Saudi Arabia wants to sow a new economy

Home"TO THE ONE"Saudi Arabia wants to sow a new economy
4 Partages

INFOGRAPHICS - Faced with the decline of its oil revenue, the kingdom is betting on futuristic and expensive megaprojects.

INFOGRAPHICS - Faced with the decline of its oil revenue, the kingdom is betting on futuristic and expensive megaprojects.

In Riyadh, Jubail

Innumerable white, yellow or orange fires sparkle in the night, long flames come out of tall chimneys ... Here is Jubail, in the desert, on the edge of the Persian Gulf. A site ten times as large as Paris where refineries, petrochemical plants and blast furnaces meet in the largest petrochemical complex in the world.

But for the kingdom of Arabia, that is not enough. The city of iron, water and oil, out of the sand in the 1980s, a small fishing port, must double in size. More than $ 18 billion is invested in new infrastructure, some 20,000 km of pipes, a university, dozens of factories and refineries, 50,000 homes and 55,000 jobs.

"The Saudi economy will most likely be in recession in 2017"

Pascal Devaux, economist at BNP Paribas

A little further north, another city, twin, Ras al-Khair, dedicated to phosphate, zinc and other minerals, also grows. Aramco, the giant Saudi oil, has just launched the largest shipyard in the Gulf, capable of producing more than 40 vessels and supertankers per year.

The Pharaonic shipyards, it is in Saudi Arabia that we find them today. Giant wind farms, solar power stations, high-speed trains, tourist sites or futuristic cities ... The Kingdom of Arabia, pushed by the crown prince, Mohammed Ben Salman, impatient to see evolving the country he will lead soon, is launched in a new dynamic. It's urgent. The oil rent, abundant for years, melts today. While three-quarters of export earnings and government revenues come from black gold, the collapse of half the price of crude since summer 2014 puts the country in trouble. With a deficit of 17.3% of GDP in 2016, he had to face cash flow problems, to the point of deferring certain payments. "The Saudi economy will most likely be in recession in 2017," says Pascal Devaux, an economist at BNP Paribas. In other words, the welfare state, in this country of 30 million inhabitants, as big as four times France and a member of the G20, is threatened.

Sophia, the unveiled robot

Arab leaders are well aware of this. In particular, Mohammed Ben Salman, known as MBS and son of the late King Salman Ben Abdelaziz al-Saud, 81 years old. He already has many powers (he is notably Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Defense), that he has just reinforced with a purge that dismissed early November some of the ministers and the royal familyIn April 2016, MBS launched the Vision 2030 plan to diversify the economy. On the menu, increased exploitation of oil products, but also other resources of the kingdom: minerals, solar energy and wind, tourism. And the opening to activities hitherto ignored or reprobated. The objective is to reduce dependence on hydrocarbons by 2020, bringing the contribution of the manufacturing sector to GDP at 20%, compared to 10% in 2012.

But the revolution is not just industrial. It is also social. And it's about innovation. The country where women, who come out fully covered in black, will only be allowed to drive in 2018 and where they are subject to the tutelage of a man, is the first in the world to have granted, at the end of October, the citizenship to a feminine robot, Sophia, unveiled!

 

 

 

 

Le prince Mohammed Ben Salman.
Prince Mohammed Ben Salman. - Photo credits: FAY NURELDINE / AFP

MBS, at the age of 32, understood that the new Arabia, where 70% of the population is under 30 years old, had to be built with its youth - the greatest user of Twitter in the world - and with its women. At an international forum in Riyadh last month, MBS promised to "return to a moderate, tolerant, open to the world". He plans to open cinemas in the country. One of his pharaonic projects is the creation of a gigantic entertainment city that will include a safari course, motor racing, and will be 17 times larger than the Disneyland amusement park near Paris.

"Saudi Arabia will return to what we were before 1979: a country with moderate Islam, open to all religions and the world" Mohammed Ben Salman

With the end of the jackpot of black gold, money is no longer at hand as before. The kingdom will privatize part of its economy. Starting with his flagship, the oil giant Aramco, whose turnover is estimated at $ 250 billion, a third of GDP, and it should dispose of 5% stake in 2018. The operation could bring up $ 100 billion, which will be invested in a sovereign wealth fund, the Public Investment Fund (PIF). The latter, which already holds 230 billion, invests in Arabia or abroad, in sometimes equally pharaonic projects. It will thus bet $ 1.5 billion in the space activities of the company Virgin.

Riyadh receives the equivalent of "less than 2% of its GDP from foreign investors, five times less than some emerging countries," said Pascal Devaux. The kingdom tries to seduce them, by organizing a "Davos of the desert" or tours of capitals for its ministers. But from project to completion, there is a gap. Other new cities, imagined fifteen years ago in Arabia, never came into being.

Vue d'artiste de Neom.
Artist's impression of Neom. - Photo credits: Neom

This does not prevent MBS from building plans on the comet. His latest project, the most inordinate, is Neom, a city of the future on the shores of the Red Sea. Three times larger than Corsica, this high-tech paradise will use the sun, wind and rely on new technologies. Robots will be kings, taxis will fly, deliveries will be made by drones, agriculture will be vertical ... This future paradise will involve sectors as diverse as energy, water, biotechnology, food, digital , media and entertainment. To build it, Riyadh needs the modest sum of 500 billion dollars ...

This article is published in the Le Figaro edition of 18/11/2017.

 

Source: ©  Saudi Arabia wants to sow a new economy

4 Partages

One Response to "L’Arabie saoudite veut faire jaillir des sables une économie nouvelle"

  1. Jean Pierre Colin
    Jean Pierre Colin   18 November 2017 at 11 h 26 min

    Twisted as always

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

L'Arabie saoudite veut faire jaillir des sables une économie nouvelle

Home»A LA UNE»L’Arabie saoudite veut faire jaillir des sables une économie nouvelle

L'Arabie saoudite veut faire jaillir des sables une économie nouvelle

INFOGRAPHIES – Face au déclin de sa rente pétrolière, le royaume parie sur des mégaprojets futuristes et coûteux.

INFOGRAPHIES – Face au déclin de sa rente pétrolière, le royaume parie sur des mégaprojets futuristes et coûteux.

À Riyad, Jubail

D’innombrables feux blancs, jaunes ou orange scintillent dans la nuit, de longues flammes sortent de hautes cheminées… Voici Jubail, dans le désert, au bord du golfe Persique. Un site dix fois grand comme Paris où raffineries, usines pétrochimiques et hauts-fourneaux se côtoient dans le plus grand complexe pétrochimique au monde.

Mais, pour le royaume d’Arabie, cela ne suffit pas. La cité de fer, d’eau et de pétrole, sortie du sable dans les années 1980, d’un petit port de pêche, doit doubler de taille. Plus de 18 milliards de dollars sont investis dans de nouvelles infrastructures, soit quelque 20.000 km de tuyaux, une université, des dizaines d’usines et de raffineries, 50.000 logements et 55.000 emplois.

«L’économie saoudienne sera très probablement en récession en 2017»

Pascal Devaux, économiste chez BNP Paribas

Un peu plus au nord, une autre ville, jumelle, Ras al-Khair, dédiée au phosphate, zinc et autres minerais, grandit aussi. Aramco, le gigantesque pétrolier saoudien, vient d’y lancer le plus grand chantier naval du Golfe, capable de produire plus de 40 navires et superpétroliers par an.

L'Arabie saoudite veut faire jaillir des sables une économie nouvelle

Les chantiers pharaoniques, c’est en Arabie saoudite qu’on les trouve aujourd’hui. Parcs éoliens géants, centrales solaires, TGV, sites touristiques ou cité futuriste… Le royaume d’Arabie, poussé par le prince héritier, Mohammed Ben Salman, impatient de voir évoluer le pays qu’il dirigera bientôt, est lancé dans une nouvelle dynamique. Il y a urgence. La rente pétrolière, abondante pendant des années, fond aujourd’hui. Alors que les trois quarts des recettes d’exportation et des revenus publics proviennent de l’or noir, l’effondrement de moitié du cours du brut depuis l’été 2014 met le pays en difficulté. Avec un déficit de 17,3 % du PIB en 2016, il a dû faire face à des problèmes de trésorerie, au point de différer certains paiements. «L’économie saoudienne sera très probablement en récession en 2017», prévoit Pascal Devaux, économiste chez BNP Paribas. Autant dire que l’État-providence, dans ce pays de 30 millions d’habitants, grand comme quatre fois la France et membre du G20, est menacé.

Sophia, le robot non voilé

Les dirigeants arabes en sont bien conscients. En particulier, Mohammed Ben Salman, dit MBS et fils favori du vieux roi Salman Ben Abdelaziz al-Saoud, âgé de 81 ans. Doté déjà de nombreux pouvoirs (il est notamment vice-premier ministre et ministre de la Défense), qu’il vient de renforcer avec une purge qui a écarté début novembre une partie des ministres et de la famille royale, MBS a lancé en avril 2016 le plan Vision 2030 pour diversifier l’économie. Au menu, une exploitation accrue des produits dérivés du pétrole, mais aussi des autres ressources du royaume: minerais, énergie solaire et éolienne, tourisme. Et l’ouverture à des activités jusqu’ici ignorées ou réprouvées. L’objectif est de réduire dès 2020 la dépendance aux hydrocarbures en portant la contribution du secteur manufacturier au PIB à 20 %, contre 10 % en 2012.

Mais, la révolution n’est pas qu’industrielle. Elle est aussi sociale. Et elle mise sur l’innovation. Le pays où les femmes, qui sortent intégralement couvertes de noir, n’auront le droit de conduire qu’en 2018 et où elles sont soumises à la tutelle d’un homme, est le premier au monde à avoir accordé, fin octobre, la citoyenneté à un robot féminin, Sophia, non voilée!

 

 

 

 

Le prince Mohammed Ben Salman.
Le prince Mohammed Ben Salman. – Crédits photo : FAYEZ NURELDINE/AFP

MBS, du haut de ses 32 ans, a compris que la nouvelle Arabie, où 70 % de la population a moins de 30 ans, devait se construire avec sa jeunesse,- la plus grande utilisatrice de Twitter au monde – et avec ses femmes. Lors d’un forum international à Riyad, le mois dernier, MBS a promis de «retourner à un islam modéré, tolérant, ouvert sur le monde». Il envisage l’ouverture de cinémas dans le pays. L’un de ses projets pharaoniques est la création d’une gigantesque cité du divertissement qui comprendra un parcours de safari, des courses automobiles, et sera 17 fois plus vaste que le parc d’attractions Disneyland près de Paris.

«L’Arabie saoudite va revenir à ce que nous étions avant 1979: un pays à l’islam modéré, ouvert à toutes les religions et au monde» Mohammed Ben Salman

Avec la fin du pactole de l’or noir, l’argent n’est plus à portée de main comme avant. Le royaume va privatiser en partie son économie. À commencer par son navire amiral, le géant pétrolier Aramco, dont le chiffre d’affaires est estimé à 250 milliards de dollars, soit un tiers du PIB, et dont il devrait céder 5 % du capital en 2018. L’opération pourrait rapporter jusqu’à 100 milliards de dollars, qui seront placés dans un fonds souverain, le Public Investment Fund (PIF). Celui-ci, qui détient déjà 230 milliards, investit en Arabie ou à l’étranger, dans des projets parfois tout aussi pharaoniques. Il va ainsi miser 1,5 milliard de dollars dans les activités spatiales de la société Virgin.

Riyad reçoit l’équivalent de «moins de 2 % de son PIB de la part des investisseurs étrangers, soit cinq fois moins que certains pays émergents», souligne Pascal Devaux. Le royaume tente donc de les séduire, en organisant un «Davos du désert» ou des tournées des capitales pour ses ministres. Mais, du projet à la réalisation, il y a un fossé. D’autres villes nouvelles, imaginées il y a quinze ans en Arabie, n’ont jamais vu le jour.

Vue d'artiste de Neom.
Vue d’artiste de Neom. – Crédits photo : Neom

Cela n’empêche pas MBS de bâtir des plans sur la comète. Son dernier projet, le plus démesuré, est Neom, ville du futur sur les bords de la mer Rouge. Trois fois plus étendu que la Corse, ce paradis high-tech utilisera le soleil, le vent et misera sur les nouvelles technologies. Les robots y seront rois, les taxis voleront, les livraisons seront effectuées par des drones, l’agriculture sera verticale… Ce futur paradis concernera des secteurs aussi divers que l’énergie, l’eau, les biotechnologies, l’alimentation, le numérique, les médias et les divertissements. Pour le construire, Riyad a besoin de la modique somme de 500 milliards de dollars…

L'Arabie saoudite veut faire jaillir des sables une économie nouvelle
Cet article est publié dans l’édition du Figaro du 18/11/2017.

 

Source:©  L’Arabie saoudite veut faire jaillir des sables une économie nouvelle

One Response to "L’Arabie saoudite veut faire jaillir des sables une économie nouvelle"

  1. Jean Pierre Colin
    Jean Pierre Colin   18 novembre 2017 at 11 h 26 min

    Tordu comme toujours

    Répondre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais