Guillaume Perrault: "The Fifth Republic turns 60: Should we thank her or curse her?"

Home"TO THE ONE"Guillaume Perrault: "The Fifth Republic turns 60: Should we thank her or curse her?"
9 Partages
Guillaume Perrault: «La Ve République a 60 ans: Faut-il la remercier ou la maudire ?»

ANALYSIS - Great authors judge that the republican monarchy founded in 1958 paradoxically condemns the president to powerlessness. But it is in other directions that we must look for ways to ward off the danger of political paralysis, argues Guillaume Perrault.


Guillaume Perrault: «La Ve République a 60 ans: Faut-il la remercier ou la maudire ?»
- Photo credits: figaro

Guillaume Perrault is a reporter for FigaroVox and Le Figaro. Senior lecturer at Sciences Po, he teaches French political history and political institutions. His latest book, "Conservatives, Be Proud!", Was released by Plon in 2017.


The French "become jealous of the authority at the very moment when they entrusted it", warned Mirabeau to the Assembly on October 17, 1789. Given this trait of character, it is not a small feat, for the Fifth Republic, to have reached the respectable age of 60 years.

On September 4, 1958, Place de la République in Paris, de Gaulle presented the new institutions and asked for "a frank and massive adhesion" to the constitutional bill. On 28 September, the Constitution, submitted to the French by referendum, was approved by 79.2% of voters. Participation reached a record (84.9%). The Constitution was promulgated on October 4, 1958.

De Gaulle set the bar very high: the Fifth Republic aims to ensure the state the foundation "which it has been deprived for 169 years", that is to say since the execution of Louis XVI in 1793, explain he in his Memories of hope. The president-monarch derives his legitimacy from the election by direct universal suffrage (1962). The Assembly, all-powerful under the Fourth Republic, lost some of its prerogatives for the benefit of the executive. The government is almost certain to last. For several decades, the bad memories of the IVth assured the new institutions the favor of the French. The alternation, in 1981, made miraculously lose on the left his initial prejudices.

And if the Fifth Republic, far from having guaranteed the effectiveness of public action, was one of the causes of our blockages?

Now, the feeling of a relative decline in the country has raised, since the 1990s, the questions of men of quality: and if the Fifth Republic, far from having guaranteed the effectiveness of public action, was the one of the causes of our blockages? As early as 1992, while François Mitterrand's second seventh year was dragging, the thesis was defended by Jean-François Revel in a glittering and very funny pamphlet, Ineffective Absolutism - Against French Presidentialism. For the liberal thinker, the presidential election maintains the illusory belief of the French against the omnipotence of the state. The campaign raises immense hope that can not be met. Once sobered, the French are inevitably led to disgrace the president whom they had first adored. Isolated in the empyrean Elysian, surrounded by his court, the head of state, he, revels in the feeling of his infallibility. Is he not the chosen one? Hence a series of unfortunate consequences, which are as many chapters in Revel's book: "Unresolved despotism", "The incapacitating presidency", "The fiction of the prime minister", "Transfers of irresponsibility" or "Governing is to name ".

The dramatic reversal of media and opinion towards Emmanuel Macron seems to relentlessly verify Revel's thesis. One of Nicolas Sarkozy's former collaborators at the Élysée, the essayist and historian Maxime Tandonnet, faithful signature of the pages Débats du Figaro and of FigaroVoxJudge also, in the light of his experience, that the omnipotence of the President paradoxically condemns him to impotence.

To the legitimate interrogations of sincere thinkers are added, however, prosecutors with less pure motives. A political class incapable of resolving the ills of the country may wish to blame its failures for our institutions. The Constitution must be guilty for itself to be innocent.

The seductive diagnosis of a Jean-François Revel can not be turned into a prescription to cure the patient.

Moreover, the seductive diagnosis of a Revel can not be turned into a prescription to cure the patient. The Fifth, the French adopted it and strengthened by two referendums (in 1958 and 1962) and they like it. Who can believe that our citizens would accept the right to elect the president by direct universal suffrage, the only vote in which they still go en masse? Who would think that the country would see without reacting the head of the State, designated by him, confined to a role of representation and influence, for the benefit of the party leaders, "the notables and the notorious", as they were called by Gaulle?

We are embedded in the system of the republican monarchy. Impossible to go down. Let's take our side. It is in other directions that the means must be sought to ward off the danger of the political paralysis which still lurks in France. The referendum of popular initiative in force in Switzerland, to a lesser extent in Italy and in certain States of the United States, like California, is certainly not exempt from dangers, but has an immense merit: to guarantee by universal suffrage that he will have the last word to impose his views on the topics deemed crucial by him. A happy way to renovate institutions threatened with disaffection. And a good subject for reflection for the right if it wants to regain the confidence of its own voters.


The editorial advises you:


Guillaume Perrault: «La Ve République a 60 ans: Faut-il la remercier ou la maudire ?»

Guillaume Perrault

Grand reporter at Figaro and FigaroVox

Source: © Guillaume Perrault: "The Fifth Republic turns 60: Should we thank her or curse her?"

9 Partages

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed .

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Guillaume Perrault: «La Ve République a 60 ans: Faut-il la remercier ou la maudire ?»

Home»A LA UNE»Guillaume Perrault: «La Ve République a 60 ans: Faut-il la remercier ou la maudire ?»
Guillaume Perrault: «La Ve République a 60 ans: Faut-il la remercier ou la maudire ?»
Guillaume Perrault: «La Ve République a 60 ans: Faut-il la remercier ou la maudire ?»

ANALYSE – De grands auteurs jugent que la monarchie républicaine fondée en 1958 condamne paradoxalement le président à l’impuissance. Mais c’est dans d’autres directions qu’il faut chercher les moyens de conjurer le danger de la paralysie politique, argumente Guillaume Perrault.


Guillaume Perrault: «La Ve République a 60 ans: Faut-il la remercier ou la maudire ?»
– Crédits photo : figaro

Guillaume Perrault est grand reporter à FigaroVox et au Figaro. Maître de conférences à Sciences Po, il enseigne l’histoire politique française et les institutions politiques. Son dernier ouvrage, «Conservateurs, soyez fiers!», est paru chez Plon en 2017.


Les Français «deviennent jaloux de l’autorité au moment même où ils l’ont confiée», avertissait Mirabeau à l’Assemblée le 17 octobre 1789. Compte tenu de ce trait de caractère, ce n’est pas un mince exploit, pour la Ve République, d’avoir atteint l’âge respectable de 60 ans.

Le 4 septembre 1958, place de la République à Paris, de Gaulle présenta les institutions nouvelles et demanda «une adhésion franche et massive» au projet de loi constitutionnelle. Le 28 septembre, la Constitution, soumise aux Français par référendum, fut approuvée par 79,2 % des votants. La participation atteignit un record (84,9 %). La Constitution fut promulguée le 4 octobre 1958.

De Gaulle plaça la barre très haut: la Ve République ambitionne d’assurer à l’État l’assise «dont il est privé depuis 169  ans», c’est-à-dire depuis l’exécution de Louis XVI en 1793, expliquera-t-il dans ses Mémoires d’espoir. Le président-monarque tire sa légitimité de l’élection au suffrage universel direct (1962). L’Assemblée, toute-puissante sous la IVe République, a perdu une partie de ses prérogatives au profit de l’exécutif. Le gouvernement est presque assuré de durer. Pendant plusieurs décennies, les mauvais souvenirs de la IVe assurèrent aux nouvelles institutions la faveur des Français. L’alternance, en 1981, fit miraculeusement perdre à la gauche ses préventions initiales.

Et si la Ve République, loin d’avoir garanti l’efficacité de l’action publique, était l’une des causes de nos blocages?

Or voilà que le sentiment d’un déclin relatif du pays suscite, depuis les années 1990, les interrogations d’hommes de qualité: et si la Ve République, loin d’avoir garanti l’efficacité de l’action publique, était l’une des causes de nos blocages? Dès 1992, tandis que se traînait le second septennat de François Mitterrand, la thèse fut défendue par Jean-François Revel dans un pamphlet étincelant et très drôle, L’Absolutisme inefficace – Contre le présidentialisme à la française. Pour le penseur libéral, l’élection présidentielle entretient la croyance illusoire des Français envers la toute-puissance de l’État. La campagne suscite un immense espoir impossible à satisfaire. Une fois dégrisés, les Français sont immanquablement conduits à honnir le président qu’ils avaient d’abord adoré. Isolé dans l’empyrée élyséen, entouré par sa cour, le chef de l’État, lui, se complaît dans le sentiment de son infaillibilité. N’est-il pas l’élu? D’où une série de conséquences fâcheuses, qui forment autant de chapitres du livre de Revel: «Le despotisme irrésolu», «La présidence incapacitante», «La fiction du premier ministre», «Les transferts d’irresponsabilité» ou encore «Gouverner, c’est nommer».

Le retournement spectaculaire des médias et de l’opinion envers Emmanuel Macron paraît vérifier de façon implacable la thèse de Revel. Un des anciens collaborateurs de Nicolas Sarkozy à l’Élysée, l’essayiste et historien Maxime Tandonnet, fidèle signature des pages Débats du Figaro et de FigaroVox, juge d’ailleurs lui aussi, à la lumière de son expérience, que l’omnipotence du président le condamne paradoxalement à l’impuissance.

Aux interrogations légitimes de penseurs sincères s’ajoutent cependant des procureurs aux arrière-pensées moins pures. Une classe politique incapable de résoudre les maux du pays peut désirer faire porter la responsabilité de ses échecs à nos institutions. Il faut bien que la Constitution soit coupable pour qu’elle-même soit innocente.

Le diagnostic séduisant d’un Jean-François Revel ne peut pas se muer en ordonnance pour guérir le patient.

Au reste, le diagnostic séduisant d’un Revel ne peut pas se muer en ordonnance pour guérir le patient. La Ve, les Français l’ont adoptée puis raffermie par deux référendums (en 1958 et 1962) et ils l’aiment. Qui peut croire que nos citoyens accepteraient qu’on leur ôte le droit d’élire le président au suffrage universel direct, seul scrutin où ils se rendent encore en masse? Qui pourrait penser que le pays verrait sans réagir le chef de l’État, désigné par lui, cantonné à un rôle de représentation et d’influence, au profit des chefs de parti, «les notables et les notoires», comme les appelait de Gaulle?

Nous sommes embarqués dans le système de la monarchie républicaine. Impossible de descendre. Prenons-en notre parti. C’est dans d’autres directions qu’il faut chercher les moyens de conjurer le danger de la paralysie politique qui guette toujours en France. Le référendum d’initiative populaire en vigueur en Suisse, dans une moindre mesure en Italie et dans certains États des États-Unis, comme la Californie, n’est certes pas exempt de dangers, mais possède un immense mérite: garantir au suffrage universel qu’il aura le dernier mot pour imposer ses vues sur les sujets jugés cruciaux par lui. Un heureux moyen de rénover des institutions menacées de désaffection. Et un beau sujet de réflexion pour la droite si elle veut retrouver la confiance de ses propres électeurs.


La rédaction vous conseille :


Guillaume Perrault: «La Ve République a 60 ans: Faut-il la remercier ou la maudire ?»

Guillaume Perrault

Grand reporter au Figaro et à FigaroVox

Source :© Guillaume Perrault: «La Ve République a 60 ans: Faut-il la remercier ou la maudire ?»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais