Algeria, Drancy ... Éric Zemmour reveals his past

Home"TO THE ONE"Algeria, Drancy ... Éric Zemmour reveals his past
13 Partages

French destiny, Eric Zemmour's new book, is a powerful and profound meditation on History. Faithful to himself, the essayist revisits the past to better deconstruct the present. Surprise: in a poignant introduction in the form of a confession, he also reveals his childhood and his family.

"We are from our childhood as we are from a country," wrote Saint-Exupery. And to understand Eric Zemmour, it is this source that must be drawn. His name starts with a Z, like Zorro, but at 10, Zemmour dream of being Bonaparte. He devours André Castelot's Napoleon, "with his green cardboard cover", which his mother offered him for his birthday. His mind wanders in 1800 in the middle of battlefields. He saw the imperial epic again. On his galloping horse, the child wearing his cocked hat loads with the soldiers of the Grande Armée, vibrates at the victory of Austerlitz and cries after the retreat of Russia and Waterloo. Later, he discovers Lost illusions. Balzac is his Vautrin, who teaches him to grow. It is decided, for want of being able to be emperor, it will be Rubempre. Unless he is the author of The human comedy himself. "From childhood, I understood that France was this unique country made of heroes and writers, heroes who claimed to be writers, and writers who dreamed of themselves as heroes," he writes. French destiny.

Tenant l'un de ses oncles par la main, Eric Zemmour dans les rues de Drancy où il vécut une grande partie de son enfance.
Holding one of his uncles by the hand, Eric Zemmour in the streets of Drancy where he lived a large part of his childhood. - Photo credits: DR

One of the immense surprises of the 569 pages abounding of his new essay, concerns the first 40. At 60, in a poignant introduction in the form of a confession, the essayist reveals the most precious part of himself, the one he hitherto kept jealously for him: his share of childhood. It took six months for Lise Boëll, Albin Michel's editorial director of essays and documents, to convince this great modest to indulge. Zemmour laughs at being loved. He wants to convince by his ideas, not by what he is. By reason, not by emotion. And yet, how can one not be touched by the destiny of little Zemmour and his family? As Camus had dedicated The First Man, his most personal work, his mother, Zemmour dedicates his book to his parents. They experienced the tragedy of the returnees thrown into the sea with a cardboard suitcase. However, they have not conceived any rancor with France. "France was life; Algeria, nostalgia. France, the great nation; Algeria, the little homeland ", summarizes Zemmour. At home, we sing Aznavour during the day and Oum Kalsoum at night. His father speaks Arabic in the cafes of Goutte-d'Or, but holds French literature for the world's largest, and notes carefully on a notebook the sentences of Victor Hugo ...

One day, shortly before his death, he confides to his son: "I'm tired of hearing on television" the Jews of France ". I am not a Jew of France, I am a Jewish Frenchman. I'm not a stranger or an immigrant ... "This sentence says almost everything about Eric Zemmour. She sums up the meaning of her fight. Not for ethnic purity, as claimed by his detractors who did not understand anything. But for assimilation through transmission and culture. "I do not have a drop of French blood, but France runs in my veins," said Romain Gary. "The history of France flowed in my veins," writes Zemmour.

France as a lost paradise

For the show The Sunday Terrans! Thierry Ardisson, which will be broadcast on September 16 at 19:05 C8, Zemmour returned to Drancy. Where he spent his early years. Since he was 11, he had never been back.

Les premiers bains de mer.
The first sea baths. - Photo credits: DR

Behind his eternal mischievous smile, Zemmour hides his trouble badly. He stops at length in front of number 22 where his family lived on the ground floor. He walked the park where he tobogganed and played football with his friends. The Faidherbe residence has not really changed. The decor has remained the same. The little bar has remained the same. It's the actors who have changed. In the park, Zemmour meets a veiled girl. "In my day, it would have been unthinkable," he slips. Little Zemmour grew up in the 1960s in a France where the expression "living together" did not exist, but where national cohesion and sense of belonging were a reality. In the suburbs before family reunion and drug crazies, before the beards and burqas. "I have no bad memories here except for leaving. It was a haven of peace, a paradise, "says the essayist. Zemmour will forever be inconsolable about this lost paradise, this pacified France that he refuses to see disappear forever.

"Eric Zemmour returned the situation and showed the whole table that the idiot, it was not him ..."

Very early, well before Charlie and the Bataclan, he saw everything: multiculturalism and militant anti-racism combined with mass immigration, the reduction of the history of France to its "darkest hours", individualism consumerist exacerbated by so-called happy globalization, had to compromise the assimilation of newcomers and fuel the fire of identity. Retrospectively, French Suicide (2014) appears in every respect prophetic. His phenomenal success (500,000 copies sold) proves that he echoed the deep anguish that inhabited many French people. But as Nicolas de Chamfort said: "In France, those who set fire and persecute those who sound the tocsin are allowed to rest." As long as the Parisian salons thought they could ridicule him, Zemmour was tolerated. As Michel Onfray noted it in FigaroVox with his sense of the usual formula: "Invited at the end of the table for dinner cons, yes, but Eric Zemmour returned the situation and showed the whole table that the con, it was not him ..." They did not forgive him. Nourished with Balzac's milk, Zemmour had learned "to know men and women, to fear and be wary of them, to expect nothing from them except envy and pettiness." He was not unaware, besides, that "controversy is the pedestal of celebrities" (Lost Illusions). He sometimes gave in to the risk of lending the flank to the caricatures. It must also be said that nothing was spared him: neither the repeated trials nor the most delusional calumnies. One day he is presented as a Zionist, following him as an anti-Semite. Designated as Islamophobic in the morning, portrayed as an Islamist in the evening. Some want to silence him by all means. The release of his book of chronicles, A quinquennium for nothing (2016), is torpedoed. Its space of expression is reduced from year to year: in spite of hearings at the top, i-Télé suddenly dismisses it in December 2014, today RTL withdraws its editorial ...

A Drancy, où il a vécu jusqu'à ses 11 ans. Il arpente le parc où il faisait du toboggan et jouait au foot avec ses copains. Le décor de la résidence Faidherbe est resté identique. Ce sont les acteurs qui ont changé.
In Drancy, where he lived until he was 11 years old. He walked the park where he tobogganed and played football with his friends. The decor of the Faidherbe residence has remained the same. It's the actors who have changed.

The trap is close to closing on him. Zemmour could have fired any wood. On the contrary, it avoids outbidding. Understands that he must not become a talk show figure and is becoming rare. Like the Count of Monte Cristo, he meditates his revenge. It will take the form of French destinylishhis work is both the most personal and the most accomplished. He could have done the following French suicide. On the contrary, he chose to write the book of genesis. His own genesis and that of France today. Suicide ... told the forty years that defeated France; Destiny ... revisits the thousand and five hundred years that made the Great Nation. A titanic job that took him three and a half years. A meticulous Stakhanovist, Zemmour rewrote every chapter dozens of times. With breath and style, he confronts his masters: Michelet, Bainville, Taine. But also because France is a literary nation, Bossuet, Voltaire, Rousseau, Hugo and of course Balzac.

Make no mistake: his latest book is not just a monumental history book. Admittedly, the essayist embarks the reader in "the machine to go back in time", from Clovis to Joan of Arc, from the Crusades to the Wars of Religion, from the absolute monarchy to the Revolution, from the Empire to the Republic, from the Great War to the "funny war", from Petain to de Gaulle, from Beauvoir to Butler (American philosopher, specialist in gender studies), but it's mostly a book by Eric Zemmour. His domestic national novel. The author gives up nothing of what made his success as fed the anger of his adversaries: the formulas that cut through life, the vertiginous historical analogies, systemic theories, debatable shortcuts, outrageous paradoxes, the refusal to spare the susceptibilities and the pleasure of displeasing the clergy of the time. If Zemmour explores the past, it is once again to better deconstruct the dogmas and blindness of the present. Zemmour remains Zemmour. A warrior. His sword is his pen.

The revenge of history

His homeland? Heir to the Roman Empire, the originality of French civilization was to melt and amalgamate Mediterranean elements and barbaric elements, says Eric Zemmour. "France was, by its Mediterranean coast, in intimate contact with the worlds Greek, Roman, Byzantine; by its Atlantic coast, with the Scandinavian Vikings; by its Pyrenean border, with Islam; by the Rhine, with the Barbarians, "he writes. But the unity of this complex mixture, which made our strength as our weakness, could be maintained, according to him, only by a strong state and after a series of bloody internal wars.

À l'époque révolue du contrôle des changes, le carnet nécessaire pour passer les frontières.
In the bygone era of exchange control, the notebook needed to cross borders. - Photo credits: Personal archives

Eric Zemmour refuses to apply to History our contemporary morality. We can blame him for always distrusting emotion, never being a Manichaean. At home, nothing is ever all white or all black: everything is gray. Heroes act like bastards, bastards like heroes. The weak as strong, strong as weak. Zemmour dismounts the black legends one by one: those of the crusades, wars of religion, colonization, France collabo. Montaigne said that he loved Paris "even in its warts and its spots". Zemmour takes up the famous word of Bonaparte: "From Clovis to the Committee of Public Safety, I assume everything." At the risk of shocking, he prolongs it: "From Clovis to Petain and Bugeaud, I assume everything." No to rehabilitate Vichy, as good consciences are indignant at it. But because he knows that history is complex, tragic. For Zemmour, she does not repeat herself, she takes revenge. And the deadly poison of repentance infuses the new civil wars to come.

With French destinyZemmour shows all those who wanted to reduce him to the role of controversial champion of the buzz that he is much more than that: an intellectual and a writer.


The editorial advises you:


Alexandre Devecchio

Journalist at Figaro and responsible for FigaroVox.

Source: ©Algeria, Drancy ... Éric Zemmour reveals his past

13 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

L'Algérie, Drancy... Éric Zemmour se livre sur son passé

Home»A LA UNE»L’Algérie, Drancy… Éric Zemmour se livre sur son passé
L'Algérie, Drancy... Éric Zemmour se livre sur son passé

Destin français, le nouvel ouvrage d’Éric Zemmour, est une méditation puissante et profonde sur l’Histoire. Fidèle à lui-même, l’essayiste revisite le passé pour mieux déconstruire le présent. Surprise : dans une introduction poignante en forme de confession, il lève aussi le voile sur son enfance et sa famille.

«On est de son enfance comme on est d’un pays», écrivait Saint-Exupéry. Et pour comprendre Eric Zemmour, c’est à cette source qu’il faut puiser. Son nom commence par un Z, comme Zorro, mais à 10 ans, Zemmour rêve d’être Bonaparte. Il dévore le Napoléon d’André Castelot, «avec sa couverture verte cartonnée», que sa mère lui a offert pour son anniversaire. Son esprit vagabonde en 1800 au milieu des champs de bataille. Il revit l’épopée impériale. Sur son cheval au galop, l’enfant coiffé de son bicorne charge avec les soldats de la Grande Armée, vibre à la victoire d’Austerlitz et pleure après la retraite de Russie et Waterloo. Plus tard, il découvre Illusions perdues. Balzac est son Vautrin, qui lui apprend à grandir. C’est décidé, faute de pouvoir être empereur, il sera Rubempré. A moins qu’il ne soit l’auteur de La Comédie humaine lui-même. «Dès l’enfance, j’avais compris que la France était ce pays singulier fait de héros et d’écrivains, de héros qui se prétendaient écrivains, et d’écrivains qui se rêvaient en héros», écrit-il dans Destin français.

Tenant l'un de ses oncles par la main, Eric Zemmour dans les rues de Drancy où il vécut une grande partie de son enfance.
Tenant l’un de ses oncles par la main, Eric Zemmour dans les rues de Drancy où il vécut une grande partie de son enfance. – Crédits photo : D.R

L’une des immenses surprises des 569 pages foisonnantes de son nouvel essai, concerne les 40 premières. A 60 ans, dans une introduction poignante en forme de confession, l’essayiste révèle la part de lui-même la plus précieuse, celle qu’il gardait jusqu’ici jalousement pour lui: sa part d’enfance. Il a fallu six mois à Lise Boëll, la directrice éditoriale essais et documents d’Albin Michel, pour convaincre ce grand pudique de se livrer. Zemmour se moque d’être aimé. Il veut convaincre par ses idées, pas par ce qu’il est. Par la raison, pas par l’émotion. Et pourtant, comment ne pas être touché par le destin du petit Zemmour et de sa famille? Comme Camus avait dédié Le Premier Homme, son œuvre la plus personnelle, à sa mère, Zemmour dédie son livre à ses parents. Ils ont connu la tragédie des rapatriés jetés à la mer avec une valise en carton. Pour autant, ils n’en ont conçu aucune rancune à l’égard de la France. «La France, c’était la vie ; l’Algérie, la nostalgie. La France, la grande nation ; l’Algérie, la petite patrie», résume Zemmour. A la maison, on chante Aznavour dans la journée et Oum Kalsoum la nuit. Son père parle arabe dans les cafés de la Goutte-d’Or, mais tient la littérature française pour ce qu’il y a de plus grand au monde, et note avec soin sur un calepin les phrases de Victor Hugo…

Un jour, peu de temps avant sa mort, il confie à son fils: «J’en ai assez d’entendre à la télévision “les Juifs de France”. Je ne suis pas un Juif de France, je suis un Français juif. Je ne suis pas un étranger ni un immigré…» Cette phrase dit presque tout d’Eric Zemmour. Elle résume le sens de son combat. Non pas pour la pureté ethnique, comme l’affirment ses détracteurs qui n’ont rien compris. Mais pour l’assimilation par la transmission et la culture. «Je n’ai pas une goutte de sang français, mais la France coule dans mes veines», disait Romain Gary. «L’histoire de France coulait dans mes veines», écrit Zemmour.

La France comme paradis perdu

Pour l’émission Les Terriens du dimanche! de Thierry Ardisson, qui sera diffusée le 16 septembre à 19h05 sur C8, Zemmour est retourné à Drancy. Là où il a passé ses jeunes années. Depuis ses 11 ans, il n’y était jamais revenu.

Les premiers bains de mer.
Les premiers bains de mer. – Crédits photo : D.R

Derrière son éternel sourire malicieux, Zemmour masque mal son trouble. Il s’arrête longuement devant le numéro 22 où logeait sa famille au rez-de-chaussée. Il arpente le parc où il faisait du toboggan et jouait au foot avec ses copains. La résidence Faidherbe n’a pas vraiment changé. Le décor est resté identique. La petite barre est restée la même. Ce sont les acteurs qui ont changé. Dans le parc, Zemmour croise une jeune fille voilée. «A mon époque, cela aurait été impensable», glisse-t-il. Le petit Zemmour a grandi dans les années 1960 dans une France où l’expression «le vivre-ensemble» n’existait pas, mais où la cohésion nationale et le sentiment d’appartenance étaient une réalité. Dans la banlieue d’avant le regroupement familial et les caïds de la drogue, d’avant les barbus et les burqas. «Je n’ai aucun mauvais souvenir ici, à part celui d’être parti. C’était un havre de paix, un paradis», explique l’essayiste. Zemmour sera à jamais inconsolable de ce paradis perdu, de cette France pacifiée qu’il refuse de voir disparaître pour toujours.

«Éric Zemmour a retourné la situation et montré à toute la tablée que le con, ça n’était pas lui…»

Très tôt, bien avant Charlie et le Bataclan, il a tout vu: le multiculturalisme et l’antiracisme militant conjugués à l’immigration de masse, la réduction de l’histoire de France à ses «heures les plus sombres», l’individualisme consumériste exacerbé par la mondialisation soi-disant heureuse, devaient compromettre l’assimilation des nouveaux venus et attiser le feu identitaire. Rétrospectivement, Le Suicide français (2014) apparaît en tout point prophétique. Son succès phénoménal (500.000 exemplaires vendus) prouve qu’il faisait écho à l’angoisse sourde qui habitait beaucoup de Français. Mais comme le disait Nicolas de Chamfort: «En France, on laisse en repos ceux qui mettent le feu et on persécute ceux qui sonnent le tocsin.» Tant que les salons parisiens pensaient pouvoir le tourner en ridicule, Zemmour était toléré. Comme Michel Onfray l’a noté dans FigaroVox avec son sens de la formule habituel: «Invité en bout de table, pour le dîner de cons, oui, mais Eric Zemmour a retourné la situation et montré à toute la tablée que le con, ça n’était pas lui…» Ils ne lui ont pas pardonné. Nourri au lait de Balzac, Zemmour avait appris «à connaître les hommes, les femmes, à les craindre et s’en méfier, à ne rien attendre d’eux sinon l’envie et la mesquinerie». Il n’ignorait pas, en outre, que «la polémique est le piédestal des célébrités»(Illusions perdues). Il y a cédé parfois au risque de prêter le flanc aux caricatures. Il faut dire aussi que rien ne lui fut épargné: ni les procès à répétition, ni les calomnies les plus délirantes. Un jour il est présenté comme sioniste, le suivant comme antisémite. Désigné comme islamophobe le matin, portraituré en islamiste le soir. Certains veulent le faire taire par tous les moyens. La sortie de son livre de chroniques, Un quinquennat pour rien (2016), est torpillée. Son espace d’expression se réduit d’année en année: malgré des audiences au sommet, i-Télé le congédie brutalement en décembre 2014, aujourd’hui RTL lui retire son édito…

A Drancy, où il a vécu jusqu'à ses 11 ans. Il arpente le parc où il faisait du toboggan et jouait au foot avec ses copains. Le décor de la résidence Faidherbe est resté identique. Ce sont les acteurs qui ont changé.
A Drancy, où il a vécu jusqu’à ses 11 ans. Il arpente le parc où il faisait du toboggan et jouait au foot avec ses copains. Le décor de la résidence Faidherbe est resté identique. Ce sont les acteurs qui ont changé.

Le piège manque de peu de se refermer sur lui. Zemmour aurait pu faire feu de tout bois. Il évite au contraire la surenchère. Comprend qu’il ne doit pas devenir une figure de talk-show et se fait rare. Tel le comte de Monte-Cristo, il médite sa revanche. Elle prendra la forme de Destin français, son œuvre à la fois la plus personnelle et la plus accomplie. Il aurait pu faire la suite du Suicide français. Il a au contraire choisi d’écrire le livre de la genèse. Sa propre genèse et celle de la France d’aujourd’hui. Le Suicide… racontait les quarante années qui ont défait la France ; Destin… revisite les mille cinq cents ans qui ont fait la Grande Nation. Un travail titanesque qui lui a pris trois ans et demi. Stakhanoviste méticuleux, Zemmour réécrit chaque chapitre des dizaines de fois. Avec souffle et style, il se confronte à ses maîtres: Michelet, Bainville, Taine. Mais aussi parce que la France est une nation littéraire, à Bossuet, Voltaire, Rousseau, Hugo et bien sûr Balzac.

Qu’on ne s’y trompe pas: son dernier ouvrage n’est pas seulement un monumental livre d’histoire. Certes, l’essayiste embarque le lecteur dans «la machine à remonter le temps», de Clovis à Jeanne d’Arc, des croisades aux guerres de Religion, de la monarchie absolue à la Révolution, de l’Empire à la République, de la Grande Guerre à la «drôle de guerre», de Pétain à de Gaulle, de Beauvoir à Butler (philosophe américaine, spécialiste des études de genre), mais c’est surtout un livre d’Eric Zemmour. Son roman national intérieur. L’auteur ne renonce à rien de ce qui a fait son succès comme nourri l’ire de ses adversaires: les formules qui tranchent dans le vif, les analogies historiques vertigineuses, les théories systémiques, les raccourcis discutables, les paradoxes scandaleux, le refus de ménager les susceptibilités et le plaisir de déplaire au clergé de l’époque. Si Zemmour explore le passé, c’est encore une fois pour mieux déconstruire les dogmes et les aveuglements du présent. Zemmour reste Zemmour. Un guerrier. Son épée est sa plume.

L'Algérie, Drancy... Éric Zemmour se livre sur son passé

Les vengeances de l’histoire

Sa patrie? Héritière de l’Empire romain, l’originalité de la civilisation française fut de fondre et d’amalgamer des éléments méditerranéens et des éléments barbares, nous dit Eric Zemmour. «La France fut, par sa côte méditerranéenne, en contact intime avec les mondes grec, romain, byzantin ; par sa côte atlantique, avec les Vikings scandinaves ; par sa frontière pyrénéenne, avec l’Islam ; par le Rhin, avec les Barbares», écrit-il. Mais l’unité de ce mélange complexe, qui fit notre force comme notre faiblesse, ne put être maintenue, selon lui, que par un Etat fort et après une série de guerres intestines sanglantes.

À l'époque révolue du contrôle des changes, le carnet nécessaire pour passer les frontières.
À l’époque révolue du contrôle des changes, le carnet nécessaire pour passer les frontières. – Crédits photo : Archives personnelles

Eric Zemmour refuse d’appliquer à l’Histoire notre morale contemporaine. On pourra lui reprocher de se défier toujours de l’émotion, jamais d’être manichéen. Chez lui, rien n’est jamais tout blanc ou tout noir: tout est gris. Les héros agissent comme des salauds, les salauds comme des héros. Les faibles comme des forts, les forts comme des faibles. Zemmour démonte les légendes noires une par une: celles des croisades, des guerres de Religion, de la colonisation, de la France collabo. Montaigne disait qu’il aimait Paris «jusque dans ses verrues et ses taches». Zemmour reprend le mot célèbre de Bonaparte: «De Clovis au Comité de salut public, j’assume tout.» Au risque de choquer, il le prolonge: «De Clovis à Pétain et à Bugeaud, j’assume tout.» Non pour réhabiliter Vichy, comme les bonnes consciences s’en indignent. Mais parce qu’il sait que l’Histoire est complexe, tragique. Pour Zemmour, elle ne se répète pas, elle se venge. Et le poison mortifère de la repentance infuse les nouvelles guerres civiles à venir.

L'Algérie, Drancy... Éric Zemmour se livre sur son passé

Avec Destin français, Zemmour montre à tous ceux qui voulaient le réduire au rôle de polémiste champion du buzz qu’il est bien plus que cela: un intellectuel et un écrivain.


La rédaction vous conseille :


L'Algérie, Drancy... Éric Zemmour se livre sur son passé

Alexandre Devecchio

Journaliste au Figaro et responsable du FigaroVox.

Source : ©L’Algérie, Drancy… Éric Zemmour se livre sur son passé

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais