The total abolition of the housing tax will ultimately be financed by ... the deficit

Home"Anciens1"The total abolition of the housing tax will ultimately be financed by ... the deficit
15 Partages
La suppression totale de la taxe d'habitation sera finalement financée par... le déficit

EXCLUSIVE - In 2022, public finances will be in equilibrium and not in a slight surplus of 0.3 point of GDP, as previously planned. And again, not to mention the recovery of the debt of the SNCF.

A fiscal gift financed by the deficit, as in the old world ... The Philippe government finally decided to finance total removal of the housing tax by letting a little more than expected the public deficit, we learn from reading the report preparatory to the policy debate of public finances, which Le Figaro has known. The extension of the suppression of the local tax from 80% to 100% of the households, decided last summer, will cost 10,5 billion euros to the State, as compensation to be paid to the local authorities, which collect the housing tax.

A small part (between 2.5 and 3 billion euros) of this tax relief will be financed by maintaining the equivalent of a housing tax on second homes and vacant housing. The rest, about 6.5 billion according to Bercy's latest calculations, will be financed by the additional public deficit. "The trajectory retains the abolition of the tax by the end of the five-year period, taking into account at this stage, as the underlying assumption, the maintenance of a taxation of second homes," says the government in its report.

In detail, the deficit targets from 2020 to 2022 have been revised upwards compared to the stability program sent to the European Commission in April (-1.1% of GDP in 2020 instead of -0.9%, -0.6% in 2021 against -0.3%, and finally 0% in leu of + 0.3%). The only exception to this upward revision, the year 2019, where the deficit will be slightly lower than expected (-2.3% instead of -2.4%).

"The revised trajectory remains in line with the presidential commitment to reduce by three points the weight of the public debt in GDP, five points debt and a point of compulsory levies," says Bercy. And, compared to the starting point, which is the public finance programming law presented last autumn, there is no deterioration in our objectives. "

The deficit could be revised up again

Note that this new trajectory does not take into account the recovery of SNCF's debt. However, this operation should increase the deficit by an additional 2 to 3 billion euros, that is, by about 0.1 percentage point of GDP. "Following this reclassification, SNCF Réseau's annual deficit would be added to the general government deficit, which would increase it from € 2bn to € 3bn according to the current estimate," is it also written? in the preparatory report to the policy debate on public finances. However, "pending a final decision by the national accounting officer on the treatment to be applied to SNCF Réseau, and given the extent of the uncertainty, the choice was made not to attribute the recovery to an arbitrary date. debt on the path of public finances ".

The deficit trajectory should therefore be further modified in September, when the draft budget for 2019 is presented. The growth and inflation assumptions should also be revised, at least in 2018.


The editorial advises you:


La suppression totale de la taxe d'habitation sera finalement financée par... le déficit

Guillaume Guichard

Journalist

Taxation, state budget, local finances


Source: ©The total abolition of the housing tax will ultimately be financed by ... the deficit

15 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

La suppression totale de la taxe d'habitation sera finalement financée par... le déficit

Home»Anciens1»La suppression totale de la taxe d’habitation sera finalement financée par… le déficit
La suppression totale de la taxe d'habitation sera finalement financée par... le déficit

EXCLUSIF – En 2022, les finances publiques seront pile à l’équilibre et non pas en léger excédent de 0,3 point de PIB, comme prévu précédemment. Et encore, sans compter la reprise de la dette de la SNCF.

Un cadeau fiscal financé par le déficit, comme dans l’ancien monde… Le gouvernement Philippe a finalement décidé de financer la suppression totale de la taxe d’habitation en laissant filer un peu plus que prévu le déficit public, apprend-on à la lecture du Rapport préparatoire au débat d’orientation des finances publiques, dont Le Figaro a eu connaissance. L’extension de la suppression de l’impôt local de 80% à 100% des ménages, décidé l’été dernier, coûtera 10,5 milliards d’euros à l’État, au titre des dédommagements à verser aux collectivités locales, qui perçoivent la taxe d’habitation.

Une petite partie (entre 2,5 et 3 milliards d’euros) de cet allégement fiscal sera financée par le maintien de l’équivalent d’une taxe d’habitation sur les résidences secondaires et les logements vacants. Le reste, c’est-à-dire environ 6,5 milliards selon les derniers calculs de Bercy, sera financé par le déficit public supplémentaire. «La trajectoire retient la suppression de la taxe d’ici la fin du quinquennat, en prenant en compte à ce stade, comme hypothèse sous-jacente, le maintien d’une imposition des résidences secondaires», explique le gouvernement dans son rapport.

Dans le détail, les objectifs de déficit de 2020 à 2022 ont été revus à la hausse par rapport au programme de stabilité envoyé à la Commission européenne en avril (-1,1 % du PIB en 2020 au lieu de -0,9%, -0,6% en 2021 contre -0,3%, et enfin 0% au leu de +0,3%). Seule exception à cette révision à la hausse, l’année 2019, où le déficit sera légèrement plus bas que prévu (-2,3% au lieu de -2,4%).

«La trajectoire révisée reste conforme à l’engagement présidentiel de réduire de trois points le poids de la dette publique dans le PIB, de cinq points la dette et d’un point des prélèvements obligatoires, insiste-t-on à Bercy. Et, par rapport à au point de départ qui est la loi de programmation des finances publiques présentée à l’automne dernier, il n’y a pas de dégradation de nos objectifs.»

Le déficit pourrait être révisé encore à la hausse

À noter, cette nouvelle trajectoire ne prend pas en compte la reprise de la dette de la SNCF. Or, cette opération devrait alourdir le déficit de 2 à 3 milliards d’euros supplémentaires, c’est-à-dire d’environ 0,1 point de PIB. «Suite à ce reclassement, le déficit annuel de SNCF Réseau s’ajouterait au déficit de l’ensemble des administrations publiques, ce qui l’augmenterait de 2 Md€ à 3 Md€ selon l’estimation actuelle», est-il également écrit dans le rapport préparatoire au débat d’orientation des finances publiques. Toutefois, «dans l’attente d’une décision définitive du comptable national sur le traitement à appliquer à SNCF Réseau, et étant donné l’ampleur de l’incertitude, le choix a été fait de ne pas imputer à une date arbitraire la reprise de dette sur la trajectoire de finances publiques».

La trajectoire de déficit devrait donc être davantage modifiée encore en septembre, lors de la présentation du projet de budget pour 2019. Les hypothèses de croissance et d’inflation devraient en outre être révisées, au moins en 2018.


La rédaction vous conseille :


La suppression totale de la taxe d'habitation sera finalement financée par... le déficit

Guillaume Guichard

Journaliste

Fiscalité, budget de l’État, finances locales


Source : ©La suppression totale de la taxe d’habitation sera finalement financée par… le déficit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais