Jacques Julliard: "The Left, Islam and the New Anti-Semitism"

Home"TO THE ONE"Jacques Julliard: "The Left, Islam and the New Anti-Semitism"
7 Partages

CHRONICLE - The historian and essayist returns to the manifesto of the 300 personalities against anti-Semitism published in The Parisian. He is delighted to end the denial of the real and analyze the political reconfiguration produced by the question of Islamo-leftism. By dint of giving up its values, the left runs the risk of being wiped off the map in favor of a single duel between center and right.

● On the Judeo-Muslim question

Well! Yes there is Muslim anti-Semitism. Great news! This evidence has long been an open secret, but the new fact is that we now have the right to speak about it. The era of communication is first of all that of intimidation. Thus everyone in the 1950s knew the existence of the Gulag, but it was necessary that Khrushchev in person gave permission (1956) so that in the stalinoid circles of the Parisian intelligentsia, one is emboldened to there make allusion to.

The great merit of the 300 manifesto (The Parisian, 22/4), but also that of the 30 imams (The world, 24/4) is to have put an end to these modesty of frightened virgins who, in the Victorian era, were required to say their "stomach", not to mention their belly. From now on, when an old Jewish lady will be tortured and slaughtered with the cries of Allah akbar! it will no longer be systematically questioned, even in the mouths of instructing magistrates, the madmen and the mentally ill; when denouncing the impossibility of teaching the Holocaust in some Muslim-dominated schools, The worldwe will perhaps spare his ritual general considerations on the old and tenacious French anti-Semitism; when it is necessary to note that our fellow Jews are afraid in some quarters and leave them for more hospitable places, in France, in Israel, or elsewhere, we will perhaps be dispensed from these lame statistics on the decrease of the growth of the phenomenon. ...

● Against precautionary Islamism

Of course, not all Muslims are anti-Semitic, and not all anti-Semites are Muslims. But to fight an evil, you have to name it first. When in my previous notebook of Figaro I denounced, alongside extreme right-wing anti-Semitism and popular anti-Semitism, and even before the appearance in France of Muslim anti-Semitism, a once virulent Christian anti-Semitism, I did not feel obliged to add that all Christians were not anti-Semites, only Jesus himself ... and so on.

To know which side balances the racism, it is enough to consult the statistics. Jews vote with their feet, Muslims too.

In this respect, Pierre-André Taguieff's latest book can not be highly recommended,Judeophobia, the last wave(Fayard) who shows with his usual erudition and rigor that Muslim anti-Semitism is far from being a recycling of old Western anti-Semitism. It proceeds largely from the humiliation felt by the Arab-Muslim world during the settlement of Israel and the wars that followed. There is a real "Islamization of Judeophobia". When, he asks, a Vatican II of Sunni Islam?

I conclude that we must put an end to precautionary Islamism, which cradles beautiful souls, allows them to be grateful for their own delicacy. No, it is not the Mauritanian anti-Semitism that is the cause of this "low-noise cleansing" denounced by the 300; no, there are no pious parallels between anti-Semitism in particular and racism in general that explain that the country of the Abbé Grégoire, Bernard Lazare and Peguy became a place repulsive for the Jews, when it remains attractive for Muslims, as it is easy to see. It's simple. To know which side balances the racism, it is enough to consult the statistics. Jews vote with their feet, Muslims too.

For the denial of the real is a crime; in this case, it is a passive complicity with anti-Semitism, to the point of persuading poor Poutou, while eleven Jews have fallen in recent years under the bullets or knives of Islamist killers, that it is the French Muslims who paid the highest price for criminal racism ...

As Proust says, the facts do not enter the places where our beliefs live.

I add a recommendation to the address of our Muslim compatriots: that they are a little suspicious of these sensitive-minded Islamophiles, who give them more caresses than Donald Trump to an Emmanuel Macron who could no longer. When they really need their active engagement, they can be pretty sure they will not be able to count on it. Having recently taken stock of my militant life, and found that it had been devoted for the most part to the defense of Muslims in France, Algeria, Bosnia, Darfur, I made myself this remark much more interesting is that never when it was necessary to fight, the Islamolaters of today were not there. Strange all the same. Some may recognize themselves, but I am not sure, as Proust says, the facts do not enter the places where our beliefs live.

● A strange crossover

One last observation. It is part of the political analysis. Today, when you hear someone standing up for Muslims, you can be sure he is left or believes he is. When you hear another defending the Jews, you can now assume that he is on the right. I recognize that this is a somewhat summary test, which makes good honorable exceptions in both cases and in both directions. It is heartbreaking, but it is so, the world upside down. A Charles Maurras, of which there is much talk today, if he came back among us, he would not believe his eyes; still less his ears, which he had bad.

I will go even further: the Judeo-Muslim question is creating in France a bewildering crossover in terms of values. Throughout the Third Republic, and only a short while ago, a man of the Left was recognized by a certain number of traits: the unwavering attachment to secularism, to the republican school, to the Republic itself, to the nation, to France. And to the hate of anti-Semitism! Take all the great men whose left is traditionally claimed, from Gambetta to Mitterrand, through Clemenceau, Jaurès, Blum, Mendes, and how many others, like my lost friends, Michel Rocard and Edmond Maire, and our dear Robert Badinter: they are all steeped in these values.

● Compensation Islamism

But on the contrary, there are now many Orgon victims on the left of the Tartuffe-Ramadan of Islamo-leftism.

Listen carefully to the spokespersons of the left, or what's left of them. Laicity? Of course, she must be honored, but in moderation.

Is not the Republic throughout our history synonymous with colonialism, even racism?

To exalt it too much, would we not end up "stigmatizing" Muslims? The republican school? To look too much for excellence, are not these the inequalities that one digs to the detriment of the less well armed? Is not the Republic throughout our history synonymous with colonialism, even racism? The nation? Is it not a factor of exclusion for newcomers? France? This "story" where our ancestors had found the link that unites them, is it anything other than a pure fiction, since the "Judeo-Christian roots" up to the Enlightenment philosophy, stemming from these roots?

This deconstruction is in progress. Its scientific and philosophical bases are fragile; they are most often based on daring and bad faith. But it is effective enough to scratch the left of the present political landscape for at least ten years. Because, finally, I ask you: if the left de facto denies the values ​​on which it once founded its pact with the nation, especially with the popular classes, what reason will remain for the latter to support it? Social proximity? She does not exist. Generalized clientelism? He is not credible. Certainly, this sudden fervor for the religion of the other has something amazing on the part of a political staff mostly agnostic; it is to pay dearly for a tardy rectification of firing designed to make one forget one's mollet-colonialism of a long time ago.

Meanwhile, part of the republican right, either to make room for the left, or to block the rise of Islamism, is closer to the values ​​mentioned above. I do not see why the real men of the Left, heirs of the Enlightenment and convinced that their values ​​are universal should be afflicted. In any case, the fact is difficult to contest. Because of this ridiculous Islamic bigotry, which in no way coincides with the need for the integration of Muslims, the left leaves for ten years the free field to an exclusive confrontation between the right and the center.

● I had a dream

Yes, I have this dream. That the personalities, more numerous than one thinks, in love with peace and fraternity in the various religions and spiritual societies meet and establish between them a permanent link. The manifesto of 300 ends with a call to Muslims. For their part, the 30 imams denouncing "the confiscation of their religion by criminals" and defining Islam as a "spiritual aspiration", in search of "transcendence of generosity and otherness", used formulas that go to the heart of every free man and every French citizen.

The Church of France, which has already completed the journey of reconciliation with Jews and has good relations with Muslims, would be well placed to propose a joint initiative

It seems to me that the Church of France, which has already completed the journey of reconciliation with the Jews and has good relations with Muslims, would be well placed to propose a joint initiative. That besides the archbishop of Paris, the chief rabbi Korsia, the imam of Bordeaux Oubrou, personalities like Élisabeth Badinter, Patrick Kessel, Pascal Bruckner, Boualem Sansal, Kamel Daoud, Caroline Fourest, - these are names that I throw a little on the fly - establish between them a permanent liaison body to fight against racism and anti-Semitism, would be proof that the offensive would cease to be the prerogative of fanatics and assassins. Will I add that such an initiative would be a contribution to true secularism within the laws of the Republic? It will not be said that in this country the last word comes back to hate-bearers, or just fools. Beyond its purpose, the fight against racism and anti-Semitism and for fraternity, which would not duplicate existing human rights bodies, such a liaison body would give back to a country ravaged by pettiness and insignificance, the signal of a revolt of the spiritual.

● Atmosphere, atmosphere ...

In his Libération editorial (April 28-29, 2018), Laurent Joffrin pointed out that MM Finkielkraut and Zemmour do not have the "direct" responsibility (the word appears textually) in a possible return of Fascist violence. It's very generous of him. Thanks for them. At most they contribute to create an "atmosphere", he adds, favorable to this resurgence.

Instead of those concerned, I would feel obliged to return the elevator to Laurent Joffrin, stating with the greatest clarity that he has no direct responsibility for Islamist terrorism.

It is even said - but what do not we say? - that Liberation would prepare in secret a special issue entitled "Help! Muhammad is coming back! "

● Paris is a feast for the eyes

One can currently visit in Paris three exhibitions devoted to major painters, Delacroix, Tintoretto, Corot, convulsive beauty and Apollonian beauty. In spite of my immoderate love of Tintoretto, it is from Camille Corot that I would like to say a word, as the exhibition of the Marmottan Museum, devoted to Corot portraitist out of the ordinary. To say that the portrait was, so to speak, only the violin of Ingres! We come out with a clear mind, a calm soul, a festive heart. As if the poetic realism of his portraits, as far removed from Courbet's verism as from the impressionistic subjectivity of the next generation, was the quiet manifestation of hidden evidence. Corot (1796-1875) is a painter who is never clever, who does not teach a lesson, but who at every moment gives to see things and people as we had never seen them, as in them even the snapshot changes them. And what a colorist! From LaDame in blue, which is like the final bouquet of this exhibition, the critic Gustave Geffroy wrote "with this passing moment, Corot has made a final reality". And a definitive blue. * Editorialist of the weekly "Marianne". Jacques Julliard's notebook, which usually appears on the first Monday of the month, was unusually offbeat because of the bridge. The usual rhythm will resume from the month of June.


 

 

Source: © Jacques Julliard: "The Left, Islam and the New Anti-Semitism"

7 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Jacques Julliard : «La gauche, l'islam et le nouvel antisémitisme»

Home»A LA UNE»Jacques Julliard : «La gauche, l’islam et le nouvel antisémitisme»

Jacques Julliard : «La gauche, l'islam et le nouvel antisémitisme»

CHRONIQUE – L’historien et essayiste revient sur le manifeste des 300 personnalités contre l’antisémitisme paru dans Le Parisien. Il se réjouit que prenne fin le déni du réel et analyse la reconfiguration politique que produit la question de l’islamo-gauchisme. À force d’abandonner ses valeurs, la gauche court le risque d’être rayé de la carte au profit d’un seul duel entre centre et droite.

● Sur la question judéo-musulmane

Eh bien! oui, il y a un antisémitisme musulman. Grande nouvelle! Il y a longtemps que cette évidence était un secret de Polichinelle, mais le fait nouveau est qu’on a désormais le droit d’en parler. L’ère de la communication est d’abord celle de l’intimidation. Ainsi tout le monde, dans les années 1950, connaissait l’existence du goulag, mais il a fallu que Khrouchtchev en personne en donnât la permission (1956) pour que dans les milieux stalinoïdes de l’intelligentsia parisienne, on s’enhardît à y faire allusion.

Le grand mérite du manifeste des 300 (Le Parisien, 22/4), mais aussi de celui des 30 imams (Le Monde, 24/4) est d’avoir mis un terme à ces pudeurs de vierges effarouchées qui, à l’ère victorienne, étaient tenues de dire leur «estomac», pour ne pas parler de leur ventre. Désormais quand une vieille dame juive sera torturée et égorgée aux cris de Allah akbar! il ne sera plus systématiquement question, y compris dans la bouche des magistrats instructeurs, de détraqués et de malades mentaux ; quand on dénoncera l’impossibilité d’enseigner la Shoah dans certaines écoles à dominante musulmane, Le Mondenous épargnera peut-être ses rituelles considérations générales sur le vieil et tenace antisémitisme français ; quand il faudra bien constater que nos compatriotes juifs ont peur dans certains quartiers et les quittent pour des lieux plus hospitaliers, en France, en Israël, ou ailleurs, on nous dispensera peut-être de ces statistiques boiteuses sur la décroissance de la croissance du phénomène…

● Contre l’islamisme de précaution

Naturellement, tous les musulmans ne sont pas antisémites, et tous les antisémites ne sont pas musulmans. Mais pour combattre un mal, il faut d’abord le nommer. Quand dans mon précédent carnet du Figaro je dénonçais, aux côtés de l’antisémitisme d’extrême droite et de l’antisémitisme populaire et avant même l’apparition en France de l’antisémitisme musulman, un antisémitisme chrétien, jadis virulent, je ne me suis pas cru obligé d’ajouter que tous les chrétiens n’étaient pas antisémites, que Jésus lui-même… et ainsi de suite.

Pour savoir de quel côté balance le racisme, il suffit de consulter les statistiques. Les juifs votent avec leurs pieds, les musulmans aussi.

À cet égard, on ne saurait trop recommander le dernier livre de Pierre-André Taguieff,Judéophobie, la dernière vague(Fayard) qui montre avec son érudition et sa rigueur habituelles que l’antisémitisme musulman est loin d’être un recyclage des vieux antisémitismes occidentaux. Il procède en grande partie de l’humiliation ressentie par le monde arabo-musulman lors de l’installation d’Israël et des guerres qui ont suivi. On assiste à une véritable «islamisation de la judéophobie». À quand, demande-t-il, un Vatican II de l’islam sunnite?

J’en conclus qu’il faut en finir avec l’islamisme de précaution, qui berce les belles âmes, leur permet de se savoir gré de leur propre délicatesse. Non, ce n’est pas l’antisémitisme maurrassien qui est la cause de cette «épuration à bas bruit» dénoncée par les 300 ; non, ce ne sont pas de pieux parallèles entre l’antisémitisme en particulier et le racisme en général qui expliquent que le pays de l’abbé Grégoire, de Bernard Lazare et de Péguy soit devenu un lieu répulsif pour les juifs, quand il demeure attractif pour les musulmans, comme il est aisé de le voir. C’est tout simple. Pour savoir de quel côté balance le racisme, il suffit de consulter les statistiques. Les juifs votent avec leurs pieds, les musulmans aussi.

Car le déni du réel est un crime ; dans le cas qui nous occupe, il constitue une complicité passive avec l’antisémitisme, au point de persuader ce pauvre Poutou, alors que onze juifs sont tombés ces dernières années sous les balles ou les couteaux des tueurs islamistes, que ce sont les musulmans français qui ont payé le plus lourd tribut au racisme criminel…

Comme dit Proust, les faits ne pénètrent pas dans les lieux où vivent nos croyances

J’ajoute une recommandation à l’adresse de nos compatriotes musulmans: qu’ils se méfient donc un peu de ces islamophiles au cœur sensible, qui leur font plus de caresses que Donald Trump à un Emmanuel Macron qui n’en pouvait plus. Quand ils auront vraiment besoin de leur engagement actif, ils peuvent être à peu près sûrs qu’ils ne pourront pas compter dessus. Ayant fait récemment le bilan de ma vie militante, et constaté qu’elle avait été consacrée pour la plus grande part à la défense des musulmans en France, en Algérie, en Bosnie, au Darfour, je me suis fait à moi-même cette remarque bien plus intéressante: c’est que jamais quand il fallait se battre, les islamolâtres d’aujourd’hui ne se sont trouvés là. Étrange tout de même. Certains se reconnaîtront peut-être, mais je n’en suis pas sûr, —: comme dit Proust, les faits ne pénètrent pas dans les lieux où vivent nos croyances.

● Un étrange chassé-croisé

Une dernière observation. Elle relève de l’analyse politique. Aujourd’hui, quand vous entendez quelqu’un prendre la défense des musulmans, vous pouvez être sûr qu’il est de gauche ou qu’il se croit tel. Quand vous en entendez un autre prendre la défense des juifs, vous pouvez désormais présumer qu’il est de droite. Je reconnais que c’est là un critère un peu sommaire, qui fait bon marché d’honorables exceptions, dans les deux cas et dans les deux sens. C’est navrant, mais c’est pourtant ainsi, le monde à l’envers. Un Charles Maurras, dont il est aujourd’hui beaucoup question, s’il revenait parmi nous, n’en croirait pas ses yeux ; encore moins ses oreilles, qu’il avait mauvaises.

J’irai encore plus loin: la question judéo-musulmane est en train de créer en France un ahurissant chassé-croisé au chapitre des valeurs. Tout au long de la IIIe République, et naguère encore, on reconnaissait un homme de gauche à un certain nombre de traits: l’attachement indéfectible à la laïcité, à l’école républicaine, à la République elle-même, à la nation, à la France. Et à la haine de l’antisémitisme! Prenez tous les grands hommes dont la gauche se réclame traditionnellement, de Gambetta à Mitterrand, en passant par Clemenceau, Jaurès, Blum, Mendès, et combien d’autres, comme mes amis disparus, Michel Rocard et Edmond Maire, et encore notre cher Robert Badinter: ils sont tout entiers pétris de ces valeurs.

● L’islamisme de compensation

Mais à l’inverse, il y a désormais à gauche beaucoup d’Orgon victimes des Tartuffe-Ramadan de l’islamo-gauchisme.

Écoutez attentivement les porte-parole de la gauche, ou de ce qu’il en reste. La laïcité? Bien sûr, elle doit être honorée, mais avec modération.

La République n’est-elle pas tout au long de notre histoire synonyme de colonialisme, voire de racisme ?

À trop l’exalter, ne finirait-on pas par «stigmatiser» les musulmans? L’école républicaine? À trop rechercher l’excellence, ne sont-ce pas les inégalités que l’on creuse au détriment des moins bien armés? La République n’est-elle pas tout au long de notre histoire synonyme de colonialisme, voire de racisme? La nation? N’est-elle pas facteur d’exclusion pour les nouveaux arrivants? La France? Ce «récit» où nos ancêtres avaient trouvé le lien qui les unissait, est-il autre chose qu’une pure fiction, depuis les «racines judéo-chrétiennes» jusqu’à la philosophie des Lumières, issue de ces racines?

Cette déconstruction est en cours. Ses bases scientifiques et philosophiques sont fragiles ; elles reposent le plus souvent sur l’esbroufe et la mauvaise foi. Mais elle est assez efficace pour rayer la gauche du paysage politique présent, pour au moins dix ans. Car enfin, je vous le demande: si la gauche renie de facto les valeurs sur lesquelles elle a jadis fondé son pacte avec la nation, spécialement avec les classes populaires, quelle raison restera-t-il à ces dernières pour la soutenir? La proximité sociale? Elle n’existe pas. Le clientélisme généralisé? Il n’est pas crédible. Décidément, cette ferveur soudaine pour la religion de l’autre a quelque chose de stupéfiant de la part d’un personnel politique en majorité agnostique ; c’est payer bien cher une tardive rectification de tir destinée à faire oublier son molleto-colonialisme de naguère.

Pendant ce temps, une partie de la droite républicaine, soit pour faire pièce à la gauche, soit pour faire barrage à la montée de l’islamisme, se rapproche des valeurs évoquées plus haut. Je ne vois pas pourquoi les hommes de gauche authentiques, héritiers des Lumières et convaincus que leurs valeurs sont universelles devraient s’en affliger. En tout cas, le fait est difficilement contestable. À cause de cette ridicule bigoterie islamique, qui ne se confond en rien avec la nécessité de l’intégration des musulmans, la gauche laisse pour dix ans le champ libre à une confrontation exclusive entre la droite et le centre.

● J’ai fait un rêve

Oui, je fais ce rêve. Que les personnalités, plus nombreuses que l’on ne le croit, éprises de paix et de fraternité dans les diverses religions et sociétés spirituelles se réunissent et établissent entre elles un lien permanent. Le manifeste des 300 se termine par un appel aux musulmans. De leur côté les 30 imams dénonçant «la confiscation de leur religion par des criminels» et définissant l’islam comme une «aspiration spirituelle», en quête de «transcendance de lagénérosité et de l’altérité», ont employé des formules qui vont au cœur de tout homme libre et de tout citoyen français.

L’Église de France, qui a déjà accompli le trajet de la réconciliation avec les juifs et qui entretient de bons rapports avec les musulmans, serait bien placée pour proposer une initiative commune

Il me semble que l’Église de France, qui a déjà accompli le trajet de la réconciliation avec les juifs et qui entretient de bons rapports avec les musulmans, serait bien placée pour proposer une initiative commune. Qu’à côté de l’archevêque de Paris, le grand rabbin Korsia, l’imam de Bordeaux Oubrou, des personnalités comme Élisabeth Badinter, Patrick Kessel, Pascal Bruckner, Boualem Sansal, Kamel Daoud, Caroline Fourest, — ce sont des noms que je lance un peu à la volée -, établissent entre elles un organe de liaison permanent destiné à lutter contre le racisme et l’antisémitisme, serait la preuve que l’offensive aurait cessé d’être l’apanage des fanatiques et des assassins. Ajouterai-je qu’une telle initiative serait une contribution à la laïcité véritable à l’intérieur des lois de la République. Il ne sera pas dit que dans ce pays le dernier mot revienne aux porteurs de haine, ou tout simplement aux imbéciles. Au-delà de son objet, la lutte contre le racisme et l’antisémitisme et pour la fraternité, qui ne ferait nullement double emploi avec les organismes de défense des droits de l’homme déjà existants, un tel organe de liaison redonnerait à un pays ravagé par la mesquinerie et l’insignifiance, le signal d’une révolte du spirituel.

● Atmosphère, atmosphère…

Dans son éditorial de Libération (28-29 avril 2018), Laurent Joffrin a tenu à souligner que M.M. Finkielkraut et Zemmour n’ont pas la responsabilité «directe» (le mot figure textuellement) dans un éventuel retour de la violence fasciste. C’est très généreux de sa part. Merci pour eux. Tout au plus contribuent-ils à créer une «atmosphère», ajoute-t-il, favorable à cette résurgence.

À la place des intéressés, je me sentirais tenu de renvoyer l’ascenseur à Laurent Joffrin, en précisant avec la plus grande netteté qu’il n’a de son côté aucune responsabilité directe dans le terrorisme islamiste.

On dit même – mais que ne dit-on pas? – que Libération préparerait en grand secret un numéro spécial intitulé: «Au secours! Mahomet revient!»

● Paris est une fête pour les yeux

On peut actuellement visiter à Paris trois expositions consacrées à des peintres majeurs, Delacroix, Tintoret, Corot, la beauté convulsive et la beauté apollinienne. Malgré mon amour immodéré de Tintoret, c’est de Camille Corot que je voudrais dire un mot, tant l’exposition du Musée Marmottan, consacrée à Corot portraitiste sort de l’ordinaire. Dire que le portrait n’était, si l’on peut dire, que son violon d’Ingres! On en sort l’esprit clair, l’âme apaisée, le cœur en fête. Comme si le réalisme poétique de ses portraits, aussi éloignés du vérisme de Courbet que de la subjectivité impressionniste de la génération suivante était la manifestation tranquille d’une évidence cachée. Corot (1796-1875) est un peintre qui ne fait jamais le malin, qui n’administre pas de leçon, mais qui à chaque instant donne à voir les choses et les gens comme on ne les avait jamais vus, tels qu’en eux-mêmes enfin l’instantané les change. Et quel coloriste! De LaDame en bleu, qui est comme le bouquet final de cette exposition, le critique Gustave Geffroy a écrit «avec cette minute passagère, Corot a fait une réalité définitive». Et un bleu définitif.* Éditorialiste de l’hebdomadaire «Marianne». Le carnet de Jacques Julliard, qui paraît ordinairement le premier lundi du mois, a été exceptionnellement décalé en raison du pont. Le rythme habituel reprendra à partir du mois de juin.


 

 

Source:© Jacques Julliard : «La gauche, l’islam et le nouvel antisémitisme»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais