Furious at the inflexibility of the state, Corsican nationalists call for a "big demonstration"

Home"TO THE ONE"Furious at the inflexibility of the state, Corsican nationalists call for a "big demonstration"
7 Partages

 

The elected Corsican denounce the firmness of the government on their claims and threaten to interrupt their tour of Paris.

The "natios" took the executive by surprise. Tuesday night, in full tour of Paris to defend their demands for the autonomy of Corsica, Gilles Simeoni, president of the executive of Corsica, and Jean-Guy Talamoni, president of the Assembly of Corsica, envisaged to go home, even canceling their last meeting, envisaged Wednesday, with the president of the National Assembly , François de Rugy. At the Élysée as at Matignon, we did not expect such a rebound.

The elected nationalists had certainly come out of their meeting with Premier Édouard Philippe, Monday, with some questions and a lot of worries. "He refuses and tells us:" I autonomy, I do not know what it is, "says Simeoni, furious. But Gilles Simeoni, leaving Matignon, had said "happy with this first contact" before the cameras. The next day, Tuesday afternoon, they left the Senate with the feeling of not being heard at all. This, even before the first official visit of Emmanuel Macron scheduled for February 6 and 7, they took note of a "political stalemate".

"We are being led, purely and simply, to the slaughterhouse. We can not accept it »

Gilles Simeoni at the "Figaro"

A few days before their stay in Paris, the nationalist elected officials feared such a scenario, calling on the contrary to the most open negotiations possible with the state, "without taboos or prerequisites."

In reality, it is a tweet broadcast Tuesday, late afternoon, which recorded the anger of the two elected Corsican. "After our talks yesterday and today, our conviction is made: the state refuses to recognize and take into account the political dimension of the Corsican question. In these conditions, we call in the coming days to the holding of a big popular demonstration, "Simeoni and Talamoni wrote simultaneously.

"We are being led, purely and simply, to the slaughterhouse. We can not accept it, "confided a little later to Figaro Gilles Simeoni. The grievances of the nationalists are numerous. Pointing out all the "blunders" of the government, they believe that the executive wants to "exclude from the dialogue all that is fundamental". They think in particular about the question of autonomy, the co-officiality of the Corsican language, the status of resident, to political prisoners and the notion of Corsican people. "In fine, it is limited to a simple technical discussion on a constitutional revision that will affect all areas of common law," says Simeoni, denouncing a "maneuver" intended in his view not to recognize the "political dimension" of their election.

»READ ALSO - Corsica: what were the springs of the victory of the nationalists?

The Senate Speaker Gerard Larcher seems at this stage just as inflexible. In a statement released Tuesday night, he reaffirms a firm position. "If the insular specificity of Corsica and its identity must be taken into consideration, the Republic is one and indivisible", he writes, while emphasizing the will of the Senate to be "guarantor of national unity and initiator of freedoms" news to our territories. "

"A political crisis"

By calling for the organization of a large mobilization in Corsica, before the head of state's displacement and in the wake of their electoral success, nationalists are betting on popular pressure to bend the executive. "We have no other space. We are in a political crisis because we are asked to give up everything, "regrets the president of the executive, measuring perfectly the scope of such a mobilization whose date is not yet finalized.

Impatient to return to Corsica to report on the missed appointments, the "natios" were resolved to continue the fight on another ground. "I think they did not understand who we are. Neither the size of the vote nor where we come from historically. We will not be the men of renunciation, "warns Gilles Simeoni.


Source: Furious at the inflexibility of the state, Corsican nationalists call for a "big demonstration"

7 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

Furieux de l'inflexibilité de l'État, les nationalistes corses appellent à une «grande manifestation»

Home»A LA UNE»Furieux de l’inflexibilité de l’État, les nationalistes corses appellent à une «grande manifestation»

Furieux de l'inflexibilité de l'État, les nationalistes corses appellent à une «grande manifestation»

 

Les élus corses dénoncent la fermeté du gouvernement sur leurs revendications et menacent d’interrompre leur tournée parisienne.

Les «natios» ont pris de court l’exécutif. Mardi soir, en pleine tournée parisienne pour défendre leurs revendications en faveur de l’autonomie de la Corse, Gilles Simeoni, président de l’exécutif de Corse, et Jean-Guy Talamoni, président de l’Assemblée de Corse, envisageaient de rentrer chez eux, quitte à annuler leur dernière rencontre, prévue mercredi, avec le président de l’Assemblée nationale, François de Rugy. À l’Élysée comme à Matignon, on ne s’attendait pas à un tel rebondissement.

Les élus nationalistes étaient certes sortis de leur entretien avec le premier ministre Édouard Philippe, lundi, avec quelques interrogations et beaucoup d’inquiétudes. «Il refuse et nous dit:  “moi l’autonomie, je ne sais pas ce que c’est”», raconte Simeoni, furieux. Mais Gilles Simeoni, quittant Matignon, s’était pourtant dit «heureux de ce premier contact» devant les caméras. Le lendemain, mardi après-midi, ils ont quitté le Sénat avec le sentiment de ne pas avoir été du tout entendus. Cela, avant même la première visite officielle d’Emmanuel Macron prévue les 6 et 7 février, ils ont pris acte d’une «impasse politique».

«On est en train de nous amener, purement et simplement, à l’abattoir. Nous ne pouvons pas l’accepter»

Gilles Simeoni au «Figaro»

Quelques jours avant leur séjour parisien, les élus nationalistes redoutaient un tel scénario, appelant au contraire à des négociations les plus ouvertes possible avec l’État, «sans tabous, ni préalables».

En réalité, c’est un tweet diffusé mardi, en fin d’après-midi, qui a acté la colère des deux élus corses. «Après nos entretiens d’hier et d’aujourd’hui, notre conviction est faite: l’État refuse de reconnaître et de prendre en compte la dimension politique de la question corse. Dans ces conditions, nous appelons dans les prochains jours à la tenue d’une grande manifestation populaire», ont écrit simultanément Simeoni et Talamoni.

«On est en train de nous amener, purement et simplement, à l’abattoir. Nous ne pouvons pas l’accepter», confiait un peu plus tard au Figaro Gilles Simeoni. Les griefs des nationalistes sont nombreux. Pointant toutes les «maladresses» du gouvernement, ils estiment que l’exécutif veut «exclure du dialogue tout ce qui est fondamental». Ils pensent notamment à la question de l’autonomie, à la co-officialité de la langue corse, au statut de résident, aux prisonniers politiques et à la notion de peuple corse. «In fine, cela se restreint à une simple discussion technique sur une révision constitutionnelle qui concernera toutes les régions de droit commun», déplore encore Simeoni, en dénonçant une «manœuvre» destinée selon lui à ne pas reconnaître la «dimension politique» de leur élection.

» LIRE AUSSI – Corse: quels furent les ressorts de la victoire des nationalistes?

Le président du Sénat Gérard Larcher semble à ce stade tout aussi inflexible. Dans un communiqué diffusé mardi soir, il réaffirme une position ferme. «Si la spécificité insulaire de la Corse et son identité doivent être prises en considération, la République est une et indivisible», écrit-il, en soulignant néanmoins la volonté du Sénat de se porter «garant de l’unité nationale et initiateur de libertés nouvelles accordées à nos territoires.»

«Une crise politique»

En appelant à l’organisation d’une large mobilisation en Corse, avant le déplacement du chef de l’État et dans la foulée de leur succès électoral, les nationalistes misent sur la pression populaire pour faire fléchir l’exécutif. «Nous n’avons pas d’autre espace. Nous sommes dans une crise politique parce qu’on nous demande de renoncer à tout», regrette le président de l’exécutif, mesurant parfaitement la portée d’une telle mobilisation dont la date n’est pas encore définitivement arrêtée.

Impatients de rentrer en Corse pour faire un compte rendu des rendez-vous manqués, les «natios» étaient résolus à poursuivre le combat sur un autre terrain. «Je pense qu’ils n’ont pas compris qui nous sommes. Ni l’ampleur du vote, ni d’où nous venons historiquement. Nous ne serons pas les hommes du renoncement», met en garde Gilles Simeoni.


Source: Furieux de l’inflexibilité de l’État, les nationalistes corses appellent à une «grande manifestation»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais