. Le système aurait pour garant l’algorithme, et pour tiers de confiance non pas une institution, mais la masse des utilisateurs qui, grâce à la technologie de la «blockchain», sont chacun dépositaire de son effectivité. Peut-il, dès lors, devenir une monnaie qui, émancipée de l’État et des banques centrales qui font de leur pouvoir d’émission un instrument de pilotage de l’économie, serait une expression d’une forme d’idéal libéral voire libertarien? Voire.

Car il y a des contradictions fondamentales entre la conception du bitcoin et la possibilité d’en faire une monnaie, du moins à grande échelle. D’abord, le bitcoin est par nature un système opaque, assis sur un algorithme dont le créateur est inconnu et dont la clef a été jetée au fond du puits après sa conception. Cela crée de la mystique, mais n’encourage guère à la confiance… Ensuite, le système est asymétrique: ne sont en capacité de créer des bitcoins que ceux qui disposent de la capacité de calcul (et du goût pour la matière!) pour le faire. Enfin, le bitcoin est un système fini: l’algorithme prend fin après 21 millions d’unités créées. Ce point explique d’ailleurs en partie la fièvre spéculative actuelle, alimentée par l’anticipation de la rareté.

Si Churchill avait raison s’agissant de la démocratie, «le pire des régimes à l’exception de tous les autres», il en va peut-être de même de notre organisation monétaire actuelle. L’éclatement de la bulle bitcoin, s’il survient comme beaucoup le prédisent, rendra peut-être de la valeur à la confiance qu’ont su créer au fil des siècles et non sans péripéties, les autorités publiques dans l’utilisation de leurs devises nationales.


 

Source: © Le bitcoin est très loin d’être une vraie monnaie 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais