French diplomacy split over Viktor Orban case

Home"TO THE ONE"French diplomacy split over Viktor Orban case
995 Partages

INQUIRY - The "fleeing" note of the French ambassador in Budapest, which nuances the judgment on the Hungarian prime minister, regularly criticized by Brussels for his illiberal inclination, has exposed a line of fracture in diplomacy French.

French flag floating in the front of his jeep, the French ambassador to Georgia Éric Fournier sailed that day between the columns of Russian tanks advancing on the road to Gori. In the middle of the Russo-Georgian war, his aim was to go and bring "symbolic relief" to a military base located at Satchkere in the mountains of the country, a base that had been equipped by France. In August 2008, the atmosphere was more than volatile on the French diplomatic front, in the front line to ensure compliance with the ceasefire that President Sarkozy had wrenched from Russia. Ambassador Fournier had heard of the intention of a Chechen battalion integrated with the Russian forces to destroy the said base. "We are not going to be dangling," he said ... As night fell, we reached Satchkere. Fournier had the French flag hoisted on the base. "This moral support is crucial," commented Commander Tarel Tarakadze excitedly about the ambassador's "artagnanesque" gesture.

Éric Fournier, then ambassador of France to Georgia, in May 2008. - Photo credits: Stringer Russia / REUTERS

Ten years later, ambassador Éric Fournier - who went through the management of continental Europe, where he handled the Russian issue with a "realism" that his former Georgian friends thought too complacent - is back under the media lights.

But this time he does not expect it. While preparing for his departure from Budapest, where he has been ambassador for three years, an article Mediapart on June 29, resuming a confidential diplomatic dispatch that he drafted and which visibly leaked via an ill-intentioned colleague. «The French ambassador to Hungary supports Viktor Orban», title the site on line Mediapart, quoting excerpts from this confidential note which aims to question the "magyarophobia" that would color the media coverage of events in Hungary. Fournier sweeps the accusations of "anti-Semitism" and "populism" hanging over the Orban government, saying that Hungary is "like Real Madrid of Europe", because it was the first to build a tight borderand, from this point of view, "passes" "for a model" in the eyes of a growing number of countries.

Support to Jewish culture

The text, that Le Figaro has been able to consult, gives pride to the Orban government and does not address the issue of attacks against counter-powers, which weakens it. But it's less caricatural than what Mediapart retains. Fournier brings interesting insights into the nature and reality of "Hungarian anti-Semitism," which qualifies the dominant doxa on Hungary, namely that of a country drifting inexorably towards a fascist dictatorship worthy of the 1930s. The bottom of the air is not brown, he says, believing that the anti-Soros Hungarian campaign (Hungarian-born American magnate whose NGO has just moved to Berlin after the adoption of a law targeting her in Hungary) is linked to her advocacy of open borders and not to the fact that she is Jewish. In support of his demonstration, he cites Orban's "zero tolerance" for anti-Semitism and his support for Jewish culture. It evokes the point of view of Nobel Imre Kertesz, survivor of Auschwitz who claimed to feel completely free to be a Jew in Hungary. Fournier also handed the Hungarian decision to insert a Christian reference in the constitution in its historical context, noting that this does not prevent Hungary from being secular.

»READ ALSO - In Hungary, at the heart of the passions of identity of Central Europe

But Mediapart, who does not at all have the same indulgence "for the Christian obsession" of Orban, has fine game to highlight Fournier's un-diplomatic and improper conclusion, on the fact that "the new modern anti-Semitism" does not not located in Hungarian land but in "the Muslims of France". "What is shocking is the stigmatization of a community as a whole," said Judge Agnes von der Mühll, spokeswoman for the Quai d'Orsay.

"Method of intimidation"

So, on the morning of June 29, when the journalist from Mediapart asks Emmanuel Macron to comment on his ambassador's remarks in Budapest, the president, who has just negotiated an agreement all the night on migration to 27 countries, is cutting: "I do not share the words you just reported, he replied about Fournier's telegram, particularly the sentence relating to Muslims, noting that if it had been pronounced publicly, the ambassador would have been "immediately dismissed". "The non-cooperative nationalist game is not worthy of what made Europe, born of the mistakes of the last world conflicts. But it is also deeply ineffective, "he adds, noting, however, that Fournier's dispatch was not intended to be published and therefore does not have to be sanctioned.

At the Quai d'Orsay, it adds that "the remarks to which the article of Mediapart come from an unsolicited and unwelcome comment by its author to which it has been firmly reminded of the need for a precise and measured expression ". The ambassador, whose return is done in the framework of a normal rotation, is summoned finally to rally Paris, before the festival of July 14, that he had to organize in Budapest. One way to punish him, deplores the Hungarian Minister of Justice Laszlo Trocsanyi, stating that he suddenly decided not to be present.

»READ ALSO - Eric Zemmour: "To the east, new"

When we try to sound French diplomats on the Fournier episode, several elements emerge. The first is that the ambassador went astray and gave himself up to a dangerous panegyric of Orban. "He understands nothing, says a specialist in the region who considers it" unreliable ", one day ready to eat Russian, and the next day the opposite." "Do not see that Orban instrumentalises Hungarian anti-Semitism in the Soros is denying the obvious! "On the other hand, another ambassador who" likes ", has" no criticism to make "," if not the conclusion on French Muslims who has a suicidal side. "The fact of fleeing a telegram is a method of intimidation," he says, regretting "the freedom of tone of the past and the rise of a neoconservative line on" liberal values ​​", which is detrimental to" the realistic school "".

"Fleeing a telegram is a method of intimidation"

A third heavyweight of the diplomacy judges "justified the will to explain the springs of the success of Orban", but warns against "the Stockholm syndrome" which sometimes pushes the diplomats to become the apologists of the countries which they describe . The evolution of Hungary requires "extreme vigilance" on the issue of "growing gaps", he says, concerned about the "shrinking civil liberties, including the NGO law, which draws a drift to the Russian". He is also concerned about the virulence of Orban's criticism of the EU. "We end up wondering why he stays!"

Behind these reactions, a real "subject" emerges. That of the perplexity and disagreements that tear France and Europe on how to manage the phenomenon Orban, and beyond, the populist rebellion that defies the EU. Perhaps a little clumsy, Fournier's text tries to convey the idea that the reading of the Hungarian reality must be less binary, notes the journalist Françoise Pons, author of a book on Hungary who wants to take account the long time to enlighten this policy. Pons rebels against a media coverage dependent, which is exclusively informed by liberal leftist circles. "There is anger today that the conservative powers want to put the institutions under control, but it was the same with the old liberal leftist teams," she says, saying that "the systematic criticisms formulated are also the result a great lack of knowledge ". Pons reports that he went to the EU's Venice Commission to verify the democratic nature of the laws during a session on the 2012 Hungarian law on religious freedom, which was then widely criticized. She was shocked to see the rapporteur list a long list of objections before concluding that the law remained "very generous" and then conceding, on the record, that it "was among the two or three most liberal laws in Europe. ".

"PEP Awareness Review"

At a recent conference in Berlin last week by the German Marshall Fund on the future of conservatism in Europe, many speakers cautioned against confusing criticisms of Poland and Hungary. Confusing the attacks on democracy, which must be fought on foot, and the defense of traditional values ​​or national sovereignty in immigration - ideological choices that ultimately belong to the people - is a trap to be avoided. noted the American Jeff Gedmin. The conference spent a lot of time thinking about the topics that should be "banned", and those whose right-wing parties should seize to steal the initiative from the populists. "This is exactly the examination of conscience that will face the EPP, in the run-up to the European elections," noted a diplomat, noting that the retention or not of Orban in this parliamentary group, was the question of the moment. A priori, an expulsion seems more than improbable because Europe "urbanizes", he noted.


The editorial advises you:


Laure Mandeville 

Journalist

Source: © French diplomacy split over Viktor Orban case

995 Partages

One Response to "La diplomatie française divisée face au cas Viktor Orban"

  1. Disraeli   6 July 2018 at 1 h 34 min

    Do not forget that in matters of Islam, Hungary has been occupied by the Ottoman Empire for more than a century and that it has not left very good memories.

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

La diplomatie française divisée face au cas Viktor Orban

Home»A LA UNE»La diplomatie française divisée face au cas Viktor Orban
La diplomatie française divisée face au cas Viktor Orban

ENQUÊTE – La note «fuitée» de l’ambassadeur de France à Budapest, qui nuance le jugement à porter sur le premier ministre hongrois, régulièrement tancé par Bruxelles pour son penchant illibéral, a mis au jour une ligne de fracture au sein de la diplomatie française.

Drapeau français flottant à l’avant de sa jeep, l’ambassadeur de France en Géorgie Éric Fournier naviguait ce jour-là entre les colonnes de chars russes qui avançaient sur la route de Gori. En pleine guerre russo-géorgienne, son but était d’aller porter «un secours symbolique» à une base militaire située à Satchkere dans les montagnes du pays, base qui avait été équipée par la France. En ce mois d’août 2008, l’atmosphère était plus que volatile sur le front de la diplomatie française, en première ligne pour veiller au respect du cessez-le-feu que le président Sarkozy avait arraché à la Russie. L’ambassadeur Fournier avait eu vent de l’intention d’un bataillon tchétchène intégré aux forces russes d’aller détruire ladite base. «Nous n’allons pas rester les bras ballants», avait-il déclaré… À la nuit tombée, nous avions atteint Satchkere. Fournier fit hisser le drapeau français sur la base. «Ce soutien moral est capital», commenta, ému, le commandant Tarel Tarakadzé à propos du geste «d’artagnanesque» de l’ambassadeur.

La diplomatie française divisée face au cas Viktor Orban
Éric Fournier, alors ambassadeur de France en Géorgie, en mai 2008. – Crédits photo : Stringer Russia/REUTERS

Dix ans plus tard, l’ambassadeur Éric Fournier – qui est passé par la direction de l’Europe continentale, où il a géré le dossier russe avec un «réalisme» que ses anciens amis géorgiens ont jugé trop complaisant – est de retour sous les feux médiatiques.

Mais cette fois, il ne s’y attend pas. Alors qu’il prépare son départ de Budapest, où il est ambassadeur depuis trois ans, un article sort dans Mediapart le 29 juin, reprenant une dépêche diplomatique confidentielle qu’il a rédigée et qui a visiblement fuité via un collègue mal intentionné. «L’ambassadeur de France en Hongrie soutient Viktor Orban», titre le site en ligne Mediapart, citant des extraits de cette note confidentielle qui vise à s’interroger sur la «magyarophobie» qui colorerait la couverture médiatique des évènements en Hongrie. Fournier y balaie les accusations «d’antisémitisme» et de «populisme» qui pèse sur le gouvernement Orban, affirmant que la Hongrie est «comme le Real Madrid de l’Europe», parce qu’elle a été la première à construire une frontière étanche, et «passe», de ce point de vue, «pour un modèle», aux yeux d’un nombre croissant de pays.

Soutien à la culture juive

Le texte, que Le Figaro a pu consulter, fait la part belle au gouvernement Orban et ne se penche pas sur la question des attaques contre les contre-pouvoirs, ce qui l’affaiblit. Mais il est moins caricatural que ce que Mediapart en retient. Fournier apporte des éléments de réflexion intéressants sur la nature et la réalité de «l’antisémitisme hongrois», qui permettent de nuancer la doxa dominante sur la Hongrie, à savoir celle d’un pays dérivant inexorablement vers une dictature fascistoïde digne des années 1930. Le fond de l’air n’est pas brun, affirme-t-il, estimant que la campagne hongroise anti-Soros (magnat américain d’origine hongroise dont l’ONG vient de déménager à Berlin après l’adoption d’une loi la visant en Hongrie) est liée à son plaidoyer en faveur des frontières ouvertes et non au fait qu’il soit juif. Il cite à l’appui de sa démonstration la «tolérance zéro» proclamée par Orban envers l’antisémitisme, et son soutien à la culture juive. Il évoque le point de vue du Nobel Imre Kertesz, rescapé d’Auschwitz qui affirmait se sentir tout à fait libre d’être juif en Hongrie. Fournier remet aussi la décision hongroise d’insérer une référence chrétienne dans la constitution dans son contexte historique, notant que cela n’empêche pas la Hongrie d’être laïque.

» LIRE AUSSI – En Hongrie, au cœur des passions identitaires d’Europe centrale

Mais Mediapart, qui n’a pas du tout la même indulgence «pour l’obsession chrétienne» d’Orban, a beau jeu de mettre en exergue la conclusion peu diplomatique et déplacée de Fournier, sur le fait que «le nouvel antisémitisme moderne» ne se situe pas en terre hongroise mais chez «les musulmans de France ». «Ce qui choque c’est la stigmatisation d’une communauté dans son ensemble», juge Agnès von der Mühll, porte-parole du Quai d’Orsay.

«Méthode d’intimidation»

Du coup, le 29 juin au matin, quand la journaliste de Mediapart demande à Emmanuel Macron de commenter les propos de son ambassadeur à Budapest, le président, qui vient de négocier toute la nuit un accord sur la migration à 27 pays, est coupant: «Je ne partage pas les propos que vous venez de rapporter», répond-il à propos du télégramme de Fournier, et notamment de la phrase relative aux musulmans, notant que si elle avait été prononcée publiquement, l’ambassadeur aurait «été immédiatement révoqué». «Le jeu non coopératif nationaliste n’est pas digne de ce qui a fait l’Europe, née des errements des derniers conflits mondiaux. Mais il est en plus profondément inefficace», ajoute-t-il, notant toutefois que la dépêche de Fournier n’avait pas vocation à être publiée et qu’il n’a donc pas à être sanctionné.

Au Quai d’Orsay, on ajoute que «les propos auxquels fait référence l’article de Mediapart relèvent d’un commentaire non sollicité et malvenu de son auteur auquel il a été fermement rappelé la nécessité d’une expression précise et mesurée». L’ambassadeur, dont le retour se fait dans le cadre d’une rotation normale, est finalement sommé de rallier Paris, avant la fête du 14 juillet, qu’il devait organiser à Budapest. Une manière de le punir, déplore le ministre de la Justice hongrois Laszlo Trocsanyi, précisant qu’il a, du coup, décidé de ne pas être présent.

» LIRE AUSSI – Éric Zemmour: «À l’est, du nouveau»

Quand on essaie de sonder les diplomates français sur l’épisode Fournier, plusieurs éléments ressortent. Le premier est que l’ambassadeur s’est égaré et s’est livré à un panégyrique dangereux d’Orban. «Il ne comprend rien, déclare un spécialiste de la région qui le juge “peu fiable”, un jour prêt à manger du russe, et le lendemain le contraire.» «Ne pas voir qu’Orban instrumentalise l’antisémitisme hongrois dans l’affaire Soros, c’est nier l’évidence!» À l’inverse, un autre ambassadeur qui «l’apprécie», n’a «pas de critique à formuler», «si ce n’est la conclusion sur les musulmans français, qui a un côté suicidaire». «Le fait de fuiter un télégramme est une méthode d’intimidation», précise-t-il, regrettant «la liberté de ton du passé et la montée en puissance d’une ligne néoconservatrice sur les “valeurs libérales”, qui nuit à “l’école réaliste”».

«Le fait de fuiter un télégramme est une méthode d’intimidation»

Un troisième poids lourd de la diplomatie juge «justifiée la volonté d’expliciter les ressorts du succès d’Orban», mais met en garde contre «le syndrome de Stockholm» qui pousse parfois les diplomates à devenir les apologues des pays qu’ils décrivent. L’évolution de la Hongrie exige «une vigilance extrême» sur la question des écarts démocratiques qui «vont croissant», dit-il, préoccupé par le «rétrécissement des libertés civiques, notamment la loi sur les ONG, qui dessine une dérive à la russe». Il s’inquiète aussi de la virulence des critiques adressées à l’UE par Orban. «On finit par se demander pourquoi il reste!»

Derrière ces réactions, un vrai «sujet» émerge. Celui de la perplexité et des désaccords qui déchirent la France et l’Europe sur la manière dont il faut gérer le phénomène Orban, et au-delà, la rébellion populiste qui défie l’UE. De manière peut être un peu maladroite, le texte de Fournier s’efforce de faire passer l’idée que la lecture de la réalité hongroise doit être moins binaire, note la journaliste Françoise Pons, auteur d’un livre sur la Hongrie qui veut prendre en compte le temps long pour éclairer le présent politique. Pons s’insurge contre une couverture médiatique à charge, qui s’informe exclusivement auprès des milieux libéraux de gauche. «On s’émeut aujourd’hui que les pouvoirs conservateurs veuillent mettre sous contrôle les institutions, mais c’était la même chose avec les anciennes équipes libérales de gauche», dit-elle, estimant que «les critiques systématiques formulées sont aussi le résultat d’un grand déficit de connaissance». Pons raconte s’être rendue à la Commission de Venise de l’UE, chargée de vérifier le caractère démocratique des lois, à l’occasion d’une session sur la loi hongroise sur la liberté religieuse, de 2012, alors très critiquée. Elle fut sidérée de voir le rapporteur énumérer une longue liste d’objections avant de conclure que la loi restait «très généreuse», puis de concéder, en aparté, qu’elle «figurait parmi les deux ou trois lois les plus libérales d’Europe».

«Examen de conscience du PPE»

Lors d’une récente conférence organisée à Berlin la semaine dernière par le German Marshall Fund sur l’avenir du conservatisme en Europe, nombre d’orateurs ont eux mis en garde contre la confusion des critiques qui pleuvent sur la Pologne et la Hongrie. Confondre les atteintes à la démocratie, qu’il faut combattre pied à pied, et la défense des valeurs traditionnelles ou de la souveraineté nationale en matière d’immigration – choix idéologiques qui appartiennent en dernier recours au peuple – est un piège à éviter, a noté l’Américain Jeff Gedmin. La conférence a passé beaucoup de temps à réfléchir sur les thèmes qui devraient être «interdits», et ceux dont les partis de droite devaient se saisir pour voler l’initiative aux populistes. «C’est exactement l’examen de conscience auquel va devoir faire face le PPE, à l’approche des élections européennes», a noté un diplomate, soulignant que le maintien ou non d’Orban au sein de ce groupe parlementaire, était LA question du moment. A priori, une expulsion paraît plus qu’improbable car l’Europe «s’orbanise», a-t-il noté.


La rédaction vous conseille :


La diplomatie française divisée face au cas Viktor Orban

Laure Mandeville 

Journaliste

Source :© La diplomatie française divisée face au cas Viktor Orban

One Response to "La diplomatie française divisée face au cas Viktor Orban"

  1. Disraeli   6 juillet 2018 at 1 h 34 min

    Ne pas oublier qu’en matière d’islam, la Hongrie a été occupée par l’Empire ottoman pendant plus d’un siècle et que cela n’a pas laissé de très bons souvenirs.

    Répondre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais