Saudi Arabia, ready to host an Israeli embassy in Riyadh?

Home"TO THE ONE"Saudi Arabia, ready to host an Israeli embassy in Riyadh?
56 Partages
The King of Saudi Arabia Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud, in Ryad 21 m
BANDAR AL-JALOUD (Saudi Royal Palace / AFP / Archives)

In a forum published in the Saudi media Al-Khaleeg, a local journalist said Saudi Arabia was ready to normalize relations with Israel and to host the Israeli embassy in Riyadh.

A message in response to the intervention of Israeli MP Yossi Yonah, who on Wednesday called from Benjamin Binyamin Netanyahu's parliament desk to invite the Saudi Crown Prince to the Israeli Parliament (Knesset).

"I call on Prime Minister Netanyahu to send an official invitation to Mohammed bin Salman, Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia, to offer him to come to the Knesset to put the Saudi [peace] initiative back at the negotiating table," asked the deputy of the Zionist Union, in Arabic.

The journalistAl-Khaleeg He also said the Saudis would be "very happy to see an Israeli embassy in Riyadh," saying that Saudi Arabia would be ready to open an official building, "in the Israeli capital, West Jerusalem."

The status of the holy city and its boundaries are often debated, as the 'Israeli' borders of Jerusalem are not recognized by the international community, which regards the eastern part of the city as having been annexed by the Jewish State in 1967 to the outcome of the Six Day War.

Only the United States and some Central American countries recognize Jerusalem as the capital of the Jewish state, Tel Aviv remains to this day the diplomatic alternative for the rest of the world.

A sensible subject: in its statement on the status of thea holy city and the announcement of the relocation of the US embassy, ​​Donald Trump ulcerated the Palestinians on December 6.

Brendan Smialowski (AFP)
US President Donald Trump, July 3, 2018, West Virginia
Brendan Smialowski (AFP)

In his gallery at Al-Khaleegthe Saudi journalist reiterated that his country is "a defender of peace" and "opposed to terrorism".

According to him, movements such as those of Hamas - in power in the Gaza Strip -, Fatah - headed by Mahmoud Abbas -, Hezbollah, or the Muslim Brotherhood, use the Palestinian cause to legitimize their terrorist actions and "shimmering dreams to their people".

The journalist also denounced the financing of terrorism by Iran, a "common enemy" of Israel and Saudi Arabia. He also strongly criticized the danger represented by "the Ottomans", in other words, President Erdogan's Turkey, currently trying to expand its influence in the region.

BULENT KILIC (AFP)
Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan prepares to deliver a speech on June 24, 2018 in Istanbul
BULENT KILIC (AFP)

In response to Yossi Yonah's intervention in the Israeli parliament, the journalistAl-Khaleeg said that Jerusalem and Riyadh should continue to work on the Arab Peace Initiative - proposed at the 2002 Arab League Summit in Beirut by Saudi King Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz Al Saud, and confirmed at the 2007 Arab League Summit in Riyadh.

"Saudi Arabia believes that a just and comprehensive peace is a strategic and legitimate international choice," said the journalist, adding that "Israel and its people want peace, and live in peace, just as the Saudi people ".

In his gallery, the journalist also said that "the ball is in the camp of the leaders of the Hebrew State," concluding "Mr. Netanyahu, if you want peace, go ahead! Mohammed ben Salman will not let you down. "

If these words can be perceived as a step forward in diplomatic relations between Riyadh and Jerusalem, the comments of Internet users, very critical of the journalist and the "open" positions of Riyadh, have shown that this Saudi positioning is not to everyone's taste.

The tribune, put on line Friday, had, within a few hours, been removed from the site ofAl-Khaleeg, Saturday afternoon.

Source: © Saudi Arabia, ready to host an Israeli embassy in Riyadh?

56 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

L’Arabie saoudite, prête à accueillir une ambassade israélienne à Riyad ?

Home»A LA UNE»L’Arabie saoudite, prête à accueillir une ambassade israélienne à Riyad ?
L’Arabie saoudite, prête à accueillir une ambassade israélienne à Riyad ?
Le roi d’Arabie Saoudite Salmane ben Abdelaziz Al Saoud, à Ryad le 21 m
BANDAR AL-JALOUD (Saudi Royal Palace/AFP/Archives)

Dans une tribune publiée dans le média saoudien Al-Khaleeg, un journaliste local a indiqué que l’Arabie saoudite était prête à normaliser ses relations avec Israël et à accueillir l’ambassade de l’Etat hébreu à Riyad.

Un message en réponse à l’intervention du député israélien Yossi Yonah, qui a demandé mercredi depuis le pupitre du parlement à Benyamin Netanyahou d’inviter le prince héritier saoudien au Parlement israélien (Knesset).

“J’appelle le Premier ministre Netanyahou à envoyer une invitation officielle à Mohammed ben Salmane, prince héritier d’Arabie saoudite, lui proposant de venir à la Knesset afin de remettre l’initiative [de paix] saoudienne à la table des négociations”, a demandé le député de l’Union sioniste, en langue arabe.

L’Arabie saoudite, prête à accueillir une ambassade israélienne à Riyad ?

Le journaliste d’Al-Khaleeg a également précisé que les Saoudiens seraient “très heureux de voir une ambassade israélienne à Riyad”, indiquant que l’Arabie saoudite serait prête à ouvrir un bâtiment officiel, “dans la capitale israélienne, Jérusalem-Ouest”.

Le statut de la ville sainte et ses délimitations font souvent débat, les frontières ‘israéliennes’ de Jérusalem n’étant pas reconnues par la communauté internationale, qui considère la partie est de la ville comme ayant été annexée par l’Etat hébreu en 1967 à l’issue de la Guerre des Six Jours.

Seuls les Etats-Unis et certains pays d’Amérique centrale reconnaissent Jérusalem comme capitale de l’Etat hébreu, Tel Aviv restant à ce jour l’alternative diplomatique pour le reste du monde.

Un sujet sensible: lors de sa déclaration sur le statut de la ville sainte et l’annonce du déménagement de l’ambassade américaine en son sein, Donald Trump avait ulcéré les Palestiniens le 6 décembre dernier.

Brendan Smialowski (AFP)
Le président américain Donald Trump, le 3 juillet 2018, en Virginie occidentale
Brendan Smialowski (AFP)

Dans sa tribune à Al-Khaleeg, le journaliste saoudien a réitéré que son pays est “un défenseur de la paix” et “opposé au terrorisme”.

D’après lui, des mouvements tels que ceux du Hamas – au pouvoir dans la bande de Gaza -, du Fatah – dont Mahmoud Abbas est à la tête –, du Hezbollah, ou encore des Frères musulmans, utilisent la cause palestinienne pour légitimer leurs actions terroristes et “faire miroiter des rêves à leurs populations”.

Le journaliste a également dénoncé le financement du terrorisme par l’Iran, “ennemi commun” d’Israël et de l’Arabie saoudite. Il a également vivement critiqué le danger que représentent “les Ottomans”, en d’autres mots, la Turquie du président Erdogan, qui tente actuellement d’étendre son influence dans la région.

BULENT KILIC (AFP)
Le président turc Recep Tayyip Erdogan se prépare à prononcer un discours le 24 juin 2018 à Istanbul
BULENT KILIC (AFP)

En réponse à l’intervention de Yossi Yonah au parlement israélien, le journaliste d’Al-Khaleeg a indiqué que Jérusalem et Riyad devaient continuer à travailler sur l’Initiative de paix arabe – proposée au Sommet de la Ligue arabe 2002 de Beyrouth par le roi saoudien Abdallah ben Abdelaziz Al Saoud, et confirmée au Sommet de la Ligue arabe 2007 de Riyad.

“L’Arabie saoudite estime qu’une paix juste et globale est un choix stratégique et légitime à l’international”, a indiqué le journaliste, ajoutant qu’”Israël et son peuple veulent la paix, et vivre en paix, tout comme le peuple saoudien”.

Dans sa tribune, le journaliste a aussi estimé que “la balle est dans le camp des dirigeants de l’Etat hébreu”, concluant “Monsieur Netanyahou, si vous voulez la paix, allez-y! Mohammed ben Salmane ne vous laissera pas tomber”.

Si ces propos peuvent être perçus comme une avancée dans les relations diplomatiques entre Ryad et Jérusalem, les commentaires des Internautes, très critiques envers le journaliste et les positions “d’ouverture” de Riyad, ont eux montré que ce positionnement saoudien n’est pas au goût de tous.

La tribune, mise en ligne vendredi, avait, l’espace de quelques heures, été retirée du site d’Al-Khaleeg, samedi midi.

Source : © L’Arabie saoudite, prête à accueillir une ambassade israélienne à Riyad ?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais