François d'Orcival: "The house, the tree and the sun of the little Syrian"

Home"TO THE ONE"François d'Orcival: "The house, the tree and the sun of the little Syrian"
3 Partages
Syrian refugee camp. - Photo credits: IBRAHIM YASOUF / AFP

CHRONICLE - Rather than abandoning the war-torn Syrian populations to exile and uprooting, our political leaders should insist on the need to rebuild. The rest is only illusion, false generosity, destructive utopia.

"Draw me what you want," said the big one to the child, handing him a sheet of paper and a pencil. "What do I want?", Replies the child, incredulous. "Yes, what you want," the adult repeats. Then the child takes the paper, the pencil, and he draws a house, a tree, a sun. The great is called Omar Abi Azar; he is the co-founder of Zoukak Collective, a Lebanese theater company that devotes itself to the traumatized wars of the Middle East; the child is a Syrian refugee encountered in one of the camps of Lebanon. This true story, Omar Abi Azar, was told when she received, at the Musée du Quai Branly, the Culture for Peace Award (co-sponsored by the Fondation Chirac and the Culture and Diversity Foundation).

The house, the tree, the sun. The symbolism is strong. The little boy who draws his drawing on his sheet sees nothing but a dream. What is he thinking? At home, which is his roof, his protection, his family; to the tree, which is its decor and its country; in the sun, heat and life. That's what he's thinking about. What we call his roots, to find a lost identity.

Rebuild as quickly as possible, at the earliest, their home

It is this obsession that the leaders of this world, our political leaders, should have in mind: not that of abandoning these people wounded by the war to exile and uprooting but rebuilding for them, at most quickly, at the earliest, their house, and plant their trees. The rest is only illusion, false generosity, destructive utopia.

It is enough to understand to open the collection of the editorials of Claude Imbert in Point (Chronicles, at Plon). Take the one from December 13, 1997, exactly twenty years ago, Chirac was president, Jospin prime minister, and the war had not ravaged Syria; But Claude Imbert already warned against the perverse effects of massive transfers of illegal immigrants, in the name of all the good intentions of the world, alas spoiled "by the angelism and the carelessness". "It is aimed at the generous integration of exotic populations," he wrote, "and the disintegration of the social body is harvested." You can not take your house and tree with you, or even the sun, so easily.

Source: ©François d'Orcival: "The house, the tree and the sun of the little Syrian"

3 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

François d'Orcival: «La maison, l'arbre et le soleil du petit Syrien»

Home»A LA UNE»François d’Orcival: «La maison, l’arbre et le soleil du petit Syrien»
François d'Orcival: «La maison, l'arbre et le soleil du petit Syrien»
Camp de réfugiés syriens. – Crédits photo : IBRAHIM YASOUF/AFP

CHRONIQUE – Plutôt que d’abandonner les populations syriennes, meurtries par la guerre, à l’exil et au déracinement, nos dirigeants politiques devraient insister sur la nécessité de reconstruire. Le reste n’est qu’illusion, fausse générosité, utopie destructrice.

«Dessine-moi ce que tu veux», dit le grand à l’enfant en lui tendant une feuille de papier et un crayon. «Ce que je veux?», répond l’enfant, incrédule. «Oui, ce que tu veux», répète l’adulte. Alors l’enfant prend la feuille, le crayon, et il dessine une maison, un arbre, un soleil. Le grand s’appelle Omar Abi Azar ; il est le cofondateur du Collectif Zoukak, une compagnie de théâtre libanaise qui se dévoue pour les traumatisés des guerres du Proche-Orient ; l’enfant est un réfugié syrien rencontré dans l’un des camps du Liban. Cette histoire vraie, Omar Abi Azar l’a racontée en recevant, au musée du Quai Branly, le prix Culture pour la paix (coparrainé par la Fondation Chirac et la Fondation Culture et Diversité).

La maison, l’arbre, le soleil. La symbolique est forte. Le petit garçon qui trace son dessin sur sa feuille n’y voit rien d’autre qu’un rêve. À quoi pense-t-il? À la maison, qui est son toit, sa protection, sa famille ; à l’arbre, qui est son décor et son pays ; au soleil, la chaleur et la vie. Voilà à quoi il songe. À ce que nous appelons ses racines, à retrouver une identité perdue.

Reconstruire au plus vite, au plus tôt, leur maison

C’est cette obsession-là que les grands de ce monde, nos dirigeants politiques, devraient avoir en tête: non pas celle d’abandonner ces populations meurtries par la guerre à l’exil et au déracinement mais de reconstruire pour elles, au plus vite, au plus tôt, leur maison, et de leur planter des arbres. Le reste n’est qu’illusion, fausse générosité, utopie destructrice.

Il suffit pour comprendre d’ouvrir le recueil des éditoriaux de Claude Imbert dans Le Point (Chroniques, chez Plon). Prenez celui du 13 décembre 1997, il y a très exactement vingt ans, Chirac était président, Jospin premier ministre, et la guerre n’avait pas ravagé la Syrie ; mais Claude Imbert mettait déjà en garde contre les effets pervers des transferts massifs de clandestins, au nom de toutes les bonnes intentions du monde, hélas gâtées «par l’angélisme et l’incurie». «On y vise l’intégration généreuse de populations exotiques, écrivait-il, et l’on récolte la désintégration du corps social.» On n’emporte pas si facilement sa maison et son arbre avec soi, ni même le soleil…

Source: ©François d’Orcival: «La maison, l’arbre et le soleil du petit Syrien»

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais