Should the Bayeux tapestry travel?

Home"Anciens2"Should the Bayeux tapestry travel?
7 Partages
The Bayeux tapestry, 70 meters long and 50 centimeters high. - Photo credits: S.Maurice / Bayeux Museum

CHRONICLE - The decision to exhibit the famous embroidery across the Channel is stirring. The British, fascinated by this eleventh century masterpiece, consider that it belongs to their history.

It is a wooden box lined with tin, with inside a large wooden spool, made by Godefroy, carpenter in Bayeux. It is still in the reserves, at Museum of Tapestry, testimony of the very political role played by this fragile monument held hostage by the vagaries of history.

It is in this makeshift packaging that the long linen canvas embroidered at the end of the eleventh century made its last excursion: the Nazis, claiming to study the object scientifically, and who had stayed a long time in the city to appraise it, had taken it away. She did not have time to go to Berlin. It is the only work of art that General von Choltitz, who tells it in his Memoirs, had orders to save before burning Paris. At the Liberation, briefly attached to the Louvre before returning to Normandy, she was acclaimed, testimony of the victorious past of France.

She had survived the Revolution thanks to a brave man, Lambert-Leonard Le Forestier, who had opposed those who wanted to make tarpaulins

It was the second time that "the tapestry" came to Paris after nearly perishing. She had survived the Revolution thanks to a courageous man, Lambert-Leonard Le Forestier, who had opposed those who wanted to make tarpaulins. In 1804, Dominique Vivant Denon, to demonstrate that invading England was possible since it was done in 1066, had exhibited this treasure in what was called the Napoleon Museum in the Louvre. The affirmation of a mythical link with Mathilde de Flandre, wife of William and daughter of a princess of France, who can be imagined no more than a handmade needle, came in these years of the Empire to reinforce the national dimension that surrounds the embroidery.

Political symbol

The British, however, consider that it belongs to the adventure of their people. Charles Stothard of the Society of Antique Dealers of London, who came to copy it at Bayeux in 1816, stole a fragment of it, an interesting symbolic appropriation. The British royal family remains very attached to this founding document. Charles and Diana, in 1987, went to Bayeux. Do the Spencer really come down from one of Guillaume's companions named Despenser? The Prince of Wales offered to the museum a facsimile of the Domesday Book, the census of the lands which the Normans had divided in 1086, an act at the origin of the British aristocracy. In 2014, embroiderers from Aurigny, a neighboring Anglo-Norman island in Guernsey, were visited by the Prince of Wales, accompanied by Camilla. In front of the photographers, he himself embroidered a part of an astonishing recreation: passionate people had imagined the last scene of the tapestry, which Bayeux lacks: William's coronation at Westminster.

In Brexit's time, to make travel this insignificant masterpiece, extremely fragile, shows how its meaning remains political. The decision can not belong to the Head of State, being a work whose property was attributed in the nineteenth century to the Bayeux Library. It is up to Antoine Verney, chief curator of the Bayeux museums, who now has custody of it, and the scientific committee that will not fail to meet, to decide if a trip is possible during an exhibition. which could be held at the British Museum. It will undoubtedly require another box than the one that had to improvise the carpenter Godefroy ...


Source: ©  Should the Bayeux tapestry travel?

7 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

La tapisserie de Bayeux doit-elle voyager ?

Home»Anciens2»La tapisserie de Bayeux doit-elle voyager ?
La tapisserie de Bayeux doit-elle voyager ?
La tapisserie de Bayeux, 70 mètres de long sur 50 centimètres de haut. – Crédits photo : S.Maurice/Musée de Bayeux

CHRONIQUE – La décision d’exposer la célèbre broderie outre-Manche suscite des remous. Les Britanniques, fascinés par ce chef-d’œuvre du XIe siècle, considèrent qu’elle appartient à leur histoire.

C’est une caisse de bois doublée de fer-blanc, avec à l’intérieur une grosse bobine de bois, fabriquée par Godefroy, menuisier à Bayeux. Elle se trouve encore dans les réserves, au Musée de la tapisserie, témoignage du rôle très politique joué par ce fragile monument pris en otage par les aléas de l’histoire.

C’est dans cet emballage de fortune que la longue toile de lin brodée à la fin du XIe siècle a effectué sa dernière excursion: les nazis, prétendant étudier scientifiquement l’objet, et qui étaient restés longtemps dans la ville pour l’expertiser, l’avaient emportée. Elle n’eut pas le temps d’aller jusqu’à Berlin. C’est la seule œuvre d’art que le général von Choltitz, qui le raconte dans ses Mémoires, avait ordre de sauver avant de brûler Paris. À la Libération, brièvement accrochée au Louvre avant de revenir en Normandie, elle fut acclamée, témoignage du passé victorieux de la France.

Elle avait survécu à la Révolution grâce à un homme courageux, Lambert-Léonard Le Forestier, qui s’était opposé à ceux qui voulaient en faire des toiles de bâche

C’était la seconde fois que «la tapisserie» venait à Paris après avoir failli périr. Elle avait survécu à la Révolution grâce à un homme courageux, Lambert-Léonard Le Forestier, qui s’était opposé à ceux qui voulaient en faire des toiles de bâche. En 1804, Dominique Vivant Denon, pour démontrer qu’envahir l’Angleterre était possible puisqu’on l’avait fait en 1066, avait exposé ce trésor dans ce qui s’appelait le Musée Napoléon, au Louvre. L’affirmation d’un lien mythique avec Mathilde de Flandre, femme de Guillaume et fille d’une princesse de France, qu’on n’imagine plus qu’une aiguille à la main, vint dans ces années de l’Empire renforcer la dimension nationale qui entoure la broderie.

Symbole politique

Les Britanniques considèrent pourtant qu’elle appartient à l’aventure de leur peuple. Charles Stothard, de la Société des antiquaires de Londres, venu la copier à Bayeux en 1816, en déroba un fragment, intéressante appropriation symbolique. La famille royale britannique reste très attachée à ce document fondateur. Charles et Diana, en 1987, se sont rendus à Bayeux. Les Spencer descendent-ils vraiment d’un des compagnons de Guillaume nommé le Despenser? Le prince de Galles offrit au musée un fac-similé du Domesday Book, le recensement des terres que les Normands s’étaient réparties en 1086, acte à l’origine de l’aristocratie britannique. En 2014, des brodeuses d’Aurigny, île Anglo-Normande voisine de Guernesey, reçurent la visite du prince de Galles, accompagné de Camilla. Devant les photographes, il a brodé lui-même une partie d’une étonnante recréation: des passionnés avaient imaginé la dernière scène de la tapisserie, qui manque à Bayeux: le couronnement de Guillaume à Westminster.

Par temps de Brexit, faire voyager ce chef-d’œuvre insigne, d’une extrême fragilité, montre à quel point sa signification demeure politique. La décision ne saurait appartenir au chef de l’État, s’agissant d’une œuvre dont la propriété a été attribuée au XIXe siècle à la bibliothèque de Bayeux. Il revient à Antoine Verney, conservateur en chef des musées de Bayeux, qui en a aujourd’hui la garde, et au comité scientifique qui ne manquera pas de se réunir, de décider si un voyage est envisageable à l’occasion d’une exposition qui pourrait se tenir au British Museum. Il faudra sans doute une autre caisse que celle qu’avait dû improviser le menuisier Godefroy…


Source:©  La tapisserie de Bayeux doit-elle voyager ?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais