France-Israel, secret stories at the height of power

Home"TO THE ONE"France-Israel, secret stories at the height of power
20 Partages
Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Shamir, former Mossad agent in France and conservative leader, talks with François Mitterrand on February 22, 1989. - Photo credits: Thierry Orban / Sygma via Getty Images

EXCLUSIVE - In his new book of investigation, our collaborator Vincent Nouzille unveils original conversations that have marked the relationship between the French and Israeli authorities for 70 years. Excerpts.

A radiant relationship before being stormy, then icy, then warmed to finish as a cold and distant relationship. In seventy years, the weather between France and Israel has known all the colors of the sky and the temperatures that go with it. From this duet varying between close complicity and outright hostility, the heads of state and government who succeeded each other in Paris and Jerusalem were the main actors.

As he had done in a previous book on the relationship between Paris and Washington (In the secret of the presidents, Fayard, 2010), Vincent Nouzille has, to write Secret stories. France-Israel 1948-2018, peeled the archives and interviewed the witnesses in order to tell as precisely as possible the exchanges, encounters and quarrels that the tandems of the French President-Prime Minister of Israel have known.

Mutual admiration and cordial detestation

An exciting story that begins with the close links between Guy Mollet and David Ben Gurion, under a benevolent and protective 4th Republic, like the big sister of a newborn Hebrew State. We then meet de Gaulle and his offensive phrase on the Jews, "elite people, self-confident and domineering", the culmination of a quarrel arising from the Six-Day War and a prelude to the famous Arab policy.

Later comes the renewal hoped by Jerusalem with the election of François Mitterrand, disappointed hope when it will be the advocate of the rights of Palestinians. Even the advent of Nicolas Sarkozy, praised by an enthusiastic Israel, will end once again in spite of love.

Vincent Nouzille is the scrupulous chronicler of these ups and downs of bilateral diplomacy where mutual admiration, as between Peres and Mitterrand, sometimes leaves room for moments of cordial detestation, especially under Giscard and Chirac. To read it, one wonders if the two nations did not love each other too much in the 1950s, those of the beginnings of Israel. So much passion could only lead to disappointment. As General de Gaulle said: "States have no friends, they only have interests."

● February 22, 1989: Mitterrand tries to convince Shamir

Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Shamir, former Mossad agent in France and conservative leader, talks with François Mitterrand. The French president is preparing to welcome for the first time in Paris the Palestinian Yasser Arafat, head of the PLO, considered a "terrorist" by Shamir. Dialogue of the deaf.

Prime Minister Yitzhak Shamir and President François Mitterrand in Paris, February 22, 1989. - Photo Credits: Thierry Orban / Sygma via Getty Images

Received at the Elysée by François Mitterrand on February 22, 1989, Yitzhak Shamir tries to demonstrate that his country is open to discussion. But he does not give an inch on the bottom. "Establishing a [Palestinian] state will not solve anything. Palestinians in the Diaspora (Jordan, Lebanon, Kuwait) will have no place. This will engender frustration, bitterness, which will develop into base of attack and violence against us. We will have to take action, install tens of thousands of kilometers of barbed wire, electronic surveillance systems. I recently went to southern Lebanon where we have a small slice of territory. It is very expensive. It's not a cure. "

For its part, the French president believes, on the contrary, that the Palestinians' right can not be ignored any longer and that the PLO has changed: "To deny the PLO's bargaining power is a mistake. It has made progress, its changes are not hypocritical. "According to him, a meeting with Yasser Arafat, who has already been received in several European countries, is likely:" I did not decide anything. But I do not see how, why, in the name of what, I could refuse durably. I have not decided, no appointment is made. It will not be tomorrow morning. The problem is posed. It will have to be solved. I will only follow the opportunity, the political realism. "

● July 27, 2005: Chirac and Sharon pretend to be reconciled

On July 27, 2005, President Jacques Chirac receives Israeli Prime Minister Ariel Sharon to resume a dialogue that has been interrupted for four years. Yasser Arafat, Chirac's protégé and Sharon's sworn enemy, died at the end of 2004 and the Israeli prime minister proposed a unilateral withdrawal from the Gaza Strip.

[...] The interview that takes place at the Elysee Palace on July 27, 2005, followed by a "working lunch", looks like a reconciliation a little overplayed. On the one hand, the prime minister publicly presents Chirac as "one of the world's greatest leaders" and thanks him for "the precious help" France has given to the peace process. He highlights his efforts in the fight against anti-Semitism and officially invites him to visit his ranch in Israel. On the other, the French wishes "the most cordial welcome" to his host. He praises the "common values" and the "historical" character of the Israeli decision to withdraw from Gaza.

During the meal, Ariel Sharon reiterates his firm commitment to hold this commitment by mid-August, despite strong criticism in his country.

- Do you think Palestinians have an interest in sabotaging your withdrawal plan? asks Chirac.

"I do not know, but I'll do it no matter what," Sharon replies.

- I understand the message. One must succeed. We will support you, promises Chirac.

[...] In order not to aggravate the debate, the French president is careful not to ask any pressing questions about the possible subjects of disagreement, such as the peace negotiations that should prolong the withdrawal from Gaza, the fate of the other Jewish settlements in the provinces. occupied territories or the ongoing construction of the security wall.

"The best moment of my political life is when I was Minister of Agriculture. Me too!"

Just as anxious to avoid angry subjects, the Israeli prime minister is encouraging Chirac to continue negotiations for Iran to abandon its nuclear program. "We will not make concessions on the subject", assures him the French president, who is said ready to seize the Security Council of the UN if Tehran does not give "objective guarantees on the definitive stop of its nuclear activities sensitive. " Sharon also congratulates him for his pressure on Syria. [...] In front of his guest, Chirac insists on the negative regional role of Bashar al-Assad, for which he does not have words hard enough: "It is a bad regime, which understands nobody and does nothing to change his behavior."

[...] To seal a new pact and to realize the good relations between their countries, the two leaders agree to launch a France-Israel Foundation whose objective will be to improve the image of Israel in France, and vice versa.

More prosaically, Chirac and Sharon end up approaching a subject that brings them closer: the cattle.

"I have a farm in the Negev with a few cows, including cows from Salers," Sharon said.

- Do you know that limousines can withstand harsh climates? Come see them at the Salon de l'agriculture.

- Okay, provided you come to visit my Negev farm.

- I will come with pleasure.

- The best moment of my political life is when I was Minister of Agriculture.

- Me too!

● June 24, 2009: Sarkozy teaches Netanyahu

On 24 June 2009, President Nicolas Sarkozy welcomes Israeli Prime Minister Benyamin Netanyahu, who has been reoccupying this post for a few months. Sarkozy believes he can give advice to his friend "Bibi", whom he knows and enjoys for a long time. But the Israeli prime minister will not take it into account.

[...] As a friend of Israel, Sarkozy feels entitled to give his opinion and able to move the lines. It is he who opens the conversation and leads it from end to end, without really giving his guest the leisure to express himself at length:

- I want to emphasize how much I appreciate our personal friendship. It allows me the franchise. I truly believe that, to ensure your own safety, you must make peace with your neighbors.

- I'm ready. In my speech at the University of Bar-Ilan on June 14, I said that I was in favor of creating a demilitarized Palestinian state. Israel will also guarantee all minority rights, and Israeli Arabs will not be expelled.

"Israel has no time to lose. We are ready to help you »

- Your speech was good, but insufficient. Israel has no time to lose. We are ready to help you move forward as we can. Progress towards peace also depends on international alliances and you must also win the war of communication. The longer you wait, the more you lose international support.

The French president does not use the term "demilitarized" used by his interlocutor to characterize the Palestinian state; he prefers to say "calm and pacified". [...]

Asked about his possible participation in an international conference that would promote the process, Netanyahu replied:

- I totally agree that such a conference should take place. I do not have a problem with that. But I understand that Americans are hesitant on the subject.

- I'll talk to President Obama at the G8 summit, at least test his reaction to this conference idea, even in confidence. If it agrees on the principle, France will mobilize all its resources to make this conference a success. We will also push the Arab countries. We have the confidence of all the actors, proposes Sarkozy.

"There is no justification for these settlements. They provide no security and you have nothing to gain from it »

On the other hand, the French president strongly advises Netanyahu to "totally freeze" the activities of Jewish settlements in the Palestinian territories, which represent a "problem of occupation".

"There is no justification for these settlements. They provide no security and you have nothing to gain. This problem can be solved by the existence of the two States, which is another reason for speeding up the peace negotiations. The Arab countries can contribute, and France will encourage them to do so. But first you have to make decisions about settlements. You must also lift the blockade of Gaza and let the Palestinians rebuild. "

Netanyahu seems a little surprised by this directive tone, and even crumpled by these remarks, especially since he has already publicly excluded such a "total freeze". He responds vaguely: "We will freeze the earth, but not life in the settlements."

The interview was frank. Nevertheless, it was more like a Sarkozy monologue than a real exchange.

● January 11, 2015: Netanyahu wins with Holland

On 7 and 9 January 2015, attacks hit the editorial office of Charlie Hebdo and a Hyper Cacher store in Paris. The Israeli prime minister wants to come to protest on January 11.

[...] Saturday, January 10, the preparations for the demonstration the next mobilize the Quai d'Orsay and the diplomatic cell of the Elysee. All European leaders want to be present, as well as many other heads of state and government. Barack Obama can not cross the Atlantic: he will be represented by his ambassador and will send his secretary of state, John Kerry, to Paris the following Monday. In Jerusalem, Benyamin Netanyahu wishes to make the trip. His advisor Yossi Cohen talks several times with Jacques Audibert, the diplomatic adviser of Holland. The latter politely tells him that Netanyahu would not be welcome. It highlights security and diplomacy issues. Mahmoud Abbas, president of the Palestinian Authority, said he would not be here. Let him come on Monday instead.

"Netanyahu did not want to let his allies and rivals parade in Paris as defenders of Jewish communities, when he was three months away from the elections. So he chose to impose himself "

Annoyed, Netanyahu asks his friend [French MP] Meyer Habib to intervene. The latter sends a message to Manuel Valls, who replied that it is the Elysee who manages the entire event. The situation is blocked. Netanyahu seems to be a reason, especially since Obama will also be absent.

But "Bibi" is also a fine tactician. He learned that his Foreign Minister, Avigdor Lieberman, who represents the ultra-nationalists, and his Minister of Industry, Naftali Bennett, leader of the far-right religious and settlers, have planned to visit Paris on next day. Never mind: in the late afternoon, after again consulting with Meyer Habib, who encourages him to do so, Netanyahu decides that he will lead the Israeli delegation. "He did not want to let his allies and rivals parade in Paris as defenders of Jewish communities, when he was three months away from the elections. So he chose to win, "said an Israeli diplomat who knows him well.

The entourage of President Hollande pleaded the security puzzle to try to dissuade Netanyahu from coming. In vain

Immediately warned, the Elysee frowns: the presence of Netanyahu will inevitably be controversial. The entourage of President Hollande pleaded again the security puzzle to try to dissuade the visitor. In vain. The diplomatic cell can not prevent the arrival of the Prime Minister of Israel while Jews are among the victims. "In disaster, we had to remember Mahmoud Abbas to balance things," says an adviser to François Hollande. The Palestinian president is awakened in the middle of the night in his stronghold of Ramallah and expressly invited to jump on a plane for Paris.

[...] When he arrives in Paris on Sunday, January 11 late in the morning, Benyamin Netanyahu is tense. Its security agents, reputed inflexible, panic by discovering the planned device: the fifty leaders present must be driven near the Republic Square by bus. [...] As all heads of state and government prepare to get into the vehicle, the Israeli isolates himself in a room of the Elysee Palace to equip himself with a bulletproof coat.

On the scene of the demonstration, in the middle of a crowd of a million and a half people, he is almost worn by his three bodyguards, posted behind him. Stuck between Luxembourg's Jean-Claude Juncker and Malian Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta, he advances by greeting the crowd with one hand. His features remain tense, betraying his nervousness. From a balcony, a woman calls him: "Bibi!" He relaxes for a few moments.


The editorial advises you:


Jean-Marc Gonin 18 followers
To follow Journalist

Source: ©France-Israel, secret stories at the height of power

20 Partages

Comments are closed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By: XYZScripts.com
en_USEnglish

France-Israël, histoires secrètes au sommet du pouvoir

Home»A LA UNE»France-Israël, histoires secrètes au sommet du pouvoir
France-Israël, histoires secrètes au sommet du pouvoir
Le premier ministre israélien Yitzhak Shamir, ancien agent du Mossad en France et leader conservateur, échange avec François ­Mitterrand le 22 février 1989. – Crédits photo : Thierry Orban/Sygma via Getty Images

EXCLUSIF – Dans son nouveau livre d’enquête, notre collaborateur Vincent Nouzille dévoile des conversations inédites ayant jalonné les rapports entre les autorités françaises et israéliennes depuis 70 ans. Extraits.

Une relation radieuse avant d’être orageuse, puis glaciale, réchauffée ensuite pour finir comme un rapport froid et distant. En soixante-dix ans, la météo entre la France et Israël a connu toutes les couleurs du ciel et les températures qui vont avec. De ce duo variant entre complicité étroite et franche hostilité, les chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement qui se sont succédé à Paris et à Jérusalem ont été les acteurs principaux.

Comme il l’avait déjà fait dans un précédent ouvrage consacré à la relation entre Paris et Washington (Dans le secret des présidents, Fayard, 2010), Vincent Nouzille a, pour écrire Histoires secrètes. France-Israël 1948-2018, épluché les archives et interrogé les témoins afin de raconter aussi précisément que possible les échanges, les rencontres et les querelles que les tandems président français-premier ministre israélien ont connus.

Admiration mutuelle et détestation cordiale

France-Israël, histoires secrètes au sommet du pouvoir

Une histoire passionnante qui débute par les liens étroits entre Guy Mollet et David Ben Gourion, sous une IVe République bienveillante et protectrice, telle la grande sœur d’un Etat hébreu nouveau-né. On croise ensuite de Gaulle et sa phrase blessante sur les Juifs, «peuple d’élite, sûr de lui-même et dominateur», point culminant d’une brouille née de la guerre des Six-Jours et prélude à la célèbre politique arabe.

Survient plus tard le regain espéré par Jérusalem avec l’élection de François Mitterrand, espoir déçu quand celui-ci se fera l’avocat des droits des Palestiniens. Même l’avènement de Nicolas Sarkozy, loué par un Israël enthousiaste, s’achèvera une fois encore sur du dépit amoureux.

Vincent Nouzille se fait le chroniqueur scrupuleux de ces hauts et ces bas de la diplomatie bilatérale où l’admiration mutuelle, comme entre Peres et Mitterrand, laisse parfois place à des moments de détestation cordiale, notamment sous Giscard et Chirac. A le lire, on se demande si les deux nations ne se sont pas trop aimées dans les années 1950, celles des débuts d’Israël. Tant de passion ne pouvait déboucher que sur de la déception. Comme le disait le général de Gaulle: «Les Etats n’ont pas d’amis, ils n’ont que des intérêts.»

● 22 février 1989: Mitterrand tente de convaincre Shamir

Le premier ministre israélien Yitzhak Shamir, ancien agent du Mossad en France et leader conservateur, échange avec François Mitterrand. Le président français s’apprête à accueillir pour la première fois à Paris le Palestinien Yasser Arafat, chef de l’OLP, considéré comme un «terroriste» par Shamir. Dialogue de sourds.

France-Israël, histoires secrètes au sommet du pouvoir
Le premeir ministre Yitzhak Shamir et le président François Mitterrand à Paris, le 22 février 1989. – Crédits photo : Thierry Orban/Sygma via Getty Images

Reçu à l’Elysée par François Mitterrand le 22 février 1989, Yitzhak Shamir essaie de démontrer que son pays est ouvert à la discussion. Mais il ne cède pas d’un pouce sur le fond. «Etablir un Etat [palestinien] ne résoudra rien. Les Palestiniens de la diaspora (Jordanie, Liban, Koweït) n’y auront pas leur place. Cela engendrera frustration, amertume, qui se développeront en base d’attaque et en violences contre nous. Nous devrons prendre des mesures, installer des dizaines de milliers de kilomètres de barbelés, des systèmes de surveillance électronique. Je me suis rendu dernièrement au Sud-Liban où nous avons une petite tranche de territoire. Cela coûte très cher. Ce n’est pas un remède.»

De son côté, le président français juge, au contraire, que le droit des Palestiniens ne peut être ignoré plus longtemps et que l’OLP a changé: «Nier la capacité de négociation de l’OLP est une erreur. Elle a fait des progrès, ses changements ne sont pas hypocrites.» Selon lui, une rencontre avec Yasser Arafat, qui a déjà été reçu dans plusieurs pays européens, est probable: «Je n’ai rien décidé. Mais je ne vois pas comment, pourquoi, au nom de quoi, je pourrais refuser durablement. Je n’ai pas tranché, aucun rendez-vous n’est pris. Ce ne sera pas demain matin. Le problème est posé. Il faudra le résoudre. Je suivrai uniquement l’opportunité, le réalisme politique.»

● 27 juillet 2005: Chirac et Sharon font semblant de se réconcilier

Le 27 juillet 2005, le président Jacques Chirac reçoit le premier ministre israélien Ariel Sharon pour renouer un dialogue interrompu depuis quatre ans. Yasser Arafat, protégé de Chirac et ennemi juré de Sharon, est décédé fin 2004 et le premier ministre israélien a proposé un retrait unilatéral de la bande de Gaza.

France-Israël, histoires secrètes au sommet du pouvoir

[…] L’entretien qui se déroule à l’Elysée le 27 juillet 2005, suivi d’un «déjeuner de travail», a des allures de réconciliation un peu surjouée. D’un côté, le premier ministre présente publiquement Chirac comme «l’un des plus grands leaders mondiaux» et le remercie pour «l’aide précieuse» apportée par la France au processus de paix. Il souligne ses efforts dans la lutte contre l’antisémitisme et l’invite officiellement à visiter son ranch en Israël. De l’autre, le Français souhaite «la plus cordiale des bienvenues» à son hôte. Il vante les «valeurs communes» et le caractère «historique» de la décision israélienne de se retirer de Gaza.

Durant le repas, Ariel Sharon répète sa ferme volonté de tenir cet engagement d’ici à la mi-août, en dépit des vives critiques dont il fait l’objet dans son pays.

– Pensez-vous que les Palestiniens aient intérêt à saboter votre plan de retrait? questionne Chirac.

– Je n’en sais rien, mais je l’appliquerai quoi qu’il advienne, répond Sharon.

– Je comprends le message. Il faut réussir. Nous vous soutiendrons, promet Chirac.

[…] Pour ne pas envenimer le débat, le président français prend soin de ne pas poser de questions pressantes sur les possibles sujets de désaccord, comme les négociations de paix qui devraient prolonger le retrait de Gaza, le sort des autres colonies juives dans les territoires occupés ou l’édification en cours du mur de sécurité.

«- Le meilleur moment de ma vie politique, c’est lorsque j’étais ministre de l’Agriculture.- Moi aussi !»

Tout aussi soucieux d’éviter les sujets qui fâchent, le premier ministre israélien encourage Chirac à poursuivre les négociations pour que l’Iran abandonne son programme nucléaire. «Nous ne ferons pas de concessions sur le sujet», lui assure le président français, qui se dit prêt à saisir le Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU si Téhéran ne donne pas de «garanties objectives sur l’arrêt définitif de ses activités nucléaires sensibles». Sharon le félicite également pour ses pressions sur la Syrie. […] Devant son invité, Chirac insiste sur le rôle régional néfaste de Bachar el-Assad, pour lequel il n’a pas de mots assez durs: «C’est un mauvais régime, qui ne comprend personne et ne fait rien pour changer son comportement.»

[…] Pour sceller un nouveau pacte et concrétiser les bonnes relations entre leurs pays, les deux leaders conviennent de lancer une Fondation France-Israël dont l’objectif sera d’améliorer l’image d’Israël en France, et réciproquement.

Plus prosaïquement, Chirac et Sharon finissent par aborder un sujet qui les rapproche: les bovins.

– J’ai une ferme dans le Néguev avec quelques vaches, dont des vaches de Salers, dit Sharon.

– Savez-vous que les limousines supportent très bien les climats rudes? Venez les voir au Salon de l’agriculture.

– D’accord, à condition que vous veniez visiter ma ferme du Néguev.

– Je viendrai avec plaisir.

– Le meilleur moment de ma vie politique, c’est lorsque j’étais ministre de l’Agriculture.

– Moi aussi!

● 24 juin 2009: Sarkozy fait la leçon à Nétanyahou

Le 24 juin 2009, le président Nicolas Sarkozy accueille le premier ministre israélien Benyamin Nétanyahou, qui réoccupe ce poste depuis quelques mois. Sarkozy estime qu’il peut donner des conseils à son ami «Bibi», qu’il connaît et apprécie de longue date. Mais le premier ministre israélien n’en tiendra pas compte.

France-Israël, histoires secrètes au sommet du pouvoir

[…] Se posant en ami d’Israël, Sarkozy s’estime en droit de donner son avis et capable de faire bouger les lignes. C’est lui qui ouvre la conversation et la mène de bout en bout, sans vraiment laisser à son invité le loisir de s’exprimer longuement:

– Je veux souligner combien j’apprécie notre amitié personnelle. Cela m’autorise la franchise. Je crois vraiment que, pour assurer votre propre sécurité, vous devez faire la paix avec vos voisins.

– J’y suis prêt. Dans le discours que j’ai prononcé le 14 juin à l’université de Bar-Ilan, j’ai dit que j’étais favorable à la création d’un Etat palestinien démilitarisé. Israël garantira aussi tous les droits des minorités, et les Arabes israéliens ne seront pas expulsés.

«Israël n’a pas de temps à perdre. Nous sommes prêts à vous aider»

– Ton discours était bon, mais insuffisant. Israël n’a pas de temps à perdre. Nous sommes prêts à vous aider à aller de l’avant comme nous le pouvons. Les progrès vers la paix dépendent aussi des alliances internationales et il vous faut aussi gagner la guerre de la communication. Plus vous attendez, plus vous perdez du soutien international.

Le président français ne reprend pas le terme «démilitarisé» employé par son interlocuteur pour caractériser l’Etat palestinien ; il préfère dire «calme et pacifié». […]

Interrogé sur sa possible participation à une conférence internationale qui favoriserait le processus, Nétanyahou répond:

– Je suis totalement d’accord avec le fait qu’une telle conférence devrait avoir lieu. Je n’ai pas de problème avec ça. Mais je crois comprendre que les Américains sont hésitants sur le sujet.

– Je vais en parler au président Obama au sommet du G8, au moins tester sa réaction sur cette idée de conférence, même à titre confidentiel. S’il est d’accord sur le principe, la France mobilisera toutes ses ressources pour faire de cette conférence un succès. Nous pousserons également les pays arabes. Nous avons la confiance de tous les acteurs, propose Sarkozy.

«Il n’y a aucune justification pour ces implantations. Elles ne ­fournissent aucune sécurité et vous n’avez rien à y gagner»

En revanche, le président français conseille fermement à Nétanyahou de «geler totalement» les activités des implantations juives dans les territoires palestiniens, qui représentent un «problème d’occupation».

«Il n’y a aucune justification pour ces implantations. Elles ne fournissent aucune sécurité et vous n’avez rien à y gagner. Ce problème peut être résolu par l’existence des deux Etats, ce qui constitue une raison supplémentaire pour accélérer les négociations de paix. Les pays arabes peuvent y contribuer, et la France va les inciter à le faire. Mais vous devez prendre d’abord des décisions sur les implantations. Il faut aussi que vous leviez le blocage de Gaza et laissiez les Palestiniens reconstruire.»

Nétanyahou semble un peu étonné par ce ton directif, et même froissé par ces remarques, d’autant qu’il a déjà publiquement exclu un tel «gel total». Il répond de manière vague: «Nous gèlerons la terre, mais pas la vie dans les implantations.»

L’entretien a été franc. Néanmoins, il a davantage ressemblé à un monologue de Sarkozy qu’à un véritable échange.

● 11 janvier 2015: Nétanyahou s’impose aux côtés de Hollande

Les 7 et 9 janvier 2015, des attentats frappent la rédaction de Charlie Hebdo et un magasin Hyper Cacher, à Paris. Le premier ministre israélien veut venir manifester le 11 janvier.

France-Israël, histoires secrètes au sommet du pouvoir

[…] Le samedi 10 janvier, les préparatifs de la manifestation du lendemain mobilisent le Quai d’Orsay et la cellule diplomatique de l’Elysée. Tous les dirigeants européens veulent être présents, ainsi que de nombreux autres chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement. Barack Obama ne peut traverser l’Atlantique: il sera représenté par son ambassadrice et enverra son secrétaire d’Etat, John Kerry, à Paris le lundi suivant. A Jérusalem, Benyamin Nétanyahou souhaite a priori faire le déplacement. Son conseiller Yossi Cohen s’entretient à plusieurs reprises avec Jacques Audibert, le conseiller diplomatique de Hollande. Ce dernier lui indique poliment que Nétanyahou ne serait pas le bienvenu. Il met en avant des problèmes de sécurité et de diplomatie. Mahmoud Abbas, le président de l’Autorité palestinienne, a fait savoir qu’il ne serait pas là. Qu’il vienne plutôt le lundi.

«Nétanyahou ne voulait pas laisser ses alliés et ­rivaux parader à Paris comme défenseurs des ­communautés juives, alors qu’il était à trois mois des élections. Il a donc choisi de s’imposer»

Agacé, Nétanyahou demande à son ami [député français] Meyer Habib d’intervenir. Ce dernier adresse un message à Manuel Valls, lequel répond que c’est l’Elysée qui gère l’ensemble de l’événement. La situation est bloquée. Nétanyahou semble se faire une raison, d’autant qu’Obama sera également absent.

Mais «Bibi» est aussi un fin tacticien. Il a appris que son ministre des Affaires étrangères, Avigdor Lieberman, qui représente les ultra-nationalistes, et son ministre de l’Industrie, Naftali Bennett, leader de l’extrême droite religieuse et des colons, ont prévu de se rendre à Paris le lendemain. Qu’à cela ne tienne: en fin d’après-midi, après avoir de nouveau pris conseil auprès de Meyer Habib, qui l’encourage en ce sens, Nétanyahou décide qu’il mènera la délégation israélienne. «Il ne voulait pas laisser ses alliés et rivaux parader à Paris comme défenseurs des communautés juives, alors qu’il était à trois mois des élections. Il a donc choisi de s’imposer», explique un diplomate israélien qui le connaît bien.

L’entourage du président Hollande plaide le casse-tête ­sécuritaire pour tenter de dissuader Nétanyahou de venir. En vain

Aussitôt prévenu, l’Elysée fronce les sourcils: la présence de Nétanyahou sera forcément controversée. L’entourage du président Hollande plaide à nouveau le casse-tête sécuritaire pour tenter de dissuader le visiteur. En vain. La cellule diplomatique ne peut empêcher la venue du premier ministre d’Israël alors que des juifs font partie des victimes. «En catastrophe, nous avons donc dû rappeler Mahmoud Abbas pour équilibrer les choses», raconte un conseiller de François Hollande. Le président palestinien est réveillé en pleine nuit dans son fief de Ramallah et expressément invité à sauter dans un avion pour Paris.

[…] Lorsqu’il débarque à Paris le dimanche 11 janvier en fin de matinée, Benyamin Nétanyahou est tendu. Ses agents de sécurité, réputés inflexibles, paniquent en découvrant le dispositif prévu: la cinquantaine de leaders présents doivent être conduits près de la place de la République en bus. […] Alors que tous les chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement se préparent à monter dans le véhicule, l’Israélien s’isole dans une pièce de l’Elysée pour s’équiper d’un manteau pare-balles.

Sur les lieux de la manifestation, au milieu d’une foule d’un million et demi de personnes, il est presque porté par ses trois gardes du corps, postés derrière lui. Coincé entre le Luxembourgeois Jean-Claude Juncker et le Malien Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta, il avance en saluant la foule d’une main. Ses traits demeurent crispés, trahissant sa nervosité. Depuis un balcon, une femme l’interpelle: «Bibi!» Il se détend pendant quelques instants.


La rédaction vous conseille :


France-Israël, histoires secrètes au sommet du pouvoir

Jean-Marc Gonin 18 abonnés
Suivre Journaliste

Source : ©France-Israël, histoires secrètes au sommet du pouvoir

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com
fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais