The crusade of the evangelicals in favor of Israel

Home"TO THE ONE"The crusade of the evangelicals in favor of Israel
8 Partages
US Vice President Mike Pence meets Israeli Prime Minister Benyamin Netanyahu in Jerusalem on Monday. - Photo credits: Ariel Schalit / AP

Following one of his dogmas, this Christian Church, to which Mike Pence belongs, militates for the installation of the Jews in ancient Judea and Samaria.

Following one of his dogmas, this Christian Church, to which Mike Pence belongs, militates for the installation of the Jews in ancient Judea and Samaria.

The American embassy to Israel, whose transfer to Jerusalem was ordered on December 6 by Donald Trump, will not be the first institution to claim this status. Since 1980, an "international Christian embassy" has witnessed the unwavering support that evangelical communities established in the United States, South America, Asia and elsewhere have chosen to bring to the Jewish state. Housed in an elegant mansion house in the former German colony, this organization spends more than $ 20 million each year to fund Jewish immigration, provide relief to Holocaust survivors and support Israeli settlements in the West Bank. "Unlike established churches, which have often been hostile to Jews, we are here to repair all the evil that has been done to them in the past," said David Parsons, his vice president.

Convinced that the return of the Jewish people to the ancient land of Israel, including in the West Bank, is a necessary prerequisite for the fulfillment of biblical prophecies, evangelical Christians have not concealed their satisfaction when the president of the United States has recognized Jerusalem as the capital of the Jewish state. In recent days, the Friends of Zion Christian Foundation has funded the installation of dozens of signs in the city center welcoming Mike Pence. Deeply believer, the vice president shares their faith in the messianic dimension of Zionism and seems to have personally influenced Donald Trump's decision. "This visit is for him a consecration that crowns an old and unshakeable commitment to Israel," said David Parsons, whose only regret is that Mr. Pence did not find the time to meet with representatives of the evangelical current.

Facilitate aliyah

Atypical organization, the "Christian Embassy" was created in response to the diplomatic crisis that triggered the vote in the Knesset, a law proclaiming Israeli sovereignty over the whole of Jerusalem. At the call of the United Nations General Assembly, the thirteen embassies then established in the city were transferred to Tel Aviv to protest against this unilateral decision. "While our countries turned their backs on Israel, we felt it was important to show our solidarity with Israel," argues David Parsons. In partnership with the Jewish Agency and alongside other evangelical organizations, the "embassy" has since disbursed $ 55 million to facilitate the aliyah, the departure to Israel, 140,000 Jews from the former USSR, India and Ethiopia - but also France, where 4,000 candidates have benefited from its aid since 2010. In the heart of the West Bank, it finances the construction and maintenance of infrastructure for the benefit of Israeli settlers. "We do not demonize anyone," says Parsons, highlighting the work done in a synagogue in Kiryat Arba, one of the most radical settlements in the West Bank.

"Unlike established churches, which have often been hostile to Jews, we are here to repair all the evil that has been done to them in the past."

David Parsons, Vice President of the International Christian Embassy

This minority but influential position is obviously rejected by most of the Holy Land Churches. In a joint statement issued in August 2006, the Latin Patriarch (Catholic) and his Syriac, Anglican and Lutheran counterparts accused the Zionist Christians of spreading "false teachings that corrupt the biblical messages of love, justice and reconciliation" to "embrace the most extreme ideological positions of the Zionists, at the risk of obstructing a just peace between Palestine and Israel". This divorce finds a striking illustration in the fact that Mike Pence did not plan to meet any Christian dignitary during his two-day visit to Jerusalem. On the eve of his arrival, Hanan Ashrawi, who sits on the executive committee of the Palestine Liberation Organization, said: "I belong to the oldest Christian tradition in the world and I do not believe that God has ordained that Palestinians be treated with such injustice. "

Sweeping these criticisms, David Parsons says he respects the Christians of Palestine but suggests that they criticize Israel under the weight of coercion. "My brothers in Bethlehem, like most Christian minorities in the Middle East, are under Islamic rule and feel compelled to join forces with other Palestinians," he says. Oddly enough, he says he knows from reliable sources that "the patriarch of one of the great churches in Jerusalem has brought champagne when Trump made his announcement."

The message of evangelical Christians, saluted today in Israel, has sometimes been greeted with distrust. Religious Jews are well aware that evangelical Christians essentially see their return to Zion as a prelude to their conversion before Christ's return to earth. But they seem to have resigned themselves to muted their reservations in the name of a "common commitment against the specter of radical Islamism". Addressing a videoconference last August to an audience of American evangelical Christians, Benyamin Netanyahu tried to make the Palestinian national demands forget by summarizing: "We are engaged in a struggle of civilization - a struggle between free societies and the forces of militant Islam. "


Jerusalem: Mike Pence drives the nail

The first US Vice President to speak in the Knesset, Mike Pence delivered a speech on Monday, filled with religious fervor and responding point by point to the expectations of Israeli leaders. Invited Sunday by King Abdullah II of Jordan to "restore confidence" after the recognition, by Donald Trump, of Israeli sovereignty over Jerusalem, he instead chose to drive the nail. "America stands with Israel," he said. Your values ​​are our values ​​and your battles are our struggles. "In front of an audience of angels - with the exception of the thirteen deputies of the United Arab List, who were expelled after provoking a session incident - he promised that the new US embassy in Jerusalem will open "by the end of next year".

Without referring to the excitement of the decision, Mike Pence reiterated that it does not prejudge the outcome of future negotiations on the limits of Israeli sovereignty in Jerusalem. "The United States will support the two-state solution if it is the choice of both parties," he said, before blaming the Palestinians for their recent decision to challenge the peace effort of the United States. US Administration. "We urge them to return to the negotiating table," he said.

Echoing the Israeli impatience, he finally called on Europe to quickly correct the Iran nuclear deal and concluded: "The United States will not allow Iran to acquire the weapon atomic."


 

Source:© The crusade of the evangelicals in favor of Israel

8 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

La croisade des évangéliques en faveur d'Israël

Home»A LA UNE»La croisade des évangéliques en faveur d’Israël
La croisade des évangéliques en faveur d'Israël
Le très croyant vice-président des États-Unis, Mike Pence, rencontre le premier ministre israélien, Benyamin Nétanyahou, lundi, à Jérusalem. – Crédits photo : Ariel Schalit/AP

Suivant l’un de ses dogmes, cette Église chrétienne, à laquelle appartient Mike Pence, milite pour l’installation des Juifs dans l’antique Judée-Samarie.

Suivant l’un de ses dogmes, cette Église chrétienne, à laquelle appartient Mike Pence, milite pour l’installation des Juifs dans l’antique Judée-Samarie.

L’ambassade américaine auprès d’Israël, dont le transfert à Jérusalem a été ordonné le 6 décembre dernier par Donald Trump, ne sera pas la première institution à revendiquer ce statut. Depuis 1980, une «ambassade chrétienne internationale» témoigne en effet du soutien sans faille que certaines communautés évangéliques établies aux États-Unis, en Amérique du Sud, en Asie et ailleurs ont choisi d’apporter à l’État hébreu. Logée dans un élégant hôtel particulier de l’ancienne colonie allemande, cette organisation débourse chaque année plus de vingt millions de dollars pour financer l’immigration juive, porter secours aux survivants de l’Holocauste et soutenir les colonies israéliennes de Cisjordanie. «Au contraire des Églises établies, qui se sont souvent montrées hostiles envers les Juifs, nous sommes ici pour réparer tout le mal qui leur a été fait par le passé», indique David Parsons, son vice-président.

Convaincus que le retour du peuple juif sur l’antique terre d’Israël, y compris en Cisjordanie, est un préalable nécessaire à l’accomplissement des prophéties bibliques, les chrétiens évangéliques n’ont pas dissimulé leur satisfaction lorsque le président des États-Unis a reconnu Jérusalem comme capitale de l’État hébreu. Ces derniers jours, la fondation chrétienne Friends of Zion a financé l’installation, dans le centre-ville, de dizaines de pancartes souhaitant la bienvenue à Mike Pence. Profondément croyant, le vice-président partage leur foi dans la dimension messianique du sionisme et semble avoir personnellement influencé la décision de Donald Trump. «Cette visite est pour lui une consécration qui couronne un engagement ancien et inébranlable en faveur d’Israël», affirme David Parsons, dont l’unique regret est que M. Pence n’ait pas trouvé le temps de rencontrer à cette occasion les représentants du courant évangélique.

Faciliter l’aliyah

Organisation atypique, l’«ambassade chrétienne» fut créée en réponse à la crise diplomatique que déclencha le vote, à la Knesset, d’une loi proclamant la souveraineté israélienne sur l’ensemble de Jérusalem. À l’appel de l’Assemblée générale des Nations unies, les treize ambassades alors implantées dans la ville furent transférées à Tel-Aviv pour protester contre cette décision unilatérale. «Tandis que nos pays tournaient le dos à Israël, nous avons jugé important d’afficher notre solidarité avec Israël», plaide David Parsons. En partenariat avec l’Agence juive et à côté d’autres organisations évangéliques, l’«ambassade» a depuis déboursé 55 millions de dollars pour faciliter l’aliyah, le départ vers Israël, de 140.000 Juifs originaires d’ex-URSS, d’Inde et d’Éthiopie – mais aussi de France, où 4000 candidats auraient bénéficié de son aide depuis 2010. Au cœur de la Cisjordanie, elle finance la construction et l’entretien d’infrastructures au bénéfice des colons israéliens. «On ne diabolise personne», euphémise M. Parsons, qui met par exemple en avant les travaux menés dans une synagogue de Kiryat Arba, l’une des implantations les plus radicales de Cisjordanie.

«Au contraire des Églises établies, qui se sont souvent montrées hostiles envers les Juifs, nous sommes ici pour réparer tout le mal qui leur a été fait par le passé.»

David Parsons, vice-président de l’ambassade chrétienne internationale

Cette posture, minoritaire mais influente, est évidemment rejetée par la plupart des Églises de Terre sainte. Dans une déclaration commune publiée en août 2006, le patriarche latin (catholique) ainsi que ses homologues syriaque, anglican et luthérien ont accusé les chrétiens sionistes de propager «de faux enseignements qui corrompent les messages bibliques d’amour, de justice et de réconciliation» pour «embrasser les plus extrêmes positions idéologiques des sionistes, au risque de faire obstacle à une paix juste entre la Palestine et Israël». Ce divorce trouve une illustration frappante dans le fait que Mike Pence n’a prévu de rencontrer aucun dignitaire chrétien durant sa visite de deux jours à Jérusalem. À la veille de son arrivée, Hanan Ashrawi, qui siège au comité exécutif de l’Organisation de libération de la Palestine, a martelé: «J’appartiens à la plus ancienne tradition chrétienne du monde et je ne crois pas que Dieu ait ordonné que les Palestiniens soient traités avec une telle injustice.»

Balayant ces critiques, David Parsons affirme qu’il respecte les chrétiens de Palestine mais laisse entendre que ceux-ci critiquent Israël sous le poids de la contrainte. «Mes frères de Bethléem, comme la plupart des minorités chrétiennes du Moyen-Orient, subissent la domination islamique et se sentent obligés de faire cause commune avec les autres Palestiniens», assure-t-il. De façon plutôt curieuse, il affirme même savoir de source sûre que «le patriarche d’une des grandes Églises implantées à Jérusalem a débouché le champagne lorsque Trump a fait son annonce».

Le message des chrétiens évangéliques, aujourd’hui salué en Israël, y a parfois été accueilli avec défiance. Les juifs religieux savent pertinemment que les chrétiens évangéliques voient essentiellement leur retour à Sion comme un prélude à leur conversion avant le retour du Christ sur terre. Mais ils semblent s’être résignés à mettre leurs réserves en sourdine au nom d’un «engagement commun contre le spectre de l’islamisme radical». S’adressant en août dernier, par vidéoconférence, à un parterre de chrétiens évangéliques américains, Benyamin Nétanyahou a ainsi tenté de faire oublier les revendications nationales palestiniennes en résumant: «Nous sommes engagés dans une lutte de civilisation – une lutte entre les sociétés libres et les forces de l’islam militant.»


Jérusalem: Mike Pence enfonce le clou

Premier vice-président américain à s’exprimer devant la Knesset, Mike Pence y a prononcé lundi un discours empreint de ferveur religieuse et répondant point par point aux attentes des dirigeants israéliens. Invité dimanche par le roi Abdallah II de Jordanie à «rétablir la confiance» après la reconnaissance, par Donald Trump, de la souveraineté israélienne sur Jérusalem, il a au contraire choisi d’enfoncer le clou. «L’Amérique se tient au côté d’Israël, a-t-il déclaré. Vos valeurs sont nos valeurs et vos combats sont nos combats.» Devant un auditoire aux anges – à l’exception des treize députés de la Liste arabe unie, qui ont été expulsés après avoir provoqué un incident de séance -, il a promis que la nouvelle ambassade des États-Unis à Jérusalem ouvrira ses portes «d’ici à la fin de l’année prochaine».

Sans une allusion aux remous provoqués par cette décision, Mike Pence a réaffirmé qu’elle ne préjuge en rien le résultat de futures négociations sur les limites de la souveraineté israélienne à Jérusalem. «Les États-Unis soutiendront la solution des deux États si c’est le choix que font les deux parties», a-t-il affirmé, avant de blâmer les Palestiniens pour leur récente décision de contester l’effort de paix de l’Administration américaine. «Nous les pressons de revenir à la table des négociations», a-t-il encore déclaré.

Se faisant l’écho de l’impatience israélienne, il a enfin appelé l’Europe à corriger rapidement l’accord sur le nucléaire iranien et a conclu: «Les États-Unis ne permettront pas que l’Iran se dote de l’arme atomique.»


 

Source:© La croisade des évangéliques en faveur d’Israël

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais