François-Xavier Bellamy: "Jean-Jacques Rousseau, forerunner of totalitarianism?"

Home"TO THE ONE"François-Xavier Bellamy: "Jean-Jacques Rousseau, forerunner of totalitarianism?"
13 Partages

TRIBUNE - True genius, the author of the Social Contract has nonetheless conceived an intellectual system which favored, after him, the thought ..

TRIBUNE - True genius, the author of Social contract Nevertheless, he conceived an intellectual system which, after him, favored totalitarian thought, argues the aggregate of philosophy.

What is most familiar to us is also the most foreign to us. Where does the force of laws come from? And the concentration of power? On what basis is the political reality established? To investigate the nature of what binds us to one another in a community of law is the task that philosophy has set for itself since the fourth century. The dialogue that such a question provokes is not purely theoretical: it is political, because, according to the answer that one brings to the question of the foundations of the power, one determines the legitimate measure of its extension on our lives.

In the natural state of man, the social bond does not appear

Among the great answers that history has tried to offer to a question so decisive, the one proposed by Jean-Jacques Rousseau marks a break. The second Speech and, more importantly, the Social contract propose a genealogy of the political community that illuminates contemporary debates. It is a genealogy that is involved, since, according to Rousseau, politics has not always existed: it is not natural. In the natural state of man, the social bond does not appear. Trying, like all modern political thought, to draw a state of nature, Rousseau introduces us to man as a self-sufficient loner, without any link that brings him closer to his fellow creatures. He does not feel the need since, having no desire that exceeds the necessities of any animal, it would be useless to resort to others to obtain what is superfluous. For Rousseau, society is first and foremost the result of a catastrophe which has unfortunately brought us out of this state of ignorance, innocence and absolute bliss.

Learning to live together

Victims of this irreversible fatality, we must learn to live together. To prevent the clash of our freedoms from putting us at every moment under the threat of others, Hobbes asserted that the political pact is to create a power that holds us all in awe by the fear it inspires us. Against the Leviathan State, Rousseau proposes another definition of the social contract: each one of us must associate his freedom in a collective body, and so sovereignty must be granted to the general will. Let everyone recognize the public decision as their own decision: in this way, by obeying the law that the State deliberates, we will obey only ourselves, and we can continue to be as free as before.

By this, Rousseau is of course precursor of the French Revolution, which he is undoubtedly one of the greatest inspirers. It revokes the idea that the source of power should be sought in a form of natural or supernatural reality that would precede the act of our freedom. It is the will of the participants of the social contract which makes the general will come into being, which constitutes it as such: power finds its principle in the people themselves. The "immanentist" ideal of modern democracy is born, with the promise of freedom it brings. But despite this promise, and even at its heart, lies the major tension that will soon justify being threatened, imprisoned, deported, organized terror, and killed - we crush the individual, in the name of freedom.

The general will, Rousseau warns, is not even "the will of all". Because the will of the people can be wrong, if the people did not judge well

Through it, in fact, Rousseauism surreptitiously installs an unprecedented form of transcendence. The general will is the principle of a new messianism; it is not contained in the addition of individual wills. The general will, Rousseau warns, is not even "the will of all". For the will of the people can be deceived if the people have not judged well; the general will, for its part, is always right and always tends to public utility. To this new transcendence, we understand that everything is due; it makes explode what Pascal called the "distinction of orders": for the Christian, political power reigned over "the order of the bodies", the conscience over "the order of the reason", and the faith alone over "The order of charity". The sovereign could demand an external obedience: everyone was bound to conform his action to the common rule. But the adherence of the heart was reserved for what surpasses "grandeur of establishment" and great of this world. Christianity wants to give back to Caesar what is due to him, but nothing more. Henceforth, everything must be returned to power, from which comes the very existence of every citizen. By expelling metaphysics from politics, Rousseau frees the place of God only to install the state, which will soon become a providence.

The social contract, source of totalitarian madness

Bertrand Russell, in theHistory of western philosophy, says that the ultimate result of Rousseauism is called Hitler. Such a shortcut is of course hazardous, and derisory: the reductio ad hitlerum is always too simplistic to honestly challenge a thought. But it would be just as derisory to dispute that the Social contract was one of the sources of totalitarian madness. The terrestrial redemption which he proposes, by the consented absorption of each individual liberty into collective freedom; the obligation of the citizen, to be recognized as such, to recognize absolutely as his own will the "general will"; death accepted as a just answer for those who, by distancing themselves from the sovereign decision, are reputed to become enemies of society ... Who can doubt that this political vision is conducive to the absolutization of power, which has manifested in the twentieth century like never before?

The ancient world knew that politics is the human condition, not a construction of humans; but in the irreducible contingency of the history of our cities, ancient democracy made dialogue the condition of just deliberation. The new world promises that everything is in our hands, but on condition that we make it the workings of the great march of history. The evident exhaustion of partisan divisions has raised our great and dangerous illusion: to oppose to power the necessity of the contradictory dialogue, would be to oppose the good running of the State. Rousseau asserted that the advent of the "general will" was threatened by "brigades and associations"; today, we are told that party pluralism prevents the necessary consensus. This is the very principle of what Popper regarded as the rejection of "open society": there would be only those who walk and those who would like to stop. It is to forget too quickly that the direction of our itinerary is not given evidence; and that to preach the liberation of the individual in the contractualist utopia does not always lead, far from it, to realizing it in the facts.

Former student of the École normale supérieure, François-Xavier Bellamy is the author of "The Disinherited, or the Urgency to transmit" (Plon, 2014).

Source: François-Xavier Bellamy: "Jean-Jacques Rousseau, forerunner of totalitarianism?"

13 Partages

8 Responses to "François-Xavier Bellamy : «Jean-Jacques Rousseau, précurseur du totalitarisme ?»"

  1. Rosine Levy
    Rosine Levy   3 December 2017 at 11 h 10 min

    Jacqueline Quehen, what do you think?

    • Jacqueline Quehen
      Jacqueline Quehen   3 December 2017 at 11 h 13 min

      that Rousseau is the worst-read author in the world

    • Rosine Levy
      Rosine Levy   3 December 2017 at 11 h 19 min

      So? Ready for me?
      The 10/1
      Am curious
      Biz couz

    • Jacqueline Quehen
      Jacqueline Quehen   3 December 2017 at 18 h 46 min

      Oh, that's hard week!

  2. Jacqueline Quehen
    Jacqueline Quehen   3 December 2017 at 15 h 24 min

    yes my presentation is already ready do not worry

    • Rosine Levy
      Rosine Levy   3 December 2017 at 17 h 21 min

      Thank you I can launch the info?
      C is for the 10/1

  3. Richard Abitbol
    Richard Abitbol   3 December 2017 at 15 h 44 min

    What exhibit?

    • Rosine Levy
      Rosine Levy   3 December 2017 at 17 h 22 min

      Curious!

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

François-Xavier Bellamy : «Jean-Jacques Rousseau, précurseur du totalitarisme ?»

Home»A LA UNE»François-Xavier Bellamy : «Jean-Jacques Rousseau, précurseur du totalitarisme ?»

François-Xavier Bellamy : «Jean-Jacques Rousseau, précurseur du totalitarisme ?»

TRIBUNE – Véritable génie, l’auteur du Contrat social n’en a pas moins conçu un système intellectuel qui a favorisé, après lui, la pensée..

TRIBUNE – Véritable génie, l’auteur du Contrat social n’en a pas moins conçu un système intellectuel qui a favorisé, après lui, la pensée totalitaire, argumente l’agrégé de philosophie.

Ce qui nous est le plus familier nous est aussi le plus étranger. D’où vient la force des lois? Et la concentration du pouvoir? Sur quel fondement s’établit la réalité politique? Enquêter sur la nature de ce qui nous lie les uns aux autres dans une communauté de droit, c’est la tâche que s’est fixée la philosophie dès le IVe siècle grec. Le dialogue qu’une telle question suscite n’est pas purement théorique: il est politique, car, selon la réponse qu’on apporte à la question des fondations du pouvoir, on détermine la mesure légitime de son extension sur nos vies.

Dans l’état naturel de l’homme, le lien social ne figure pas

Parmi les grandes réponses que l’histoire a tenté d’offrir à une question si décisive, celle que propose Jean-Jacques Rousseau marque une rupture. Le second Discours et, plus encore, le Contrat social proposent une généalogie de la communauté politique qui éclaire des débats contemporains. C’est bien d’une généalogie qu’il s’agit, puisque, selon Rousseau, la politique n’a pas toujours existé: elle n’est donc pas naturelle. Dans l’état naturel de l’homme, le lien social ne figure pas. S’essayant, comme toute la pensée politique moderne, à dessiner un état de nature, Rousseau nous y présente l’homme comme un solitaire autosuffisant, sans aucun lien qui le rapproche durablement de ses semblables. Il n’en éprouve pas le besoin puisque, n’ayant aucun désir qui excède les nécessités propres à tout animal, il lui serait inutile de recourir à autrui pour obtenir ce qui lui est superflu. La société est d’abord, pour Rousseau, le résultat d’une catastrophe qui nous a fait sortir, par malheur, de cet état d’ignorance, d’innocence et de béatitude absolue.

Apprendre à vivre ensemble

Victimes de cette fatalité irréversible, il nous faut apprendre à vivre ensemble. Pour éviter que le choc de nos libertés ne nous place à chaque instant sous la menace d’autrui, Hobbes affirmait que le pacte politique consiste à créer un pouvoir qui nous tient tous en respect par la peur qu’il nous inspire. Contre l’État Léviathan, Rousseau propose, lui, une autre définition du contrat social: il faut que chacun d’entre nous associe sa liberté dans un corps collectif, et qu’ainsi la souveraineté soit accordée à la volonté générale. Que chacun reconnaisse la décision publique comme sa propre décision: de cette manière, en obéissant à la loi que l’État délibère, nous n’obéirons qu’à nous-mêmes, et nous pourrons continuer de nous trouver aussi libres qu’avant.

Par là, Rousseau se montre bien sûr précurseur de la Révolution française, dont il est à n’en pas douter l’un des plus grands inspirateurs. Il révoque l’idée que la source du pouvoir devrait être recherchée dans une forme de réalité naturelle ou surnaturelle qui précéderait l’acte de notre liberté. C’est la volonté des participants du contrat social qui fait advenir la volonté générale, qui la constitue comme telle: le pouvoir trouve son principe dans le peuple lui-même. L’idéal «immanentiste» de la démocratie moderne est né, avec la promesse de liberté qu’elle apporte. Mais, malgré cette promesse, et même en son cœur, se trouve la tension majeure qui bientôt justifiera qu’on menace, qu’on emprisonne, qu’on déporte, qu’on organise la terreur, et qu’on tue – qu’on écrase l’individu, au nom de la liberté.

La volonté générale, avertit Rousseau, n’est même pas «la volonté de tous». Car la volonté du peuple peut se tromper, si le peuple n’a pas bien jugé

À travers elle, en effet, le rousseauisme installe subrepticement une forme inédite de transcendance. La volonté générale est le principe d’un nouveau messianisme ; elle n’est pas contenue dans l’addition des volontés individuelles. La volonté générale, avertit Rousseau, n’est même pas «la volonté de tous». Car la volonté du peuple peut se tromper, si le peuple n’a pas bien jugé ; la volonté générale, elle, «est toujours droite et tend toujours à l’utilité publique». À cette nouvelle transcendance, on comprend que tout est dû ; elle fait voler en éclat ce que Pascal appelait la «distinction des ordres» : pour le chrétien, le pouvoir politique régnait sur «l’ordre des corps», la conscience sur «l’ordre de la raison», et la foi seule sur «l’ordre de la charité». Le souverain pouvait exiger une obéissance extérieure: chacun était tenu de conformer son action à la règle commune. Mais l’adhésion du cœur était réservée à ce qui dépasse «grandeurs d’établissement» et grands de ce monde. Le christianisme veut rendre à César ce qui lui est dû, mais rien de plus. Désormais, il faut tout rendre au pouvoir, dont procède l’existence même de chaque citoyen. En expulsant la métaphysique de la politique, Rousseau ne libère la place de Dieu que pour y installer l’État, qui bientôt deviendra providence.

Le Contrat social, source de la folie totalitaire

Bertrand Russell, dans l’Histoire de la philosophie occidentale, affirme que le résultat ultime du rousseauisme s’appelle Hitler. Un tel raccourci est bien sûr hasardeux, et dérisoire: la reductio ad hitlerum est toujours trop simpliste pour contester loyalement une pensée. Mais il serait tout aussi dérisoire de contester que le Contrat social a constitué l’une des sources de la folie totalitaire. La rédemption terrestre qu’il propose, par l’absorption consentie de chaque liberté individuelle dans la liberté collective ; l’obligation faite au citoyen, pour être reconnu comme tel, de reconnaître absolument comme sa propre volonté la «volonté générale» ; la mort acceptée comme une juste réponse pour celui qui, en prenant ses distances avec la décision souveraine, est réputé se transformer en ennemi de la société… Qui peut douter que cette vision politique soit propice à l’absolutisation du pouvoir, qui s’est manifestée au XXe siècle comme jamais auparavant?

Le monde ancien savait que la politique est la condition humaine, et non une construction des humains ; mais dans la contingence irréductible de l’histoire de nos cités, la démocratie antique faisait du dialogue la condition de la juste délibération. Le nouveau monde promet que tout est entre nos mains, mais à condition que nous en fassions les rouages de la grande marche de l’histoire. L’évident épuisement des clivages partisans a vu ressusciter notre grande et dangereuse illusion: opposer au pouvoir la nécessité du dialogue contradictoire, ce serait s’opposer à la bonne marche de l’État. Rousseau affirmait que l’avènement de la «volonté générale» était menacé par «les brigues et les associations» ; aujourd’hui, on nous explique que le pluralisme des partis empêche le nécessaire consensus. Voilà le principe même de ce que Popper regardait comme le refus de la «société ouverte»: il n’y aurait plus que ceux qui marchent et ceux qui voudraient s’arrêter. C’est oublier trop vite que la direction de notre itinéraire n’est pas donnée d’évidence ; et que prêcher la libération de l’individu dans l’utopie contractualiste ne conduit pas toujours, loin de là, à la réaliser dans les faits.

Ancien élève de l’École normale supérieure, François-Xavier Bellamy est l’auteur de «Les déshérités, ou l’Urgence de transmettre» (Plon, 2014).

Source: François-Xavier Bellamy : «Jean-Jacques Rousseau, précurseur du totalitarisme ?»

8 Responses to "François-Xavier Bellamy : «Jean-Jacques Rousseau, précurseur du totalitarisme ?»"

  1. Rosine Levy
    Rosine Levy   3 décembre 2017 at 11 h 10 min

    Jacqueline Quehen t’en penses quoi?

    Répondre
    • Jacqueline Quehen
      Jacqueline Quehen   3 décembre 2017 at 11 h 13 min

      que Rousseau est l’auteur le plus mal lu du monde

      Répondre
    • Rosine Levy
      Rosine Levy   3 décembre 2017 at 11 h 19 min

      Alors? Prêtes pour moi?
      Le 10/1
      Suis curieuse
      Biz couz

      Répondre
    • Jacqueline Quehen
      Jacqueline Quehen   3 décembre 2017 at 18 h 46 min

      Ouh là dure semaine!

      Répondre
  2. Jacqueline Quehen
    Jacqueline Quehen   3 décembre 2017 at 15 h 24 min

    oui mon exposé est déjà prêt ne t’inquiète pas

    Répondre
    • Rosine Levy
      Rosine Levy   3 décembre 2017 at 17 h 21 min

      Merci je peux lancer l info?
      C est pour le 10/1

      Répondre
  3. Richard Abitbol
    Richard Abitbol   3 décembre 2017 at 15 h 44 min

    Quel expose ?

    Répondre
    • Rosine Levy
      Rosine Levy   3 décembre 2017 at 17 h 22 min

      Curieux!

      Répondre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais