Israel caught in the Syrian gear

Home"TO THE ONE"Israel caught in the Syrian gear
7 Partages
In November 2017, a "de-escalation zone" on the Syrian Golan slope was negotiated. - Photo credits: Ammar Awad / REUTERS

INFOGRAPHICS - The Jewish state fears a sustainable settlement of Iran on their northern border. His strikes cause fear of escalation.

From our correspondent in Jerusalem

Clouds are piling up on the border between Israel, Syria and Lebanon. For the second time in a month, according to the army of Bashar al-Assad, IDF hit Wednesday a military site near Damascus where the regime is suspected of making missiles and chemical weapons. Israeli leaders have been hammering for weeks that they will oppose by all means the development of military infrastructure controlled by Iran or its Hezbollah allies on Syrian territory. "We are prepared for all scenarios," said Benyamin Netanyahu on Tuesday, "and I do not advise anyone to test our resolve." "The new phase in which the Syrian conflict has entered increases the risk of escalation involving Israel," say analysts at the International Crisis Group (ICG) think tank in a report to be released Thursday (*).

»READ ALSO - The "red line" of Macron against Bashar al-Assad

During the first five years of the war, Israel stood apart from the conflict while enforcing some clearly defined "red lines". Nearly a hundred times, his aircraft targeted convoys or sophisticated weapons depots to prevent their transfer to Hezbollah. Strikes were also carried out against Lebanese Shiite militia leaders and Iranian officers in charge of establishing advanced bases near the ceasefire line crossing the Golan, as well as in response to projectiles fired against Israel. But the reconquest, during the last year, large parts of the territory by Bashar al-Assad has gradually relegated these objectives to the background.

Israeli strategists, who fear more than anything a long-lasting settlement of Iran on their northern border, believe that this concern is not sufficiently taken into account in the negotiations conducted under the auspices of Moscow. In recent months, they have therefore set new red lines. No question, they said, that the Islamic Republic is acquiring a port, an airport or permanent military bases on Syrian soil. Neither are factories capable of producing high-precision missiles for the benefit of Hezbollah, whether in Syria or Lebanon. Finally, according to military sources interviewed by ICG analysts, the Jewish state is ready to hit fighters of the Revolutionary Guards, Hezbollah or other Shiite militias approaching the ceasefire line .

Risk of conflagration

The establishment, negotiated last November, of a "de-escalation zone" on the Syrian Golan slope, aside for the moment this perspective. "But it is likely that the army of Bashar al-Assad will sooner or later try to regain control of this area and that it will have to rely on Shiite militias," warns Ofer Zalzberg, one of the authors of the report, which adds: "It would then be enough of a miscalculation to cause a major conflict." The extension of the territory on which Israel allows itself to conduct strikes, today in the heart of Syria and tomorrow, maybe, in Lebanon, also increases the risk of conflagration. Hezbollah has recently raised the tone of its warnings.

In this volatile context, ICG analysts believe that Moscow would have every interest in quickly redefining the "rules of the game" between Israel and its opponents - at the risk of seeing its efforts reduced to nothing by a new fire. The Hebrew State, they suggest, could resolve to have the Islamic Republic maintain an economic presence in Syria, and that the militia withdraw only gradually. Tehran, in return, would give up developing military infrastructure and stay away from the Golan. Such a scenario, however, is deemed unlikely by Sarah Fainberg, a senior lecturer at the Herzliya Interdisciplinary Center. "The Russian leaders themselves," she says, "recognize that they are finding it increasingly difficult to control Iran's expansionist aims."

(*) Israel, Hezbollah and Iran: Preventing another war in Syria


Source: ©  Israel caught in the Syrian gear

7 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Israël pris dans l'engrenage syrien

Home»A LA UNE»Israël pris dans l’engrenage syrien
Israël pris dans l'engrenage syrien
En novembre 2017, une «zone de désescalade» sur le versant syrien du Golan a été négociée. – Crédits photo : Ammar Awad/REUTERS

INFOGRAPHIES – L’État hébreu redoute une implantation durable de l’Iran à leur frontière nord. Ses frappes font craindre une escalade.

De notre correspondant à Jérusalem

Les nuages s’amoncellent à la frontière entre Israël, la Syrie et le Liban. Pour la deuxième fois en un mois, selon l’armée de Bachar el-Assad, Tsahal a frappé mercredi un site militaire proche de Damas où le régime est soupçonné de fabriquer des missiles et des armes chimiques. Les dirigeants israéliens martèlent depuis des semaines qu’ils s’opposeront par tous moyens au développement d’infrastructures militaires contrôlées par l’Iran ou ses alliés du Hezbollah sur le territoire syrien. «Nous sommes préparés pour tous les scénarios, a déclaré mardi Benyamin Nétanyahou, et je ne conseille à personne de tester notre détermination.» «La nouvelle phase dans laquelle est entré le conflit syrien accroît le risque d’une escalade impliquant Israël», affirment les analystes du centre de réflexion International Crisis Group (ICG) dans un rapport à paraître jeudi(*).

» LIRE AUSSI – La «ligne rouge» de Macron contre Bachar el-Assad

Durant les cinq premières années de la guerre, Israël s’est tenu à l’écart du conflit tout en faisant respecter quelques «lignes rouges» clairement définies. À près d’une centaine de reprises, son aviation a visé des convois ou des dépôts d’armes sophistiquées afin d’empêcher leur transfert au Hezbollah. Des frappes ont également été conduites contre des chefs de la milice chiite libanaise et des officiers iraniens chargés d’établir des bases avancées non loin de la ligne de cessez-le-feu qui traverse le Golan, ainsi qu’en réplique à des projectiles tirés contre Israël. Mais la reconquête, au cours de l’année écoulée, de larges pans du territoire par Bachar el-Assad a progressivement relégué ces objectifs au second plan.

Les stratèges israéliens, qui craignent plus que tout une implantation durable de l’Iran à leur frontière nord, estiment que cette préoccupation n’est pas suffisamment prise en compte dans les négociations menées sous l’égide de Moscou. Au cours des derniers mois, ils ont donc fixé de nouvelles lignes rouges. Pas question, ont-ils fait savoir, que la République islamique se dote d’un port, d’un aéroport ou de bases militaires permanentes sur le sol syrien. Ni que des usines permettant de fabriquer des missiles de haute précision au bénéfice du Hezbollah voient le jour, que ce soit en Syrie ou au Liban. Enfin, selon des sources militaires interrogées par les analystes d’ICG, l’État hébreu se tient prêt à frapper des combattants des Gardiens de la révolution, du Hezbollah ou d’autres milices chiites qui approcheraient de la ligne de cessez-le-feu.

Risques d’embrasement

Israël pris dans l'engrenage syrien

La mise en place, négociée en novembre dernier, d’une «zone de désescalade» sur le versant syrien du Golan, écarte pour l’heure cette perspective. «Mais il est probable que l’armée de Bachar el-Assad cherchera tôt ou tard à reprendre le contrôle de cette zone et qu’elle devra pour cela s’appuyer sur des milices chiites», prévient Ofer Zalzberg, l’un des auteurs du rapport, qui ajoute: «Il suffirait alors d’une erreur de calcul pour provoquer un conflit majeur.» L’extension du territoire sur lequel Israël s’autorise à conduire des frappes, aujourd’hui au cœur de la Syrie et demain, peut-être, au Liban, accroît également les risques d’embrasement. Le Hezbollah a récemment haussé le ton de ses mises en garde.

Dans ce contexte volatile, les analystes d’ICG estiment que Moscou aurait tout intérêt à redéfinir vite les «règles du jeu» entre Israël et ses adversaires – sous peine de voir ses efforts réduits à néant par un nouvel embrasement. L’État hébreu, proposent-ils, pourrait se résoudre à ce que la République islamique maintienne une présence économique en Syrie, et à ce que les milices ne se retirent que de façon progressive. Téhéran, en contrepartie, renoncerait à développer des infrastructures militaires et se tiendrait à l’écart du Golan. Un tel scénario, toutefois, est jugé peu vraisemblable par Sarah Fainberg, maître de conférences au Centre interdisciplinaire de Herzliya. «Les dirigeants russes eux-mêmes, dit-elle, reconnaissent qu’ils ont de plus en plus de mal à contrôler les visées expansionnistes de l’Iran.»

(*) Israel, Hezbollah and Iran: Preventing another war in Syria


Source:©  Israël pris dans l’engrenage syrien

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais